Social anxiety

TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 07:46 AM, updated 10 months ago

224 posts

Guys, I have been working a remote job for about 3 years with very limited human interaction, sometimes we would have video calls here and there.

Recently, something happened to me and this is sort of a wake up call and finally decided that I am sick of it.

Growing up, I had a small group of close friends that I always hang with, but at one point I started isolating myself from people for years, and we stopped talking entirely.

I have been seeing a counselor for two weeks now about my issues, it made me feel better to know I was being heard.

And I met someone recently that suggested I should try marketing for event planning and branding and stuff as a change of pace.

For someone who has mild social anxiety/introversion, should I take the leap of faith and start applying for jobs in that area?
sadlyfalways
post Feb 26 2025, 08:18 AM

1,185 posts

it literally makes me want to kill myself daily
TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 08:20 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Feb 26 2025, 08:18 AM)
it literally makes me want to kill myself daily
Sorry if you don't mind me asking, do you also have social anxiety?

Do you work too? If so, how do you cope?
kelvinfixx
post Feb 26 2025, 08:22 AM

1,589 posts

Most have this problem
giftfre
post Feb 26 2025, 08:23 AM

Control Macho
681 posts

Yes, those doing IT and R&D workers are likely to have such feeling. It's matter of little or very much hard feeling.
TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 08:25 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Feb 26 2025, 08:23 AM)
Yes, those doing IT and R&D workers are likely to have such feeling. It's matter of little or very much hard feeling.
I am sick of working in front of a laptop all day, I really just wanted a change of pace like right away

Then my friend suggested marketing, event planning etc, still better than sales imo but im not sure if im qualified due to my social anxiety.
Rusty Nail
post Feb 26 2025, 08:29 AM

Why am I still here?
4,882 posts

If you can sell yourself in the interview, then you'll be fine.
giftfre
post Feb 26 2025, 08:31 AM

Control Macho
681 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 26 2025, 08:25 AM)
I am sick of working in front of a laptop all day, I really just wanted a change of pace like right away

Then my friend suggested marketing, event planning etc, still better than sales imo but im not sure if im qualified due to my social anxiety.
You must do it gradually and adapt it, interacting with people. Practice a good effective communication with people before head in marketing, event planner, investment company. Never get culture shock in new company. If you do, act steady, firm, stay focus.

Join an event such as charity, running program, party etc. make yourself comfortable when in the crowd.
galkelly
post Feb 26 2025, 08:33 AM

752 posts

My office colleague are closer than my friend ...
We go trip , go out makan2, movies ...

TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 08:33 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Feb 26 2025, 08:31 AM)
You must do it gradually and adapt it, interacting with people. Practice a good effective communication with people before head in marketing, event planner, investment company. Never get culture shock in new company. If you do, act steady, firm, stay focus.

Join an event such as charity, running program, party etc. make yourself comfortable when in the crowd.
I'll be sure to check that out, do you have an app that you use to check for events around you, preferably in kl?
lfw
post Feb 26 2025, 08:35 AM

405 posts

not sure which one are you but here are the common signs of social anxiety

Common signs and symptoms of social anxiety include:
-Excessive worry about upcoming social events, sometimes weeks or months in advance.
-Intense fear of being judged, criticized, or humiliated in front of others.
-Physical symptoms like sweating, trembling, blushing, dry mouth, or a racing heart when in social situations.
-Avoidance of social interactions or places where interactions might happen.
-Low self-esteem or negative self-talk about social performance.

perhaps you can elaborate more and see which describes you the best and identify it before solving this

one suggestion is that you might attending events and networking sessions which allow you to interact with your same industry

after that, you can share more and let's see your progress from there
TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 08:43 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(lfw @ Feb 26 2025, 08:35 AM)
not sure which one are you but here are the common signs of social anxiety

Common signs and symptoms of social anxiety include:
-Excessive worry about upcoming social events, sometimes weeks or months in advance.
-Intense fear of being judged, criticized, or humiliated in front of others.
-Physical symptoms like sweating, trembling, blushing, dry mouth, or a racing heart when in social situations.
-Avoidance of social interactions or places where interactions might happen.
-Low self-esteem or negative self-talk about social performance.

perhaps you can elaborate more and see which describes you the best and identify it before solving this

one suggestion is that you might attending events and networking sessions which allow you to interact with your same industry

after that, you can share more and let's see your progress from there
-Mild worry about upcoming social events I would say, I don't know if this is something, but if there's an important exam coming up tomorrow, I wouldn't be able to sleep the day before, even if I'm prepared, I deal with it by not sleeping. But worrying about something week's or months in advance, I can't say at this stage, because I rarely join social events.

-Fear of people judging me, yes, I wouldn't say intense, just mild.

-I would sweat sometimes in social situations, not all the time haha

-Before yes, but I have been putting myself in social situations more often now, and it's not that scary as I think it is, I tried making conversations but it always end up being awkward because I suck at coming up with stuff to talk about.

-Low self esteem and negative self talk, completely yes, almost all the time, always question my ability to perform.

Do you have any suggestions where I could look for social events? Like an app or something

This post has been edited by cocomaru: Feb 26 2025, 08:44 AM
sadlyfalways
post Feb 26 2025, 08:47 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 26 2025, 08:20 AM)
Sorry if you don't mind me asking, do you also have social anxiety?

Do you work too? If so, how do you cope?
debilitating yes,

working too

not coping, just faking it.

come home zero energy to do anything

cycle repeat for 50 years

die
TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 08:50 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Feb 26 2025, 08:47 AM)
debilitating yes,

working too

not coping, just faking it.

come home zero energy to do anything

cycle repeat for 50 years

die
What do you work as if you don't mind me asking?

I am sorry you're going to through this, sucks I won't be able to be of much help because I am the same way too
giftfre
post Feb 26 2025, 08:56 AM

Control Macho
681 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 26 2025, 08:33 AM)
I'll be sure to check that out, do you have an app that you use to check for events around you, preferably in kl?
There are plenty of group in FB. Search the key word and click on group/ page. Choose which is nearest to your house.
TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 09:00 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Feb 26 2025, 08:56 AM)
There are plenty of group in FB. Search the key word and click on group/ page. Choose which is nearest to your house.
Alright, thank you so much!
NinG
post Feb 26 2025, 09:01 AM

Vroomm
403 posts

TS, if you want to change of pace, why not start with some society activities first? Let yourself slowly adapt to the changes, be more pro-active, meeting new people, busy events, and step out from your comfort zone.
TScocomaru
post Feb 26 2025, 09:05 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Feb 26 2025, 09:01 AM)
TS, if you want to change of pace, why not start with some society activities first? Let yourself slowly adapt to the changes, be more pro-active, meeting new people, busy events, and step out from your comfort zone.
Yes I'll do that too.

I think I'm just really tired of being alone and working alone, even though I work in a team but it does not feel like one because it's a remote job.
NinG
post Feb 26 2025, 09:20 AM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 26 2025, 09:05 AM)
Yes I'll do that too.

I think I'm just really tired of being alone and working alone, even though I work in a team but it does not feel like one because it's a remote job.
I also work alone, just that my job requires alot of communication, understanding of needs. Sometimes I feel like i working in a dessert island with nobody. It's good you want to make the change, when you have the will, you'll have the way.

sadlyfalways
post Feb 26 2025, 09:31 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 26 2025, 08:50 AM)
What do you work as if you don't mind me asking?

I am sorry you're going to through this, sucks I won't be able to be of much help because I am the same way too
haha software engineer

did it for wfh

but malaysia no wfh

0.0172sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:15 PM