Is the new Vios really that bad of a deal?, B-segment suggestions

Redundant
post Jun 20 2024, 11:35 AM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 20 2024, 10:45 AM)
if buy the spare tyre outside, then where can we put it?  hmm.gif
Just go to fb and search for the VIOS gen 4 group. U can see many ppl manage to DIY or cut at accessories shop the foam tools holder to fit in the 17" full size spare tyre. Looks very neat!
MegaCanonF
post Jun 20 2024, 12:17 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(vimaa94 @ Jun 19 2024, 10:40 AM)
Hey guys, so I'm actively considering on upgrading my current daily workhorse which is '06 Honda City GD8 which has been serving close to 18 solid years now. I thought it might be right time for an upgrade and currently on the market for a sub 100k sedan, preferably a reliable daily drive as i cover 40km moderate speed round journey back and forth from my workplace. Snail paced jam along the way hence the current ride is far from comfortable for the peak hour drive.

I'm aware the current face-lifted Honda City offers the most all rounded package but this time around I was hoping to experience a different brand. Also would prefer the traditional Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) over the Lane Watch currently offered by Honda which is not really deal breaker but just a small preference.

That leaves out with Vios, S70 and the Almera turbo. Proton S70 offers the best bang for your buck but contemplating on the Batch 1 production unit, would ideally consider this when it's face-lifted and equipped with AACP. Almera seems like the most aesthetically handsome one of the lot but I've had some heard some colleagues & friends sharing their frustration with the after sales support for previous nissan models. Also RV could be on the downside for the almera.

Vios seems like the practical choice and the inclusion of auto brake hold would come in handy during peak hour klang valley traffic. Yea its based on DNGA and it's closer related to Ativa, myvi & axia compared to it's Toyota siblings but the way I see it, the shared parts would probably accommodate to better spare availability and reasonable pricing for the long term run. In a way I was planning to possibly keep it running as long as it could possibly could before scrapping.

Would vios make the ideal pick or should I just stick with Honda and get the face-lifted upgrade. Any form of suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thank you all.  thumbup.gif
If you can live with :

1. no spare tyres
2. Non foldable rear seats
3. shared parts from perodua

get the vios.

I'm a city owner so I might be biased. But you can ask me if you are wondering anything about City FL

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Jun 20 2024, 12:17 PM
cempedaklife
post Jun 20 2024, 12:20 PM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

i'm driving a 2011 city now. and being an uncle now with 2 kids, overall i think honda comfort is less than desirable if compare to toyota?

my next car is likely going to be a 2nd hand altis or camry.
likely altis is good enough.
ktek
post Jun 20 2024, 12:34 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 19 2024, 09:22 PM)
Dugong is still Godcar to me…
j spec yup. easily mod to trd race
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 20 2024, 12:38 PM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 10:00 AM)
This is the fake pretender … only Dugong Vios is the Godcar
Gods at HIS many incarnations?!
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 20 2024, 12:44 PM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 20 2024, 10:16 AM)
this is used vios, not the new model

summore from used car shop, probably kena tipu
Yes I know. But a God car is supposed to be indestructible. Just some mortal's long years usage and abuses is NOTHING to GOD.

Anyway, as a used to be Toyota owner , I can tell you there is no such thing call God car. So I stick to my original statement. You can't even call it God Like Car

It is an abomination to thy God, to anyone's God for that matter
anakkk
post Jun 20 2024, 12:46 PM

2,116 posts

city to vios mcm not upgrade, go for civic or altis then is upgrade
hksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 01:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jun 20 2024, 12:38 PM)
Gods at HIS many incarnations?!
Err… sorry if my earlier statement offended your religious sensitivities.
Balanced
post Jun 20 2024, 07:25 PM

876 posts

S70 is the most value for money.
Bigger and more comfort too.
Doesnt hear much negative or horror stories about the s70 too.
hksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 10:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 20 2024, 07:25 PM)
S70 is the most value for money.
Bigger and more comfort too.
Doesnt hear much negative or horror stories about the s70 too.
Proton improved after Geely bought them over eh?
wyh
post Jun 20 2024, 10:49 PM

1,447 posts

To me without these two

1. no spare tyres
2. Non foldable rear seats

Won't be a choice. If ts OK then go ahead with it
BL98
post Jun 20 2024, 10:57 PM

743 posts

Get the honda S spec. 80k and already got ADAS and ACC.

Then install 360 cam outside with full HD cameras. These days you can get a very decent one for about 1.5to2k.
Balanced
post Jun 20 2024, 11:11 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 10:20 PM)
Proton improved after Geely bought them over eh?
Proton has always been good with their simpler A and B segment cars. For bigger cars their formula is always rebadge previously is mitsubishi and honda. Now geely, so far so good except the fuel consumption slightly higher.
I think its a good car for the price.
hksgmy
post Jun 21 2024, 12:00 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 20 2024, 11:11 PM)
Proton has always been good with their simpler A and B segment cars. For bigger cars their formula is always rebadge previously is mitsubishi and honda. Now geely, so far so good except the fuel consumption slightly higher.
I think its a good car for the price.
And if you use Bold Oil, the S70 will out race a 911. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Balanced
post Jun 21 2024, 12:11 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 21 2024, 12:00 AM)
And if you use Bold Oil, the S70 will out race a 911.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Ahahahaha. Wont la. Engine oil does not increase engine performance anyway. Most it helps to bring out the highest potential of the engine only.
So many ktards though i am bold salesman and aggressive replies sad.gif. Makes me wonder if a few of them are actually engine oil salesman and just trying to kill off people like me affecting their rice bowl. Kinda fun also talking with them lol
hksgmy
post Jun 21 2024, 12:13 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 21 2024, 12:11 AM)
Ahahahaha. Wont la. Engine oil does not increase engine performance anyway. Most it helps to bring out the highest potential of the engine only.
So many ktards though i am bold salesman and aggressive replies sad.gif. Makes me wonder if a few of them are actually engine oil salesman and just trying to kill off people like me affecting their rice bowl. Kinda fun also talking with them lol
Hahahaha. I’m glad you took my joke in the right spirit.

notworthy.gif thumbsup.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 21 2024, 12:36 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 20 2024, 01:25 PM)
Err… sorry if my earlier statement offended your religious sensitivities.
None taken. Cheers
autodriver
post Jun 21 2024, 08:42 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 20 2024, 12:20 PM)
i'm driving a 2011 city now. and being an uncle now with 2 kids, overall i think honda comfort is less than desirable if compare to toyota?

my next car is likely going to be a 2nd hand altis or camry.
likely altis is good enough.
The 2nd hand of Altis 1.8 year 2019 should be around 95k. The car drive comfortable yet capable to take fast corner with linear body roll. With the TNGA and rear suspension setup in double wishbone, this is really a good car. Civic is definitely better in power but Altis is better in handing and riding experience.
cempedaklife
post Jun 21 2024, 08:50 AM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jun 21 2024, 08:42 AM)
The 2nd hand of Altis 1.8 year 2019 should be around 95k. The car drive comfortable yet capable to take fast corner with linear body roll. With the TNGA and rear suspension setup in double wishbone, this is really a good car. Civic is definitely better in power but Altis is better in handing and riding experience.
yeah. i sit in my relative 2000-ish altis. it creaks as you would expect from an old car.
but at the same time surprisingly the comfort level is still higher than my city, in terms of ride. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

2019 is still a bit steep price for me now. especially considering 2nd hand loan interest.
but i know i must get at least 2017 onwards or at least a V spec before that to get VSC, which my current city don't have.
everything else technological is just bonus for me.

in any case, i still have time on my side, although some of the short coming of my city, its fully paid, not many problem (just wear and tear) and i like it when i drive alone. just with family, sometimes feel suspension not good enough. but hey, growing up, my family don't even have a car, so for me, I'm grateful.

but I'm also realistic, probably need another car 3 years down the road. and by then hopefully can get 2019. gosh it looks really nice.
but I'm equally happy with 2017.

was thinking if i should get an older camry for the same budget but kinda unsure about maintenance price.

note: my bro is still driving a very beat up corolla SEG.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Jun 21 2024, 08:50 AM
autodriver
post Jun 21 2024, 08:51 AM

404 posts

New Vios

Pros
Good handling and riding experience
Realiability
Fuel efficiency
Full safety features
Electronic parking brake and brake hold