14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Gaming Shops in Penang Island, Any Ideas?

TSalex13
post May 12 2008, 10:21 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 9 2008, 09:01 PM)
well any idea what is the price for standalone ndsl (w/o flash card) right now in penang?
It's around 500 - 650, depends on where you buy it.
TSalex13
post May 12 2008, 11:07 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 12 2008, 10:47 AM)
any recommended shop around the island? 500 sounds like a good price.
I saw this promotion last time in Mario that they got the NDSL for around RM500. That was quite a while ago. You still can ask around.
TSalex13
post May 14 2008, 10:22 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(ooj @ May 13 2008, 01:01 PM)
I'm planning to expand my services to Penang by using an agent/representative there. Based on your comments in this thread, it looks like the shops may not be the right guys for me to tie up with.

Presently I have a couple of members there that I mail games to but I'm planning to have someone based there to do distribution and collection of games. Helps to improve the waiting time between games.

Are there enough PS3 gamers there to support this? What do you guys think? Would appreciate your feedback on this.
To ooj,

I am not considered a hardcore gamer, but since I stays in Penang I can give you some humble opinion.

1) There are not many PS3 owners in Penang, for now. It's getting there, but we still need times. For now, I think a scale of 5:200.
2) Maybe I am wrong, but Penang ppl tend to save more than spend. Hence, your rental service will be a good idea, but you better make sure that you are in a strategic location.
3) I doubt that PS3 will ever get modded very soon, hence people still now reluctant to get PS3.
4) However, If I own a PS3, I will prefer buying instead of renting.
5) I had heard cases that the rent become "permanently rent", guess you will have to be careful. I am sure you have this covered.
6) For shops, Well the shops here tend to be smaller in size compare to KL, Klang Valley and Selangor. I don't think that they will agree to "partner" with you.
7) I haven't see a dedicated "Game" shop in Penang since One Stop Midlands open.

Hope that helps.

Thank you.

Added on May 14, 2008, 10:28 am
QUOTE(justlikeu @ May 13 2008, 11:18 AM)
i buy black wan le... piano black... lol...
Well, I really can't choose. If I am really forced to choose, I probably will go to Game Tech. Yes, the price might be a bit more expensive, however I am more confident in that place because the boss and the worker is more patient and knowledgable on the stuffs there.

For Mario, unless the boss and two long time shopkeep there, the rest just want to get the deal done and send you away. I don't really like that kind of attitude.

I don't know whether it's still the case. However, Mario is reluctant to offer warranty for more than 1~2 months. For Gametech, they say they will fix your stuff in the period of 12 months if there are any problems. You guys better check it out.

Please post what your package and how much you get when you bought your consoles.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by alex13: May 14 2008, 10:28 AM
TSalex13
post May 16 2008, 08:25 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(shaoching @ May 16 2008, 12:15 AM)
they give 1year waranty..but actually i juz realize that d waranty wasnt so effective...if wan say clearly,wan take it or not oso no diff..
tis is because the waranty juz covered service fee only,if anything hapen to ur console,they wont change 1 to1 for u and d spare part ned to paid urself..so if got such waranty oso ntng useful...

i don take the soft pouch,cz d case cant fix in it,so take oso uselss..the pouch is not ori,ori i think ned 50++..
Glad to see you have your own PSP. Unfortunately for now it's still a dream yet. Enjoy your PSP and feel free to tell us here when you add any accesories. Last time when I was studying in Australia, I saw people using PSP as a GPS system, its kinda nice.

Added on May 16, 2008, 8:26 am
QUOTE(MusicForLife @ May 15 2008, 05:34 PM)
can i know where does the psp game come from memory stick or UMD?i am quite noob at psp....and can we download ourself from the net?thanks....... rclxub.gif
This is considered a "taboo" question. I suggest you to PM the experts around or do some research.

Thank you.

Added on May 16, 2008, 8:27 am
QUOTE(G-Shonen @ May 15 2008, 08:59 AM)
I'm all for rental in Penang if *cough*there's no modded PS3*cough*.
Well,

Maybe I was "brainwashed" back in the study days, but I start to appreciate original stuff more.

Added on May 16, 2008, 8:31 am
QUOTE(coldnet @ May 15 2008, 09:54 AM)
since u guys are so knowledgable, y don't we open a shop in PG, or maybe do online shopping... cool2.gif
Welcome to Lowyat coldnet.

Actually opening a console shop in PG takes a lot of courage and research, since we are all just knowledgable in the end user part, I think it's best not to venture into it unless we are really resourceful.

Online, if you mean online selling its the same issue as above.

If you mean that why we don't buy stuff online or delivery from KL, well, we discussed this before. It's because that most of us prefer to "touch" the stuff before and right after we purchase the stuff. If you want to say the price difference, I can see the latest price in KL and Penang for consoles are not much of a difference anymore. I guess we are "lucky" that nowadays that Penang consoles trend are getting up and running.

This post has been edited by alex13: May 16 2008, 08:31 AM
TSalex13
post May 16 2008, 01:25 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(beefburger @ May 16 2008, 10:07 AM)
Anybody have any ideas where to get XBOX 360 in Penang at a reasonable price?

I went to Queensbay Mall and asked, the price was way expensive, premium set with only 1 controller and console 1.8k!

Any other place? how about in BJ Complex?
Well,

I guess hardly anybody buy stuch stuff in Queensbay Mall before.

I never talk about Xbox360 because I never intend to buy it, at least for now. You can go to check on ACE in Prangin, they are considered the Xbox expert (I saw so many Xbox hanging around). Also, alternatively, you can go to Gametech in BJ.

Hope that helps and tell us your package and price when you bought it or asked them.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post May 21 2008, 10:41 AM

400 posts

Regarding the Xbox360, I think the supply in Penang is not much because there aren't many people buying for now. Don't worry, the stock will come back eventually. I wounldn't be surprised if they accept order.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post May 26 2008, 08:19 AM

400 posts

I guess Mario from BJ do have some issues with integrity. Well then, I guess it's time to explore other places. I had checked a few shops during the weekends (again) to see what options they provide and after sales services option.

The price gone up a bit on weekends - I have no idea why but it happens.

ACE quote me RM789, Games Tower quote me RM820 and Game tech quote me RM799 for PSP whole packages.

Please note that I am not saying that we will just ignore Mario and don't take any action. For now, I think that even complaining to consumer rights association is worthless because I had tried that and their "investigation" is very disappointing.

Anyway, do you all have any idea on how to let people know such problems on some consoles shops? Bear in mind, only positive and productive ideas are appreciated.

Thank you
TSalex13
post May 28 2008, 09:50 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(Jasonjinct @ May 28 2008, 08:32 AM)
Hello, I wan to ask about modded wii price in Penang - So far, Megamall really suck

But ace i asked with quite reasonable price, but anyone of you know wat modchip contain inside?

Still.. got any other recommend? please include price, package and modchip.. I heard all u say tat in BJ have quite a good service.. wat the price for wii and wat modchip contain inside? thank you very much
The Wii price in Penang is ...well I should say Normal. I never asked before because that is the least priority console for me.

However, I heard the shopkeep once told a customer that the Wii price is never going to be dropped too drastically because of the low supply in all over the place.

You can check Gametech from BJ. I am sure they will have good deals. The contact details are in this thread.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 3 2008, 08:22 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(lkammeng @ Jun 2 2008, 09:35 PM)
Hi to everybody who want to buy games consoles sure buy at ACE game shop which locate at 3rd Prangin Mall.
to lkammeng,

I think you should elaborate more on why ACE game shop is the best?

Also, I hope you can provide the price list for the consoles sold in ACE. Everybody will definitely be interested in it.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 6 2008, 11:54 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Jun 5 2008, 10:59 PM)
ok....i am here to share what i bought at ACE pulau tikus...erm just like normal...PSP RM770...a pouch(RM28-doesn't charge it's included in the package just telling the price),4GB memory stick,an earphone(quality of the sound doh.gif ),3 games ISO ....didn't compress to CSO.....,screen protector and the version is 3.90 m33-3 ...the shop contact number is 042276261....they said the price might be going up soon...so i feel that i am quite lucky.....i bought it about 2 weeks still works well....and another external 4gb memory card cost RM100........
To Music For Life,

Thank you for your sharing.
TSalex13
post Jun 6 2008, 01:45 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(komputer @ Jun 6 2008, 01:16 PM)
Lol!  Gamemart boss say it starts at 9.00pm..I not sure if he meant the launch or when the queue starts. I'll be there around 7 latest.. after work, go back mandi then fly there smile.gif

Me want MGS4 figurine!

edit: on second thought, I'll call up Gamemart after work and ask him if got ppl there.. If got, then no chance get Snake figurine sad.gif He says got only 2.. One for 1st in queue, 2nd for second in queue.

Anyway, hope everyone comes... this the first PS3 game launch party in Penang rite?

Can't wait... 5 more days  icon_question.gif
Care to share more? Full details will be appreciated.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 6 2008, 02:43 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Jun 6 2008, 01:57 PM)
What do you need to know ?

I was the one introduced komputer to GameMart ... biggrin.gif
I meant the midlands release party for MGS4.

Well, also, please provide the details for the GameMart on their contact, selling price for consoles etc.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 9 2008, 10:02 AM

400 posts

Hi all,

I just bought my PSP from ACE Prangin Mall.

Here are the packages included:

1) PSP-2000 Slim and Lite Black with V3.90M33-3 Firmware
2) Printing Material and Box
3) Charger with local adapter
4) USB Cable
5) Screen Protector
6) Crystal Casing
7) 4GB Memory Stick with about 4 - 5 ISO
8) Earphone with remote control
9) Original Battery 1200mAh
10) 1 Year Service Warranty

The price for it is RM758, which is almost RM50 cheaper than what I expected in Penang.

What you guys thought.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 10 2008, 09:21 AM

400 posts

Sorry guys,

Please control your posting here and try not to use this as a place for chatting / blow water or gossip.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 13 2008, 11:09 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(alex13 @ Jun 9 2008, 10:02 AM)
Hi all,

I just bought my PSP from ACE Prangin Mall.

Here are the packages included:

1) PSP-2000 Slim and Lite Black with V3.90M33-3 Firmware
2) Printing Material and Box
3) Charger with local adapter
4) USB Cable
5) Screen Protector
6) Crystal Casing
7) 4GB Memory Stick with about 4 - 5 ISO
8) Earphone with remote control
9) Original Battery 1200mAh
10) 1 Year Service Warranty

The price for it is RM758, which is almost RM50 cheaper than what I expected in Penang.

What you guys thought.

Thank you.
Hello, anybody got any update on their recent gaming setup?

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 17 2008, 11:54 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(jeff_ckf @ Jun 17 2008, 10:56 AM)
What's the latest price for Asian 40gb PS3 in Penang guys?

How about modded Xbox360 Elite? I just casually asked Game Monster (the shop in Qbay opposite Harvey Norman) and was quoted RM 1799 (1 controller + 10 JS games). Btw, just some feedback on the Game Monster shop, the owner is quite friendly and offers some good advice imo.

Any owners of the newer batch of modded Xbox 360 Elite faced any 3rod problem? If the problem still continues I think I have to drop the Xbox from my consideration list already.

Majulah gaming untuk Penang  thumbup.gif
For ACE Prangin Mall,

When I bought my PSP there, I asked them the PS3 price.

They say its RM1450 for 40gb and including a Tekken game.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 19 2008, 11:27 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(jerryx @ Jun 19 2008, 11:14 AM)
I wan PSP BRONZE!!! WHERE to get it?
Games Tower in Prangin got quite a few special editions.

However, the price and package is not that good.
TSalex13
post Jun 19 2008, 01:43 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(jerryx @ Jun 19 2008, 11:30 AM)
Not that good means how much? At least know the price and package, you know? thanks..
Well, the normal one already RM780++ and the package is standard package excluding good earphone and only 1 month warranty.

Last time when I asked for the Simpsons PSP (yellow), its RM999 with the standard package.

Thank you.
TSalex13
post Jun 19 2008, 03:55 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Jun 19 2008, 02:19 PM)
Some 4-5 years back... i bought my PS2 from them. Within 2 days, no display, i brought it back to them, they ask me to leave the console at their place, and collect back 2 weeks time... ridiculous.. never ever went back there ever since.

I demanded for an exchange immediately or refund...

They exchanged. biggrin.gif
I thought that Game Tech BJ only open this year?
TSalex13
post Jun 21 2008, 11:14 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(uncleberg @ Jun 20 2008, 09:30 PM)
Mario pricing is kinda expensive. I bought a NDSL from them once. Very lousy service. Best part, I purchase a screen protector from them but they refused to put it on for me. Never went back since.
We heard a lot of complaints from Mario before: overprice, lousy service, warranty issue, suspicious of cheating etc.

I myself don't like the shop too. Anybody have good experience from that shop?

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0419sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:39 PM