WiFI works well at 2.4GHz but not at 5GHz

ktek
post May 5 2025, 10:36 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

if u know how to scan channel, change to less busy one.
then reduce to narrow band
QUOTE(taitianhin @ May 4 2025, 09:13 PM)
What is the Device that connect?
What is the place you connect to it?
Cafe?
I hope u r not here for Thread count

sometimes is uni assignment homework answer
azbro
post May 5 2025, 10:44 AM

4,403 posts

Sometimes WiFi router problem, I got one 2.4 ok, 5G problem. Later Telco come change it.
stxksy
post May 5 2025, 01:36 PM

207 posts

I am facing this problem too with my 5G wifi router. Tried reset and change channel but it will only be good for a day.

My place is a small studio.
kamfoo
post May 5 2025, 02:57 PM

845 posts

try upgrade to better router if you are using isp router

This post has been edited by kamfoo: May 5 2025, 02:58 PM
Manuk1188
post May 5 2025, 03:05 PM

257 posts

1. If you're using 2.4 GHz, the answer is simple. The best bandwidth for 2.4 Ghz is 20 MHz.
2. If you have a 5 GHz router, consider using 20 MHz for maximizing the amount of non-overlapping channels but If you have a 5 GHz router, consider using 20 MHz for maximizing the amount of non-overlapping channels.

answer
Momo33
post May 5 2025, 03:19 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(Manuk1188 @ May 5 2025, 04:05 PM)
1. If you're using 2.4 GHz, the answer is simple. The best bandwidth for 2.4 Ghz is 20 MHz.
2. If you have a 5 GHz router, consider using 20 MHz for maximizing the amount of non-overlapping channels but If you have a 5 GHz router, consider using 20 MHz for maximizing the amount of non-overlapping channels.

answer
for 5Ghz
if you set fix 20MHz you get better range but your speed drops.

most new router today can select .. 20/40/80 MHz setting
the router and dev will auto nego the best bandwidth to use.

ragk
post May 5 2025, 03:55 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

How far u are from the router? 5Ghz is for shorter distance, if u are inside your room isolated by wall likely it's became way weaker
KenM
post May 5 2025, 05:53 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(empstar2 @ May 4 2025, 09:16 PM)
Dear TS,

let me share what I know about 5Ghz wifi, others /k also can share share
Sharing is caring.

I'm using ASUS RT-AX88U almoust (1.9K +++ few years back.)

1) not all wifi device are compatible to new 5Ghz protocol, (especially some older device)
so some new device also only support 2.4G, please refer to their manual.
2) my router 5G also giving problem gila-gila one. After power on, 5Ghz work fine, after 1 week ++++, 5Ghz fuck up. ( I dunno why)
after I power off and on again, 5Ghz work fine again.
so to resolve this I set timing to off and on 5Ghz (act like a reset). (refer to photo below.)
now everything work like what I want.
SET TIME
Difference router lain interface. refer to your router manual or provider. (don't ask me where to find set timer, don't be lazy to search.)
does it have the option to update firmware?.. try that
TSaeonbig
post May 5 2025, 07:45 PM

65 posts

Hi thanks for the answer so far, to answer some common questions:

I've tried testing by standing beside my router/modem, 2.4ghz works well but 5ghz one doesn't load anything at all.

Not sure how to see the config of my router/modem.

Will try the methods in the comments section later.
taitianhin
post May 5 2025, 08:29 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

QUOTE(KenM @ May 5 2025, 05:53 PM)
does it have the option to update firmware?.. try that
I do recommend this as wild card
BOTAK_WAI
post May 5 2025, 09:04 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(aeonbig @ May 5 2025, 07:45 PM)

I've tried testing by standing beside my router/modem, 2.4ghz works well but 5ghz one doesn't load anything at all.

make it simple for ppl to help u, screenshot all wifi settings, ppl here will teach u how to config.

don't know how to see the config then post your router model or take a picture of the router bottom.
netmatrix
post May 5 2025, 10:14 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,726 posts

Ok i upload my experience la.

- How old is your router? (some cheap router aged 3-5 years will start having wifi issues.)

- If you are having problems connecting 5Ghz with Windows desktop/ laptop. Go to Device manager. Uninstall the Wi-Fi driver. (Do not check Attempt to remove driver). After uninstall, restart PC. It should redetect automatically and Wifi will work again.

- Download older driver from manufacturer website.

- If you have laptop & windows 10/ 11, Update BIOS. This is super risky if you do not know what you are doing and do not have patience.

SO RECENTLY...

My home 5Ghz is not present. But i could access the router settings from cable & 2.4Ghz. Neither phone, laptop or USB Wifi is able to detect 5Ghz.

So i did a Wifi survey and found there are a lot more Wifi 5ghz around my neighbourhood compared to only 3 last time. There are about 7 now.

I just adjusted the frequency manually IN ROUTER instead of AUTO. And all my wifi 5Ghz capable devices are able to see the 5Ghz SSID and get connection again.

- ASUS & TPLINK Routers have good firmware support. So you have to try updating to the latest firmware and see if it solves your problem.

- Some TP Link Router/ Mesh has Signal optimization built in. Run it one time and it solves the connection issues..

- Do not stack your router/ Mesh on top of another BTU or router or TV Box or any heat emitting device. The router performance will definitely be problematic.
andrekua2
post May 6 2025, 01:34 AM

13,468 posts

2.4GHz can set at 40MHz unless you have lots of smart switches.

5GHz can set to 80MHz just to adhere to the AC standard (wireless N is too old liao... so unless if you got devices from >10 years ago, otherwise AC should be safe).

5GHz is a bit of a mix bag because there are some router which uses higher channels (3 digits) to prevent interference from neighbour router but there are also those router which prefer to stick with lower channel (36-64) which provide compatibility with older devices.
heinlein
post May 6 2025, 07:57 AM

1,788 posts

both my 2.4 and 5ghz connect just fine, maybe 5ghz connection not strong - like 2 bars only out of 5 bar but when it comes to speed, 5ghz wins cuz less interference
Manuk1188
post May 6 2025, 08:36 AM

257 posts

If rich -- use Wifi 7 -- terus can get both 2.4 and 5 -- bundle together tongue.gif but is too much for a home. just a get a repeater instead of one AP Router.
thesoothsayer
post May 6 2025, 08:40 AM

954 posts

Since it works after rebooting, probably some problem with the 5G module. Mine was the same. I bought a better one now the whole apartment has 500Mbps coverage.
Zot
post May 6 2025, 08:57 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(aeonbig @ May 5 2025, 07:45 PM)

I'm not sure if I missed anything here but is this your new WiFi router or it is the device you have been using for some times.

If seems to me that you might have a faulty 5GHz section. Most module nowadays support both 2.5 and 5GHz bands. Man have built-in BT module too. If it still under warranty, then get it check by authorized service center.

Even if you just do basic setup which normally the default setting, you should get everything run smoothly.
Ichibanichi
post May 6 2025, 09:36 AM

327 posts

Mine opposite
2.4G have issue with slow connection but 5.0G run like butter.
Norm both wifi don't have problem....until I realize.....fucuk HuaWei Solar inverter AP connected to my 2.4G wifi. Most probable that device hogging the 2.4G wifi bandwidth
dudester
post May 6 2025, 09:43 AM

1,223 posts

What router are you using? Default from telco? Maybe try to get a replacement?

0.0210sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:28 AM