First Unofficial Benchmark is out!, Consider biasing to one side

TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 10:55 AM, updated 19y ago

5,434 posts

AceCombat reporting in,first unofficial between HD3 series vs 8800GT benchmark is out.

the driver they using is Catalyst 7.11 which is newly developed.

but we can see that this is totally unbelievable,ATi pawned? laugh.gif

We already knew RV670 will become HD 3850 and HD 3870. According to some comments, we now fully understand what's the name HD 38X0 stands for:

HD3870(RV670XT):core/memory: 800MHz/2400MHz,512MB GDDR4,suggested retail price: CNY2299(307.5 USD)

HD3850(RV670Pro):core/memory: 700MHz/1800MHz,256MB GDDR3,suggested retail price: CNY1699(227.3 USD)

And the only driver now support RV670 is Catalyst 7.11 which AMD-ATI just hand out to his partners about two weeks ago. According the info we knew earlier, the RV670 have 320Steam processor,256bit memory interface, UVD and PCIe Gen2.

AMD-ATI said when they announce the offical design, partners can begin to sell those unoffical design cards. And an asia graphic card maker Yeston said that they will be the first one to supply unoffical design card.

what's the difference between G92 and RV670? let's see what's in NV's slide pics.

this is the graph that taken from nVidia website sweat.gif

nVidia really wanna kill AMD-ATi with this graph,u guys believe the benchmark result?
or if it's true,ATi will give lame excuse :no la,driver problem laugh.gif "
arjuna_mfna
post Nov 3 2007, 11:04 AM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

that just 8800gt, how bout new 8800gts, sure ati "makan more asap"....
clanx
post Nov 3 2007, 11:04 AM

172 posts

if i'm not mistaken, thats only a forecast i think...
TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 11:10 AM

5,434 posts

not sure la,but since from nvidia webby,they sure say their card is good mah,if in ati webby,RV670 sure skyrocketing than 8800GT one laugh.gif
clanx
post Nov 3 2007, 11:12 AM

172 posts

hahaha sales gimmick what.....
HaVoC
post Nov 3 2007, 11:46 AM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

Anyone can make graphs without numbers, especially when your rival company is about to come out with a new product.

Though most already give in that RV670 can only compete in price but not performance; I could hardly believe that ATi are not responding to all these rumors.

As an average consumer, I would like to see "leaked" benchmarks this week, and I really hope that "Hey, I got DX10.1 first" won't be the major selling point of the new cards.
post Nov 3 2007, 11:55 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

i think this is true, if false, i doubt ATI-AMD will sue Nvidia.
woot, 8800GT tech is newer than RV670. and, ATI always lose to Nvidia -.-....
i mean take both flagship cards to compare.
TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 12:12 PM

5,434 posts

but when go back to AGP time,ATi rocks!!!
post Nov 3 2007, 12:13 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

muahaha....ya lo...think back 4years before...9800XT @ Rm2500 sweat.gif
ATi_FANBOY
post Nov 3 2007, 12:21 PM

181 posts

lame marketing tactics by both companies.

AMD wont sue nVIDIA, just gonna roll out a 'review' saying HD3 series 'rocks'. ambiguous marketing at its best !!!!

nagflar
post Nov 3 2007, 02:31 PM

1,813 posts

100% fake la , i think if the HD3 lose to Gt al, so in smal range . 10-20% maybe . that benchmark.... zzz lol
kmarc
post Nov 3 2007, 03:21 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Rumours has it that ATI's new card will definitedly not top Nvidia's current high-end cards. The 3800 cards will probably be selling at a lower price to compete with Nvidia.

However, percentage doesn't mean a thing. We want absolute numbers. e.g. ATI 30fps, Nvidia 33fps - so nvidia wins by 10%..... doh.gif

Another thing about DX10.1. Have you guys heard? Apparently, for DX10.1, the AA will be running at 4x. You can't turn it on or off manually. Dunno. That's what I read. Would really kill the fps in lower end systems...... rclxub.gif
linkinstreet
post Nov 3 2007, 03:29 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 3 2007, 03:21 PM)
Rumours has it that ATI's new card will definitedly not top Nvidia's current high-end cards. The 3800 cards will probably be selling at a lower price to compete with Nvidia.

However, percentage doesn't mean a thing. We want absolute numbers. e.g. ATI 30fps, Nvidia 33fps - so nvidia wins by 10%.....  doh.gif

Another thing about DX10.1. Have you guys heard? Apparently, for DX10.1, the AA will be running at 4x. You can't turn it on or off manually. Dunno. That's what I read. Would really kill the fps in lower end systems......  rclxub.gif
just rumours. YOu can turn it of using driver control panel or in game option
ATi_FANBOY
post Nov 3 2007, 03:42 PM

181 posts

i noticed that those new chips got that 'RV' suffix. usually those are ati midrange tag ....... i suppose.

TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 03:46 PM

5,434 posts

so,u guys mean,there is moer powerful gc fromATi rather than this two 3850 and 3870? maybe 3890? tongue.gif
kmarc
post Nov 3 2007, 03:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 3 2007, 03:29 PM)
just rumours. YOu can turn it of using driver control panel or in game option
The last I heard, you can't. It is NOT an option. However, I'm sure there will be a way around this....
sHawTY
post Nov 3 2007, 03:59 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

What the?
This is weak!

Why do nvidia have to use this kind of marketing? shakehead.gif
ikanayam
post Nov 3 2007, 03:59 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 3 2007, 02:21 AM)

However, percentage doesn't mean a thing. We want absolute numbers. e.g. ATI 30fps, Nvidia 33fps - so nvidia wins by 10%.....  doh.gif

Another thing about DX10.1. Have you guys heard? Apparently, for DX10.1, the AA will be running at 4x. You can't turn it on or off manually. Dunno. That's what I read. Would really kill the fps in lower end systems......  rclxub.gif
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 3 2007, 02:54 AM)
The last I heard, you can't. It is NOT an option. However, I'm sure there will be a way around this....
No, there is a difference between minimum level of AA support and "always on". Dx10.1 specifies 4xAA support as a minimum requirement. It doesn't have to be on all the time, because that would just be retarded.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 3 2007, 04:18 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 3 2007, 03:59 PM)
What the?
This is weak!

Why do nvidia have to use this kind of marketing? shakehead.gif
This is the norm in the IT industry.... you should see MSI sales kits.. those lagi funny
sHawTY
post Nov 3 2007, 04:25 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 3 2007, 04:18 PM)
This is the norm in the IT industry.... you should see MSI sales kits.. those lagi funny
MSI jangan cakap lah, we all know they paid a premium price to Tom's Hardware.
Every MSI product that is given to Toms Hardware mesti win in their hardware review. laugh.gif
Zakumo
post Nov 3 2007, 04:34 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 3 2007, 10:55 AM)
AceCombat reporting in,first unofficial between HD3 series vs 8800GT benchmark is out.

the driver they using is Catalyst 7.11 which is newly developed.

but we can see that this is totally unbelievable,ATi pawned? laugh.gif
this is the graph that taken from nVidia website sweat.gif

nVidia really wanna kill AMD-ATi with this graph,u guys believe the benchmark result?
or if it's true,ATi will give lame excuse :no la,driver problem laugh.gif "
funny answer laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 04:35 PM

5,434 posts

is it ah?
the one with gold hammer one right?
kmarc
post Nov 3 2007, 04:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 3 2007, 03:59 PM)
No, there is a difference between minimum level of AA support and "always on". Dx10.1 specifies 4xAA support as a minimum requirement. It doesn't have to be on all the time, because that would just be retarded.
Dunno. Hope not. Here's an excerpt :

"What are the changes? DX 10.1's goals are to offer the "complete" DX 10, giving developers better control over image quality and making mandatory some of the things that are optional in DX 10. For example, 32-bit floating point filtering is optional in DX10 (16-bit FP filtering is mandatory), but will be mandatory in DX 10.1. Also, in DX 10, the number of multisample anti-aliasing samples is optional-DX 10.1 will make 4x AA mandatory, and require two specific sample patterns. Graphics cards can offer more sample patterns, and developers can query them in their shaders. Graphics cards that are DX 10.1 compliant will have to offer programmable shader output sample masks and multisample AA depth readback. Game developers will be able to index into cube maps and perform bitwise copies from uncompressed textures to block-compressed texture formats. "
ikanayam
post Nov 3 2007, 04:44 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 3 2007, 03:38 AM)
Dunno. Hope not. Here's an excerpt :

"What are the changes? DX 10.1's goals are to offer the "complete" DX 10, giving developers better control over image quality and making mandatory some of the things that are optional in DX 10. For example, 32-bit floating point filtering is optional in DX10 (16-bit FP filtering is mandatory), but will be mandatory in DX 10.1. Also, in DX 10, the number of multisample anti-aliasing samples is optional-DX 10.1 will make 4x AA mandatory, and require two specific sample patterns. Graphics cards can offer more sample patterns, and developers can query them in their shaders. Graphics cards that are DX 10.1 compliant will have to offer programmable shader output sample masks and multisample AA depth readback. Game developers will be able to index into cube maps and perform bitwise copies from uncompressed textures to block-compressed texture formats. "
It's just regulating the supported AA modes and sample patterns which is a good thing because right now this is quite fragmented. So what dx10.1 is attempting to do is regulate the output result for AA, and give developers more flexibility in using AA. Not the same as "always on" AA.
Goliath764
post Nov 3 2007, 04:46 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

Can the graph be trusted? My heart keep telling me to not believe that graph...
kmarc
post Nov 3 2007, 04:47 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Nov 3 2007, 04:44 PM)
It's just regulating the supported AA modes and sample patterns which is a good thing because right now this is quite fragmented. So what dx10.1 is attempting to do is regulate the output result for AA, and give developers more flexibility in using AA. Not the same as "always on" AA.
I see. Yeah, I thought is was a bit funny to have the AA turn on all the time.

Hehe, now that I read that excerpt again, it makes more sense.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Nov 3 2007, 04:49 PM
ikanayam
post Nov 3 2007, 04:47 PM

10,544 posts

Who cares, in about 10 days we'll find out.
linkinstreet
post Nov 3 2007, 06:16 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

well in that 10 days many buyers can be gained. Thus nVidia used their time wisely
remeron
post Nov 3 2007, 06:28 PM

339 posts

Part of me kinda wish that RV670 would be good and put up some fight with current nvidia cards. Because then we stand to benefit from it with low competitive prices.
^KamilskaZ^
post Nov 3 2007, 08:15 PM

roar...roar....
1,222 posts

oh man..it's just RV670 not R670.still have good time to wait
TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 10:09 PM

5,434 posts

R670 better than RV670?
X.E.D
post Nov 3 2007, 10:50 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Really?

How about say... Need For Speed: Pro Street? biggrin.gif
R600 already pwns 8800GT here (AA does not have a performance hit on both cards lol)

RV670? Answer is so obvious.

Plus, this is not an nVidia PR slide.

So as it goes, I think the ATI architecture will still have minor to noticeable gains on non TWIMTBP Xbox 360 ports.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Nov 3 2007, 10:50 PM
TSAceCombat
post Nov 3 2007, 11:13 PM

5,434 posts

looks like ATi driver got big improvement or the game perform well with R600 architecture?

0.0165sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:52 PM