6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Suggest me ram size please, current 2x8gb

awol
post Dec 13 2024, 11:58 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 13 2024, 11:55 AM)
woohooo thanks!  rclxm9.gif
once installed the DIMM, kindly update here ya
taitianhin
post Dec 13 2024, 12:09 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 13 2024, 11:55 AM)
woohooo thanks!  rclxm9.gif
8+8+16+16 is an odd combination
https://www.blackview.hk/blog/computers/can...l%20performance.
Yes, you can mix 8GB and 16GB RAM if they are the same type and compatible with your motherboard.
The system will run, but it might not use full dual-channel performance.
https://www.quora.com/Can-I-add-16GB-to-my-...GB-in-the-other
...Matching RAM: It is generally recommended to use RAM modules of the same capacity, speed, and timings for optimal performance. While it is possible to mix different capacities, such as 8GB and 16GB, it may result in the RAM running in asynchronous mode, which can affect performance [3].

but yeah, you can Try to play around
16GB + 16GB startup.....feel the diff
8+8+16+16 startup....feel the diff, see see which works the best

16+16 for me is good enough thou, i be hoping to donate or sell 8GB ram to fund back myself....lol

...current clockspeed is 3200hz, so i'll just get 16gb x 2 same clock speed right?
- if you want to mix them. yes

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Dec 13 2024, 12:15 PM
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 13 2024, 12:29 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Dec 13 2024, 12:09 PM)
8+8+16+16 is an odd combination
https://www.blackview.hk/blog/computers/can...l%20performance.
Yes, you can mix 8GB and 16GB RAM if they are the same type and compatible with your motherboard.
The system will run, but it might not use full dual-channel performance.
https://www.quora.com/Can-I-add-16GB-to-my-...GB-in-the-other
...Matching RAM: It is generally recommended to use RAM modules of the same capacity, speed, and timings for optimal performance. While it is possible to mix different capacities, such as 8GB and 16GB, it may result in the RAM running in asynchronous mode, which can affect performance [3].

but yeah, you can Try to play around
16GB + 16GB startup.....feel the diff
8+8+16+16 startup....feel the diff, see see which works the best

16+16 for me is good enough thou, i be hoping to donate or sell 8GB ram to fund back myself....lol

...current clockspeed is 3200hz, so i'll just get 16gb x 2 same clock speed right?
- if you want to mix them. yes
got it, maybe i'll get back same model 8+8 or remove the old one and add a new 16+16
taitianhin
post Dec 13 2024, 12:31 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 13 2024, 10:43 AM)
2 X 16GB ram
Basically he just replied the answer on first post
LOL
Baconateer
post Dec 13 2024, 12:33 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Dec 13 2024, 12:31 PM)
LOL
TS shouldnt try to use all 4 RAM slots for stability issues

2 slots is the best
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 13 2024, 12:37 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Dec 13 2024, 12:31 PM)
LOL
hehhe, but appreciate everyone's input because i'm a noob. at least today i understand alot more about ram.

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 13 2024, 12:33 PM)
TS shouldnt try to use all 4 RAM slots for stability issues

2 slots is the best
got it, so i guess 16 x 2 then, if i get lucky in my trades later then 32 x 2 heheh
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 13 2024, 12:43 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

i've been here since 21 years ago, can't believe this place still rocking and have super friendly and kind members since day 1. vibes here never changed!
we need communities like u guys to answer our noob questions so we too get educated easily than googling and reading hours of gibberish.

Hopefully future Ai can copy your kindness too!

Can't wait to send my com for cleaning and get new rams and check out the upgrade.

Thank you once again to those who replied me!
I'll send u guys bubble tea when I'm back in Msia provided your area have grab.
DM me yo, appreciate your help!

thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif
taitianhin
post Dec 13 2024, 12:48 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 13 2024, 12:37 PM)
hehhe, but appreciate everyone's input because i'm a noob. at least today i understand alot more about ram.
got it, so i guess 16 x 2 then, if i get lucky in my trades later then 32 x 2 heheh
The Gigabyte AORUS GA-AX370-Gaming 5 motherboard was first available on February 22, 2017

If next few trading is good....maybe get a new lappy?

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 13 2024, 12:43 PM)
i've been here since 21 years ago, can't believe this place still rocking and have super friendly and kind members since day 1. vibes here never changed! 
we need communities like u guys to answer our noob questions so we too get educated easily than googling and reading hours of gibberish.

Hopefully future Ai can copy your kindness too!

Can't wait to send my com for cleaning and get new rams and check out the upgrade.

Thank you once again to those who replied me!
I'll send u guys bubble tea when I'm back in Msia provided your area have grab.
DM me yo, appreciate your help!

thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  rclxm9.gif
At KL's KL city.
Anything also has....lol

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Dec 13 2024, 12:50 PM
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 13 2024, 01:12 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Dec 13 2024, 12:48 PM)
The Gigabyte AORUS GA-AX370-Gaming 5 motherboard was first available on February 22, 2017

If next few trading is good....maybe get a new lappy?
At KL's KL city.
Anything also has....lol
yeah super old pc, waiting for better ram so i can load more chart and profit more for superpower pc, then i'll be back to ask for recommendation again hehehh rclxm9.gif
babylon52281
post Dec 13 2024, 03:09 PM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 13 2024, 12:29 PM)
got it, maybe i'll get back same model 8+8 or remove the old one and add a new 16+16
For an old build it will prolly do XMP stable a lil better with 16+16 match pair (2 sticks in a pack instead of individual packaging) rather than shooting for 8+8+8+8 config. More than likely you might not able to boot into XMP 3200 or have stabily issues in Windows.

Also to go with your existing 8+8, its most likely your wont be able to buy new a pair of RAM that exact match yours that are few years old.

To run 4x sticks ideally they are made within the same production batch of each other, like I have ( https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107604668 ) but even so I couldnt get full XMP (thats more coz of the CPU IMC tho).

For your use case where your using to cari makan, imho swap out the old RAMs and change with paired 16+16. Make sure the seller give you in pair package like below

Corsair sells them in pair units too for best XMP compatability.
Rainings
post Dec 14 2024, 04:01 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 13 2024, 03:09 PM)
For an old build it will prolly do XMP stable a lil better with 16+16 match pair (2 sticks in a pack instead of individual packaging) rather than shooting for 8+8+8+8 config. More than likely you might not able to boot into XMP 3200 or have stabily issues in Windows.

Also to go with your existing 8+8, its most likely your wont be able to buy new a pair of RAM that exact match yours that are few years old.

To run 4x sticks ideally they are made within the same production batch of each other, like I have ( https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107604668 ) but even so I couldnt get full XMP (thats more coz of the CPU IMC tho).

For your use case where your using to cari makan, imho swap out the old RAMs and change with paired 16+16. Make sure the seller give you in pair package like below

most likely your wont be able to buy new a pair of RAM that exact match

you might not able to boot into XMP 3200 or have stabily issues in Windows.

This is solid advice, TS use his PC to "cari makan". Running multiple different RAM stick might cause instability and even might not enable XMP, you wouldn't know until you run it.
BSD, BIOS failed to load settings etc, you name it.

Because few days ago I just upgraded my ram from 16 > 64gb.
Even the brand motherboard stated, the supported memory can support up to DDR4 3600mhz, but in fact, when boot up, my BIOS can't boot into windows and I have to manually lower the frequency to 3466mhz. Higher than that will cause BIOS reset. After some research I found that higher RAM frequency puts more stress on CPU hence requires higher voltages hence it can't boot properly.

Also thanks babylon52281 and TristanX for his advice and recommendation before I'm getting my RAM.
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 17 2024, 10:52 AM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 13 2024, 03:09 PM)

QUOTE(Rainings @ Dec 14 2024, 04:01 PM)
This is solid advice, TS use his PC to "cari makan". Running multiple different RAM stick might cause instability and even might not enable XMP, you wouldn't know until you run it.
BSD, BIOS failed to load settings etc, you name it.

Because few days ago I just upgraded my ram from 16 > 64gb.
Even the brand motherboard stated, the supported memory can support up to DDR4 3600mhz, but in fact, when boot up, my BIOS can't boot into windows and I have to manually lower the frequency to 3466mhz. Higher than that will cause BIOS reset. After some research I found that higher RAM frequency puts more stress on CPU hence requires higher voltages hence it can't boot properly.

Also thanks babylon52281 and TristanX for his advice and recommendation before I'm getting my RAM.
so the best choice is to remove my current 8+8 and get a new 16+16 with the same 3200mhz?
babylon52281
post Dec 17 2024, 12:09 PM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 17 2024, 10:52 AM)
so the best choice is to remove my current 8+8 and get a new 16+16 with the same 3200mhz?
Yes considering how important this PC running to your livelihood
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 17 2024, 01:22 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 17 2024, 12:09 PM)
Yes considering how important this PC running to your livelihood
got it! rclxm9.gif
Rainings
post Dec 18 2024, 11:35 AM

1,104 posts

yes before getting your ram stick, kindly refer your motherboard memory support list.
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-AX3...ort#support-doc
They listed all qualified ram stick for your motherboard, since your motherboard state it can support up to 3200mhz, i wouldn't recommend getting the speed higher than 3200mhz

This is the note from the pdf.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  mb_memory_ga_ax370_gaming5_pinnacle_v4.pdf ( 223.1k ) Number of downloads: 33
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 18 2024, 11:55 AM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Dec 18 2024, 11:35 AM)
yes before getting your ram stick, kindly refer your motherboard memory support list.
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-AX3...ort#support-doc
They listed all qualified ram stick for your motherboard, since your motherboard state it can support up to 3200mhz, i wouldn't recommend getting the speed higher than 3200mhz

This is the note from the pdf.
oh my, what if can't find in the list?
Rainings
post Dec 18 2024, 12:04 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 18 2024, 11:55 AM)
Then wish you best of luck icon_idea.gif
but you should be able to find the ram stick from the list.
kingkingyyk
post Dec 20 2024, 09:29 AM

15,694 posts

Official support for 2 DIMMs is 2933MT for Ryzen 2000. You could get Kingston Fury Beast 32GB Kit (3200MT) and use it's 2933MT at XMP Profile 2.
You could run 4 sticks at lower speed, i.e. 2133MT if you don't mind. For browsing the speed doesn't matter too much.

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 18 2024, 11:55 AM)
Mostly likely still work, but could be not playing well at the rated speed. wink.gif
Also newer BIOS contains some tweaks that allow better memory compatibility, so do try it out too!

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Dec 20 2024, 09:36 AM
TSe 3 h y 0 r
post Dec 21 2024, 06:29 AM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

removed my old 16gb and added this 2 x 16gb https://www.corsair.com/us/en/p/memory/cmk3...32gx4m2e3200c16

everything seems stable, xmr profile activated. running 3200

but now my cpu is spiking high if high usage.

already clean the entire pc with cpu new thermal paste

babylon52281
post Dec 21 2024, 09:09 AM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(e 3 h y 0 r @ Dec 21 2024, 06:29 AM)
removed my old 16gb and added this 2 x 16gb https://www.corsair.com/us/en/p/memory/cmk3...32gx4m2e3200c16

everything seems stable, xmr profile activated. running 3200
but now my cpu is spiking high if high usage.

already clean the entire pc with cpu new thermal paste

Your CPU TJMAX is 85oC so you got way below it, should be no problems for now

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:29 PM