How to get the deposit refund by TNB ?, Change of Tenancy by Purchaser

TSerdingerbier
post Dec 12 2024, 11:43 PM, updated 2y ago

195 posts

Hi sifus, there was Change of Tenancy submitted by the Purchaser who has purchased my property unit, and caused my previous Close of Account being cancelled.

Currently, I still have the Deposit in my TNB account, usually how to request TNB to refund deposit to my bank account ?

Previously, I have applied Close of Account via MyTNB portal, but if this has been cancelled, will look into my bank account which has maintained in my TNB account ?
gashout
post Dec 13 2024, 07:29 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

tnb is very efficient, and everything is clear online.

just go to this website https://www.tnb.com.my/residential/my-tnb-account/ and fill in the form.

they will notify last meter reading, deduct everything, and will refund your balance and deposit to your bank account which you have provided.
GTA5
post Dec 13 2024, 09:37 AM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 13 2024, 07:29 AM)
tnb is very efficient, and everything is clear online.

just go to this website https://www.tnb.com.my/residential/my-tnb-account/ and fill in the form.

they will notify last meter reading, deduct everything, and will refund your balance and deposit to your bank account which you have provided.
Yes, tnb is quite efficient from my previous dealings with them

Since the new owner have already submitted change to ownership, means by right the new owner would have to pay the deposit too right?

Then automatically tnb will refund you your deposit as well

As what I understand la

For my personal situation, is the new owner didn't submit change of name, so I submitted case to close the account online. They did it and refunded me my deposit quite fast too.

This post has been edited by GTA5: Dec 13 2024, 09:38 AM
gashout
post Dec 13 2024, 09:57 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Dec 13 2024, 09:37 AM)
Yes, tnb is quite efficient from my previous dealings with them

Since the new owner have already submitted change to ownership, means by right the new owner would have to pay the deposit too right?

Then automatically tnb will refund you your deposit as well

As what I understand la

For my personal situation, is the new owner didn't submit change of name, so I submitted case to close the account online. They did it and refunded me my deposit quite fast too.
not sure how ts account was closed if he didn't agree to it.

usually, there is a time period to approve or reject the new owner's application to change name. I rejected it, let me close my own account, then the new owner can apply their own account.

TSerdingerbier
post Dec 13 2024, 02:24 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 13 2024, 09:57 AM)
not sure how ts account was closed if he didn't agree to it.

usually, there is a time period to approve or reject the new owner's application to change name. I rejected it, let me close my own account, then the new owner can apply their own account.
I submitted COA on 9 Dec, and TNB called me said that they will go to unplug the meter of my property unit from the premise, and then refund the deposit to me based on the bank info that I have filled up in my COA.

Yesterday, on 12 Dec, I checked my application status shown Cancelled without any info or call to me, so I called TNB careline.

The CS said there was a Change of Tenant request raised to TNB on 10 Dec, and therefore the system cancelled my COA.

That is the background of this.

Now TNB have sent me email to fill up the soft-copy of COA, have to repeat the process just that the submission is not via MyTNB portal, it is via email.
gashout
post Dec 13 2024, 02:26 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(erdingerbier @ Dec 13 2024, 02:24 PM)
I submitted COA on 9 Dec, and TNB called me said that they will go to unplug the meter of my property unit from the premise, and then refund the deposit to me based on the bank info that I have filled up in my COA.

Yesterday, on 12 Dec, I checked my application status shown Cancelled without any info or call to me, so I called TNB careline.

The CS said there was a Change of Tenant request raised to TNB on 10 Dec, and therefore the system cancelled my COA.

That is the background of this.

Now TNB have sent me email to fill up the soft-copy of COA, have to repeat the process just that the submission is not via MyTNB portal, it is via email.
reject that, and close your account.

it should be on portal, but they communicate in email well too.
TSerdingerbier
post Dec 13 2024, 09:14 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 13 2024, 02:26 PM)
reject that, and close your account.

it should be on portal, but they communicate in email well too.
TNB rejected my COA instead, and they already done processed the new buyer's request.
gashout
post Dec 14 2024, 02:42 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(erdingerbier @ Dec 13 2024, 09:14 PM)
TNB rejected my COA instead, and they already done processed the new buyer's request.
when the new buyer request to change name on your account, you will be given X days to respond to the request.

did you do anything during those days? and do you have an email linked to your tnb account?

0.0161sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:41 AM