New house Defect Inspection, DIY or Hire experts

submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 10:31 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Sep 2 2024, 10:08 AM)
Halu k/ can help me decide wether to hire pro for defect inspections or can just DIY for a 1000 sqft condo. Upon initial inspection the house macam not too bad only got minor cosmetics defects.

I've checked(from videos only) the cost is varying from rm300-1000. if it's <500 I would just rather pay experts to do it.

last time my siter house cost rm800 for a semi D iirc, this was 10 years ago. but the house memang got lots of defects so we are bring the case to court since the developers taichi here and there only on fixing it. upon checking the house got big major defects where some house even tak cukup size, so the developer kana pay a big sum of money to those who brought  it to court.

also if got contact for penang area also can recommend. thanks
No need.... stay inside start from day 1.
Everyday you'll know what's wrong with anything.

You dont need a outsider pro to tell you what's wrong with your house.

submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 10:32 AM

1,132 posts

Yes sure got more members agreed with this.
The 500stickers that inspector posted, i guess only 5-8stickers developer will entertain you.

Another tip is see group chat got a lot complain or not, if not much then no need to proceed lar.

QUOTE(WaterBuffalo @ Sep 2 2024, 10:29 AM)
Last time I pay ppl to inspect defect. RM450 I think. The inspection work was done professionally with labeling of defect area, report and they help to fill in defect sheet. I really like it.

But once I submitted the report to developer, that’s where another story comes about. The developer spent a month rectifying what I submitted but at the end not 100% of what I submitted has been rectified. They just handed the key back to me and say it’s all done. They removed all the sticker and label and claimed it was rectified. At the end the tiles still got hollow sound and what not. But to be fair some of the basic stuff they did rectify. But the uneven surface, etc all they just didn’t do anything about it. After a few ding dong with developer, I also lazy.

My advice is this. If you’re going to renovate your house immediately after you get your keys, you might as well get your contractor to help you submit defect report to management. Cause once contractor remove those built in carpentry work, that’s where you’ll see a tonne of other defect. So fix your defect as you renovate your house. If you renovate 5 years down the road then be prepare to spend extra to fix those defects.
This post has been edited by submergedx: Sep 2 2024, 10:35 AM
submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 10:38 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Akaashi @ Sep 2 2024, 10:35 AM)
Hire professional to check better la. Don’t skimp on this.

Pipe leaking especially from inside the wall not easy to check urself unless it is very obvious. If your above unit no ppl stay also hard to check whether their pipe is leaking onot.

From my experience you might wanna check your drain. Be it bathroom or balcony. Stress test them see whether the water will drain out fast enough or not.
Pipe leaking is destiny one.

My downstair neighbour stay more than 3years then suddenly got multiple spots leak from upstairs, i go kepo upstairs dont have any renovation also.

DLP passed few months ago.
Developer unwilling to entertain, checked with leaking expert quotation RM3k.

No matter how cautious you check, the leak will come any day. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 10:57 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 2 2024, 10:41 AM)
Better than not checking and realising it after you moved in.
QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 2 2024, 10:44 AM)
lol true also, sooner or later sure leak one for condo

but should do water ponding la, kalau leak ask developer to do can save 3k for the first few years.
Yea, that's why move in asap and make use of it everyday. You walk though the wall if it's uneven then you know it's an issue.
You stay and walk on the floor everyday and you'll feel the hallow/uneven tiles, then you report it ASAP to management.

and TS, remember to track your conversation record via email. Some developer very good at wash hand.
submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 01:37 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 2 2024, 12:49 PM)
You still don't think getting the developer to rectify before you move in is a better idea than having to endure the repair after you've moved in? All this trouble to save a few hundred bucks of inspection fee?
My house has solid quality delivery. I went in myself stay for a few days then i ask developer to fix what are the defect i found.

Im not trying to save bucks, as saw neighbour posted in group chat they got tons of stickers but 90% of them are not getting fixed. What's the point hiring then.

In the end depend on how developer try to entertain you.

submergedx
post Sep 2 2024, 04:15 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Sep 2 2024, 02:50 PM)
Ya understand that getting the house inspected does not guarantees the developer will even entertain and repairs all the defect.

But IMO opinion atleast incase if the developer really do some nasty/irresponsible thing to cut cost that can affect the house in the long run than might as well have evidence of it so that you can bring it to court and fight for your right.

My sister case mmg developer cut corners on lots of places, using different lower quality materials, so brought the case to court and only then the developer really layan all the complainst and ask to do settlement outside of court. She spend 10k+- on lawyers and the inspectors but then get 150k of settlements. Too bad the inspectors died already of heart attack, the guy gave really good advice on how to move forwards with the case.

If it only minor defects only than okay lor just tahan sakit hati if developer buat tatau.
lol
That one sounds like very shady developer.

Defects can claim up to 150k? but why? Developer refuse to fix within DLP period?
Lower quality materials this is quite grey area because spec sheet didnt specific on grade quality but only material type, who knows they use YTL cement or low grade China cement.

Remember MCO time that Tropicana uncle with hammer? If really concern about the product yeaaa suggest to engage one as well.

0.0161sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:01 AM