Saving for the Future vs Making My Wife Happy

Juggerballz
post Jan 22 2025, 05:12 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jan 22 2025, 10:57 AM)
Too frugal is not good oso. I understand your wife POV.

You are only in your 30's once. Yes, saving is important, but you also need to allocate some of your current money to have a bit of fun. You will not get back the time and energy today.

That is why I sign up for all the A races and travel to my preferred place before I get old or busy with kids , having no regrets.

What use for the saved up money if you are already old age when your body are not cooperating anymore.

The tricky part though is balancing , not too much YOLO but not too frugal. This however needs discussion with your wife and managing expectations.
Being too frugal is safer.

Many people think about "Life is short". But have you ever thought about what if "Life is too long".

Die also cannot die.
Juggerballz
post Jan 22 2025, 05:16 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jan 22 2025, 04:30 PM)
As a housewife, I think she is entitled to some allowances.
I think the issue right now is not about allowances.

I'm sure OP is giving his wife some allowances. The issue is that OP's wife is demanding to spend more on external things. Eat out, travelling, materials etc because she knows that OP has some savings.

0.0171sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:35 PM