[2024] iPhone 16 Pro/Pro Max Discussion, Hello, Apple Intelligence.

lee82gx
post Jan 1 2025, 04:23 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MGTheChosen @ Jan 1 2025, 02:32 PM)
How often you got this "calibration"?

I think mine is about once every about 10 days
More or less. What I know is if Tim Cook needs your phone to reach 100% it will do it no matter how u change the charging cycle…
lee82gx
post Jan 3 2025, 08:55 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MGTheChosen @ Jan 3 2025, 12:23 AM)
Is this any linkage to planned obsoletion?

Well too bad I guess this is true to many cases 

But iP16 pro battery metal casing, technically easier to swap, hopefully cheaper sad.gif
Oh, I think you took my post a bit to the extreme. What I meant is, occassionally when the phone needs to calibrate the battery to 100%, it will die die do so, when you plug the charger next time round. It will not terminate at your preset %. Even if you set it to 85% and UNPLUG it at 85%, the next time you plug it and leave it, it will go to 100%. And then when its satisfied, next charge cycle will stop back at your preset %.

I didn't mean to imply anything sneaky here by Tim.

They already have planned obsoletion in many other ways, like sealed back with IPx8 but no guarantee vs water damage. You can't change the battery for fear of sealing failure, but there is no real guarantee that it is even gonna work in the first place. What the eff does that even mean. Do you see Rolex or even Seiko guaranteeing 100m and then denying the warranty....lol.

lee82gx
post Jan 4 2025, 08:37 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MGTheChosen @ Jan 4 2025, 12:09 AM)

they seal back really not that good? or they dont believe their staff can do a good job?
IINM they do a test on the reassembled back cover to ensure it will pass sealing requirements. But bear in mind even a tiny thin piece of double sided tape is all that guarantees the seal by design and there is a high chance it may give way. To expose your phone to 2nd time of assembly of this part is to do the Russian roulette twice.

I swim 3 times weekly with my Apple Watch. My series 7 did not even make it past the first year and water ingress killed the whole watch. It is not too different in terms of water seal compare to the phone. They denied my warranty claims cos my screen was scratched and they call it a crack! It is phone industry practice to do this.
lee82gx
post Jan 4 2025, 03:41 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(decavalera @ Jan 4 2025, 10:20 AM)
Wah, mine also iw7 but only occasionally swim <300m weekly.. so far touch wood.. will use it till kaput before buy new iw..

I've said this before and will say it again, they will on average not survive more than 5 years of water sports.

Having said that I have my S9 with apple care + on weekly 3km swim, if it breaks before then I'll claim it and after 2 years I will change to a cheap fitness tracker like Huawei / honor band.
lee82gx
post Jan 5 2025, 04:46 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MGTheChosen @ Jan 5 2025, 12:34 PM)
Oooof that's harsh

Did you put any screen protector for your AW7?

I put one on mine, and it reduced the sensitivity significantly,  but that's the price I am willing to pay to protect the screen without making it bulky

For phone same, all glass surfaces are protected and then with casing too, but to minimum bulk
FWIW I did have a tpu screen protector on, and the scratch even cut through it. So yes, it was a scratch, but it is absolutely not a "crack".
lee82gx
post Jan 6 2025, 10:31 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MGTheChosen @ Jan 6 2025, 10:10 AM)
Wah TPU i think its pretty hard to come by these days

its either film or tempered glass no?

but if it cuts through the tpu must be some heavy scratch like keys or something similar?
film = tpu to me. Flexible soft material.
To be honest it is stronger than a scratch, but again, not cracked. I surely went swimming a long time after the scratch.

we're getting side tracked here, but for the watch, tempered glass screen protector is a major pain to install due to curvature. I wish we can go back to flat.
lee82gx
post Jan 20 2025, 08:19 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 18 2025, 02:44 PM)
anyone tried backup ur iphone 512gb version that is almost full the storage to itunes via usb-c connection? how long does it take to do a full backup of the phone for first time?

last time lightning port is super slow. not sure if usb-c now improved?
Around the same speed as old lightning port. Took me 70 minutes for 128GB so you can times 4 for 512GB. Actually in the time it takes you can go to shopee and order a proper USB3.0 type C to C cable and wait for it to arrive before doing a full 512GB copy. The original cable by Apple is 2.0 blink.gif bangwall.gif

The one thing to beware is to buy both A to C AND C to C (3.0) because my laptop does not like to run full speed full power for a long time over the type C port. I only successful with A to C and have to avoid using a certain laptop in my house, use an old desktop.
lee82gx
post Mar 1 2025, 09:47 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Feb 27 2025, 07:24 AM)
Bought my 16pm on first launch, just to try the preorder and first day collection feel..

In future don’t think gonna preorder anymore.. wait discount better 😝
Bro make damn sure wait for exhaustive negative reviews. Cilaka TIM Cook, gave me the nerf camera ip16pro and don’t wanna do me right when claim warranty.
At the very least, open test on the spot and don’t like then just return and balik.
lee82gx
post Mar 1 2025, 11:54 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Mar 1 2025, 10:39 PM)
Nerf as in how yah bro? Diff phone diff performance like that ?
you can search my previous posts in this thread. My camera is not able to take a proper super dark picture in dark mode 30s.

this is for the main camera.

a normal one is gonna produce a dark image like pure black. In 18.0 I get very very blue and like patches here and there. 18.2 onwards I get purple.

Every single other Iphone I have (12,13x2,12 mini, 13mini) can get pure black. The Iphone 16 has about 1 in 5 chance to be like this.
This affects pictures like dark sky, milky way, astro photography, aurora.
lee82gx
post Jul 1 2025, 10:49 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 26 2025, 11:43 AM)
So, what happens? My sister's 15 Pro, bought in May last year, now has a battery life of 91%. sweat.gif While my 16 Pro Max is still 100% now, after 9 months. She is impressed.

She is probably going to switch to the iPhone 17 when it comes out, but not immediately. She wants to get more rebates from online platforms, so she plans to do so in November or December.

Her daughter is using her previous iPhone 12, and she intends to pass her phone to her daughter once she upgrades. However, after seeing her battery life vs mine, she wants to take over my 16PM for her daughter. sweat.gif So, she proposes that I trade in her 15P to Apple, and she will pay me the difference. laugh.gif

Anyway, I have a gift card from Apple that I received earlier for my iPad Mini 6 trade-in. Can I trade in an old iPhone and also use the gift card for an iPhone 17 purchase?
I bought 15 pro at the same day as 16 pro (Oct 2024) (my wife uses the 15 pro, full day blasting douyin / yt / whatever video app Tongsan has) and still at 100% battery health. I am at 211 charge cycles, I suppose she is nearer to 250-270 I guess.

Both looking strong but I believe once it dips below 99% will start seeing some linear decay. Its normal, the 100% is not really 100%, instead it is from 105-10x% to 100%.

edit - add date.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Jul 1 2025, 11:23 AM
lee82gx
post Jul 1 2025, 12:25 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 1 2025, 11:33 AM)
Yeah, understood but my sister's one is really bad. Dropped to 91% for 15 months. hmm.gif
reading from your posts above, you have a complicated swapping plan, enjoy the app install reinstall!

Otherwise just buy a new battery for the 15 pro is a simple step for your sis.
lee82gx
post Sep 23 2025, 11:27 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

does anyone know, if i do a factory reset on my IP16pro and restore from icloud, do I have to go to ATM for each of my banking apps? Or do any further KYC thingy? Can I just re-login?
lee82gx
post Sep 23 2025, 12:50 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 23 2025, 11:35 AM)
I think might have to go ATM, because technically it's like a new device restoring from backup.
ok, thanks.
Im suffering on battery life, recently the health drop from 100 to 96% and from feeling battery less backup by 20% ++. Usually I can end up at home after work day, and charge when go to sleep. This includes 1hr of video streaming in the gym from 6-7pm. But now, at 5pm I have to recharge in car or I can't even begin video streaming.

argh. Is it IOS18.7 problem ker, something else. There is no obvious app that is misbehaving.
lee82gx
post Sep 23 2025, 02:15 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

https://pictr.com/image/xo9TtA
https://pictr.com/image/xo9QAD
https://pictr.com/image/xo9vuq
https://pictr.com/image/xo9FyI
https://pictr.com/image/xo9KZr

It doesn’t look obvious why my battery drain also…

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Sep 23 2025, 02:32 PM

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0313sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:54 PM