Slight rant about Cancer in everyday life

jojolicia
post Mar 23 2025, 11:39 AM

1,911 posts

Mau rant too.

Discovered (6 months ago) a 28mm cysts on my right thyroid gland.

Dr not recommending any procedure nor medicine. Just periodic TSH, T3, T4 blood work and ultrasound scan.

Not sitting well with this tho.
em_on
post Mar 23 2025, 11:43 AM

On My Way
612 posts

😭 not a good sun to came across this thread
gws u guys
annual check up (comprehensive package) is important
haturaya
post Mar 23 2025, 11:54 AM

2,553 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 22 2025, 03:03 PM)
One of my staff just got admitted into the hospital due to bleeding profusely whilst in the loo. Got a CT scan and here's the result she just texted me

Impression:

1.Enhancing mass of ascending colon with pericolonic and abdominal lymphadenopathy, associated luminal stenosis and proximal colonic dilatation.

2. Ill-defined segment 5 liver lesion, suspicious of liver metastasis. The rest of the well-defined liver lesions likely liver cysts.

So within the span of a year I have seen my wife getting diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer, my aunt with stage 3 lung cancer and one of my long time staff who's been with me for 12 over years get diagnosed with colon cancer that has spread to her liver.

The fuck man. It's damn tiring living day by day hearing loved ones getting cancer.
My younger brother & sister - still recovering from cancer too. sad.gif

Be strong for the sufferer. flex.gif
lorkh
post Mar 23 2025, 12:04 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 22 2025, 03:44 PM)
My wife one from the pregnancy.

My aunt? Cooking in an enclosed kitchen for 10 over years without ventilation

My staff? Strong family history of cancer.
If it's in the family there's nothing they can do. My paternal aunties & uncle all died from heart attack.
Kinda unfortunate your aunty had to cook in an enclosed kitchen. How could she have stood the smoke & oil is beyond me.

Tis is what Ai replies when i queried about breast cancer & pregnancy

Here's what research shows about the relationship between pregnancy and breast cancer:

Long-term protective effect: Having a full-term pregnancy, especially before age 30, actually reduces a woman's lifetime risk of breast cancer.
Temporary risk increase: There is a short-term increase in breast cancer risk following pregnancy, which typically lasts for about 10 years. This may be due to hormonal changes that can stimulate the growth of existing cancer cells.
Multiple pregnancies: Women who have had multiple full-term pregnancies generally have a lower risk of breast cancer than women who have never given birth.
Breastfeeding: Breastfeeding for a total of one year or more (combined across all pregnancies) further reduces breast cancer risk.
Age at first pregnancy: Women who have their first full-term pregnancy at a younger age (before 30) have a lower risk of breast cancer compared to women who have their first child later in life or who never have children.
Starbucki
post Mar 23 2025, 02:14 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Mar 23 2025, 11:39 AM)
Mau rant too.

Discovered (6 months ago) a 28mm cysts on my right thyroid gland.

Dr not recommending any procedure nor medicine. Just periodic TSH, T3, T4 blood work and ultrasound scan.

Not sitting well with this tho.
Means its benign or the doc is just conservative? Thyroid can remove no issue
jojolicia
post Mar 23 2025, 02:45 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Mar 23 2025, 02:14 PM)
I requested a biopsy at least, dr (endocrine specialist/ surgeon) said not necessary yet. Even I do now it's not conclusive.

Am likely to seek 2nd opinion on this.
Boomwick
post Mar 23 2025, 02:47 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Mar 23 2025, 02:14 PM)
Remove ad will easy become fat one right?
TSAvangelice
post Mar 23 2025, 03:24 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Mar 23 2025, 02:45 PM)
I requested a biopsy at least, dr (endocrine specialist/ surgeon) said not necessary yet. Even I do now it's not conclusive.

Go to a cancer hospital and beacon is your best bet. You are the best advocate for your own health.
jojolicia
post Mar 23 2025, 03:33 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 23 2025, 03:24 PM)
Go to a cancer hospital and beacon is your best bet. You are the best advocate for your own health.
Noted. Cancer hospital as in? Pls guide me on this. A hospital name

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Mar 23 2025, 03:35 PM
Starbucki
post Mar 23 2025, 03:50 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Mar 23 2025, 02:45 PM)

Really topkek your doctor just waiting till it is too late for you. What is he? A GP?
jojolicia
post Mar 23 2025, 03:53 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Mar 23 2025, 03:50 PM)
Really topkek your doctor just waiting till it is too late for you. What is he? A GP?
Not GP.

An endocrine specialist/ surgeon
Knnbuccb
post Mar 23 2025, 04:21 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 22 2025, 07:21 PM)
Yes bros.

She had mastitis because her breasts were big and she ignored the cyst that formed after. Then it turned cancerous.

So yeah they say pregnancy prevents breast cancer isn't true
You mean during pregnancy her breasts became big?

Actually I heard before breast cancer progress during pregnancy very fast maybe because something to do with hormones etc and lowered immunity to accommodate the foreign living being in the uterus....
Knnbuccb
post Mar 23 2025, 04:22 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 22 2025, 09:41 PM)
38 bro.

Late pregnancy
Bro late age at first pregnancy is a strong risk factor

The protection that pregnancy confers only if first pregnancy is before certain age I think below 35 if not mistaken
SUSskyblack4492
post Mar 23 2025, 04:42 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Mar 22 2025, 05:35 PM)
I also want to rant, but don't know how to say.

When time comes, just let them go.
While me, be present.
Yolo!!!!! Enjoy!!!!!
abhipraaya
post Mar 25 2025, 11:07 AM

565 posts

These things are certain in life:

Old Age
Disease
Death

Everyone, you and me will have to face it.

That's the fact. Period.

It's either now or soon or later.

Main goal of life is not to be reborn. If you get reborn in this material world, you and me have to go through this.

True happiness is getting liberated and going back to God.

Therefore while we are still here, do good, think good, accumulated good karma, pray to god and hope than we can be broken from this repeated cycle of birth and death (reincarnation). If at all we get reborn again, our present karma will determine the kind of life we get next rebirth.

I do not subscribe to these #YoLo ideas. Most of 'em is about sense enjoyment, sin accumulation which will eventually lead you to be back to this material world. Rinse and repeat and go through all the miseries again.

This post has been edited by abhipraaya: Mar 25 2025, 11:09 AM
zhou.xingxing
post Mar 25 2025, 11:26 AM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 22 2025, 03:44 PM)
My wife one from the pregnancy.

My aunt? Cooking in an enclosed kitchen for 10 over years without ventilation

My staff? Strong family history of cancer.
how come pregnancy also can kena cancer? how is she now? treat in kuching or go kl?

some of my fam members got cancer due to lifestyle..

grand uncle - smokes, nose cancer
dad - smokes, lung cancer
uncle - works 2 jobs and no slp, liver cancer
gobiomani
post Mar 25 2025, 12:41 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 22 2025, 11:53 PM)
If it's alcohol it should be Indians and Chinese. So what are we eating wrong that's not great? Our food isn't laden with coconut milk and fat.

Legit question
This is not scientific but I think it is due to soy sauce. Chinese love soy sauce and put it on all their food. Do you how unhygienically these are made? Too much of anything can be a problem.
Among my friends and colleagues there is a very high proportion of Chinese who get cancer compared to other races.
TSAvangelice
post Mar 25 2025, 12:53 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Mar 25 2025, 12:41 PM)
This is not scientific but I think it is due to soy sauce. Chinese love soy sauce and put it on all their food. Do you how unhygienically these are made? Too much of anything can be a problem.
Among my friends and colleagues there is a very high proportion of Chinese who get cancer compared to other races.
Hmmm... I think I need to reconsider using it in my house. Thank you for the heads up
OPT
post Mar 25 2025, 01:58 PM

Wee wang wang
2,065 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 25 2025, 12:53 PM)
Hmmm... I think I need to reconsider using it in my house. Thank you for the heads up
Instead of relying on hearsay as a science guy (in your case medicine..)

Here’s ChatGPT

There isn’t clear evidence that Chinese people in Malaysia specifically have a higher cancer risk compared to other ethnic groups due to genetics alone. However, cancer risk is influenced by various factors, including lifestyle, diet, environmental exposure, and genetics.

Possible Reasons for Cancer Risk Among Chinese in Malaysia:
1. Dietary Factors
• High consumption of preserved and salted foods (e.g., salted fish) has been linked to nasopharyngeal cancer.
• Chinese cuisine often includes fried and oily foods, which may contribute to higher risks of colorectal and gastric cancers.
2. Lifestyle Factors
• Higher smoking rates among Chinese men may increase lung cancer risk.
• Alcohol consumption can contribute to liver and esophageal cancers.
3. Genetic Susceptibility
• Some studies suggest that Chinese populations may have a genetic predisposition to certain cancers, such as nasopharyngeal and liver cancer.
4. Environmental Exposure
• Urban Chinese communities may be more exposed to air pollution and industrial toxins, which can increase cancer risk.
5. Healthcare-Seeking Behavior
• Some studies suggest that Chinese individuals may be more likely to undergo cancer screenings, leading to higher reported cases.

Cancer risk is complex and depends on a combination of genetic and environmental factors. Regular check-ups, a healthy diet, and lifestyle changes can help reduce cancer risks.
Knnbuccb
post Mar 25 2025, 02:54 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(lorkh @ Mar 23 2025, 12:04 PM)
If it's in the family there's nothing they can do. My paternal aunties & uncle all died from heart attack.
Kinda unfortunate your aunty had to cook in an enclosed kitchen. How could she have stood the smoke & oil is beyond me.

Tis is what Ai replies when i queried about breast cancer & pregnancy

Here's what research shows about the relationship between pregnancy and breast cancer:

Long-term protective effect: Having a full-term pregnancy, especially before age 30, actually reduces a woman's lifetime risk of breast cancer.
Temporary risk increase: There is a short-term increase in breast cancer risk following pregnancy, which typically lasts for about 10 years. This may be due to hormonal changes that can stimulate the growth of existing cancer cells.
Multiple pregnancies: Women who have had multiple full-term pregnancies generally have a lower risk of breast cancer than women who have never given birth.
Breastfeeding: Breastfeeding for a total of one year or more (combined across all pregnancies) further reduces breast cancer risk.
Age at first pregnancy: Women who have their first full-term pregnancy at a younger age (before 30) have a lower risk of breast cancer compared to women who have their first child later in life or who never have children.
Damn sounds like what I said except the age u gave was 35 .....

I'm a genius

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0198sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:54 PM