Unifi UNIFI cheaper internet scam.

TSbiatche
post Sep 17 2024, 08:11 AM, updated 2y ago

1,649 posts

https://www.komunikasi.gov.my/en/public/new...ember-says-mcmc

This isn't getting enough attention, so I've decided to create a dedicated topic for it.

Instead of reducing package price, they opt to offer free upgrades. You would get near advertised speeds to their test server, but anywhere else you'd hardly get anywhere close, usually not even half of your subscribed speeds, practically speaking.

Instead, as in the general unifi topic, you'd get slow issues of all sorts. It's a complete scam.

Why isn't anyone angry about this?
jibpek
post Sep 17 2024, 08:18 AM

708 posts

Worst is, even with a Biz account, when doing stressed testing in my website, all unifi users speed will be ground to a halt after been FUPed by UNIFI

Maxis, Celcom no problem.

This is the power of monopoly
issac99289928
post Sep 17 2024, 08:27 AM

291 posts

forget MCMC . only the minister in charge can help you . comment on FAHMI's facebook and twitter .

TM made almost RM 2 bils last year but refuse to cough up a little for improvement of networks.

This post has been edited by issac99289928: Sep 17 2024, 09:01 AM
moiskyrie
post Sep 17 2024, 08:44 AM

3,217 posts

Power of monopoly....
Even you tag fami also no use as that person always go kepo other people while own department never go manage.....
issac99289928
post Sep 17 2024, 09:04 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Sep 17 2024, 08:44 AM)
Power of monopoly....
Even you tag fami also no use as that person always go kepo other people while own department never go manage.....
Fahmi did help me once after I commented on his facebook.

This post has been edited by issac99289928: Sep 17 2024, 09:05 AM
PRSXFENG
post Sep 17 2024, 09:53 AM

2,614 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 17 2024, 08:11 AM)
Instead of reducing package price, they opt to offer free upgrades.

well, the reason they do this is it all comes down to money
they don't want to decrease their revenue
lets say 100 subscribers subscribe to 100mbps for RM100 (example only)
that's rm10000 revenue
now, the new plan gets released, 300mbps for RM100
the old customers would be angry if they pay more for less, so of course, free speed upgrade
and the old plan gets deleted, like how the 5/10/20/30mbps plans of the past are now long gone
but lets say we give a price rebate instead, now its rm50 instead
they revenue cuts in half to just 5000
and in the business world, line must go up, never down

now, if they didn't delete the plan, you could downgrade, but of course, it may come with a recontract, or they'll throw in deals like oh don't go we'll give you free speed upgrade/ bill rebate for X months / free device, but again, with contract to lock you in

some people would be happy with like, 50mbps for 50, or even less

but they gotta make back their investment spent on serving you, sending contractors out to deploy fiber to your area, giving you the modem and router
sure, it could be argued that the one deploying the fiber infrastructure should have been neutral and not be involved as a competitor, like 5G DNB
so that there isn't a conflict
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 17 2024, 10:15 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

angry?

NOT ANGRY!?

they know they are disliked. that's why arm-twisting usik sikit kena renew kontrak.

i'm so fed up that that my 2Gbps subscription can't even hold quality video conferencing.

i will terminate. maxis fibre ftw.
kwss
post Sep 17 2024, 10:31 AM

1,208 posts

TM is in a position of power to milk everyone. Even if you use Maxis or CelcomDigi, they still earn money from you.

I also found this whole contract thing a scam. During HSBB rollout, you might say you need to recoup the cost of installation. But for area that is already installed, all the recontract nonsense is just anti-competitive behavior.

You are still paying for the infrastructure even if you switch provider. It's not like TM receive no money when you move to Maxis or whoever.

TM also made it hard for everyone to switch provider. Any switching requires site visit which is just a smoke screen to justify the recontract. They hardware they gave are also lousy and you cannot opt out for no-contract option. Not to mention when you switch provider, there's an overlapping period where you are paying for 2 ISPs

Then there's the speedtest scam. They definitely do this just to satisfy MCMC regulations. You will get full speed at all times if you use their Ookla Speedtest.

With Khazanah and EPF being their largest shareholders, I further believe this rot is deeper than it seems. The government may have them milking the public for maximum profit. Perhaps it's a way to get money and show the great economy recovery.
TSbiatche
post Sep 17 2024, 10:40 AM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(issac99289928 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:27 AM)
forget MCMC . only the minister in charge can help you . comment on FAHMI's facebook and twitter .

TM made almost RM 2 bils last year but refuse to cough up a little for improvement of networks.
RM2 bil for a monopolized company is very little. There's no doubt in my mind they have "schemes" to earn significantly more via obscure means. Wouldn't be surprised if it's at least 10x that. People in power aren't there for the well being of the general public. They are there because they wanna rake in riches. They'd do just enough to prevent a riot.

TM and the govt are in close cahoots surely. Fahmi shouldn't be at total fault, if anything him being a puppet there is far more believable. Until there's enough outrage, there won't be any significant improvements. Civilians shall continue to suffer.
afoka
post Sep 17 2024, 10:43 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Sep 17 2024, 10:15 AM)
angry?

NOT ANGRY!?

they know they are disliked. that's why arm-twisting usik sikit kena renew kontrak.

i'm so fed up that that my 2Gbps subscription can't even hold quality video conferencing.

i will terminate. maxis fibre ftw.
Maxis fibre not from tm meh? 😑
TSbiatche
post Sep 17 2024, 10:47 AM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 17 2024, 09:53 AM)
well, the reason they do this is it all comes down to money
they don't want to decrease their revenue
lets say 100 subscribers subscribe to 100mbps for RM100 (example only)
that's rm10000 revenue
now, the new plan gets released, 300mbps for RM100
the old customers would be angry if they pay more for less, so of course, free speed upgrade
and the old plan gets deleted, like how the 5/10/20/30mbps plans of the past are now long gone
but lets say we give a price rebate instead, now its rm50 instead
they revenue cuts in half to just 5000
and in the business world, line must go up, never down

now, if they didn't delete the plan, you could downgrade, but of course, it may come with a recontract, or they'll throw in deals like oh don't go we'll give you free speed upgrade/ bill rebate for X months / free device, but again, with contract to lock you in

some people would be happy with like, 50mbps for 50, or even less

but they gotta make back their investment spent on serving you, sending contractors out to deploy fiber to your area, giving you the modem and router
sure, it could be argued that the one deploying the fiber infrastructure should have been neutral and not be involved as a competitor, like 5G DNB
so that there isn't a conflict
I mean that's exactly why I made this topic to call it a scam. I'm fully aware they are trying to max their profit. The upgrade is a complete hoax coz in non-speedtest scenarios ull never reach such speeds. They could lower price and they still would earn much. There's just greed and more greed. Nothing else. I fault the govt far more than TM.
dev/numb
post Sep 17 2024, 11:02 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 17 2024, 10:47 AM)
I mean that's exactly why I made this topic to call it a scam. I'm fully aware they are trying to max their profit. The upgrade is a complete hoax coz in non-speedtest scenarios ull never reach such speeds. They could lower price and they still would earn much. There's just greed and more greed. Nothing else. I fault the govt far more than TM.
To be fair, almost any third-world country ISP will game speedtest sites to improve their perceived ratings. It’s just that TM just goes the extra mile and games its customers as well.
Neptern
post Sep 17 2024, 11:33 AM

518 posts

Tbh TM is rather tame compared to those big isps in US.

Although i do wish i had more choices for isp which is not dependent on TM infrastructure. We do have the choice of 5g broadband internet now.
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 17 2024, 11:38 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Sep 17 2024, 10:43 AM)
share infra maaaa.

but i have no issue whatsoever that is otherwise plaguing my unifi line.

go see unifi thread can see even boiling lava can reach evaporating temperature from the heat.
JLA
post Sep 17 2024, 01:00 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Sep 17 2024, 10:43 AM)
no

rural kampung maxis home fiber using maxis pole and own fiber cable
not tumpang TM
issac99289928
post Sep 17 2024, 01:13 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 17 2024, 10:40 AM)
RM2 bil for a monopolized company is very little. There's no doubt in my mind they have "schemes" to earn significantly more via obscure means. Wouldn't be surprised if it's at least 10x that. People in power aren't there for the well being of the general public. They are there because they wanna rake in riches. They'd do just enough to prevent a riot.

TM and the govt are in close cahoots surely. Fahmi shouldn't be at total fault, if anything him being a puppet there is far more believable. Until there's enough outrage, there won't be any significant improvements. Civilians shall continue to suffer.
FAHMI handpicked the chairman and CEO of TM last year . that is the reason MSAP 2023 could be finally implemented. those who wants network improvement can comment on FAHMI's facebook and twitter. FAHMI can have great influence on these two guys.

https://www.digitalnewsasia.com/business/tm...nd-chairman-aug

This post has been edited by issac99289928: Sep 17 2024, 01:25 PM
iCare
post Sep 17 2024, 01:27 PM

67 posts

Why normal average TM users not angry because they don't know what is happening behind their Unifi connection when connecting to the internet.

Only user who is sensitive to latency (real-time traders, online gamers, live streamers etc) will notice it even if subtle change in latency and unstable speed.

Average user just care about SWU offer by TM "oooh I manage to get 1Gbps at this RMXX discounted price, very very cheap!" until major routing issue happen like now.

It's like you buy super fast car from TM, and you plan to cross the border with it, suddenly the road got so many potholes, every 50m got bonggol and every 500m got roadblock. The roadblock officer said to you "Yincek, tabuli guna ini jalan" and redirect you to another path used by lori angkut pasir which is worse than before and you going far from the border check point. Enjoy the super fast car experience. nod.gif
BenYeeHua
post Sep 17 2024, 02:27 PM

1,873 posts

Well, every country got ISP throttling customers, classic case is the famous event of Comcast throttling Netflix.
https://money.cnn.com/2014/08/29/technology...cast/index.html

For now, in China, it becoming worst, because of PCDN.
https://www.landiannews.com/archives/103559.html

For PCDN, it is just Peer to Peer, but you got a lot of customers setup a small NAS device connected to your router, then you pay them to sharing your video streaming data as CDN, which is named, Peer CDN.

Since this year, after too much PCDN saving the cost for them to running regular CDN, those ISP start cutting off anyone that upload more, just, upload more.
If you use any software or website that using your PC as PCDN for free, you will get cut off, and also throttling for not doing by your own.(it is enabled by default)

https://cn.v2ex.com/t/1072242
Based on this post, certain area in China already asking you to sign another contract for uploading more than 120GB of data, even it is uploading to something like MEGA or Google Drive to backup your own personal data, and yes, you get throttling to 50% packet lost, and 500kb/s max.(Some test result is upload last for 24 hours)
Then also kick you into CGNAT, while disable your IPv6 internet access, lol. laugh.gif

More funny, to counter back, those PCDN benefiter balancing out the traffic by downloading useless data from every CDN, so in those ISP's eyes, it is balanced user that 90% is download, 10% is upload, lol.
So those regular small website(like own blog etc) that use CDN get hit with billions of bill to be paid, lol. devil.gif
https://github.com/unclemcz/ban-pcdn-ip
---
So, need anything worst than current state? brows.gif

And yes, TM in past did throttling any traffic going to Google server, as long as it is not connected via TM peer, it will get throttling to 480kbps, I guess Google just paid to TM and case closed.

So the problem is above, TM wanna earn both money, they want those provider give them money, not TM give money to pulling more fiber to obtain more traffic.
TM choose to throttling us, so those CDN provider will come and host their CDN server at Malaysia, then pay the money as well.

But those provider just choose to host server at SG, so no talk, throttling then. tongue.gif
---
For CloudFlare, no idea, can be CloudFlare just having limited traffic for KUL and JHB.
So TM just rerouting to SG to protect those paid VIP customer that pay more on KUL then.

This one need insider news la. tongue.gif
BenYeeHua
post Sep 17 2024, 02:45 PM

1,873 posts

I forgot to say, the PCDN indeed benefit also the customer, as long as it is not doing too over.
It is like P2P, but it is limited to area, so those customer within nKM connected to nearby PCDN, no need cross border to another area.
As China is a very crowded country, you sure gonna get someone nearby watching the same video or live stream/streamer as yours.

It is like, you got multiple friends at your taman watching the same video, so you gonna share the video with him, the traffic is only costing CDN once, then local traffic within your taman.
CDN traffic saved, also no need care about pulling new fiber out of your taman to increase the bandwidth going out of your taman.

The result?
You get more CDN traffic for serve more customers, without pulling any new fiber.

And hell, after you disabled PCDN and use regular CDN, you get higher speed, because PCDN burden/balance/reduce the traffic of CDN for you, lol.

The only affect is those regular users that using app via WiFi, as it is half-duplex, so uploading means less download speed for your WiFi.
This is the main down side, only those paid PCDN home customer that setup a NAS for dedicated PCDN is the best, as it don't burden any customer's CPU or WiFi.

The only one get hurt is ISP, it means less traffic money paid from CDN, so you know why it is getting banned. wink.gif
TSbiatche
post Sep 17 2024, 04:56 PM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 17 2024, 02:27 PM)
Well, every country got ISP throttling customers, classic case is the famous event of Comcast throttling Netflix.
https://money.cnn.com/2014/08/29/technology...cast/index.html

For now, in China, it becoming worst, because of PCDN.
https://www.landiannews.com/archives/103559.html

For PCDN, it is just Peer to Peer, but you got a lot of customers setup a small NAS device connected to your router, then you pay them to sharing your video streaming data as CDN, which is named, Peer CDN.

Since this year, after too much PCDN saving the cost for them to running regular CDN, those ISP start cutting off anyone that upload more, just, upload more.
If you use any software or website that using your PC as PCDN for free, you will get cut off, and also throttling for not doing by your own.(it is enabled by default)

https://cn.v2ex.com/t/1072242
Based on this post, certain area in China already asking you to sign another contract for uploading more than 120GB of data, even it is uploading to something like MEGA or Google Drive to backup your own personal data, and yes, you get throttling to 50% packet lost, and 500kb/s max.(Some test result is upload last for 24 hours)
Then also kick you into CGNAT, while disable your IPv6 internet access, lol. laugh.gif

More funny, to counter back, those PCDN benefiter balancing out the traffic by downloading useless data from every CDN, so in those ISP's eyes, it is balanced user that 90% is download, 10% is upload, lol.
So those regular small website(like own blog etc) that use CDN get hit with billions of bill to be paid, lol. devil.gif
https://github.com/unclemcz/ban-pcdn-ip
---
So, need anything worst than current state? brows.gif

And yes, TM in past did throttling any traffic going to Google server, as long as it is not connected via TM peer, it will get throttling to 480kbps, I guess Google just paid to TM and case closed.

So the problem is above, TM wanna earn both money, they want those provider give them money, not TM give money to pulling more fiber to obtain more traffic.
TM choose to throttling us, so those CDN provider will come and host their CDN server at Malaysia, then pay the money as well.

But those provider just choose to host server at SG, so no talk, throttling then. tongue.gif
---
For CloudFlare, no idea, can be CloudFlare just having limited traffic for KUL and JHB.
So TM just rerouting to SG to protect those paid VIP customer that pay more on KUL then.

This one need insider news la. tongue.gif
I mean I understand isps throttle and all that. I'm merely asking people to join my outrage in 'free package upgrade' scam that workaround mcmc's order to lower prices. Certainly there are multitude of factors, that including capable speeds of the outgoing server. Normally I think even 100mbps is sufficient for 1080p youtube. So even if we have 2gbps, it's not going to make your youtube stream any faster. All we want is low latency, and fast enough throughput. Majority of people aren't going to be constantly pushing 1-2gbps to its limit. Most people are gonna run out of disk space within days/hours even if they manage download at maxspeed.

Say you have a 2TB ssd, which is considered plenty big. It'd take a week to fill it at 2gbps. If you have hard drives, you can't even write fast enough. And if you're able to find so much stuff to download, you're still not able to even watch them fast enough. So in seriousness, who needs 2gbps? Do we even need 1gbps?

I hope with this awareness, enough angry people would complain to mcmc about this elaborate scam. When told to lower price, they should just lower instead offering 'free upgrade' and then throttle or alike.

0.0212sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:02 PM