Belanja colleagues after probation, Got such thing?

Avex
post Dec 5 2024, 08:27 AM

570 posts

you pass your probation, you should thank your colleague for helping in your journey. Just your small team
etan26
post Dec 5 2024, 08:41 AM

323 posts

In my first job it was yes, subsequent jobs no more.

Just KFC for the small dept jer.

This post has been edited by etan26: Dec 5 2024, 08:41 AM
giftfre
post Dec 5 2024, 08:45 AM

Control Macho
683 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Dec 4 2024, 09:16 PM)
Initially I thought it was a joke when my manager said that me and another colleague, who completed probation around the same time, would be treating the team as a sort of 'celebration'.

But then my colleague said that, yes, it is an apparent practice which he had done before. 

Anyone else has heard/done this?
This Belanja is a token of appreciation to those who pernah support you before you passed the probation.
You know they have no obligation to help you right? The team officially welcome you to on board.
ernie ball
post Dec 5 2024, 08:47 AM

459 posts

Happens on my first job. It's the department culture.
Just belanja everyone to a restaurant meal la. Rm300 settle.
I don't like it at that time but thinking back now, it's really nothing lah. Just a reason for everyone to meet up after work. Now I work in a company where nobody go for dinner together, pretty boring.
alexei
post Dec 5 2024, 09:19 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

sounds like exploitive celebration riding on your conscience in fear for future work life balance at the workplace

reminds me of this: https://says.com/my/fun/belanja-rm3000-wagyu-steak
conan1
post Dec 5 2024, 09:27 AM

224 posts

nasi lemak singget settle ady

go distribute to everybody

no need think much. unless u hav bonus 6 months to belanja cafe
sweet_pez
post Dec 5 2024, 10:12 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Dec 4 2024, 09:16 PM)
Initially I thought it was a joke when my manager said that me and another colleague, who completed probation around the same time, would be treating the team as a sort of 'celebration'.

But then my colleague said that, yes, it is an apparent practice which he had done before. 

Anyone else has heard/done this?
That's interesting. Perhaps it's also to foster some sort of team togetherness. But to make it compulsory is not something delightful. Sadly at times you can't escape from these bad department or corporate "culture".

If you're on a tight budget, just tell them you'll buy tea time instead and order coffee/ teh + snacks (pisang goreng or doughnuts etc) via Grab and be done with it. Hand it over to them with a smile and a big thank you biggrin.gif

However if you're OK with more decent budget, go for Zus, Krispy Kreme or something that would meet their expectation better to pacify the situation. You don't wish to have colleagues who hold grudges against you, nor do you want to be forcing yourself to fork out xxx amount of money just to comply with their request.

Then again, last but not least, if you're OK with the tradition of buying them lunch or dinner, by all means go ahead with it. At the end of it, you're the one who has to work with them in the department.
ShadowR1
post Dec 5 2024, 10:36 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

Current job, confirm on first month, boss belanja me makan to break the news to me.
killbei
post Dec 5 2024, 11:09 AM

13 posts

My former company had this culture. A team member who passed probation or got promoted would belanja the team to a lunch.

Nothing fancy la, for my case example I spent less than RM 300 to buy nasi arab and drinks for the team.

For me, such a culture was still acceptable because after probation you were eligible for additional RM 1000++ in allowances as a permanent staff. Also promotion to new position will come with minimum RM 1000 increment (and can be much more if you're promoted to higher position e.g. manager and above).

If the increment was like RM 100 I would also be offended if I had to belanja my colleagues RM 300.
elainious P
post Dec 5 2024, 11:18 AM

Probation

This is unnecessary. Just depend on yourself
Lanchio
post Dec 5 2024, 11:55 AM

487 posts

Belanja family makan with first pay cheque got lah.

This belanja dept is not something common. Definitely not seen this culture in Chinaman company before.
TSRigerZ
post Dec 5 2024, 08:24 PM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Dec 5 2024, 08:27 AM)
you pass your probation, you should thank your colleague for helping in your journey. Just your small team
QUOTE(giftfre @ Dec 5 2024, 08:45 AM)
This Belanja is a token of appreciation to those who pernah support you before you passed the probation.
You know they have no obligation to help you right? The team officially welcome you to on board.
I would believe this is my manager (or the team culture's) point of view
alexkos
post Dec 5 2024, 08:40 PM

2,275 posts

company culture. join them. u have no culture currency for now

work hard for 3y more then u can change the culture there
SUSnasiputih
post Dec 5 2024, 09:57 PM

256 posts

Dec 5 2024, 10:48 PM
This post has been deleted by RigerZ because: this is serious /k

matrix88
post Dec 5 2024, 09:59 PM

2,236 posts

just belanja cheap cheap lunch lo..... make everyone happy
good relationship can make the job last longer, make the journey easier

This post has been edited by matrix88: Dec 5 2024, 10:00 PM
poooky
post Dec 5 2024, 11:37 PM

844 posts

Civil service isit? There was a story of guy who got promoted then his team pressure him to belanja. Then they all order kao2 and he left with bill of rm3k. Kek.

Your manager is not fit to be leader of he ask junior to belanja team. And then to use backward logic imply it is for team building and good relationship? Matafada, he should be the one to belanja you and then team. Instead he blackmail junior if they dun belanja will be bad for team morale and your career. Damn manipulative.
tekkaus
post Dec 5 2024, 11:48 PM

429 posts

Mana ada?

Usually, boss/team lead lar belanja!

mad.gif vmad.gif ranting.gif
MrBaba
post Dec 6 2024, 01:13 AM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 5 2024, 07:06 AM)
how do you know he is t5
U don't post ppl won't know .
ClessRV
post Dec 6 2024, 07:13 AM

702 posts

Not common/compulsory, more like courtesy

but I always viewed it as a sign that my colleagues are close to me (and they are) that they can suggest (albeit jokingly) something like that

just do it if you ask me, its only 1 time, no need to be very grand, just a simple lunch can already
anakkk
post Dec 6 2024, 07:20 AM

2,115 posts

haha later they order wagyu beef LOL

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0184sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:04 AM