PRo and con of AWD car

littlefire
post Aug 29 2024, 12:47 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ Aug 29 2024, 01:18 PM)
Do you happen to know if the CX-5 2.5T's AWD is also a part-time AWD? Would be nice to learn about the settings it has (i.e. mostly fwd and so on)!
Mazda AWD most of the time almost 90~100% FWD, i can say it is the most less aggressive AWD in market and need a lot of factors to trigger the AWD system to function.

There are on-going off road test in youtube and need to open all the sensor like rain sensor/wiper on to only trigger the AWD.
So if there is no rain, most of the time only FWD mode.

https://driving.ca/features/feature-story/d...new-awd-systems

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 29 2024, 12:48 PM
lsm1991
post Aug 29 2024, 01:30 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 29 2024, 10:56 AM)
Simple said. If never driven AWD and want to test AWD get the best model with the best AWD system. If dont, just buy normal FWD.

If you are into safety concern, can go youtube and search for YS Khong Driving channel. There is a video explaining how true AWD helps prevent accident in rain 4 years ago.
awd is 'sort of' idiot friendly. problem is when caught offguard people tend to lift and slam on the brakes. do this and the car is no different from any other car out there. Theres a saying, "when in doubt flat out". its worked so far for me.
Capt. Marble
post Aug 29 2024, 02:37 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ Aug 29 2024, 12:18 PM)
Do you happen to know if the CX-5 2.5T's AWD is also a part-time AWD? Would be nice to learn about the settings it has (i.e. mostly fwd and so on)!
Yes it's a part-time AWD.

Here is a good video explaining the Mazda i-ACTIV All Wheel Drive and how it works. It's by default a FWD. It uses sensors to predict before the front tires loses traction and engage the back tires before the front loses traction.

You just need to confirmed with the sales person if we are getting the full set of i-ACTIV AWD with the 27 system / sensors.
I can only see the Mazda G-Vectoring Control Plus Technology (GVC Plus) from our Mazda Malaysia site.

littlefire
post Aug 29 2024, 02:51 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Aug 29 2024, 02:30 PM)
awd is 'sort of' idiot friendly. problem is when caught offguard people tend to lift and slam on the brakes. do this and the car is no different from any other car out there. Theres a saying, "when in doubt flat out". its worked so far for me.
Yes, i always like to corner in high speed and also encounter few emergency situation which need fast response thus i agree with this "flat out" situation. Still it is also very dangerous and risky for most people. sweat.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMSKpSHAvOQ

Manage to find the youtube link of YS Khong explaining the AWD function from Subaru. Take note, not all AWD system is the same as Subaru.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 29 2024, 02:59 PM
SilenTz_1993
post Aug 30 2024, 12:18 PM

251 posts

Thank you sifus @littlefire and @capt. marble for the information!

Will have to check with sales person if it’s full set I-activ or not

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0146sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:53 AM