New house Defect Inspection, DIY or Hire experts

pisces88
post Sep 2 2024, 01:55 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Sep 2 2024, 01:37 PM)
My house has solid quality delivery. I went in myself stay for a few days then i ask developer to fix what are the defect i found.

Im not trying to save bucks, as saw neighbour posted in group chat they got tons of stickers but 90% of them are not getting fixed. What's the point hiring then.

In the end depend on how developer try to entertain you.
u got point also. if sticker banyak but developer dont fix, no point unless willingly hire own contractor fix it
St0rmFury
post Sep 2 2024, 02:07 PM

225 posts

Like others have mentioned, getting pros to inspect the unit is one thing.

Whether the developer want to fix everything with sticker is another matter.
TSkira_88
post Sep 2 2024, 02:50 PM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,153 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Sep 2 2024, 01:37 PM)
My house has solid quality delivery. I went in myself stay for a few days then i ask developer to fix what are the defect i found.

Im not trying to save bucks, as saw neighbour posted in group chat they got tons of stickers but 90% of them are not getting fixed. What's the point hiring then.

In the end depend on how developer try to entertain you.
QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Sep 2 2024, 02:07 PM)
Like others have mentioned, getting pros to inspect the unit is one thing.

Whether the developer want to fix everything with sticker is another matter.
Ya understand that getting the house inspected does not guarantees the developer will even entertain and repairs all the defect.

But IMO opinion atleast incase if the developer really do some nasty/irresponsible thing to cut cost that can affect the house in the long run than might as well have evidence of it so that you can bring it to court and fight for your right.

My sister case mmg developer cut corners on lots of places, using different lower quality materials, so brought the case to court and only then the developer really layan all the complainst and ask to do settlement outside of court. She spend 10k+- on lawyers and the inspectors but then get 150k of settlements. Too bad the inspectors died already of heart attack, the guy gave really good advice on how to move forwards with the case.

If it only minor defects only than okay lor just tahan sakit hati if developer buat tatau.

V12Kompressor
post Sep 2 2024, 02:56 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

my defect inpector only RM230 incl SST (6%)

quite extensive report.
no need mahal mahal.
Quantum Geist
post Sep 2 2024, 02:57 PM

109 posts

I would side on hiring a reputable inspector, at least can check electric/water/early signs of defect, contractor honor the fix is between you and them and maybe a lawyer
TSkira_88
post Sep 2 2024, 03:10 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 2 2024, 02:56 PM)

quite extensive report.
no need mahal mahal.
eh cheap, report with photos? the cheapes quo I got is rm260 major defects only and no photos, rm310 with photos. minor & major defects is 370 without and 560 with photos.

cover north or not
Zeliard
post Sep 2 2024, 03:16 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 2 2024, 10:44 AM)
lol true also, sooner or later sure leak one for condo

but should do water ponding la, kalau leak ask developer to do can save 3k for the first few years.
Can explain to me what is water ponding?
submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 04:15 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Sep 2 2024, 02:50 PM)
Ya understand that getting the house inspected does not guarantees the developer will even entertain and repairs all the defect.

But IMO opinion atleast incase if the developer really do some nasty/irresponsible thing to cut cost that can affect the house in the long run than might as well have evidence of it so that you can bring it to court and fight for your right.

My sister case mmg developer cut corners on lots of places, using different lower quality materials, so brought the case to court and only then the developer really layan all the complainst and ask to do settlement outside of court. She spend 10k+- on lawyers and the inspectors but then get 150k of settlements. Too bad the inspectors died already of heart attack, the guy gave really good advice on how to move forwards with the case.

If it only minor defects only than okay lor just tahan sakit hati if developer buat tatau.
lol
That one sounds like very shady developer.

Defects can claim up to 150k? but why? Developer refuse to fix within DLP period?
Lower quality materials this is quite grey area because spec sheet didnt specific on grade quality but only material type, who knows they use YTL cement or low grade China cement.

Remember MCO time that Tropicana uncle with hammer? If really concern about the product yeaaa suggest to engage one as well.

TSkira_88
post Sep 2 2024, 04:43 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Sep 2 2024, 04:15 PM)
lol
That one sounds like very shady developer.

Defects can claim up to 150k? but why? Developer refuse to fix within DLP period?
Lower quality materials this is quite grey area because spec sheet didnt specific on grade quality but only material type, who knows they use YTL cement or low grade China cement.

Remember MCO time that Tropicana uncle with hammer? If really concern about the product yeaaa suggest to engage one as well.
Surprisingly its not a small developer. It's a big ass GLC that i cannot disclose due to NDA settlement agreement, not sure what happened with this particular project tho.

Most of the initial complaint was minor one, the do rectify but the problem just kept on coming back. things like crack, leak, damp wall. Since the fix is somewhat useless and the developer macam bo layan.
so half of the house owners approached a building inspectors. Only then it was pointed out by them that a lot of stuff inside the house does not follows the agreed signed S&P. Based on the report iirc is they used lower grade tiles, some house windows is smaller in size, missing plug points, lower grade electrical wire, some house reduced in size, house roof angle insufficient, this is among the major stuff that i remember. Why 150k? because based on the report by right most of the house have to redo the whole rooftop.

We brought the case to court and only then the developers decided to take the case seriously. If only the fixed the issues earnestly the dont have to spend so much on settlement. Its like buying the house with 40% discount. lol

This post has been edited by kira_88: Sep 2 2024, 04:46 PM
TSkira_88
post Sep 2 2024, 04:49 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Sep 2 2024, 03:16 PM)
Can explain to me what is water ponding?
I think it's what you do in toilet to ensure that they do proper waterproofing, very important fopr strata home or double storey home.

they block the floor trap then fill the toilet with water and leave it for a period of time. if water did not subside the okay lor
redondo88
post Sep 2 2024, 05:17 PM

40 posts

For condo with IBS construction method. Wall & level defect is a bit less than regular pour cement one.

The wall is preproduction at kilang already, bring to site portion by portion then connect like lego. Its built hard like hell.

V12Kompressor
post Sep 2 2024, 05:24 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Sep 2 2024, 03:10 PM)
eh cheap, report with photos? the cheapes quo I got is rm260 major defects only and no photos, rm310 with photos. minor & major defects is 370 without and 560 with photos.

cover north or not
yes, with photos and help to submit to defect report app.

eh, north? jauhnye

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Sep 2 2024, 05:25 PM
pisces88
post Oct 2 2024, 02:22 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Sep 2 2024, 02:56 PM)

quite extensive report.
no need mahal mahal.
boss got the name? might need it
V12Kompressor
post Oct 2 2024, 03:10 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 2 2024, 02:22 PM)
boss got the name? might need it
kasi PM u.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top