457 posts

A lot of Malaysians join these activities, will assume

1. the organisers must have thought of safety, if not won't organise one
2. the white water rafting operator experienced, sure no problem one
AbbyCom
post Nov 16 2024, 12:16 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Nov 16 2024, 12:13 AM)
I realized Malaysians don't think much about what could go wrong. They just assumed everyone will do their job well. Everyone will make sure everything is safe. But being in Malaysia for so long they still don't understand how Malaysia works.
The eye opening thing I experienced is one dive operator nonchalantly said a few customers/divers go missing every year in Pulau Lang Tengah under his care. That was in the early 2000s.
AbbyCom
post Nov 16 2024, 10:42 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 16 2024, 08:49 AM)
I joined water rafting in KK once, and I thought it was a very dangerous sport.

I would rather sunbath in swimming pool
The one that need to take the Beufort train? Did that twice. One week after my 2nd trip, one angmoh couple drowned there.
AbbyCom
post Nov 16 2024, 10:46 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Nov 16 2024, 10:19 AM)
The best teambuilding to build and maintain relationship = Makan2 dinner in hotel or anywhere and do live sharing....
Better still is to scrap all these activities and return the budget allocated as bonusses to every staff. With the money staff can go thani at mamak or do own teambuilding activities.
AbbyCom
post Nov 16 2024, 11:13 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(ApocalypseSoon @ Nov 16 2024, 10:51 AM)
Nearly every monsoon season also got this kind of news.
Last time is landslide killed camper.
Local tourists swept away by surging river & died after staying at chalet built near river.
P/S: But some people give excuses that's it bcoz school holidays & they blamed the gov instead.
The risk of that happening is relatively low, but when it happens the impact to families will be terrible.

So have to balance YOLO vs YODO (you only die once) too.
AbbyCom
post Nov 17 2024, 02:51 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Nov 17 2024, 02:38 PM)
last time my co took us for teambuilding take outward bound trip, sail n row whailer boat to an abandon island far far away from Pangkor Laut island.

row boat for 9 hours then when wind came sail for another 9 hours.

damn scary wei...

then stop by abandon island with lighthouse, with a salty well, take water and camp overnight kena bitten by sandflies.

Stay for 3 days 2 nights, cook own food with campfire then row and sail back to Lumut.

Half the colleagues dunno how to swim wei....I cannot imagine if boat overturn.

Crazy boss, even tried to make my pregnant colleague to come, luckily she MC.
If your company is army then this is ok, 3d2n own food, sailing is too hardcore. What more bring pregnant lady (army also no do that) stupid or what the boss?
AbbyCom
post Nov 17 2024, 03:09 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Nov 17 2024, 03:00 PM)
no is not.

https://www.outwardbound.my/

https://www.outwardbound.my/courses/classic-course/

the pic of the whailer boat, that was what we rode on.
check this out.
Wonder what's the accident/fatality rate of such a program.

Heard of OBS, would think this program would at least be supervised by the facilitators, they will come in during emergencies, call for medical evacuation, etc.

0.0859sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:33 PM