Intel Cpu Bending, 12th 13th 14th lga 1700

TShdbjhn2
post Jul 16 2024, 09:26 PM, updated 2y ago

267 posts

Hye everyone, purpose of this thread is, to know about an issue, but directly Malaysian pc user/builders.

It is all over the internet that Intel cpu on lga 1700 is facing lots issue, one famous is stability/degradation issue of 13th and 14th.
BUt another issue is the cpu itself bending. This is what i wnna talk about.

1. Can you people(builders, normal users, etc) share here if u experience this ? Does the cpu get bent, compared to older gens.
Can share pictures?? the bent seem to be very visible, a simple ruler can distinguish it.

2. Could this be the reason that cpu is actually degrading and unstable?
The cpu is so tiny, rigid(the die is like black glass cincau block), then tiny traces, solder on capacitors? All can withstand bending??
the electrical pathway will now have different length, resistance, etc. Mybe that's why it degrading?
- How about heat cycle,, heating bent metal will bend even more/concave. And then cooled and repeated,, any thermal crack, integrity ?

But, Intel is Billion dollar comp with geniuses that sells a legit product with RnD, TESTED before selling.
Surely, they would have tested many times and saw the bending.

I actually don't mind about temperatures, can manage unless i9/i7k.
Anyway, is the bending really fine? All over reddit, people just say, its fine one la, but now, mcm2 issue.
Even for upcoming socket, i read smwhere they will use same ILM,
but also provide option better ILM(like server) with added price(sounds like only premium board will use while the budget market will have a product that might not last long?).

and,

3. Is contact frame a safe solution? This is another confusion i have.
They are selling a product but one with whole purpose that would deny warranty. Is this legal?

I start to feel that, cause dekstop custom builds are kind of niche segment,, they are treating us like experimental guinea pig,
releasing products without proper testing, features with unclear benefit and implementation and over pricing in the process.

EXTRA.
Internet is busy pointing to the same thing over and over again = Too much power/Heat spot/Voltages.
Ofc, i think i gonna be entirely wrong cause im just a no one and out there those peoples are more,,professional.
BUt question i do have. Teach.
See, if its extra power related issue, i don't think that alone will cause degradation cause cpus are made to basically operate at its rated clock and power continuously and very long.

a) Cpus are not like tires, the more u use, the more it degrade but very slowly,, nope. Contoh, ssd have TBW but not cpu.
In past, cpu either work(same performance) or just dead.
Lasting beyond 3 years warranty, personally never seen cpu kaput after warranty also. Mybe other reasons but not due to time. I think all here knows that.

b) If more power gives degradation, no logic yet. Intel can't decide length of warranty. Some people use for 1-2 hours/week,
some use it 24/7. Some only push a lil, while some games/maxed load for hours,(llike i3 whch many people buys in our country for gaming) clock, boost power; high temps(stck cooler; many non tech savy still).
In this instance, maybe after 1.5-2 years, cpu could be unstable or unable to hold the same clock? degradation?
All this will point wildly varying lifespan, and warranty claims?
Pls don't say planned obsolescence cause this sounds too aggresive and obvious.

So, like i said in Point 2, could it caused by the bending?

I guess i will skip this whole generation.
On amd side, 8 core 7000 is almost twice of 5700(but no igp and ddr4).
12700 is in mid though, bending.
laksamana
post Jul 16 2024, 09:40 PM

1,356 posts

Been using 12700K no issues
TShdbjhn2
post Jul 16 2024, 10:42 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Jul 16 2024, 09:40 PM)
Been using 12700K no issues
JUst to ask, anytime u disassemble, lets say replace paste.
Can u check the cpu?? Take picture mybe?

*i jst wnna knw the bending, if a lot.
babylon52281
post Jul 17 2024, 11:30 AM

2,707 posts

CPU bending is nothing new, even predates LGA1700 as it goes back to Skylake gen when Intel switch to ILM using only 2 contact points. You can see this when back then air cooler makers start to come out with convex cold plate bcoz everyone knew this issue and it wasnt a problem then.

What happen is due to LGA1700 elongated IHS which caused the bending to be more obvious and people start to make noise. Whether this caused the CPU degradation, I doubt it as this failure would have been seen much earlier from Alderlake gen but so far its only 13&14th gen specifically i9s. i7 & i5 takde kena pon.
laksamana
post Jul 18 2024, 10:39 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jul 16 2024, 10:42 PM)
JUst to ask, anytime u disassemble, lets say replace paste.
Can u check the cpu?? Take picture mybe?

*i jst wnna knw the bending, if a lot.
Haven't had the need to disassemble my rig for any reason just yet

At any rate, I plan to just upgrade to the next generation Intel i.e. 15 Gen onwards when the time comes

Azusa_San
post Jul 18 2024, 02:11 PM

309 posts

no issue, been using raptor lake long time with Thermalright Contact Frame installed.

Cost around RM20 only thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Azusa_San: Jul 18 2024, 02:17 PM
babylon52281
post Jul 19 2024, 03:49 PM

2,707 posts

Usage of bend correct contact frame can help to prevent bending on freshly install CPU but those already using stock ILM the bend may be permanent.

Also real usage is at best lowering few degrees C but risk voiding of warranty. Those who want to install be sure you know what your doing as damage can and do happen. This is fully on the owners responsibility.
chocobo7779
post Jul 19 2024, 10:08 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jul 18 2024, 02:11 PM)
no issue, been using raptor lake long time with Thermalright Contact Frame installed.

Cost around RM20 only thumbup.gif

I think something isn't right if people need to spend even more just to get a CPU to properly come into contact with the heatsink sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jul 19 2024, 10:11 PM
Azusa_San
post Jul 20 2024, 09:03 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 19 2024, 10:08 PM)
I think something isn't right if people need to spend even more just to get a CPU to properly come into contact with the heatsink sweat.gif
what to do smile.gif For CPU, is either blue or red camp only. AMD has it's own problem too sad.gif

Btw, they also have AM5 version of contact frame, call "Secure Frame" which use to prevent the thermal paste from getting in the IHS of AM5 Ryzen CPU. sad.gif
https://www.thermalright.com/product/am5-secure-frame-black/

This post has been edited by Azusa_San: Jul 20 2024, 09:04 AM
babylon52281
post Jul 20 2024, 12:12 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jul 20 2024, 09:03 AM)
what to do smile.gif For CPU, is either blue or red camp only. AMD has it's own problem too  sad.gif

Btw, they also have AM5 version of contact frame, call "Secure Frame" which use to prevent the thermal paste from getting in the IHS of AM5 Ryzen CPU. sad.gif
https://www.thermalright.com/product/am5-secure-frame-black/
AMD 1st implementation of LGA is real cacat. Instead of enlarging the socket size and putting the tiny micro capacitors under the center of the CPU substrate (like Intel LGA), they cut out the IHS into spider form and jam pack those capacitors around the gaps in the IHS. Not only does it make the CPU more delicate to damage when handling vs Intel LGA, it also makes a POS when trying to clean thermal paste specially if it leaks onto the capacitors, good luck trying to clean without knocking some off.

Which is why Noctua/CM has plastic templates for paste application on the spider IHS but doesnt stop it smudging down the sides. Which is why there are replacement ILM frames for AM5 socket too, to prevent this. Dua dua CPU makers pun bodoh.

From an OCer POV, AM5 LGA is much worse when comes to delidding as you need to be super extra careful around these capacitors, even derbauer delidder tool has higher risk of failure compared to using on Intel LGA.

I not really sure why AMD decided AM5 like that, maybe its not upset their current AM4 user base that could migrate their coolers without extra hardware (unlike Intel LGA needing LGA1700 adaptors kits) or they did not want the same jokes as Intel bending issue but whatever the real reason, AMD LGA for AM5, AM6, etc is tech dozzy unless they could redesign the spider IHS for AM7.
Azusa_San
post Jul 20 2024, 01:44 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jul 20 2024, 12:12 PM)
AMD 1st implementation of LGA is real cacat. Instead of enlarging the socket size and putting the tiny micro capacitors under the center of the CPU substrate (like Intel LGA), they cut out the IHS into spider form and jam pack those capacitors around the gaps in the IHS. Not only does it make the CPU more delicate to damage when handling vs Intel LGA, it also makes a POS when trying to clean thermal paste specially if it leaks onto the capacitors, good luck trying to clean without knocking some off.

Which is why Noctua/CM has plastic templates for paste application on the spider IHS but doesnt stop it smudging down the sides. Which is why there are replacement ILM frames for AM5 socket too, to prevent this. Dua dua CPU makers pun bodoh.

From an OCer POV, AM5 LGA is much worse when comes to delidding as you need to be super extra careful around these capacitors, even derbauer delidder tool has higher risk of failure compared to using on Intel LGA.

I not really sure why AMD decided AM5 like that, maybe its not upset their current AM4 user base that could migrate their coolers without extra hardware (unlike Intel LGA needing LGA1700 adaptors kits) or they did not want the same jokes as Intel bending issue but whatever the real reason, AMD LGA for AM5, AM6, etc is tech dozzy unless they could redesign the spider IHS for AM7.
AM5 ryzen, need use toothbrush + 99% isopropyl alcohol to clean laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Azusa_San: Jul 20 2024, 01:46 PM
overfloe
post Jul 20 2024, 02:31 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jul 20 2024, 02:44 PM)
AM5 ryzen, need use toothbrush + 99% isopropyl alcohol to clean  laugh.gif

No problem. Can use cheap stuff to cover:

babylon52281
post Jul 20 2024, 04:18 PM

2,707 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jul 20 2024, 01:44 PM)

Not all types of toothbrush are good. Hard ones could brush out these micro caps with too much force. How much is too much? Your guess is as good as mine and its a risk you bear.

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jul 20 2024, 02:31 PM)
No problem. Can use cheap stuff to cover:

I would just copy chocobos comment: "I think something isn't right if people need to spend even more sweat.gif "

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jul 20 2024, 04:18 PM
zuozi
post Jul 20 2024, 04:33 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Azusa_San @ Jul 20 2024, 01:44 PM)

How often you got to remove your heatsink and resurface the thermals paste? Per months?per 3 months?per half year?per year?

and those commerical server in hotel especially Malaysia mostly i see don't either see them applying new thermals paste either yolo 5 year 10 year and change to new server

Me as a consumer from day one until now first installation new thermal paste and only 4 year later only apply 2nd time new thermals paste after that already pc change i still don't see any problem for consumer

I think this problem only apply to reviewer as a consumer bila overheating, fan rosak baru repair if no spoiled literally i don't want open the side panel 😂

0.0180sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:58 AM