[ Outline ] · Standard · Linear+

> Fahmi blasts Meta for having ‘no remorse’

TSpokemon
post Dec 6 2024, 05:51 PM, updated 2y ago

2,717 posts

Fahmi blasts Meta for having ‘no remorse’ as RM432m scammed from Malaysians through Facebook, says platform’s resistance ‘facetious’

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 6 — Communications Minister Fahmi Fadzil has labelled Meta Inc as having “no remorse” or “responsibility” as Malaysians got scammed by RM432 million through its social media platform Facebook.

In an interview with South China Morning Post (SCMP), he also downplayed Meta’s concerns over the upcoming social media licensing as “facetious”, comparing it to how carmakers can still innovate and develop new technologies despite strict regulations.

“I told the Facebook team [of the losses] when I met them in Singapore. I can tell you they had no reaction. It’s like the Malay saying, tiada hati perut,” Fahmi said, using the Malay idiom meaning “being heartless”.

“Like, oh wow, RM432 million from Malaysians stolen through your platform and you have no remorse, no sense of responsibility? And you expect me to do nothing about it?”

He cited how police estimated that RM432 million had been lost to Facebook scams in 2023, pointing out how the platform has been the worst enabler of criminal activity — with 170,000 takedown requests sent to it, making up 91 per cent of online gambling and scam advertisements across all platforms.

Fahmi also said that Meta has been the least responsive when it comes to dealing with scams or online gambling.Meta also owns Instagram and WhatsApp.“The frustration the administration has had with Meta for the longest time is ... we spend so much resources communicating with Meta, repeatedly every day, to take down content related to illegal online gambling or scams,” he was quoted saying.

Fahmi gave the example of how Meta took six months to handle the Health Ministry’s complaint over Facebook accounts impersonating a doctor to sell fake eye drops.

Meta also owns Instagram and WhatsApp. SCMP said the company did not respond to its request for comments.

In August this year, the Asia Internet Coalition (AIC) wrote an open letter to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, urging Putrajaya to postpone the social media licensing — claiming it is “unworkable”.

The AIC is made up of tech giants such as Google, Meta, X, Apple and Amazon.

Despite that, Fahmi has previously insisted that the government will stick with the January 1, 2025. However, Putrajaya will not block access to internet messaging services and social media platforms that do not register.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...acetious/159057

Posts in this topic
pokemon   Fahmi blasts Meta for having ‘no remorse’   Dec 6 2024, 05:51 PM
Current Events guy   Cannot blame them similar to no blame on banks whe...   Dec 6 2024, 05:54 PM
Danielle Lav   ya i pernah scam like rm100++, i still insist to ...   Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM
MR_alien   escalate the case to SISPAA...word for word, case...   Dec 6 2024, 06:00 PM
God Grid   what is SISPAA?   Dec 6 2024, 06:26 PM
MR_alien   just google it it's a department under PM th...   Dec 6 2024, 06:57 PM
nihility   I think no, TikTok rarely have such scam adverti...   Dec 6 2024, 06:02 PM
JimbeamofNRT   I have report several complaints recently to Met...   Dec 6 2024, 06:40 PM
nihility   The public got the concept wrong, the analogies ...   Dec 6 2024, 07:07 PM
JimbeamofNRT   most of the time public did report, but when got...   Dec 6 2024, 07:24 PM
nihility   They reported to police, that's why police a...   Dec 6 2024, 07:29 PM
DarkAeon   the moment u have to go see them in singapork in t...   Dec 6 2024, 05:54 PM
Maestrol   Be like China, build a firewall.   Dec 6 2024, 05:54 PM
M4A1   when I met them in Singapore. I can tell you they ...   Dec 6 2024, 05:55 PM
MR_alien   so they went from having a malaysian office to com...   Dec 6 2024, 05:56 PM
DarkAeon   nola, they got an office here, just no high rank...   Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM
MR_alien   pretty sure they're moving everything out by ...   Dec 6 2024, 05:59 PM
DarkAeon   if i'm being honest, the office in mehresia ...   Dec 6 2024, 06:00 PM
tifosi   Go and catch the scammers then. Whole life talki...   Dec 6 2024, 05:58 PM
JohnLai   Ini macam salahkan kilang besi sebab mereka mengha...   Dec 6 2024, 05:59 PM
gashout   Rakyat bodoh tamak, salahkan Social media.   Dec 6 2024, 06:07 PM
Autocountstick   take some action let them come and see you next ti...   Dec 6 2024, 06:01 PM
smallbug   4mB5H5lcymA   Dec 6 2024, 06:02 PM
cckkpr   Small man talking to a Tai Kor. Now trying callin...   Dec 6 2024, 06:06 PM
sihamsedap   its like blaming the car when u get into accident ...   Dec 6 2024, 06:08 PM
Khabib Nurmagomedov   Sudah sudah lah Fahmi All talk but no results kin...   Dec 6 2024, 06:10 PM
submergedx   Like i said always sendiri bodo, dont blame other...   Dec 6 2024, 06:13 PM
Phoenix_KL   drive car, accident died. blame gov who built the ...   Dec 6 2024, 06:15 PM
CivicTypeRFk8   432million !?!! Malaysia so many reta...   Dec 6 2024, 06:17 PM
Artus   Whole world full of retards. Only the clever ones...   Dec 6 2024, 09:16 PM
nihility   Yes ,one of the way. Just move away from Faceboo...   Dec 6 2024, 09:18 PM
Artus   Facebook addicts cannot quit because they are add...   Dec 6 2024, 09:22 PM
Slowpokeking   Off course they don’t care. They already know ...   Dec 6 2024, 06:27 PM
Baconateer   FB got office here also Why need to go all the wa...   Dec 6 2024, 06:29 PM
tatmeng   Yes who fund the flight tickets, hotels and meals...   Dec 6 2024, 06:32 PM
RT8081   before you complain to meta, dear Mr Minister, you...   Dec 6 2024, 06:33 PM
seather   Waiting to him to tiao X CEO when they don comply   Dec 6 2024, 06:40 PM
icemanfx   FB is like Telco, not a regulatory body, not resp...   Dec 6 2024, 06:56 PM
p4n6   In this forum, at least someone reports you, mod ...   Dec 6 2024, 07:04 PM
icemanfx   FB will remove ad under court order. People shou...   Dec 6 2024, 07:23 PM
Sycamore   Court order threshold is too high. It is unfeasib...   Dec 6 2024, 07:28 PM
nihility   It is the loophole on the cyberspace. By convent...   Dec 6 2024, 09:08 PM
p4n6   Actually Meta really no remorse, when u a report a...   Dec 6 2024, 07:02 PM
TruboXL   Fahmi got power to ban but buat Tatau owaii   Dec 6 2024, 07:03 PM
whynotpink   sama jer. kita pun kena scam. dulu kata no UMNO.   Dec 6 2024, 07:04 PM
OldSchoolJoke   so when ban facebook/instagram here?   Dec 6 2024, 07:07 PM
nihility   They only requested the illegal advertisement to...   Dec 6 2024, 07:09 PM
OldSchoolJoke   i mean, ban the whole platform can solve the issu...   Dec 6 2024, 07:22 PM
nihility   It is not the Facebook platform, it is the illeg...   Dec 6 2024, 07:25 PM
Fork   What to do, scam come in many ways, in fact living...   Dec 6 2024, 07:08 PM
knumskul   Unsurprisingly never blame telco for enabling sc...   Dec 6 2024, 07:12 PM
nihility   They are using the digital phone spoofing. The n...   Dec 6 2024, 07:17 PM
mick84   Ok. What will you do? No fb no IG in Malaysia? The...   Dec 6 2024, 07:15 PM
Efalex   Just instruct bank never to approve any payment to...   Dec 6 2024, 07:17 PM
Heroicage   what happens if the citizen BLAME you Fahmi?.... ...   Dec 6 2024, 07:20 PM
ry8128   Topkek, this kind of puak bodo, one day no make bo...   Dec 6 2024, 07:23 PM
potatolala   Can I blame bursa?   Dec 6 2024, 07:28 PM
LamboSama   Own country companies so many id leaks no action t...   Dec 6 2024, 07:29 PM
ry8128   Everyday see cars killing ppl, no see he call car ...   Dec 6 2024, 07:29 PM
soul78   ouhh Farkk mi 🫣.. what did meta do?   Dec 6 2024, 07:34 PM
icemanfx   Who will be liable if FB wrongly remove ad?   Dec 6 2024, 07:56 PM
Sycamore   There is already legitimate reason to end the adv...   Dec 6 2024, 08:19 PM
icemanfx   Who will be liable if FB wrongly removed ad?   Dec 6 2024, 08:25 PM
Sycamore   There is already legitimate reason to end the adv...   Dec 6 2024, 08:28 PM
loserguy   No one. Fesbuk not bodo. There is a refund pr...   Dec 6 2024, 08:32 PM
Rusty Nail   What do he expect? Scammers is Facebook biggest cu...   Dec 6 2024, 08:09 PM
Skylinestar   dear Fahmi, can you catch those fake official stor...   Dec 6 2024, 08:09 PM
p4n6   Solution is gov pay FB fixed price every year to b...   Dec 6 2024, 08:11 PM
loserguy   That is not a good analogy. Maybe something li...   Dec 6 2024, 08:21 PM
h@ksam   how da fuck does FB be able to charge our CC and D...   Dec 6 2024, 08:30 PM
Roadwarrior1337   Bodoh sial fahmi Go Singapore to see them to blas...   Dec 6 2024, 08:33 PM
Matchy   Tbh, I’ve seen many scams on fb and reported the...   Dec 6 2024, 08:35 PM
icemanfx   FB council stop competitors to demand to remove a...   Dec 6 2024, 08:44 PM
loserguy   You are paying for the service. You do not own th...   Dec 6 2024, 08:57 PM
Sycamore   FB will be liable if it lacks the competency to d...   Dec 6 2024, 09:02 PM
kira_88   Their admin or AI or whatever dumfuk shit that mod...   Dec 6 2024, 09:13 PM
Sycamore   You sell counterfeit tyre is it. I just knew. :D   Dec 6 2024, 09:15 PM
kira_88   lol I dunno if even got such thing as conterfeit ...   Dec 6 2024, 09:39 PM
Mattrock   So if kena scam through phone call, Telekom is res...   Dec 6 2024, 09:14 PM
ApocalypseSoon   For greater good, Fahmi should just bites the bull...   Dec 6 2024, 09:38 PM
nihility   KLCI will nose dive. Our EPF, PNB, KWAP, LTAT ...   Dec 6 2024, 09:41 PM
Jasonist   instead of blame others, why not self educate own ...   Dec 6 2024, 09:41 PM
nihility   Bro, if this is feasible…. We won”t have suc...   Dec 6 2024, 09:49 PM
zerorating   and how to educate people? many people no longer ...   Dec 6 2024, 10:42 PM
M4A1   no read news?   Dec 6 2024, 10:56 PM
nihility   Another critical point. They are spending most o...   Dec 6 2024, 10:56 PM
M4A1   can advertise on scam alert on facebook...   Dec 6 2024, 10:58 PM
nihility   They will remove it, FB is favoring the scammers...   Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM
M4A1   remove? so cannot educate anti scam at fb meh   Dec 6 2024, 11:04 PM
nihility   Bro, you go search the page…you see the number...   Dec 6 2024, 11:17 PM
M4A1   so? then promote or do marketing campaign la PR t...   Dec 6 2024, 11:19 PM
zerorating   sponsored page also sometime ad block can block. ...   Dec 6 2024, 11:01 PM
knumskul   A car is a complex piece of machinery but its op...   Dec 6 2024, 11:00 PM
nihility   The one at school or younger generation are safe...   Dec 6 2024, 11:08 PM
M4A1   why not ask police take action or bank?   Dec 6 2024, 10:56 PM
Capt. Marble   Faham fahamlah.. they simply don't care. Not t...   Dec 6 2024, 09:45 PM
*lightbringer*   Er I think this is the same case as my Bangla work...   Dec 6 2024, 10:34 PM
nearlee   >topkek mentality [color=#0431B4][b][size=9]Nea...   Dec 6 2024, 10:55 PM
ZeaXG   Just ban Facebook only.   Dec 6 2024, 11:02 PM
Sunshape   cant catch la.. just ban FB   Dec 6 2024, 11:20 PM

0.0214sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:32 PM