Belanja colleagues after probation, Got such thing?
TSRigerZ
Dec 4 2024, 09:16 PM, updated 2y ago
Initially I thought it was a joke when my manager said that me and another colleague, who completed probation around the same time, would be treating the team as a sort of 'celebration'.
But then my colleague said that, yes, it is an apparent practice which he had done before.
Anyone else has heard/done this?
iammasivers
Dec 4 2024, 09:18 PM
never heard such thing, but if it's company culture, i guess no choice since you gotta fit in.. unless u planning to resign next month
krusellblazar
Dec 4 2024, 09:24 PM
I got a new joiner that he himself belanja when he got confirmed. I guess its practised at certain places.
Pikichu
Dec 4 2024, 09:26 PM
No, its not common.
Probably your manager want to retain you at current salary so get staff to give a free meal, then you would be more invested into the company. When you become invested, then you would not want to look for another job.
Later you plan to leave, you will want newbie join to treat you first.
This post has been edited by Pikichu: Dec 4 2024, 09:30 PM
Chanwsan
Dec 4 2024, 09:27 PM
If pass probation got salary increment then maybe. Or promotion. Otherwise I don't know what retarded culture is that
Chanwsan
Dec 4 2024, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(Pikichu @ Dec 4 2024, 09:26 PM) No, its not common. Probably your manager want to retain you at current salary so treat you free meal, then you would not want to look for another job or later can guilt-trip you from leaving, since you ate so much from him. Later you want to complaint to increase salary, also you would think twice. Go read again what TS wrote
kens88`
Dec 4 2024, 09:33 PM
Manager belanja me got la. Sure some shitty boss if demand this kind of thing
tomato people
Dec 4 2024, 09:37 PM
Well no..but a simple meal as a gesture would suffice
masaka90
Dec 4 2024, 09:37 PM

This is pretty much a red flag for a place to work in lol
GTA5
Dec 4 2024, 09:40 PM
What kind of belanja they expecting
A big difference with nasi lemak breakfast for everyone vs a meal out at a cafe/restaurant
Wedchar2912
Dec 4 2024, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(RigerZ @ Dec 4 2024, 09:16 PM) Initially I thought it was a joke when my manager said that me and another colleague, who completed probation around the same time, would be treating the team as a sort of 'celebration'. But then my colleague said that, yes, it is an apparent practice which he had done before. Anyone else has heard/done this? must be some cheapskate boss u have... my old boss kena me this also previously... very cheapskate chap.
knwong
Dec 4 2024, 09:46 PM
Boss should belanja
kens88`
Dec 4 2024, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(RigerZ @ Dec 4 2024, 09:16 PM) Initially I thought it was a joke when my manager said that me and another colleague, who completed probation around the same time, would be treating the team as a sort of 'celebration'. But then my colleague said that, yes, it is an apparent practice which he had done before. Anyone else has heard/done this? If die die must do, insist to choose the place. Then choose the dirtiest and worst food place you can find. Then all laosai next day
ry8128
Dec 4 2024, 09:55 PM
Depends on culture. For me, no harm to do that. How much u need to spend? 100? 200? This is small money to make everyone happy or at least, to makes u looks 'normal' and will ease your integration to the team.
You can reject, provided you are damn good and can work independently. Which will results in everyone respecting and needing you.
netflix2019
Dec 4 2024, 09:56 PM
Mak ayah uzur card?
silverhawk
Dec 4 2024, 11:11 PM
Eyes on Target
If you sendiri want to belanja ok la
If others expect you to belanja, wtf something wrong with the culture. If my junior want to belanja me also I'll feel weird.
MrBaba
Dec 4 2024, 11:28 PM
T5 need ask this question?
gashout
Dec 5 2024, 07:06 AM
QUOTE(Chanwsan @ Dec 4 2024, 09:27 PM) If pass probation got salary increment then maybe. Or promotion. Otherwise I don't know what retarded culture is that manager should be the one celebrating... useless boss and colleague
gashout
Dec 5 2024, 07:06 AM
QUOTE(MrBaba @ Dec 4 2024, 11:28 PM) T5 need ask this question? how do you know he is t5
elm0001
Dec 5 2024, 07:59 AM
depends on how many team members you have