133 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Travel All About Sabah..., Kota Kinabalu & surroundings

weizai
post Sep 29 2010, 07:51 PM

Yeap, its possible to fit 3 activities in 2 days time. Half day in mamutik island. then noon time, around 2 pm start tour to Klias Wetland. The next day go for Mount Kinabalu + poring Hotspring day trip.
kimhoong
post Sep 30 2010, 01:36 AM

5,154 posts

Question about Celyn in Kundasang:
A friend of a friend says that the road to Celyn is very dangerous and advise me to park my rented car in Kundasang and get a local transportation like cab to the hotel. Is there really so scary? hmm.gif

I wanna to know more about Klias Wetland too drool.gif

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Sep 30 2010, 01:37 AM
Zack Styler
post Sep 30 2010, 11:26 AM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(dcz @ Sep 29 2010, 03:24 PM)

I am going to Sabah with my family in the mid of October for 3 days. We have interest to go to these places:
1. Mount KK base (not climbing) and the KK national park I suppose they are at the same place after some short research
2. Klias
3. Mamutik Island

Can I go to all this 3 places in 2 days time. Will we have enough time to spend on each of those places? Please comment and give some suggestions. thanks.

Does anyone has any previously successful trip/plan itinerary for this 3 attraction?

Does anyone has any ground arrangement contact for this 3 places in 2 days package?

THanks so much!
It will be a bit rush but possible..

Day 1

-Leaving early in the morning 6am for trip to Kinabalu Park (Mount Kinabalu is under this park, and yes they are in the same place)
-Visit Kundasang and its surrounding places of interest
-Leave for KK before lunch and proceed to Jesselton Point jetty for lunch and trip to Pulau Mamutik
-Back to KK, dinner and free and easy

Day 2

-Breakfast at Gaya Street
-Preparing for trip to Klias Wetlands, normally lunch is provided there
-Back to KK about 8pm
-Dinner at KK

My opinion is self drive will be much more better and save cost, as the packages are well, not that economical..

Just rent a car and self drive to Kundasang and back to KK, that's all.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Sep 30 2010, 01:36 AM)
Question about Celyn in Kundasang:
A friend of a friend says that the road to Celyn is very dangerous and advise me to park my rented car in Kundasang and get a local transportation like cab to the hotel. Is there really so scary? hmm.gif
I wanna to know more about Klias Wetland too drool.gif
Unless it rains heavily I think its still okay, as the locals are using vans/Unser too to ferry passengers..

Some info on Klias wetlands here..

This post has been edited by Zack Styler: Sep 30 2010, 11:30 AM
koinibler
post Sep 30 2010, 08:46 PM

2,050 posts

agree with Zack Styler, its possible but really pack and tiredsome ...
can't really enjoy on both occasion ... Mt Kinabalu heading to the north, while Klias heading to the south of KK.
My suggestion is drop either one of; mamutik, mt. kinabalu or klias.

Wonder why you want to go to Klias as its a short trip! You're either want to see prosboscis monkey or fireflies. Fireflies will start at around 8pm. It's a problem looking for the site (as there're several different site operated by different agent/owner) if you planning to go there yourself. As Malaysian at my own country, I'm too don't really go for tour agent, but for Klias sightseeing, owner there look at me as a weirdo when I arrive there since all of their customer (maybe mostly) are from tour agent. I need to wait for a group of tour agent and tumpang them on their boat. Rent the boat and driver our owned is super expensive. I've been charge RM 50 to tumpang boat sightseeing monkey (no luck seeing prosboscis) and fireflies at night. Since I'm a kampung boy and monkey is something that I can see everymonth (sometimes, everyday), I just mostly laughing at how mat selleh amazed when they see monkey. I'm also forgot to bring binoculars but I bring a good insect repellent.

Its good that you has already had a low expectation on the road since its not that bad. Just be careful not to flat your tyre. Otherwise its all gonna be great. If you rent 4x4, then its no problem at all. I just go there by gen2, no problem. Lucky me. Leaving your car at Kundasang town is more difficult in my opinion since you need to search for other operator to send you to Celyn.
kimhoong
post Oct 3 2010, 05:59 PM

5,154 posts

So, is a rented Kancil carrying 2 persons (a couple) good enough for the road to Celyn?

Just a revisit of my itinerary:

Day 1 - Fri (7.30pm):
(KK) Check-in (Beverly Hotel) + dinner (somewhere)

Day 2 - Sat:
(KK) Island hopping + etc

Day 3 - Sun:
(KK) Check-out + travel to Kundasang
(Kundasang) Check-in + Mt KK + Kinabalu National park + Kundasang + Poring Hot Springs + etc

Day 4 - Mon:
(Kundasang) Whatever remaining in Kundasang (above) + travel to KK
(KK) KK town
Departing at 7pm

Will fill more details later...

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Oct 3 2010, 06:27 PM
Listiani
post Oct 3 2010, 10:50 PM

Don't rent Kancil to National Park. You will end up with back ache later. Rent Proton at least.

In Klias in not the long tail monkey. It is probasic monkey. This type of monkey is different. Long nose like orang putih and pot belly. They look like white man lah. Hahahahha!!

Since you are in Kundasang, why not drive up a little bit further to Poring Hot Spring. Nice place for sulphur bath.

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Oct 3 2010, 05:59 PM)
So, is a rented Kancil carrying 2 persons (a couple) good enough for the road to Celyn?

Day 1 - Fri (7.30pm):

Day 2 - Sat:

Day 3 - Sun:
(Kundasang) Check-in + Mt KK + Kinabalu National park + Kundasang + Poring Hot Springs + etc

Day 4 - Mon:
(KK) KK town
Departing at 7pm
Zack Styler
post Oct 4 2010, 10:50 AM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Oct 3 2010, 05:59 PM)

Day 1 - Fri (7.30pm):

Day 2 - Sat:

Day 3 - Sun:

Day 4 - Mon:
(KK) KK town
Departing at 7pm
Probably get a better car as you will be going up hilly roads and winding terrains as well as sweeping corners..

Just to add for Day 3 since its a Sunday - Do go to Sunday Gaya Street Market in the morning ya..
koinibler
post Oct 4 2010, 02:03 PM

2,050 posts

Yup, for Kancil, its not the Celyn road that you should be concern. Its uphill road to Kundasang that need to take into account. Road to Celyn is only about 1 km, but road uphill to Kundasang is for more than 1 hours.

Before arrive in Kundasang, I'm also suggest to take a break at a little village called Nabalu brows.gif . Its has a large pineapple monument (not really big la) and a tower. You can already see Mount Kinabalu from here. There's a lot of souvenir shop here, so you can skip short you pasar philipine trip. Here is more cozy compare to hot and narrow lanes of pasar filipine, except if you're looking for ikan masin which is not available at Nabalu. laugh.gif
kascy
post Oct 5 2010, 02:39 PM

Hi, may i know where can get the cheap kancil for 3- 4 days? i will be travel to sabah on this thursday. biggrin.gif
Zack Styler
post Oct 6 2010, 12:13 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(kascy @ Oct 5 2010, 02:39 PM)
Hi, may i know where can get the cheap kancil for 3- 4 days? i will be travel to sabah on this thursday.  biggrin.gif
You may rent at the airport.. biggrin.gif
moc.
post Oct 6 2010, 08:06 PM

hi all,

-i've been to sabah a few times and i agree with Airasia's Tony Fernandez that KK is the most underrated tourist destination in M'sia.. KK is one of my fav. places now and i hope i can be there again soon...
O-haiyo
post Oct 7 2010, 12:03 AM

857 posts

guys, planning to go to sabah soon. any recommended nice beaches with night life activities? sipadan is too expensive...
starzgate
post Oct 7 2010, 10:22 PM

19 posts

going to k.k again for 2nd trip with pax of 4, looking for hotel in k.k town wit best rate around 150....

any suggestion ?
Zack Styler
post Oct 8 2010, 10:07 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Oct 7 2010, 12:03 AM)
guys, planning to go to sabah soon. any recommended nice beaches with night life activities? sipadan is too expensive...
Tanjung Aru, or the the Waterfront KK..

QUOTE(starzgate @ Oct 7 2010, 10:22 PM)
going to k.k again for 2nd trip with pax of 4, looking for hotel in k.k town wit best rate around 150....

any suggestion ?
Tang Dynasty Park KK..
koinibler
post Oct 8 2010, 10:23 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(moc. @ Oct 6 2010, 08:06 PM)
hi all,

-i've been to sabah a few times and i agree with Airasia's Tony Fernandez that KK is the most underrated tourist destination in M'sia.. KK is one of my fav. places now and i hope i can be there again soon...
In my opinion, Sabah gov may not properly venture to tourism dept. as there're lack of proper implementation of it as the uniqueness is already here, just not to be taken to a full advantages. There're still a lot need to be improve.
starzgate
post Oct 9 2010, 01:12 AM

19 posts

Thanks Zack!

Anyway I just booked Beverly Hotel after call the receptionist and ask few question.

cant wait! wink.gif
koinibler
post Oct 9 2010, 11:10 AM

2,050 posts

Beverly Hotel is sure is in walking distant to Bank Islam and Maybank. Other than that , might need some transportation. But still can consider near to city centre.

Imperial International and Radius International is centrally located, but slightly expensive. If you choose Tang Dynasty, then its connected to the mall.

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Sep 15 2010, 01:09 PM)
Maliau Basin
what to do at Maliau Basin?
tungfunglaw
post Oct 12 2010, 12:29 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Oct 9 2010, 11:10 AM)
Beverly Hotel is sure is in walking distant to Bank Islam and Maybank. Other than that , might need some transportation. But still can consider near to city centre.

Imperial International and Radius International is centrally located, but slightly expensive. If you choose Tang Dynasty, then its connected to the mall.
what to do at Maliau Basin?
http://www.sabahtourism.com/sabah-malaysia...bah-lost-world/
rehtselei
post Oct 14 2010, 10:51 AM

29 posts

Hi all,
I will be solo budget backpacking to KK for 3 days in Nov. Any suggestion of what to do? I wish to go island for sun tanning, national park trekking and Poring hot spring. Is it possible to access all these place with public transportation? I am in budget, so i guest renting a car by myself is a little out of my budget. Or are there any tour agents offering these tour for individual like me because I saw most of them only did group package.
Zack Styler
post Oct 14 2010, 05:29 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(rehtselei @ Oct 14 2010, 10:51 AM)
Hi all,
I will be solo budget backpacking to KK for 3 days in Nov. Any suggestion of what to do? I wish to go island for sun tanning, national park trekking and Poring hot spring. Is it possible to access all these place with public transportation? I am in budget, so i guest renting a car by myself is a little out of my budget. Or are there any tour agents offering these tour for individual like me because I saw most of them only did group package.
Yes its possible..

Just stay at any B&B located near Gaya Street, the Jesselton Point jetty is just within walking distances, to go to National Park you can take a bus/taxi to the Inanam bus station, and take express bus to the Kinabalu Park..

But to climb Mount Kinabalu you would have to book the mountain climbing packages, while to go to Poring you may take the vans/taxis from Kinabalu Park to reach there..

133 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.2651sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:50 AM