14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Gaming Shops in Penang Island, Any Ideas?

TSalex13
post Nov 6 2007, 09:15 AM, updated 9y ago

400 posts

Hi all,

Maybe this had been discussed. If this is the case please guide me to the right place.

I am now looking to buy both the NDSL and PSP Slim & Lite in Penang. I had asked a few shops in Tesco Penang and Bukit Jambul (BJ) Complex. The price they offer me is not very pretty compare to what I saw here. (Eg: Rm980 for PSP Slim & Lite (4gb) and RM780 for NDSL (1gb) with everything in it). My budget is less than RM1500. Any good recommendation?

Thank you in advance and looking forward for reply. nod.gif

--
Contact Numbers:
ACE Prangin: 04-2613481, 016-4815555 (Ah Hin - the boss)
Gamemart Midlands (Ah Tatt's shop): 04-2270322
Gamemonster at Queensbay (near Harvey Norman one) - 04-6460293 (Siong)
Gametech at BJ Complex - 016-4273707 (Ah Yang), 016-4809000 (Ah Khoon)
Games Tower at Prangin Mall - 012-4140307 (Siang Aik)
GameGalaxy BJ Complex- 04-6421634
G electronics & electricals (Prangin Mall) - Beside Parkson 3rd Floor - 04-2642177
Marionet Trading (Bukit Jambul Ground Floor) - 04-6423491

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Feb 10 2011, 12:59 PM
TSalex13
post Nov 6 2007, 11:12 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 6 2007, 09:51 AM)
I ask in Komtar. RM890 for 4gb+screen protector+usb cable..

The shop next to ace electronics.

And Ace is selliing rm8xx for 4gb too. but i forgot the package smile.gif

You can check out Prangin mall. Prangin Mall got Ace also which i think the boss name is Ah Hin.

And there's Marionet and Gamemaster which is same as BJ but might sell cheaper since the competition is fiercer in that place...tongue.gif
On the contrary, the shop on the ground floor in BJ sells at about Rm1000 for PSP lite and RM800 for the NDSL whole package. Also, they are reluctant to give me warranty for more than 1 month. Guess that's out of question for now.
TSalex13
post Nov 7 2007, 08:18 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(milkyway @ Nov 6 2007, 09:45 PM)
Recommended to Smart choice (SCE) better service provided and they can do delivery to whole malaysia. goodluck!  thumbup.gif
I know it is a good shop. However, sometimes we just need to directly "touch & check" the console. Sorry if I sound skeptical but I had been cheated too many times to easily trust people on these things.

Thank you
TSalex13
post Nov 15 2007, 03:08 PM

400 posts

One conclusion, low demand, high price
TSalex13
post Nov 23 2007, 04:42 PM

400 posts

Hey, how about the Games Tower in Prangin Mall? You know, the small small shop beside Parkson first floor? I accompany my friend there and although he get the Nintendo DS list for RM50 more expensive price compare to KL , but at least the boss is good and the service is OK.

What you guys think?
TSalex13
post Jan 4 2008, 09:18 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(zouk88 @ Dec 18 2007, 09:59 AM)
hi there...
there are 1 new game shop which located in bj penang...call game tech..
this is new open shop & the price can match or even cheaper to p.mall ace game shop..
try pay a visit & bargain your price...
i just brought a psp slim 3week ago & my price even cheaper than ace at p.mall....
thanks..try go & compare your price if u wana buy..
Yeah, its (Game Tech) operated by 2 young guys. It's nice to see young people are trying to make a living on the right way. Anyway, I ask the price for PSP and they can consider the cheapest in PG. Also, I like that they show a lot of products outside. I think I will buy the PSP from them very soon.

As for the ACE. Yeah it's a good shop. The boss even offer to take a look at my PS2 when I complain about games cannot be loaded. I heard that people complaining about service no good. Well, maybe the shop-keep just don't treat his job very nicely. One thing is though, they never bargain.

Hah....finally I can see the PG gaming industry is started to flourish. It's slow, but we are getting there. Maybe I wanted to try to join the industry too....anybody interested? rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
TSalex13
post Jan 9 2008, 09:25 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(Dely @ Jan 9 2008, 03:43 AM)
so whats the price n the package then?

if i wish to buy pc LCD monitor, does that mean i has to buy speaker also?
any other item i must buy beside the console to play it?
Sorry to barge in, but this is a gaming thread, not a PC related topic.

And, to answer your question, the package means that the "set" of things included when you buy the console (the controller, games, cables) etc. The shop in KL they can just post it to us people in Penang for a quite reasonable price. I guess that most of us just want to "touch" and "feel" the consoles immediately after we pay the money.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jan 14 2008, 05:09 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:41 AM)
hehe.. that's why i'd rather travel to kl,buy. and go back penang.. only tired a bit but saves few hundreds.
No offence. However, how much you need to spend on the travel?

1) Ok, let say by Air Asia, the cheapest one is RM80 return (with tax). Then, you might need your friend to pick you up / take the train / taxi / buses. No matter which option you picked you still need to spend at least RM20 (Friend option - one meal to him/her as they fetch you from LCCT) Then, you might need to spend a day in KL (around RM100 - RM300) or with friends/families (again, need to "thank" them). Finally, you would need about 2 - 3 meals. Adding up, you might need to pay extra RM400 - 500 just for the sake to go to get the consoles. Money to be spent ~ RM200 - 500

2) By bus - the safest one is RM72 return. I think this might be possible. However, if you want to come back to PG within the same day, you will be very tired. Money to be spent - ~ RM150 - RM200

3) By car - Toll, petrol, food, tiredness. No further elaboration required.

For me, I will still stick with the Penang shop, if it is not too expensive - by that I mean it's ok to marked up the price up to 10%. I need to re-iterate that I can touch and see and try the console I am going to buy. Also, when problem comes up, I can go fix it directly without any hassle like going to KL again or using delivery (which I don't have good faith in).

Correct me if I am wrong.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Jan 14 2008, 05:09 PM
TSalex13
post Jan 14 2008, 07:37 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(weytsen @ Jan 14 2008, 05:20 PM)
So anybody know which of the shops in Penang selling cheapest NDS Lite
I see the thread mostly talk about ps3 and psp price only...
I'm getting one...
I got mine in Games Tower for RM800, but that was a long time ago (3 months ago). Now should be cheaper with whole package.

You can try go Prangin and BJ to take a look at the shops. They are more pro now compare to last time.

TSalex13
post Jan 15 2008, 08:38 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Jan 15 2008, 12:56 AM)
Where is this Games Tower ?
It is in Prangin Mall, the floor above Watson. After you reach the floor via escalator, you will see Parkson in front of you, then, turn right. The shop will be on your right hand side (about 2-3 shops down). It is a small shop, but nevertheless a decent one. If not mistaken, the boss gave more than 1 month warranty for my DS.

Tell me whether you find it or not. Good luck.

TSalex13
post Jan 29 2008, 10:51 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(chikanot @ Jan 28 2008, 02:59 PM)
Went to Penang last weekend to scout for NDSL and for other stuffs. What I can say is the console's price is quite expensive especially in Pacific Megamall. All the game shop there quote me 1000+ for NDSL+R4+1Gb without screen protector, case n pouch; ridiculously expensive.
Went further to Prangin mall and stumble upon on ACE. The staff is not friendly at all and you can't even bargain one single cent with that shop. They just give u straight face and take it or leave it kind of attitude. Glad that I'm not buying anything from them.
At the end of the day I decided to buy NDSL at KL and most probably from keane SCE. Penang console is overprice and lack of choices.

~~Just my 2cent.
Nobody in Penang goes to Pacific Megamall (That's in Prai by the way) to buy consoles. It is because they "think" they are the rare shops around and can open any price they want. If you really want to buy consoles in Penang, go to the island, specifically Bukit Jambul Complex, Prangin Mall or to a lesser extent, Komtar.

As a penangite, I have to admit that the consoles here are more expensive to KL. However, the price will not be too ridiculous. Take an example, if a PSP package is selling at KL for about RM820, then in Penang it would be around RM860 - 900. Services wise, well you have to see the mood and how lucky you are (I hate that). If that day the shop-keep just argue with gf, then good luck. If the shop-keep is happy, then he/she will be more professional. You can identify the boss and talk to him/her directly.

Also, another I felt embarassed of is that if you are not speaking Penang's Hokkien, the seller might (just might) be quoting a higher price because they again think that you are not the regular client.

To Chikanot,
I get my Nintendo DS Lite from Games Tower (a small console shop in prangin) for RM800 for NDSL, R4, 1gb micro SD, Screen protector and 3 months warranty, and that was about 3 - 4 months ago. I think you should take a more in dpeth look around Prangin Mall

In my humble opinion, ACE did have a lot of stocks but seriously, apart from the boss, I don't really like other's shop-keep attitude. However, one thing for sure is, the shop is skillful for repairing and most importantly, the stuffs they sold got quality (at least from what my friend says).

I have to re-iterate this. Let's face it, the market for consoles in Penang is not as big as KL. Hence, bargaining will be more difficult. That doesn't mean you can't bargain though.

Thank you.

Added on January 29, 2008, 10:54 am

Guys, in the near future I will be posting the name cards of the Penang consoles shops here. So far I have the Games Tower and a new shop in Bukit Jambul Complex. If you guys have any cards from other shops, please post here to share.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Jan 29 2008, 12:07 PM
TSalex13
post Jan 29 2008, 12:06 PM

400 posts

[quote=feiz,Jan 29 2008, 11:59 AM]

Added on January 29, 2008, 10:54 amGuys, in the near future I will be posting the name cards of the Penang consoles shops I think is trustable here. So far I have the Games Tower and a new shop in Bukit Jambul Complex. If you guys have any cards from other shops, please post here to share.

Thank you.

[/quote]
alex13,
Are you sure Game Tower is a trustable shop..?

Someone says that the after sales there was terrible that they will blame one you if your console had a problem.. shocking.gif

[/quote]

Yeah, I heard about that too, and more than once. However, since they, especially the boss treat me Ok, I will cross my fingers first.
TSalex13
post Mar 13 2008, 02:49 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(enemdy @ Mar 13 2008, 10:37 AM)
Hi all, I've read this thread a few days ago and yesterday I just bought a PSP, white ceramic ver. 3.90 M33-2, 4GB for RM800 plus RM10 for the USB cable.

Guess what, I bought it from ACE shop at Prangin Mall. Actually on the way to that shop, I stumbled upon a game shop (Game Master) and the girl isnt so friendly, even stupid and lost in time. She said that the latest version is 3.71 (what the fish??). Without any further question, I walked away. The girl also seems so busy and dont have time to look me in the eyes when I'm talking.

Then i'm arrrived at the level 3, and there is another shop without a name. The seller is also busy talking to handphone and so I walked away.

Why Penang shop is so like that hah???

Eventually the ACE shop have treat me well and I bought my precious there.
Glad to see you get a PSP.

Well, as a penangite, I am very embarassed to say, a lot of the shopkeep (maybe even the owner) in Penang do not have the passion or professionalism on it. Take example for the Gamem$$@@r shop, in Prangin only, I had heard complaint that the shopkeep has no manners, black face and only doing their own stuff without look at the customers.

I have no idea which shop you are talking about for the level 3 shop? Is it big?

ACE can be considered a good shop there. Can we know apart from the PSP with version 3.9 firmware, 4GB Memory Stick and USB Cable, what else do you got? Does it include the cloth, the casing, etc? Also, do you know what the current price for such a full package in ACE? I am sure a lot of people here would like to know.

Thank you.

Added on March 13, 2008, 2:52 pmHi all,

Since I am now ready to buy a PS3 or a Wii, I need to ask all the recent PS3, Wii and Xbox360 buyers and owners in Penang, how is the price in Penang for consoles now? Has the price drop down? The technology had been improved? How far away (in sense of price) we are from KL?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Mar 13 2008, 02:52 PM
TSalex13
post Mar 17 2008, 08:34 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(enemdy @ Mar 14 2008, 04:55 PM)
Alex13,

I'm not sure, maybe level 1 or 2, but it is just near the escalator, it is a small shop, maybe a size of jamban biggrin.gif Sorry i'm not familiar with this place.. it is my 2nd time here after 5-6 years.

Apart from that i got a small cloth, a thin plastic layer as a screen protector, a strap, a black nylon cover and a few games eg GTA, MGS, silent hill, etc until cannot sumbat anymore. --> RM810

At first I was treated by a middle aged woman, maybe Ah Hin's wife, then came in a fat guy, maybe her son, taught me a basic things and tips on how to use the PSP.

And now I'm a happy user, but not fully happy cause I just know how to play games onli la heheh.. other than that i have to search and ask somebody here.

I dont know what is included in full package??

Oh i fogot to ask the seller, can i play any umd on my psp? where can i find those umds, can i watch a movies via umd?

I know which shop you are talking about hehe. I bought my NDSL there. Yeah, apart from the boss (a bit fat guy), other shop keep sounds not so "Pro".

Also, the package you bought is very good. A month ago I ask the price in BJ Complex and it's still RM890 for PSP, guess the price drop quite a bit ehh. Well, enjoy your PSP, and I am off to dream to own a PSP. cry.gif
TSalex13
post Mar 21 2008, 02:23 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 21 2008, 12:37 PM)
Monster, u can go to the 2 shops mentioned above your post.
they probably don't have stock ready, but can order for u.
You can also try the ACE, sometimes they can get the game for you in less than 1 hour. However, please don't expect you can bargain on price for the original games.

Hope that helps.

Thank you.

Added on March 21, 2008, 2:28 pmUpdates on PSP Price,

I saw this shop in Bukit Jambul (BJ) Complex called Gametech.It is right beside of Kamdar and I took their namecard.

At night, I called one of the number and they quote me RM820 for black/white PSP Slim and Lite for the normal package with 4gb of MS. The other color have no stock available as it had been sold out.

The warranty I like the most. Initially, its a 1 month warranty. However, the boss say after 6 months or 1 year if the PSP got problem, you can bring back for repair and consultation. If the problem is small, then there will not no charges on the repair (you have to confirm with them no matter what).

I think it is quite reasonable, as in the big shops of KL now also selling around that price.

Also, I take a look in the shop. I think apart from ACE and the Games Tower in Prangin, they are one of the most well stocked shop in Penang.

Since I had their name card, would it be illegal to post it here?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Mar 21 2008, 02:28 PM
TSalex13
post Mar 23 2008, 09:46 AM

400 posts

The info of the shop in BJ Complex I talked about:

Gametech Enterprise - PG0210951-k

Tan Kah Yang - 016-4273707
Khoo Beng Khoon - 016-4809000
+604-6422006

Address:
No. 3A-1-01, Kompleks Bukit Jambul, Jalan Rumbia, 11900 Penang.

Opening hours: 1130am to 9pm (these are what the boss told me).

I am sorry that I can't scan the name card as my scanner got a bit of problem on the cable.

Hope the info helps and please do provide feedback here if you contacted them of bought stuffs from them.

Thank you
TSalex13
post Apr 28 2008, 10:26 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(JayYeong39 @ Apr 27 2008, 11:01 AM)
What is the latest price of PS3 in penang?
To JayYeong,

I went to BJ with friends last week to ask about the PS3 and PSP price.

For PS3, the price is RM1450 with nothing extra. They say that it is because the demand is high in Penang now and the supply is very low.

For PSP, the price is RM850 for the normal package. The price increase a little bit compare to a month ago.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Apr 29 2008, 11:27 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(hadimac @ Apr 28 2008, 02:06 PM)
Alex13,

may i know which shop at BJ that u ask the price?
To hadimac,

Its the Game Tech, First Floor besides Kamdar.

Thank you.

Added on April 29, 2008, 11:34 am
QUOTE(waii2k @ Apr 28 2008, 05:19 PM)
I'm planning to buy a PSP.. but no idea on going to which shop
to buy??? each shops also has complains
For PSP, I think the price is almost the same, just depends on where you want to go / which complex is nearer to you.

Let say in BJ, as mentioned on previous message, the Game Tech for me is the only choice. There's a Mario there on Ground Floor and a GameMaster resurrection in 2nd Floor, but the price and offer not so good. You can check them out no matter what.

In One Stop Midlands, there are two shops lefts for consoles and I did not have any info from them.

In Prangin Mall, you can check ACE and the Games Tower. You can forget about the Mario and GameMaster there as they are totally unprofessional (thats what I get last time I went).

There's a shop in Sg Ara that sells PSP too. However, because its a multi-purpose shop, the price will not be competitive enough and I have doubts on their services too if problem comes up.

There's another shop in Air Itam (opposite the Kong Ming Secondary Sch) and within the coffee shop. It's a shop nevertheless. the shop ownder do sells the consoles. You can check it out and he is quite resoureful.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Apr 29 2008, 11:34 AM
TSalex13
post Apr 30 2008, 11:19 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(hadimac @ Apr 29 2008, 09:30 PM)
i just buy PSP at GameTech, BJ complex just now...

firstly they offer me psp slim + 4GB ms at RM790.
the package are:

1x PSP Slim 3.70 m33-2
1x 4GB Memory Card
1x Screen Protector(Hori)
1x 2in1 Data Cable/USB Charger
1x Crystal Case
1x Pouch
1x Headphones.
1X Cleaning Cloth

but i am buying with 8GB ms + headphone with remote for RM900..
They are quite patient & helpful with me as i ask too many questions...

I also ask Marionet at 1st floor BJ complex and they qoute me PSP 4GB ms for RM800. But the shopkeeper some how do not want to "layan" me so i decided to go at GameTech.
To Hadimac,

Glad you got a PSP. Can I ask you why the firmware version is not v3.90? Is it because it is not stable yet?

Can you PM me on what games you recommend?

Thank you.

Added on April 30, 2008, 11:20 am
QUOTE(justlikeu @ Apr 29 2008, 05:26 PM)
@alex13

u said the shop at BJ sell their psp at RM850 for the normal package, wat is the normal package include?

1x PSP Slim 3.90 m33-2
1x 4GB Memory Card
1x Screen Protector(Hori)
1x 2in1 Data Cable/USB Charger
1x Crystal Case
1x Pouch & Strap
1x Headphones with Remote
1X Cleaning Cloth

is this package? thanks !!!
I think hadimac already answers your question and I guess the price drop.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: Apr 30 2008, 11:20 AM
TSalex13
post May 9 2008, 10:36 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(shareal @ May 9 2008, 09:53 AM)
really that good meh? wait till your psp broken... whistling.gif

Do you mean that Games Tower after sales service not good or they don't like repair?

Thank you.

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2240sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:30 AM