[Update]Aku kena scam?

GalaxyV
post Apr 15 2025, 01:56 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 15 2025, 01:36 PM)
If it's around that time then it's Pre-NSRC...which means Maybank really did a good job, coz most banks won't bother to initiate. Especially back then . Usually they will only take action after recipient bank contacts them to verify. Not sure how much have things changed since NSRC though.

But yes, that is the correct SOP. Receive report, account will be frozen pending result of their investigation. If they refuse to launch the investigation it's either their incompetent (best case) or protecting the account owner (Pretty sure this is considered criminal).

I personally see that as an obstruction of justice. Pretty sure BNM would be interested to know why they didn't carry out what should be routine SOP.
Yes and TS can initial the report to BNM.

Else, we can use the example from Bank Islam to commit scam from legitmate account that they can't do anything or don't do anything to the account?

I don't think so. U know the reason why they don't initial the investigation to freeze acc. U know I know.. haha

and TS also can initial another police report against BI to investigate why they didn't investigate on this matter. Same gang? Protect the account holder?

Banks should not use this reason that "money can't be recovered" and not to investigate or do nothing to the account holder for the reason that it is legitimate account, not a mule account?

This post has been edited by GalaxyV: Apr 15 2025, 02:08 PM
TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 15 2025, 05:46 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Apr 15 2025, 01:54 PM)
If you want to find the scammer, make absolutely sure you are not threatening violence. Especially in writing. Make sure non-spoken as well, in case you're recorded. Coz this could be turned around towards you. And they have proof.
Got her name? Lodge a report to both HQ and BNM. She also went off script saying won't get the money. She definitely needs to give you a report number. If you didn't get her name, get her description and file a complaint. Idiots like that give a bad name to bankers in general.
Yes, this is one of the ways the bank can deal with it. They have the authority to freeze your account since they have a report in hand. Unless that report was made redundant or found to be false, they can freeze your account indefinitely since there's T&Cs when you signed up for the account. The fact that Bank Islam is doing nothing is very suspicious.

If their HQ somehow says they can't freeze the account without a court order, then that's a lie. You've made a police report. They need to investigate. Burden of proof then falls on the scammer. However if like you said you've got screen shots saying the seller will refund you, basically admitting fault, then that should be proof enough. At this point I'd pursue this case even if I'm not gonna get my money back, coz F Bank Islam for not taking this seriously.

Wanna make a bigger wave, go find your local MP. You could also weaponise social media. Or news. Basically make a big deal out of this...not for the money. I'd recommend you deleting the scammers details if you go down this road coz it might hurt your chances...since you're essentially doxxing him.

The highlight here isn't about you losing money, it's the fact the bank is enabling the scammer by not freezing his account, and refusing to carry out their responsibility.
I called Maybank Online fraud line, they told me that they have submitted police report towards Bank Islam. Now just wait for BI to reply.

Honestly yeah I also felt that the lady was being super incompetent at her job lol, just brush me off like that saja.
But its ok at least I know call direct online and submit police report online is much faster than going to branch.
They also told me that the evidence submit to police is sufficient enought already.

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Apr 15 2025, 01:56 PM)
Yes and TS can initial the report to BNM.

Else, we can use the example from Bank Islam to commit scam from legitmate account that they can't do anything or don't do anything to the account?

I don't think so. U know the reason why they don't initial the investigation to freeze acc. U know I know.. haha

and TS also can initial another police report against BI to investigate why they didn't investigate on this matter. Same gang? Protect the account holder?

Banks should not use this reason that "money can't be recovered" and not to investigate or do nothing to the account holder for the reason that it is legitimate account, not a mule account?
I'm trying not to play racing card, because the BI banker is much more helpful than Maybank one, its just that his manager told him that the SOP is need to go thru from Maybank (sender) first.

Maybank banker however, just plain incompetent. No proper sit down interview, not asking for any details, just ask me to fill in Issue paper (Yellow one) and photostat my report, get my IC card for personal details, then just told me "Ko x boleh dapat duit balik tau, Maybank xle buat apa2" like that saja.
ry8128
post Apr 15 2025, 11:26 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,637 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 15 2025, 05:46 PM)
I called Maybank Online fraud line, they told me that they have submitted police report towards Bank Islam. Now just wait for BI to reply.

Honestly yeah I also felt that the lady was being super incompetent at her job lol, just brush me off like that saja.
But its ok at least I know call direct online and submit police report online is much faster than going to branch.
They also told me that the evidence submit to police is sufficient enought already.
I'm trying not to play racing card, because the BI banker is much more helpful than Maybank one, its just that his manager told him that the SOP is need to go thru from Maybank (sender) first.

Maybank banker however, just plain incompetent. No proper sit down interview, not asking for any details, just ask me to fill in Issue paper (Yellow one) and photostat my report, get my IC card for personal details, then just told me "Ko x boleh dapat duit balik tau, Maybank xle buat apa2" like that saja.
Not surprising they act that way. You must understand they have been receiving soooooooo many of such calls daily as so many ppl kena scam every day. What u expect them to do?

That's why I mentioned earlier, u got no chance of getting money back as no one will cares, including pulisu.

Think logically, if we can get our money back and scammers gonna get caught, do you think we still can see so many scammer around these days?
GalaxyV
post Apr 15 2025, 11:31 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Apr 15 2025, 11:26 PM)
Not surprising they act that way. You must understand they have been receiving soooooooo many of such calls daily as so many ppl kena scam every day. What u expect them to do?

That's why I mentioned earlier, u got no chance of getting money back as no one will cares, including pulisu.

Think logically, if we can get our money back and scammers gonna get caught, do you think we still can see so many scammer around these days?
100% agree. That why boleh land?
GalaxyV
post Apr 15 2025, 11:38 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 15 2025, 05:46 PM)

You should tell them your motive of filling this report is not to get back the money but to let the scammer to get his balasan.

If everyone thinks that money can't be returned and not to report, then everyone will work as scammer liao.

You tell them that you are filling for the responsibility as a rakyat and the bank also has to duty to do their job too.
GalaxyV
post Apr 16 2025, 10:25 AM

783 posts

Apr 23 2025, 09:33 AM
This post has been deleted by Snoopycute98 because: removed. can pm me for his details

TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 16 2025, 07:47 PM

407 posts

-- Email from Maybank --

Dear Valued Customer,

Greetings from Maybank.

Thank you for your email.

In reference to your email dated 15/04/2025 on scam.
We understand your concerns and sympathize with the incident.

We’ve forwarded a copy of the police report to the relevant team for further action. Please note that as you initiated this transaction, we cannot guarantee a refund.

While we'll do our best, a refund depends on the beneficiary's consent and available funds. Kindly monitor your account for up to 14 business days.

If you do not receive a refund within this timeframe, the recovery process may be considered unsuccessful.

Thank you for reaching out to us and we truly appreciate your patience and understanding.

--

Hailat, as I know the account has less than RM50 bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Apr 16 2025, 07:48 PM
GalaxyV
post Apr 16 2025, 07:55 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 16 2025, 07:47 PM)
-- Email from Maybank --

Dear Valued Customer,

Greetings from Maybank.

Thank you for your email.

In reference to your email dated 15/04/2025 on scam.
We understand your concerns and sympathize with the incident.

We’ve forwarded a copy of the police report to the relevant team for further action. Please note that as you initiated this transaction, we cannot guarantee a refund.

While we'll do our best, a refund depends on the beneficiary's consent and available funds. Kindly monitor your account for up to 14 business days.

If you do not receive a refund within this timeframe, the recovery process may be considered unsuccessful.

Thank you for reaching out to us and we truly appreciate your patience and understanding.

--

Hailat, as I know the account has less than RM50  bangwall.gif
Good job from Maybank.

How did you know his account has less than RM50?

TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 16 2025, 08:02 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Apr 16 2025, 07:55 PM)
Good job from Maybank.

How did you know his account has less than RM50?
As mentioned on Monday, went to BI, ask about the scanner account, they checked and saw the final balance is <RM50 lol
GalaxyV
post Apr 16 2025, 08:06 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 16 2025, 08:02 PM)
As mentioned on Monday, went to BI, ask about the scanner account, they checked and saw the final balance is <RM50 lol
they showed it to you or you curi2 tengok?
TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 16 2025, 08:11 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Apr 16 2025, 08:06 PM)
they showed it to you or you curi2 tengok?
Banker told me. Cannot curi tengok his stuffs, else I already report to tribunal liao
pysh
post Apr 16 2025, 08:27 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 14 2025, 12:41 AM)
Bro he kept roti canai here and there, initially said wan refund me. But didnt gave his address.

Then say need the box. Then later on say refund, then say cannot, need the box. Niama, will dulan one.

When confronted him at Whatsapp number that i got from other seller, he buat bodo at there, then instantly replied my carousell message.
but whats the last conversation agreement then?
sometimes misunderstanding, or he also getting refund details from distributor etc since you said reviews and other buyers told you he is safe or reliable..
the refund process is never a happy situation..

This post has been edited by pysh: Apr 16 2025, 08:27 PM
machomama
post Apr 16 2025, 08:57 PM

62 posts

"Kindly monitor your account for up to 14 business days.

If you do not receive a refund within this timeframe, the recovery process may be considered unsuccessful."

financial institutions and their systems - designed to to ONLY protect one party

THEMSELVES
TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 16 2025, 09:23 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Apr 16 2025, 08:27 PM)
but whats the last conversation agreement then?
sometimes misunderstanding, or he also getting refund details from distributor etc since you said reviews and other buyers told you he is safe or reliable..
the refund process is never a happy situation..
He is a user, and if really got hati to refund he wont kept roti canai and drag there

Furthermore,
He sent using shit address, wrong address and wrong phone number. I have to approach JNT for this.
His sender details is also wrong, random Melaka address, and not in service phone number, no whatsapp, nothing.
lucidlts
post Apr 18 2025, 12:14 PM

brain powder
2,906 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 16 2025, 09:23 PM)
He is a user, and if really got hati to refund he wont kept roti canai and drag there

Furthermore,
He sent using shit address, wrong address and wrong phone number. I have to approach JNT for this.
His sender details is also wrong, random Melaka address, and not in service phone number, no whatsapp, nothing.
ni mmg mcm ada niat nk scam la.
won't use fake details if he seriously wants to sell the item properly.

tunggu je la bnm & bank take action.
TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 18 2025, 12:16 PM

407 posts

Update:

At last, he refunded to me and approached me via Whatsapp after he blocked me.
Reason he approach me? His carousell kena suspended.

Just becareful next time if he dealing with you.

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Apr 18 2025, 12:19 PM
GalaxyV
post Apr 18 2025, 12:23 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 18 2025, 12:16 PM)
Update:

At last, he refunded to me and approached me via Whatsapp after he blocked me.
Reason he approach me? His carousell kena suspended.

Just becareful next time if he dealing with you.
So he asked you to cancel police report?

I don't think is due to carousell kena suspended as he can just register a new one?

I think is due to this bank islam account kena freeze

This post has been edited by GalaxyV: Apr 18 2025, 12:23 PM
TSSnoopycute98
post Apr 18 2025, 12:32 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(GalaxyV @ Apr 18 2025, 12:23 PM)
So he asked you to cancel police report?

I don't think is due to carousell kena suspended as he can just register a new one?

I think is due to this bank islam account kena freeze
I guess carousell is just a cover. At the background idk what happened. Maybe bank or police called him? No idea.

I will go to balai to update my inspector that he refunded me, under his name (not ABC scam)
nelienuxe_sara
post Apr 18 2025, 01:36 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

nais recover full amount?
gashout
post Apr 18 2025, 01:48 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Apr 18 2025, 12:32 PM)
I guess carousell is just a cover. At the background idk what happened. Maybe bank or police called him? No idea.

I will go to balai to update my inspector that he refunded me, under his name (not ABC scam)
is his carousell acc still active?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0228sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:55 AM