50 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Woman falls into 8-meter deep sinkhole in KL, search and body recovery called off

kimochi ii
post Aug 24 2024, 01:14 AM

19 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: The search and rescue (SAR) operation has discovered the slippers of the Indian national woman who fell into a sinkhole in Masjid India, says Kuala Lumpur police chief Comm Datuk Rusdi Mohd Isa.

“The slippers believed to belong to the victim have been discovered.

“SAR operations have ended at 12.30am and will resume at 9am on Saturday,” he said during a press conference at the site of the incident here, Saturday (Aug 24) morning.

Following discussion with the SAR team, efforts will continue. SAR efforts have been carried out 100% where the victim fell, Comm Rusdi added.

"The scuba team have also gone inside (the chamber) but for now it is unsuitable to continue with the search, so we decided to stop at 12.30am.
knumskul
post Aug 24 2024, 01:17 AM

784 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Aug 23 2024, 11:57 PM)
SOmething is very rotten in DBKL planning. few months ago they changed the stretch of rd near HSBC jln sultan ismail heading towards lot 10 to a 2 way system. then changed back to one way after the resulting traffic jam increased.

But the worse is the bank negara roundabout. closed the middle lane since 2016 for renovation, delayed due to MCO, after MCO they put barricades make it look like permanently close the lane, and now finally after EIGHT years, reopened again!

https://www.thestar.com.my/metro/metro-news...t-bulatan-dato/
Hasn't that been 1 way for donkey years due to traffic jam? Change back to 2 way for what shit I wonder.

Seems they don't study and do any sort of simulation/calculations. Just test by implementing then see how.
JohnL77
post Aug 24 2024, 01:32 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ Aug 24 2024, 01:17 AM)
Hasn't that been 1 way for donkey years due to traffic jam? Change back to 2 way for what shit I wonder.

Seems they don't study and do any sort of simulation/calculations. Just test by implementing then see how.
I think they don't have solution. They just change here change there to show they got do work, but they know it won't work.

Traffic in KL is so hellish, even on moto I don't want to go. And don't tell me to use sardine can public transport. Fuck KL, especially Bukit Bintang. Traffic there so tight, I can't lane filter. And that traffic light between Times Square and Lot 10 is such a hell hole on weekends. My side already green for 3 or 5 seconds, but traffic from the other side still potong red light. That day I honk them kao kao and show middle finger to a GrabCar driver. Pundek I really wanted to whack their cars.

Unfortunately yesterday I had things to do in Kepong then heavy rain for more than an hour then of course from Kepong, Grab pulled me to KL. Then on my way home while riding in the emergency lane, a WHITE Vios followed behind me. Fucking sohai.

Done rant.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Aug 24 2024, 01:33 AM
nelson969
post Aug 24 2024, 01:48 AM

323 posts

gaeria84
post Aug 24 2024, 01:55 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Aug 23 2024, 11:57 PM)
SOmething is very rotten in DBKL planning. few months ago they changed the stretch of rd near HSBC jln sultan ismail heading towards lot 10 to a 2 way system. then changed back to one way after the resulting traffic jam increased.

But the worse is the bank negara roundabout. closed the middle lane since 2016 for renovation, delayed due to MCO, after MCO they put barricades make it look like permanently close the lane, and now finally after EIGHT years, reopened again!

https://www.thestar.com.my/metro/metro-news...t-bulatan-dato/
Lately all the traffic related things changed for the worst

I hate most of all, those selang seli traffic lights. Like why must traffic light A & B go green 5 times dulu, then only traffic light C go green 1 time ranting.gif
Notoriez
post Aug 24 2024, 02:22 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Aug 23 2024, 02:11 PM)
Remember the case of the Cina guy who got buried when the UMNO logo fell on his car in Penang?

Right beneath was a sinkhole. His body was never found.
Not sinkhole. Fella was thrusted at least 40m deep.

Excavation cant korek more than 10m as it will affect the integrity of structures nearby...

So burial ground is the Macalister road.
Hobbez
post Aug 24 2024, 02:27 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Aug 24 2024, 02:22 AM)
Not sinkhole. Fella was thrusted at least 40m deep.

Excavation cant korek more than 10m as it will affect the integrity of structures nearby...

So burial ground is the Macalister road.
I don't think anything can compact soil all the way to 40m deep. That's why nukes do poorly with underground bunkers.

There had to be some underground cavern/sinkhole.
bengang15
post Aug 24 2024, 05:29 AM

421 posts

Does this have to do with the constant rain and flooding in Kl. Might have affect the integrity of the soil. Pretty concern with the soil condition of KL overall.
poooky
post Aug 24 2024, 07:09 AM

844 posts

Construction quality going down the drain ady. Now is tofu construction to minimise costs and maximise profits. Msia no longer immune to natural disasters.
elm0001
post Aug 24 2024, 07:13 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

really really pity.. feel sad for the victim

RIP
submergedx
post Aug 24 2024, 07:17 AM

1,132 posts

Kesian. RIP to the lady.
SUSheadache
post Aug 24 2024, 07:18 AM

282 posts

Something about Indah Water pool and sewage pipes. She fell into it and was sucked away.
lyekit
post Aug 24 2024, 07:26 AM

196 posts

A black hole?
latte36
post Aug 24 2024, 07:29 AM

Lejen
2,748 posts

Poor lady. RIP.

Can't imagine the horror she went thru
Moderna
post Aug 24 2024, 07:36 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ Aug 24 2024, 07:29 AM)
Poor lady. RIP.

Can't imagine the horror she went thru
Would have drowned and died 2-3 minutes after she was sucked in. I doubt the horror lasted so kong.
p4n6
post Aug 24 2024, 07:39 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(headache @ Aug 24 2024, 07:18 AM)
Something about Indah Water pool and sewage pipes. She fell into it and was sucked away.
Heard about Indah Water and not sure how they are involved in this … their pipe burst?
jojolicia
post Aug 24 2024, 07:46 AM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Aug 24 2024, 05:29 AM)
Does this have to do with the constant rain and flooding in Kl. Might have affect the integrity of the soil. Pretty concern with the soil condition of KL overall.
I have more concern on the engineers, planners etc the people at work

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 24 2024, 07:47 AM
Medufsaid
post Aug 24 2024, 07:52 AM

3,501 posts

the video of the initial aftermath

SUSraynman
post Aug 24 2024, 08:00 AM

4,333 posts

They are resuming the search and rescue operation this morning at 9am right?
SUSheadache
post Aug 24 2024, 08:03 AM

282 posts

No, strong currents in the IWK pipes that ends in the Pantai Dalam treatment plant. There's a pool underneath there which we have no info on at the moment.

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Aug 24 2024, 07:39 AM)
Heard about Indah Water and not sure how they are involved in this … their pipe burst?
Can see the pool at 1:21 in this vid.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Aug 24 2024, 07:52 AM)
the video of the initial aftermath

This post has been edited by headache: Aug 24 2024, 08:03 AM

50 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:50 PM