Social anxiety

laparwolf
post Feb 27 2025, 09:40 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(iammasivers @ Feb 26 2025, 11:01 AM)
as someone working remotely myself, this is what i do to keep my sanity. i must go out of my house once a day at least. just take a 15-30 minutes walk will do. If it's raining, just go to a nearby mall and walk there. And try to meet with someone once a week to hangout. could be your friend, your parents, your relative etc.

Definitely keep your remote job, dont jump into job that require intense interaction. Anyway your remote job is just a job, what you do outside your working hours is what matters. You can get a hobby, go to a gym, go hiking, so many other options. If you do more activities outside your working hours, you will feel better
Betul2. Keluar jalan2. Sikit2 cuba benda baru. Kamu akan jumpa sesuatu yang manarik minat/fokus. Ramai orang juga masalah sama, sebab hari2 hadapi benda sama, rutin bosan. Jangan risau sangat pasal interaksi dengan orang lain. Pada pengalaman saya, interaksi yang paling "rewarding" adalah dengan orang yang ada "link" kaitan dengan diri anda sendri. @ keluarga @ tujuan/minat/hobi sama @ kerja/business. Lain2 interaksi cuma secara luaran "superficial".

hoonanoo
post Feb 27 2025, 07:03 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 26 2025, 07:46 AM)
Guys, I have been working a remote job for about 3 years with very limited human interaction, sometimes we would have video calls here and there.

Recently, something happened to me and this is sort of a wake up call and finally decided that I am sick of it.

Growing up, I had a small group of close friends that I always hang with, but at one point I started isolating myself from people for years, and we stopped talking entirely.

I have been seeing a counselor for two weeks now about my issues, it made me feel better to know I was being heard.

And I met someone recently that suggested I should try marketing for event planning and branding and stuff as a change of pace.

For someone who has mild social anxiety/introversion, should I take the leap of faith and start applying for jobs in that area?
If you are not planning a family, marketing event jobs are best suited for singles or married people who don;t want kids.

Thats because bosses want commitment to come during the weekends and at times work late nights to ensure the event is success.

if you have anxiety this role is not suitable for you. You need to be a good communicator and coordinator, to talk to your agencies and contractors to get the work done.

This job is for extroverts.

You also must be very forthcoming, good organizer and gain the trust of your boss. If you are a kura-kura everything keep to yourself, your boss ask you how is the event planning? can you do presentation or allay his worries or not?

If you want to do this role, better start from ground up to get use to it. Make sure you work in a team, some companies rely on 1 or 2 event people, then you will be struggling. Work in bigger companies, bigger teams, so someone can cover for your novice as you are just beginning.

You also must make sure you don't do mistakes, if forgot to invite VIP, or disorganize/sequence of the event out make confusion, or mishandling of press or forgot some props, timing of events off plan....you kena kaw kaw....

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Feb 27 2025, 07:04 PM
TScocomaru
post Feb 27 2025, 11:00 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 27 2025, 07:03 PM)
If you are not planning a family, marketing event jobs are best suited for singles or married people who don;t want kids.

Thats because bosses want commitment to come during the weekends and at times work late nights to ensure the event is success.

if you have anxiety this role is not suitable for you. You need to be a good communicator and coordinator, to talk to your agencies and contractors to get the work done.

This job is for extroverts.

You also must be very forthcoming, good organizer and gain the trust of your boss. If you are a kura-kura everything keep to yourself, your boss ask you how is the event planning? can you do presentation or allay his worries or not?

If you want to do this role, better start from ground up to get use to it. Make sure you work in a team, some companies rely on 1 or 2 event people, then you will be struggling. Work in bigger companies, bigger teams, so someone can cover for your novice as you are just beginning.

You also must make sure you don't do mistakes, if forgot to invite VIP, or disorganize/sequence of the event out make confusion, or mishandling of press or forgot some props, timing of events off plan....you kena kaw kaw....
Where do you suggest an introvert like me start? Because I don't want to start off where I need to handle everything right away, I don't mind starting off as a junior, but I also don't think it's a smart idea to mention I have mild social anxiety during my interviews
NinG
post Feb 28 2025, 01:25 AM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 27 2025, 11:00 PM)
Where do you suggest an introvert like me start? Because I don't want to start off where I need to handle everything right away, I don't mind starting off as a junior, but I also don't think it's a smart idea to mention I have mild social anxiety during my interviews
That's why suggested you start from small group society works / weekend event promoter etc etc. Leap is not for everyone.. you will be overwhelmed.
daisiesdontdoit92
post Feb 28 2025, 06:13 AM

580 posts

find a job that keeps you busy physically, so you will be exhausted at the end of the day and have no time to think about anything. Then when you have days off, you can really enjoy the relax.
hoonanoo
post Feb 28 2025, 08:28 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(cocomaru @ Feb 27 2025, 11:00 PM)
No harm to try marketing. But try from scratch. Don't join those one or two man teams, else you be expected to do everything, then your social anxiety would be overwhelmed. Join bigger teams.

You sure you want marketing event?

I really don't know what else job you can try. Most jobs require communication even IT.
TScocomaru
post Mar 1 2025, 02:12 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 28 2025, 08:28 AM)
No harm to try marketing. But try from scratch. Don't join those one or two man teams, else you be expected to do everything, then your social anxiety would be overwhelmed. Join bigger teams.

You sure you want marketing event?

I really don't know what else job you can try. Most jobs require communication even IT.
I would like to get out of my shell, I have been too comfortable all my life and something happened recently that changed the course of my life. I was scared and anxious these past few weeks that I can't sleep.

I don't want my future 10 years from now to be the same, me working in front of a laptop or playing video games.

I am 30 years old this year, I am overwhelmed and I'm clueless, I don't know what I should really do career wise, seeing a lot of my friends getting married and have kids, and i just lost a relationship recently and someone i know of in school whos the same age as me just passed away and it devastated me, made me realize how fragile life and relationships are...how everything can change this instant then ill be left with nothing and alone.

Then it made me realize the consequences of my shut in lifestyle since I was 17 has come up to bite my ass.

my friend just brought up this idea of event marketing and told me I should try, hence the reason why I'm here asking for advice from everyone here

This post has been edited by cocomaru: Mar 1 2025, 03:03 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0176sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:06 PM