4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Tenant from hell causing my mom trouble

dobot7
post Jan 7 2025, 11:55 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jan 7 2025, 08:25 AM)
Nope. With outstanding of almost rm10k, I was able to reconnect back under my own name. The outstanding amount is under the tenant. Important thing is you must have valid stamped tenancy agreement during the period the debt is accumulated and the account is under the tenants name.
That thread you quoted, tnb went after the landlord because of meter tampering
nice info. gonna park for future reference
dobot7
post Jan 7 2025, 12:07 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Jan 7 2025, 11:55 AM)
Help me here, Did i read wrongly?
"If the Tenant who is a Registered User leaves the premises with arrears in the electricity bill:

Q: Is the Landlord responsible for the bill arrears that haven’t been paid?
A: No. The Tenant who has left the premises has to pay the leftover amount.

Q: Can the Landlord apply for a new electricity supply after the electricity supply contract with the old Tenant has been canceled?
A: Yes."

Based from this infographic I think ceddy is correct.
sheahann
post Jan 7 2025, 12:30 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 6 2025, 06:52 PM)
even if the tnb name is under tenant, tnb will still chase your mom to pay it because its her property.

cut the power, deduct deposit to pay the bill and maybe kick out the tenant.
worst is tenant use TNB bill to pinjam ahlong cakap is rumah dia

This post has been edited by sheahann: Jan 7 2025, 12:31 PM
xHj09
post Jan 7 2025, 01:08 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

i think TS' mum did either one below

1- DIY copy paste tenancy agreement and never did any stamping
2- rented out based on trust, no TA

coz as a landlord, this is common sense, why need to open tered to ask?
kick out bad tenant or play rough, simple as that.

and never once TS mentioned any agent. if got agent, they'll be more than willing to assist in kicking old tenant out and bring in new one to earn another month of commission from the same unit.

This post has been edited by xHj09: Jan 7 2025, 01:08 PM
khtan2000
post Jan 7 2025, 01:17 PM

Lurkerz
1,553 posts

if tnb account under your mum name , straight cut la since youre the owner for tnb and also the property

if tnb under tenant name, you wont be able to cut unless have tenant agreement to cut or you need to through the long process via court to evict them
Patent
post Jan 7 2025, 02:08 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jan 7 2025, 08:28 AM)
They don't remove the meter. They only remove the fuse. Reconnecting can be done in less than 24hours. My case was in August 2023. TNB officer made copies of all the tenancy agreement from the time the debt accumulated. Make sure the tenancy agreement is stamped otherwise TNB will not accept it as valid agreement. They can say you fabricate the agreement.
I see. Is stamped tenancy agreement the only way for TNB to accept that it is your tenant that is not paying bill under the property or are there any other related documents that can be used as proof?

cedyy
post Jan 7 2025, 02:10 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jan 7 2025, 11:44 AM)
Are you able to open a new tnb account for your next tenant without paying the bad tenant's bill?
Yes I was able to reconnect. I only paid the deposit and reconnection fee.
cedyy
post Jan 7 2025, 02:11 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 7 2025, 02:08 PM)
I see. Is stamped tenancy agreement the only way for TNB to accept that it is your tenant that is not paying bill under the property or are there any other related documents that can be used as proof?
Only stamped tenancy agreement. That was what the tnb officer asked for
dudester
post Jan 7 2025, 02:17 PM

1,229 posts

time to stop being nice to such tenant.
- cut power
- if apartment and has access card, tell management to block
- change padlock maybe against law.. but is something I would do with the presence of polis / make polis report.

Patent
post Jan 7 2025, 02:26 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jan 7 2025, 02:11 PM)
Only stamped tenancy agreement. That was what the tnb officer asked for
if no proper stamped agreement (I think majority of rental under direct owner), even if the meter is under tenant name, then TNB will go after the owner?

darkwaka
post Jan 7 2025, 03:13 PM

116 posts

what if, i say what if the owner hire some ah long to go to his house to collect some debt (fake debt under owner name and not renter name) and later the renter scare and own self move out

cedyy
post Jan 7 2025, 03:32 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 7 2025, 02:26 PM)
if no proper stamped agreement (I think majority of rental under direct owner), even if the meter is under tenant name, then TNB will go after the owner?
If no stamped agreement, not valid to tnb. Owner still bear the outstanding amount. If you don't stamp the agreement it can also be taken to mean you're evading lhdn income tax or you fabricated the agreement
netflix2019
post Jan 7 2025, 03:44 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 7 2025, 02:26 PM)
My personal experience. Previous tenant rack up TNB. Account under tenant name.

When we close the account so new tenant can register. TNB ask for previous n new stamped TA as record. Im guessing if u dont have those TA the TNB can just refuse to close.
hoonanoo
post Jan 7 2025, 05:01 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(27needles @ Jan 6 2025, 06:39 PM)
Please help and advice .

My mom's new tenant has been paying rental, BUT have not paid electricity bills since moving in (4 months already).

After all the empty promises , and claiming she did not get her salary, etc , and my mom patiently and understandingly gave the tenant chance to settle it - But ultimately, today, the tenant arrogantly told my mom "Electricity bill is between YOU (my mom) and TNB. I won't need to pay. I will only pay if I have the cash" .

What legal options does she have now, to deal with this tenant from hell ?

As my mom had 2 long term very-good tenants before this, so 1 of the mistake my mom did was not transferring the TNB name to the tenant. (Which I just recently found out she should have done, when renting out to tenant) .. So i believe this tenant is using this mistake against her now.

I know what can be done is request TNB to cut the electricity first - But after that, what else can be done, in this scenario?

My mom is old, and I hate seeing her being bullied like this. Thank God she's a little tech-savvy, so she can still manage things a little.. But in this case, I NEED YOUR HELP, SO I MAY HELP HER deal with such a tenant from hell.. Appreciate your help so much.
Got tenancy agreement or not ?

if not why didn't do? Your mom don't want to declare tax revenue to LHDN ?

Good thing this tenant still pay the rent. Not from hell as you think. There are tenants even worse, stay months and years without paying rent some more cause trouble by break the property. Cut electricity they sue back.

Yeah I get that a lot, I encounter tenants telling me that their salary delay lah, but tell the tenant (make up story lah), that you are paying loan, the bank no mercy on you if you pay late, so they better pay their rent in time.

You should text the tenant, tell her to pay soon. Keep chasing.

TNB under your mom name is better. You can check how much still owing.

If TNB under tenant name, you will not be able to know.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Jan 7 2025, 05:44 PM
stormer.lyn
post Jan 7 2025, 05:04 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jan 7 2025, 03:32 PM)
If no stamped agreement, not valid to tnb. Owner still bear the outstanding amount. If you don't stamp the agreement it can also be taken to mean you're evading lhdn income tax or you fabricated the agreement
Thanks, all excellent information you have been providing
Icehart
post Jan 7 2025, 06:32 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jan 7 2025, 02:17 PM)
time to stop being nice to such tenant.
- cut power
- if apartment and has access card, tell management to block
- change padlock maybe against law.. but is something I would do with the presence of polis / make polis report.
Police will not entertain. They will mark it as civil case with NFA.
jex-koi
post Jan 7 2025, 07:06 PM

273 posts

from my experience, do not close/terminate the TNB account, becuase tenant may `illegally` open a new TNB account with old-tampered agreement

Just request TNB to disconnect the electricity.
nihility
post Jan 7 2025, 09:58 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Jan 7 2025, 07:06 PM)
from my experience, do not close/terminate the TNB account, becuase tenant may `illegally` open a new TNB account with old-tampered agreement

Just request TNB to disconnect   the electricity.
Your case sound unique, mind to share what happened in details ?

What was the time & cost lost? How you finally resolved the issue?
KitZhai
post Jan 7 2025, 10:01 PM

380 posts

Not got 2+1 utility deposit
genesic
post Jan 8 2025, 02:21 AM

822 posts

I had a real “tenant from hell” experience.
my tenant repeatedly delayed rent payments and failed to pay water and electricity bills for 4–5 months. Every month, the bills kept soaring—over RM 300 for electricity and RM 100 for water—but she claimed she never used the air conditioner and questioned why her bills were so high. After doing a spot check, I discovered she had the air conditioner running all afternoon.

The bills piled up, and eventually, I received red cut notices. Every time I confronted her, she made excuses, blaming faulty wiring and asking me to fix it. Then, I contacted TNB and SYABAS to request the disconnection of utilities due to unpaid bills. They acted quickly, cutting off the electricity and water. A week later, the tenant moved out, leaving behind broken furniture and taking two of my water heaters. sad.gif

It was a nightmare! but give me a big relief from all the headache.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0185sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:04 AM