Fahmi blasts Meta for having ‘no remorse’

TSpokemon
post Dec 6 2024, 05:51 PM, updated 2y ago

2,717 posts

Fahmi blasts Meta for having ‘no remorse’ as RM432m scammed from Malaysians through Facebook, says platform’s resistance ‘facetious’

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 6 — Communications Minister Fahmi Fadzil has labelled Meta Inc as having “no remorse” or “responsibility” as Malaysians got scammed by RM432 million through its social media platform Facebook.

In an interview with South China Morning Post (SCMP), he also downplayed Meta’s concerns over the upcoming social media licensing as “facetious”, comparing it to how carmakers can still innovate and develop new technologies despite strict regulations.

“I told the Facebook team [of the losses] when I met them in Singapore. I can tell you they had no reaction. It’s like the Malay saying, tiada hati perut,” Fahmi said, using the Malay idiom meaning “being heartless”.

“Like, oh wow, RM432 million from Malaysians stolen through your platform and you have no remorse, no sense of responsibility? And you expect me to do nothing about it?”

He cited how police estimated that RM432 million had been lost to Facebook scams in 2023, pointing out how the platform has been the worst enabler of criminal activity — with 170,000 takedown requests sent to it, making up 91 per cent of online gambling and scam advertisements across all platforms.

Fahmi also said that Meta has been the least responsive when it comes to dealing with scams or online gambling.Meta also owns Instagram and WhatsApp.“The frustration the administration has had with Meta for the longest time is ... we spend so much resources communicating with Meta, repeatedly every day, to take down content related to illegal online gambling or scams,” he was quoted saying.

Fahmi gave the example of how Meta took six months to handle the Health Ministry’s complaint over Facebook accounts impersonating a doctor to sell fake eye drops.

Meta also owns Instagram and WhatsApp. SCMP said the company did not respond to its request for comments.

In August this year, the Asia Internet Coalition (AIC) wrote an open letter to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, urging Putrajaya to postpone the social media licensing — claiming it is “unworkable”.

The AIC is made up of tech giants such as Google, Meta, X, Apple and Amazon.

Despite that, Fahmi has previously insisted that the government will stick with the January 1, 2025. However, Putrajaya will not block access to internet messaging services and social media platforms that do not register.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...acetious/159057
SUSCurrent Events guy
post Dec 6 2024, 05:54 PM

966 posts

Cannot blame them similar to no blame on banks when people lose their money

Their site is just a funnel for money like banks

If don't want people to be scammed please encourage authorities to take action when scam reports are made
DarkAeon

774 posts

the moment u have to go see them in singapork in their office instead of them coming to see u, u already know where u stand in their eyes
Maestrol

345 posts

Be like China, build a firewall.
SUSM4A1
post Dec 6 2024, 05:55 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

when I met them in Singapore. I can tell you they had no reaction

NO FARK GIVEN
MR_alien
post Dec 6 2024, 05:56 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

so they went from having a malaysian office to completely moved out?

interesting
tifosi
post Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

Go and catch the scammers then.

Whole life talking but nothing is done.
DarkAeon

774 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 6 2024, 05:56 PM)
so they went from having a malaysian office to completely moved out?

interesting
nola, they got an office here, just no high ranking person there

he can go there sembang borak but none can make any decision here

so the next best thing is to go to their regional hq, where at least there is someone high ranking enough to talk to
Danielle Lav

105 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Dec 6 2024, 05:54 PM)

If don't want people to be scammed please encourage authorities to take action when scam reports are made
ya i pernah scam like rm100++, i still insist to make police report.

but the abang and akak polis that helped me lodge report also tak acah jer.

they said no choice, amount too small to investigate. like wtf.
MR_alien
post Dec 6 2024, 05:59 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM)
nola, they got an office here, just no high ranking person there

he can go there sembang borak but none can make any decision here

so the next best thing is to go to their regional hq, where at least there is someone high ranking enough to talk to
pretty sure they're moving everything out by year end laugh.gif
JohnLai
post Dec 6 2024, 05:59 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Ini macam salahkan kilang besi sebab mereka menghasilkan piasau tajam yang digunakan untuk jenayah........
DarkAeon
post Dec 6 2024, 06:00 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 6 2024, 05:59 PM)
pretty sure they're moving everything out by year end laugh.gif
if i'm being honest, the office in mehresia doesn't matter to them
MR_alien
post Dec 6 2024, 06:00 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(Danielle Lav @ Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM)
ya i pernah scam like rm100++, i still insist to make police report.

but the abang and akak polis that helped me lodge report also tak acah jer.

they said no choice, amount too small to investigate. like wtf.
escalate the case to SISPAA...word for word, case number and everybody in charge
you'll suddenly see them very hardworking
Autocountstick
post Dec 6 2024, 06:01 PM

675 posts

take some action let them come and see you next time
smallbug
post Dec 6 2024, 06:02 PM

874 posts

nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 06:02 PM

1,597 posts

I think no, TikTok rarely have such scam advertisement. TikTok is more controlled. If TikTok can do it, I don”t see any reason Facebook cannot do it.

cckkpr
post Dec 6 2024, 06:06 PM

4,518 posts

Small man talking to a Tai Kor.

Now trying calling Elon Musk on all the false accusations of PN on X. See whether he give a fork or not.
gashout
post Dec 6 2024, 06:07 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Dec 6 2024, 05:59 PM)
Ini macam salahkan kilang besi sebab mereka menghasilkan piasau tajam yang digunakan untuk jenayah........
Rakyat bodoh tamak, salahkan Social media.

SUSsihamsedap
post Dec 6 2024, 06:08 PM

94 posts

its like blaming the car when u get into accident

sendiri bodoh but go blame the tools..
Khabib Nurmagomedov
post Dec 6 2024, 06:10 PM

169 posts

Sudah sudah lah Fahmi

All talk but no results kind of guy
submergedx
post Dec 6 2024, 06:13 PM

1,132 posts

Like i said always

sendiri bodo, dont blame others
You willingly deposit to stranger, then blame facebook scam pulak
Phoenix_KL
post Dec 6 2024, 06:15 PM

156 posts

drive car, accident died.
blame gov who built the road!

This post has been edited by Phoenix_KL: Dec 6 2024, 06:16 PM
CivicTypeRFk8
post Dec 6 2024, 06:17 PM

432million !?!!

Malaysia so many retard!?

Lmao
God Grid
post Dec 6 2024, 06:26 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 6 2024, 06:00 PM)
escalate the case to SISPAA...word for word, case number and everybody in charge
what is SISPAA?
Slowpokeking
post Dec 6 2024, 06:27 PM

19 posts

Off course they don’t care.

They already know your main motive is to do censorship. The 432m is just your bullshit excuse.
Baconateer
post Dec 6 2024, 06:29 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

FB got office here also

Why need to go all the way to SG?

If got balls..just ban FB now..
tatmeng
post Dec 6 2024, 06:32 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 6 2024, 06:29 PM)
FB got office here also

Yes who fund the flight tickets, hotels and meals?
Singapore expensive.
Can just summon the ceo to cum to Malaysia and diu 9 the ceo lah
RT8081
post Dec 6 2024, 06:33 PM

355 posts

before you complain to meta, dear Mr Minister, you go and fix the scam calls via our telco la
seather
post Dec 6 2024, 06:40 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

Waiting to him to tiao X CEO when they don comply
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 6 2024, 06:40 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

I have report several complaints recently to Meta, guess what , no action taken

next week still can see these sellers selling stuffs like nothing happened

ip 14 pro max selling for rm1K lulz
icemanfx
post Dec 6 2024, 06:56 PM

21,457 posts

FB is like Telco, not a regulatory body, not responsible to content posted by users like this forum.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Dec 6 2024, 06:57 PM
MR_alien
post Dec 6 2024, 06:57 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Dec 6 2024, 06:26 PM)
what is SISPAA?
just google it

it's a department under PM that you can lodge complaint regarding civil servant
p4n6
post Dec 6 2024, 07:02 PM

5,974 posts

Actually Meta really no remorse, when u a report a sponsored post it is scam it will reply you the post is not …

This post has been edited by p4n6: Dec 6 2024, 07:02 PM
TruboXL
post Dec 6 2024, 07:03 PM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

Fahmi got power to ban but buat Tatau owaii

This post has been edited by TruboXL: Dec 6 2024, 07:05 PM
p4n6
post Dec 6 2024, 07:04 PM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 06:56 PM)
FB is like Telco,  not a regulatory body, not responsible to content posted by users like this forum.
In this forum, at least someone reports you, mod will take action, … FB doesnt or maybe the mod is not even local cant tell if a sponsored ad is actually scam
whynotpink
post Dec 6 2024, 07:04 PM

sama jer. kita pun kena scam. dulu kata no UMNO.

This post has been edited by whynotpink: Dec 6 2024, 07:04 PM
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 07:07 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 6 2024, 06:40 PM)
I have report several complaints recently to Meta, guess what , no action taken

next week still can see these sellers selling stuffs like nothing happened

ip 14 pro max selling for rm1K lulz
The public got the concept wrong, the analogies used are so misleading & reflect on their limited perception.

The more rationale analogy :-

Commercial Park (Physical) vs Facebook (Cyber)
Shot Lot (Physical) vs Advertisement / Landing Page (e-shop)

No one will blame the commercial park (physical) or Facebook (cyber),
No one will blame the shot lot (physical) or landing page (e-shop).
But the moment the criminal activity is carried out at the shop vs criminal activity carried out at the landing page (e-shop), it is wrong.
Upon report by the public / victim on such cases, the authority will raid the shot lot or get the illegal landing page (e-shop) to be taken down.

If public report have been made, the authority did nothing, then that is the authority wrong.
If the drug selling activity have been reported, the authority did nothing to stop the illegal activity, then that is the authority wrong.
If the illegal website activity have been reported, the authority did nothing to stop the illegal activity, then that is the authority wrong.
Now the authority is doing the correct thing, the public is criticizing the move by the authority is wrong.

The limitation on the public civic awareness is really the cause that is dragging this country down.

This post has been edited by nihility: Dec 6 2024, 07:08 PM
OldSchoolJoke
post Dec 6 2024, 07:07 PM

289 posts

so when ban facebook/instagram here?
Fork
post Dec 6 2024, 07:08 PM

157 posts

What to do, scam come in many ways, in fact living is a never ending episode of scam
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 07:09 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 6 2024, 07:07 PM)
so when ban facebook/instagram here?
They only requested the illegal advertisement to be taken down not ban the entire platform.

This post has been edited by nihility: Dec 6 2024, 07:12 PM
knumskul
post Dec 6 2024, 07:12 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Dec 6 2024, 06:33 PM)
before you complain to meta, dear Mr Minister, you go and fix the scam calls via our telco la
Unsurprisingly never blame telco for enabling scam calls whistling.gif
mick84
post Dec 6 2024, 07:15 PM

96 posts

Ok. What will you do? No fb no IG in Malaysia?
Then how PH promote their manifesto???
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 07:17 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Dec 6 2024, 07:12 PM)
Unsurprisingly never blame telco for enabling scam calls  whistling.gif
They are using the digital phone spoofing. The number displayed is actually not the real number & they can actually use any number they want. Means any number belong to the public can be used.

I made the report to police & MCMC, they explained the issue technically. They can changed the number as they like & even the phone number belongs to civilian like you can be used without you knowing. Hence , it is not feasible.
SUSEfalex
post Dec 6 2024, 07:17 PM

361 posts

Just instruct bank never to approve any payment to Facebook from Malaysian account and credit card issue in Makaysia.
Heroicage
post Dec 6 2024, 07:20 PM

265 posts

what happens if the citizen BLAME you Fahmi?....

can you swallow that?...

OldSchoolJoke
post Dec 6 2024, 07:22 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 07:09 PM)
They only requested the illegal advertisement to be taken down not ban the entire platform.
i mean, ban the whole platform can solve the issue isn't it?

owai
ry8128
post Dec 6 2024, 07:23 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,648 posts

Topkek, this kind of puak bodo, one day no make bolehland looks like idiots to the whole world, like they will die.
icemanfx
post Dec 6 2024, 07:23 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 6 2024, 07:04 PM)
In this forum, at least someone reports you, mod will take action, … FB doesnt or maybe the mod is not even local cant tell if a sponsored ad is actually scam
FB will remove ad under court order. People should complain to police and take legal action.

JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 6 2024, 07:24 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 07:07 PM)
The public got the concept wrong, the analogies used are so misleading & reflect on their limited perception.

The more rationale analogy :-

Commercial Park (Physical) vs Facebook (Cyber)
Shot Lot (Physical) vs Advertisement /  Landing Page (e-shop)

No one will blame the commercial park (physical) or Facebook (cyber),
No one will blame the shot lot (physical) or landing page (e-shop).
But the moment the criminal activity is carried out at the shop vs criminal activity carried out at the landing page (e-shop), it is wrong.
Upon report by the public / victim on such cases, the authority will raid the shot lot or get the illegal landing page (e-shop) to be taken down.

If public report have been made, the authority did nothing, then that is the authority wrong.
If the drug selling activity have been reported, the authority did nothing to stop the illegal activity, then that is the authority wrong.
If the illegal website activity have been reported, the authority did nothing to stop the illegal activity, then that is the authority wrong.
Now the authority is doing the correct thing, the public is criticizing the move by the authority is wrong.

The limitation on the public civic awareness is really the cause that is dragging this country down.
most of the time public did report, but when got no favorable answer, well, end up fedup also lah
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 07:25 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 6 2024, 07:22 PM)
i mean, ban the whole platform can solve the issue isn't it?

owai
It is not the Facebook platform, it is the illegal advertisement on Facebook platform.

Ppl run illegal activity at 1 shop, police go seal off the entire commercial park ? Not logic right? Only seal off the illegal shop, the rest of the shops still can operate.
Sycamore
post Dec 6 2024, 07:28 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 07:23 PM)
FB will remove ad under court order. People should complain to police and take legal action.
Court order threshold is too high.
It is unfeasible.
I hope you realize this.
potatolala
post Dec 6 2024, 07:28 PM

141 posts

Can I blame bursa?
LamboSama
post Dec 6 2024, 07:29 PM

769 posts

Own country companies so many id leaks no action taken.

Talk so much about security but allow app to request for people id with no crossing.
nihility

1,597 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 6 2024, 07:24 PM)
most of the time public did report, but when got no favorable answer, well, end up fedup also lah
They reported to police, that's why police asked MCMC to take the illegal advertisement down. When MCMC wants Facebook to take down the illegal advertisement, the public reaction like shooting randomly using shot gun, criticizing for the sake for criticizing.

You see the comments coming in, you will know the frustration level.

This post has been edited by nihility: Dec 6 2024, 07:33 PM
ry8128

♣Just a noob♣
3,648 posts

Everyday see cars killing ppl, no see he call car manufacturers to stop producing cars pun whistling.gif:
soul78
post Dec 6 2024, 07:34 PM

938 posts

ouhh Farkk mi 🫣.. what did meta do?
icemanfx
post Dec 6 2024, 07:56 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 6 2024, 07:28 PM)
Court order threshold is too high.
It is unfeasible.
I hope you realize this.
Who will be liable if FB wrongly remove ad?
Rusty Nail
post Dec 6 2024, 08:09 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

What do he expect? Scammers is Facebook biggest customer
Skylinestar
post Dec 6 2024, 08:09 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

dear Fahmi,
can you catch those fake official stores in shopee?

p4n6
post Dec 6 2024, 08:11 PM

5,974 posts

Solution is gov pay FB fixed price every year to buy out all ads so Msia wont have any other ads only Madani ads ..
Sycamore
post Dec 6 2024, 08:19 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 07:56 PM)
Who will be liable if FB wrongly remove ad?
There is already legitimate reason to end the advertising contract.

FB is just avoiding their responsible in checking the wrongdoings, as it will reduce their income.
loserguy
post Dec 6 2024, 08:21 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Dec 6 2024, 06:08 PM)
its like blaming the car when u get into accident

sendiri bodoh but go blame the tools..
That is not a good analogy.

Maybe something like this. Pisau and Car factories are illegal factories.

Fesbuk is the highway signboard owner promoting these pisau and cars and earning ad costs from them.

/K favret menteri ask Fesbuk, aiyo tabulih ini machiam la. Lu mau cari makan sini kena ikut sini punya law ma.

Fesbuk:

icemanfx
post Dec 6 2024, 08:25 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 6 2024, 08:19 PM)

FB is just avoiding their responsible in checking the wrongdoings, as it will reduce their income.
Who will be liable if FB wrongly removed ad?
Sycamore
post Dec 6 2024, 08:28 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 08:25 PM)

h@ksam
post Dec 6 2024, 08:30 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

how da fuck does FB be able to charge our CC and DC without TAC/OTP/App verification
loserguy
post Dec 6 2024, 08:32 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 08:25 PM)
No one.

Fesbuk not bodo.

There is a refund process.
Roadwarrior1337
post Dec 6 2024, 08:33 PM

979 posts

Bodoh sial fahmi

Go Singapore to see them to blast them ? This already show the amount of fuks given by meta to fahmi

Mana Ada boss come to you and sound
It’s always u go to them and kena creampie
Matchy
post Dec 6 2024, 08:35 PM

1,328 posts

Tbh, I’ve seen many scams on fb and reported them. 100% will be rejected by fb.
icemanfx
post Dec 6 2024, 08:44 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 6 2024, 08:28 PM)

FB council stop competitors to demand to remove ad. Who will be liable?

QUOTE(loserguy @ Dec 6 2024, 08:32 PM)
No one.

Fesbuk not bodo.

There is a refund process.
Why should FB take up unnecessary liability?

loserguy
post Dec 6 2024, 08:57 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 08:44 PM)
You are paying for the service. You do not own the product. If service kena tarik kenot komplen. Same like gugel or microsoft. Your account kena tutupke, you can onli go to your room cry yourself to sleep.

Too many komplen about your ads, fesbuk can kasi banhammer sama account tu.

For ads, if your account still got funds when they tutupke, can go through the refund process.
Sycamore
post Dec 6 2024, 09:02 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 08:44 PM)
FB will be liable if it lacks the competency to determine an application's legitimacy, especially if it insists on providing advertising services and then terminates the contract based on its own assessment.

FB is reluctant to invest in building this competency, because legal services are not cheap.
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 09:08 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 07:23 PM)
It is the loophole on the cyberspace. By conventional physical way, the raid or sealing of premise by the law enforcer needs the court order / warrant but for the cyberworld, no scammer is going to operates their operation locally logically. Usually they will operates at the neighbouring country. Our country court order / warrant may not be enforceable at the other country.

The strange part, why Tik Tok platform has no issue but Meta has this issue.
kira_88
post Dec 6 2024, 09:13 PM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,153 posts

Their admin or AI or whatever dumfuk shit that moderates all stuff that people report is next level retard. The community manager or something.

I lipot a comment or post that is obviously lead or show porn and the say its not against the community guidelines.

I lipot ads that are obviously phishing or scam, the jobai mofo also says no issues.

I posted an ads selling my used tyres and received a warning after almost a year that says I sell counterfeit stuff.

WHAT THE ACTUAL FARK

This post has been edited by kira_88: Dec 6 2024, 09:14 PM
Mattrock
post Dec 6 2024, 09:14 PM

395 posts

So if kena scam through phone call, Telekom is responsible?

Sycamore
post Dec 6 2024, 09:15 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Dec 6 2024, 09:13 PM)
Their admin or AI or whatever dumfuk shit that moderates all stuff that people report is next level retard. The community manager or something.

I lipot a comment or post that is obviously lead or show porn and the say its not against the community guidelines.

I lipot ads that are obviously phishing or scam, the jobai mofo also says no issues.

I posted an ads selling my used tyres and received a  warning after almost a year that says I sell counterfeit stuff. 

WHAT THE ACTUAL FARK
You sell counterfeit tyre is it. I just knew. biggrin.gif
Artus
post Dec 6 2024, 09:16 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(CivicTypeRFk8 @ Dec 6 2024, 06:17 PM)
432million !?!!

Malaysia so many retard!?

Lmao
Whole world full of retards. Only the clever ones avoid using Facebook or at least using it anonymously.

https://www.bangkokpost.com/thailand/genera...b718m-in-losses

During a recent briefing highlighting the Anti-Online Scam Operation Center's achievements from Nov 1 last year to Nov 14 this year, Mr Prasert said the AOC had received over 1.17 million complaints via the 1441 hotline, resulting in the suspension of 348,006 suspicious Facebook accounts.

Reported damages from online scams during this period in total amounted to more than 19 billion baht, he said.
Last year, Thailand threatened to ban Facebook but didn't do anything.

nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 09:18 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Dec 6 2024, 09:16 PM)
Whole world full of retards. Only the clever ones avoid using Facebook or at least using it anonymously.

https://www.bangkokpost.com/thailand/genera...b718m-in-losses
Last year, Thailand threatened to ban Facebook but didn't do anything.
Yes ,one of the way. Just move away from Facebook. Let them become the dinasour since they dont listen.
Artus
post Dec 6 2024, 09:22 PM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 09:18 PM)
Yes ,one of the way. Just move away from Facebook. Let them become the dinasour since they dont listen.
Facebook addicts cannot quit because they are addicted to "Likes". Some everyday do what also wants to tell the whole world about it.
ApocalypseSoon
post Dec 6 2024, 09:38 PM

214 posts

For greater good, Fahmi should just bites the bullets & blocked FB until they rectified it. To hell with critics.
kira_88
post Dec 6 2024, 09:39 PM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,153 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 6 2024, 09:15 PM)
You sell counterfeit tyre is it. I just knew.  biggrin.gif
lol I dunno if even got such thing as conterfeit tires. Its a conti uc6 iirc
Jasonist
post Dec 6 2024, 09:41 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

instead of blame others, why not self educate own citizens to be more intelligent bit???
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 09:41 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(ApocalypseSoon @ Dec 6 2024, 09:38 PM)
For greater good, Fahmi should just bites the bullets & blocked FB until they rectified it. To hell with critics.
KLCI will nose dive. Our EPF, PNB, KWAP, LTAT & UT funds all will be affected. Not a good option.
Capt. Marble
post Dec 6 2024, 09:45 PM

221 posts

Faham fahamlah.. they simply don't care. Not their job to educate other people making bad choices. You can't blame Honda for drivers that drive melawan arus or using their motor for rempiting.

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Dec 6 2024, 09:51 PM
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 09:49 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Dec 6 2024, 09:41 PM)
instead of blame others, why not self educate own citizens to be more intelligent bit???
Bro, if this is feasible…. We won”t have such low civic awareness. It will take ages…

In our society structure, there always a mass majority with limited capabilities to understand the complexity of the issue.
SUS*lightbringer*
post Dec 6 2024, 10:34 PM

259 posts

Er I think this is the same case as my Bangla worker come to my office, bising2 about his life which had nothing to do with me, and then leaves my office, and nothing changes.

Hiah bodohnya la menteri madanon. Xkisah la from PKR, UMNO, DAP, GPS, all damn bodoh
zerorating
post Dec 6 2024, 10:42 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

and how to educate people? many people no longer watch tv or listen to radio, websitea also people block ads.
so every week must send propaganda and road must have billboard containing messages?
nearlee
post Dec 6 2024, 10:55 PM

105 posts

>topkek mentality
Nearlee

SUSM4A1
post Dec 6 2024, 10:56 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

why not ask police take action or bank?
SUSM4A1

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 6 2024, 10:42 PM)
and how to educate people? many people no longer watch tv or listen to radio, websitea also people block ads.
so every week must send propaganda and road must have billboard containing messages?
no read news?
nihility

1,597 posts

Another critical point. They are spending most of their time at socmed @ Facebook…the most vulnerable location for their source of information.
SUSM4A1
post Dec 6 2024, 10:58 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 10:56 PM)
Another critical point. They are spending most of their time at socmed @ Facebook…the most vulnerable location for their source of information.
can advertise on scam alert on facebook...
knumskul
post Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 09:49 PM)
Bro, if this is feasible…. We won”t have such low civic awareness. It will take ages…

In our society structure, there always a mass majority with limited capabilities to understand the complexity of the issue.
A car is a complex piece of machinery but its operation has been dumbed down for the masses to access it.

If there's a will, there's a way. All human inventions can be modified by humans for human usage.

People still consume media, just a different channel than all you mentioned. Just educate via the current most used channels.

If we can bring/force awareness of Palestine issues into schools, I don't see why this type of education can't be done in similar manner.
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 6 2024, 10:58 PM)
can advertise on scam alert on facebook...
They will remove it, FB is favoring the scammers from all the feedback so far.
zerorating
post Dec 6 2024, 11:01 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 10:56 PM)
sponsored page also sometime ad block can block.
so when it come to ads, better just let platform owner to do extra vet, but ironically they prioritized money first.
ZeaXG
post Dec 6 2024, 11:02 PM

342 posts

Just ban Facebook only.
SUSM4A1
post Dec 6 2024, 11:04 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM)
remove?
so cannot educate anti scam at fb meh
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 11:08 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM)
A car is a complex piece of machinery but its operation has been dumbed down for the masses to access it.

If there's a will, there's a way. All human inventions can be modified by humans for human usage.
People still consume media, just a different channel than all you mentioned. Just educate via the current most used channels.

If we can bring/force awareness of Palestine issues into schools, I don't see why this type of education can't be done in similar manner.
The one at school or younger generation are safe for now because their exposure to FB is limited, they are more exposed to Tik Tok platform ( more controlled).

Those that no longer in school are the issue. They have moved away from main stream media - believing the main stream medias are controlled by the politician for their propaganda. Their source of information is mainly from the most vulnerable platform.
nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 11:17 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 6 2024, 11:04 PM)
remove?
so cannot educate anti scam at fb meh
Bro, you go search the page…you see the number of likes vs our country adult populations . I”ll say the awareness campaign failed miserably. It didn”t reach the targeted audience.

2ndly, usually very less public want to follow the government agency FB pages.
SUSM4A1
post Dec 6 2024, 11:19 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 11:17 PM)
Bro, you go search the page…you see the number of likes vs our country adult populations . I”ll say the awareness campaign failed miserably. It didn”t reach the targeted audience.

2ndly, usually very less public want to follow the government agency FB pages.
so? then promote or do marketing campaign la
PR tak ada?

ini pun nak ajar ke?

i thought PH is very good in social media?
Sunshape
post Dec 6 2024, 11:20 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM)
Go and catch the scammers then.

Whole life talking but nothing is done.
cant catch la.. just ban FB
icemanfx
post Dec 6 2024, 11:21 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Dec 6 2024, 08:57 PM)
You are paying for the service. You do not own the product. If service kena tarik kenot komplen. Same like gugel or microsoft. Your account kena tutupke, you can onli go to your room cry yourself to sleep.

Too many komplen about your ads, fesbuk can kasi banhammer sama account tu.

For ads, if your account still got funds when they tutupke, can go through the refund process.
QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 6 2024, 09:02 PM)
FB will be liable if it lacks the competency to determine an application's legitimacy, especially if it insists on providing advertising services and then terminates the contract based on its own assessment.

FB is reluctant to invest in building this competency, because legal services are not cheap.
QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 09:08 PM)
It is the loophole on the cyberspace. By conventional physical way, the raid or sealing of premise by the law enforcer needs the court order / warrant but for the cyberworld, no scammer is going to operates their operation locally logically. Usually they will operates at the neighbouring country. Our country court order / warrant may not be enforceable at the other country.

The strange part, why Tik Tok platform has no issue but Meta has this issue.
Wrongly terminate contract could be liable for loss.

Sunshape
post Dec 6 2024, 11:21 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 6 2024, 06:29 PM)
FB got office here also

if he has balls, just ban FB now..

nihility
post Dec 6 2024, 11:22 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 6 2024, 11:19 PM)
so? then promote or do marketing campaign la
PR tak ada?

ini pun nak ajar ke?

i thought PH is very good in social media?
Direct that anger to the government or PH, I got nothing to do with them. Just voicing my observation.🫢

This post has been edited by nihility: Dec 6 2024, 11:22 PM
Sunshape
post Dec 6 2024, 11:25 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM)
this is true!

RiriRuruRara
post Dec 6 2024, 11:36 PM

1,011 posts

Example of Facebook scams???
Sycamore
post Dec 6 2024, 11:54 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 11:21 PM)
FB will be liable for its own incompetency.

If FB insists on providing advertising services, it should ensure it has the necessary expertise to assess the legitimacy of applications and avoid wrongful termination of contracts.
SUSM4A1
post Dec 6 2024, 11:54 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Dec 6 2024, 11:22 PM)
Direct that anger to the government or PH, I got nothing to do with them. Just voicing my observation.🫢
ya that is my observation too

takkan menteri dunno how to use social media?
ph use social media alot....
why? suddenly become govt all brain not function?
dest9116
post Dec 7 2024, 12:04 AM

495 posts

Ban je this lapsap website

Inside full of ads anyways
aizielectreon
post Dec 7 2024, 12:21 AM

where am i???
593 posts

just block facebook easy
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 7 2024, 12:55 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Dec 6 2024, 11:36 PM)
Plenty

these

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/447457748153282/

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1784769132286790/

"We didn't remove the listing
We keep our review process as fair as possible by using the same Commerce Policies to review reports.
We've reviewed the listing that you reported and found that it doesn't go against any of our Commerce Policies. For this reason, we didn't take the listing down.
We understand that this might be upsetting, so we recommend exploring the options available to control what you see.
You can also request a review within 180 days if you disagree with the decision to not take this down."
pisces88
post Dec 7 2024, 01:01 AM

3,970 posts

malaysia memang kecik in comparison, nt surprised. for them its only 100m usd , no rasa
ticke
post Dec 7 2024, 01:02 AM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

better than donating to hamas whistling.gif
bigwolf
post Dec 7 2024, 01:21 AM

275 posts

Reported a scam in Sep, something like asking you to find out why Marina Mahathir accidentally said something in an interview then immediately deletes the interview (mostly it will direct you to a scam about investments etc). Reported the scam and this is what FB replied 7 days later:

So yeah, had been with Facebook for more than 10 years and had a lot of memories with it, but it can go die now for all I care
icemanfx
post Dec 7 2024, 01:25 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 6 2024, 11:54 PM)
FB will be liable for its own incompetency.

If FB insists on providing advertising services, it should ensure it has the necessary expertise to assess the legitimacy of applications and avoid wrongful termination of contracts.
In FB contract, unlawful and illegal activities is prohibited.
lee_lnh
post Dec 7 2024, 04:11 AM

115 posts

China sudah.. Malaysia bila lagi?
God Grid
post Dec 7 2024, 04:22 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 6 2024, 06:57 PM)
just google it

it's a department under PM that you can lodge complaint regarding civil servant
alright, never knew got such thing hahaha
MR_alien
post Dec 7 2024, 06:56 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Dec 7 2024, 04:22 AM)
alright, never knew got such thing hahaha
all civil servant don't want us the public to know about it because it's bad for them
trix
post Dec 7 2024, 08:01 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 6 2024, 07:29 PM)
Everyday see cars killing ppl, no see he call car manufacturers to stop producing cars pun whistling.gif:
guns don't kill people, people does. and that's why buyers are vetted before they are allowed to own one
facebook does not vet ads on its platform, does not take action on reported ads, claiming that nothing is wrong with scam ads when reported, and still allowing those scam ads to run on its platform
loserguy
post Dec 7 2024, 09:56 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2024, 11:21 PM)
https://www.avvo.com/legal-answers/can-i-su...ge-5476264.html

ApocalypseSoon
post Dec 7 2024, 10:03 AM

214 posts

TSpokemon
post Dec 7 2024, 10:31 AM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(ApocalypseSoon @ Dec 7 2024, 10:03 AM)

Boleh percaya?
new in IT
post Dec 7 2024, 10:31 AM

378 posts

Orang tu dia tamak, padan muka kena scam.
p4n6
post Dec 7 2024, 10:43 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Dec 6 2024, 11:36 PM)
Occasionally, you will see a very high amount of sponsored posts that show celebrities like Elon Musk, Jacky Chan, Lee Chong Wei, prominent people etc promoting certain products like watches, assorted products, bitcoin investment, various investment, gambling sites etc. Not one but will occupy 30% of your feeds. They use deepfake and AI to make it looks real and as if they are talking about the topic.

If you report those, FB will usually deny it is a fake (after few days), which more than enough time for scammers to cash out.

Facebook earns from scammers advertising on their platform that is why they quiet about it.

Unlike newspaper and TV ads, company that put up advertisement needs to be a registered company and will vet thru by content filter team but Facebook (and any soc med) allows anyone to advertise anything instantly + slow enforcement + disclaimer to wash hand

There are sensitive opinion news which less dangerous cause those are fake info or opinion or perspective … scams are scams which sole onjective is to cheat money …
Sunshape
post Dec 7 2024, 10:46 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ApocalypseSoon @ Dec 7 2024, 10:03 AM)

I think this one is fake. Got someone reports it or check with gov?

If fake, then victims will kena 2nd wave of scam!
Sunshape
post Dec 7 2024, 10:48 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 7 2024, 10:43 AM)
Occasionally, you will see a very high amount of sponsored posts that show celebrities like Elon Musk, Jacky Chan, Lee Chong Wei, prominent people etc promoting certain products like watches, assorted products, bitcoin investment, various investment, gambling sites etc. Not one but will occupy 30% of your feeds. They use deepfake and AI to make it looks real and as if they are talking about the topic.

If you report those, FB will usually deny it is a fake (after few days), which more than enough time for scammers to cash out.

Facebook earns from scammers advertising on their platform that is why they quiet about it.

Unlike newspaper and TV ads, company that put up advertisement needs to be a registered company and will vet thru by content filter team but Facebook (and any soc med) allows anyone to advertise anything instantly + slow enforcement + disclaimer to wash hand

There are sensitive opinion news which less dangerous cause those are fake info or opinion or perspective … scams are scams which sole onjective is to cheat money …
that is why. I don't think FB didn't know it is impersonal page or profile. When you report it, they will reply you that they do not against the community standards.

You think they are bodoh didn't know? They check and sudah tahu...

just that they are part of them i believe...

hanya fami yg x tahu
TSpokemon
post Dec 7 2024, 11:29 AM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 7 2024, 10:43 AM)

I heard there is cult group in FB that is not searchable/hidden.
So not only scamming contents in FB.

p4n6
post Dec 7 2024, 11:31 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Dec 7 2024, 10:48 AM)
that is why. I don't think FB didn't know it is impersonal page or profile. When you report it, they will reply you that they do not against the community standards.

You think they are bodoh didn't know? They check and sudah tahu...

just that they are part of them i believe...

hanya fami yg x tahu
I think FB (all socmed) knows but willing to be accomplice because money from scammers or money from legit biz are revenue to them.

Last time FB only allows you to read from friends, then allow you to read from biz/people you choose to follow … now it pushes ad which is fine if legit biz entities …

Now it allows anyone willing to spend some money to push ads to everyone else …

In China, all socmed accounts need to link to phone numbers and Identity card while mobile operator will have full details. So is easier to traceback who is the scam account owner. If so even on LYN, it wont have so many dupe accounts replying and arguing with own self.

ApocalypseSoon
post Dec 7 2024, 11:51 AM

214 posts

A Ktard become a Victims of FB scammy ads:

The Secret of Michelle Yeoh's Wealth Revealed!
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5434206

LOL

This post has been edited by ApocalypseSoon: Dec 7 2024, 11:52 AM
delon85
post Dec 7 2024, 11:53 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 6 2024, 06:00 PM)
Would this really work?

In my experience, MIB has been just trying to shove their duties aside.
differ
post Dec 7 2024, 11:53 AM

404 posts

So Fahmi, going to do something about it or just whine like a baby?
MR_alien
post Dec 7 2024, 12:00 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(delon85 @ Dec 7 2024, 11:53 AM)
Would this really work?

In my experience, MIB has been just trying to shove their duties aside.
Yes, tried it a few times for different purposes
Yes it works
That's why more and more system integrate into SISPAA

It's also one of the things civil servant don't want anybody to know

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Dec 7 2024, 12:01 PM
Sunshape
post Dec 7 2024, 12:01 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 7 2024, 11:31 AM)
I think FB (all socmed) knows but willing to be accomplice because money from scammers or money from legit biz are revenue to them.

Last time FB only allows you to read from friends, then allow you to read from biz/people you choose to follow … now it pushes ad which is fine if legit biz entities …

Now it allows anyone willing to spend some money to push ads to everyone else …

In China, all socmed accounts need to link to phone numbers and Identity card while mobile operator will have full details. So is easier to traceback who is the scam account owner. If so even on LYN, it wont have so many dupe accounts replying and arguing with own self.
You know such procedures will not be happened here.

QUOTE(differ @ Dec 7 2024, 11:53 AM)
So Fahmi, going to do something about it or just whine like a baby?
I don't think he will do anything.
yvliew
post Dec 7 2024, 12:22 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

Block je la..
yvliew
post Dec 7 2024, 12:28 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 7 2024, 12:55 AM)
Plenty

these

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/447457748153282/

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1784769132286790/

"We didn't remove the listing
We keep our review process as fair as possible by using the same Commerce Policies to review reports.
We've reviewed the listing that you reported and found that it doesn't go against any of our Commerce Policies. For this reason, we didn't take the listing down.
We understand that this might be upsetting, so we recommend exploring the options available to control what you see.
You can also request a review within 180 days if you disagree with the decision to not take this down."
If this asked you to deal in telegram then yes scam. There are also plenty more of FB sponsored ( paid ads ) scam which FB has no filter or whatsoever. Like a scammer disguise as some branded company selling their stuffs cheap. FB is indirectly supporting these scammers tbh. How are they getting away is ridiculous. By accepting money to give a platform for the scammer to scam is as close as they are in it together and earning a portion of their scam.
p4n6
post Dec 7 2024, 01:08 PM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 7 2024, 12:22 PM)
Block je la..
Those scammers programatically create hundreds of accounts to do the ads.

Facebook wants that new subs cause they include new subs in their financial reports for the shareholders flexing all the new customers …
Sunshape
post Dec 7 2024, 01:11 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Dec 7 2024, 01:08 PM)
Those scammers programatically create hundreds of accounts to do the ads.

Facebook wants that new subs cause they include new subs in their financial reports for the shareholders flexing all the new customers …
fb's owners akan susah in next lixx
nihility
post Dec 7 2024, 03:05 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 6 2024, 11:54 PM)
ya that is my observation too

takkan menteri dunno how to use social media?
ph use social media alot....
why? suddenly become govt all brain not function?
Budget election tak sama budget pentadbiran 😅.

Locations of the education / awareness campaign I can think off. Places where ppl must/will go physically:-

1) 1 day we need to eat 3 times. Location F&B , Malls, Groceries, Market, Grabfood / Foodpanda,etc

2) Place of worshipping - Mosque, surau, churches, temples, etc. The atheist will be left out.

3) Places of recreation - parks, place of interest, gym, dance studio, etc

4) Public transportation - LRT, MRT, buses

The campaign material placed on such location should be able to reach the mass majority of our ppl.
Irzani
post Dec 7 2024, 04:50 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

yang ini I sokong Fahmi .. Meta punya video banyak scam .. I report some of it .. but they said no issue .. bangsat
God Grid
post Dec 8 2024, 11:12 AM

35 posts

Block FB je la

Got balls or not?
Sycamore
post Dec 8 2024, 05:59 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 7 2024, 01:25 AM)
In FB contract, unlawful and illegal activities is prohibited.
Contract will not get FB out of the trouble.

Aiding and Abetting.
Conspiracy.
Negligence.
"Willful Blindness".

Government minister has already given them courtesy notice.
FB counsel should be clear what is the risk ahead.
icemanfx
post Dec 8 2024, 06:02 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Dec 8 2024, 05:59 PM)
Contract will not get FB out of the trouble.

Aiding and Abetting.
Conspiracy.
Negligence.
"Willful Blindness".

Government minister has already given them courtesy notice.
FB counsel should be clear what is the risk ahead.
FB operation is worldwide. Why only big issue in this country?

Madani gomen is finding excuses to control social media.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Dec 8 2024, 06:51 PM
Sycamore
post Dec 8 2024, 07:09 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 8 2024, 06:02 PM)
FB operation is worldwide. Why only big issue in this country?

Madani gomen is finding excuses to control social media.
The Malaysian government's attempt trying to regulate the social media is not rare. Different democracy countries have relative new measures on social media and digital services, one example is EU DSA passed in November 2022.

Apart from that, FB scam is a world wide issue and IS big issue in Alot countries.
carloz28
post Dec 8 2024, 07:12 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Dec 6 2024, 05:54 PM)
the moment u have to go see them in singapork in their office instead of them coming to see u, u already know where u stand in their eyes
Ouch
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Dec 8 2024, 07:24 PM

1,030 posts

I Put 1000 Fake Moms in a Facebook Group

I Catfished as a Mom on Tinder...

Lots of catfishes on Fagbook and Tinder nowadays.

0.0574sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:27 AM