Is the new Vios really that bad of a deal?, B-segment suggestions

TSvimaa94
post Jun 19 2024, 10:40 AM, updated 2y ago

49 posts

Hey guys, so I'm actively considering on upgrading my current daily workhorse which is '06 Honda City GD8 which has been serving close to 18 solid years now. I thought it might be right time for an upgrade and currently on the market for a sub 100k sedan, preferably a reliable daily drive as i cover 40km moderate speed round journey back and forth from my workplace. Snail paced jam along the way hence the current ride is far from comfortable for the peak hour drive.

I'm aware the current face-lifted Honda City offers the most all rounded package but this time around I was hoping to experience a different brand. Also would prefer the traditional Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) over the Lane Watch currently offered by Honda which is not really deal breaker but just a small preference.

That leaves out with Vios, S70 and the Almera turbo. Proton S70 offers the best bang for your buck but contemplating on the Batch 1 production unit, would ideally consider this when it's face-lifted and equipped with AACP. Almera seems like the most aesthetically handsome one of the lot but I've had some heard some colleagues & friends sharing their frustration with the after sales support for previous nissan models. Also RV could be on the downside for the almera.

Vios seems like the practical choice and the inclusion of auto brake hold would come in handy during peak hour klang valley traffic. Yea its based on DNGA and it's closer related to Ativa, myvi & axia compared to it's Toyota siblings but the way I see it, the shared parts would probably accommodate to better spare availability and reasonable pricing for the long term run. In a way I was planning to possibly keep it running as long as it could possibly could before scrapping.

Would vios make the ideal pick or should I just stick with Honda and get the face-lifted upgrade. Any form of suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thank you all. thumbup.gif
metalfire
post Jun 19 2024, 10:49 AM

1,306 posts

Yes! Vios is the way. Many Vios users and even Toyota sales people prefer the previous generation Vios than the current DNGA based. I see many current Vios on the road and the square lines albeit boxy shape quite ok.

Problem is if you're over 170/180cm then is a bit cramp for the head room at the back because of the sloping rear section.

There's still the Yaris if you don't mind.
seinganchai
post Jun 19 2024, 10:52 AM

53 posts

Looks good but not practical due to rear passenger seats ceiling and unable to fold down
mystvearn
post Jun 19 2024, 10:55 AM

6,639 posts

Hmm, byd dolphin for something new?

Provided that you have landed house for home charging. If jarang outstation long distances, why not.

zero5177
post Jun 19 2024, 10:56 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

I'm not sure what the new Vios can brag about.

Like its Reliable but Dinosaur 1.5L engine that shared with Perodua lineup?
Or the DNGA that also shared by the Perodua lineup which have bad safety outcome outside of the test?

The appearance is awkward as well like they try to be classy but fail to look like one.

Maybe the only selling point is u get a Toyota reliability sedan that is better than Bezza
khreve
post Jun 19 2024, 11:01 AM

130 posts

other than a SEDAN(S70, Vios)

maybe can also wait for P2 D66B Nexis SUV to consider
claudetan
post Jun 19 2024, 11:41 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(vimaa94 @ Jun 19 2024, 10:40 AM)
Hey guys, so I'm actively considering on upgrading my current daily workhorse which is '06 Honda City GD8 which has been serving close to 18 solid years now. I thought it might be right time for an upgrade and currently on the market for a sub 100k sedan, preferably a reliable daily drive as i cover 40km moderate speed round journey back and forth from my workplace. Snail paced jam along the way hence the current ride is far from comfortable for the peak hour drive.

I'm aware the current face-lifted Honda City offers the most all rounded package but this time around I was hoping to experience a different brand. Also would prefer the traditional Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) over the Lane Watch currently offered by Honda which is not really deal breaker but just a small preference.

That leaves out with Vios, S70 and the Almera turbo. Proton S70 offers the best bang for your buck but contemplating on the Batch 1 production unit, would ideally consider this when it's face-lifted and equipped with AACP. Almera seems like the most aesthetically handsome one of the lot but I've had some heard some colleagues & friends sharing their frustration with the after sales support for previous nissan models. Also RV could be on the downside for the almera.

Vios seems like the practical choice and the inclusion of auto brake hold would come in handy during peak hour klang valley traffic. Yea its based on DNGA and it's closer related to Ativa, myvi & axia compared to it's Toyota siblings but the way I see it, the shared parts would probably accommodate to better spare availability and reasonable pricing for the long term run. In a way I was planning to possibly keep it running as long as it could possibly could before scrapping.

Would vios make the ideal pick or should I just stick with Honda and get the face-lifted upgrade. Any form of suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thank you all.  thumbup.gif
it's depend you can accept the fact that being a toyota but with parts from Daihatsu/Perodua .... and also they have perodua safely sense compared to toyota. Some of the safety feature like terrible lane keep assist, it cant keep you in the middle but to pull you back to the middle only when you touch the line.

I was once considering Vios because the look really good, and turn me down when it use all daihatsu/perodua part and snap a toyota badge on it.

Might as well wait for perodua yaris cross or just get a Alza instead of paying more money but get back the same thing with perodua.

This post has been edited by claudetan: Jun 19 2024, 11:42 AM
babisotong
post Jun 19 2024, 12:03 PM

654 posts

I'm not really a big fan of S70 but S70 is a no brainer, why go for others.

1.5 MPI ( easier to take care thn TGDI ), DCT 7 speed and equipped with tech goodies. Why for go 1.5 NA?

you can get S70 Flagship with vios 1.5E price..
S70 Flagship X is cheaper than 1.5G Vios..

Reliability? Parts? Brand name? peace of mind?

for me better you get S70 and kept your honda city..
dogbert_chew
post Jun 19 2024, 01:51 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Jun 19 2024, 12:03 PM)
I'm not really a big fan of S70 but S70 is a no brainer, why go for others.

1.5 MPI ( easier to take care thn TGDI ), DCT 7 speed and equipped with tech goodies. Why for go 1.5 NA?

you can get S70 Flagship with vios 1.5E price..
S70 Flagship X is cheaper than 1.5G Vios..

Reliability? Parts? Brand name? peace of mind?

for me better you get S70 and kept your honda city..
Yup.

Unless TS worried about fuel consumption then a 1.5NA would suffice if heavy acceleration not needed.

For 76K can get this with same engine, gearbox, chassis as Vios

Redundant
post Jun 19 2024, 03:48 PM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

Having own 2010 City, 2018 Civic FC, 2022 City Hatchback and also a 2023 VIOS G, here are my feedback:

The price tag of 90k after 5k discount for G spec makes it a complete car to drive on the day you collect it from the dealer. It comes with decent 17" with conti premium C tyres which are better than the Toyo on the City. Windows are tinted, though not the best, still useable. Interior lightings are all in white LED instead of yellow bulbs found in the city. Plus you get a full digital meter cluster, 360 camera, and more importantly, a sharper, larger touch screen display with clearer reverse camera too. The city has a very terrible lane watch and reverse camera!

The boxy shape can be subjective but it kind of grew on me over time. Wind noise is noisy compared to the 2 citys I have in the family. Suspension feels softer on the Vios but the seats feels less supportive compared to the Hondas. Rear legroom is where the CITY excels as it has even longer legroom compared to the Civic FC!

Latest VIOS improves on the driving experience when compared to last gen VIOS and the Yaris. Steering feels sportier and you get more road feedback to the steering. However, both the engine and DCVT delivers power in a choppy manner; While the CITY provides a much linear and better acceleration.

In the end, it all boils down to what you prefer. Test drive both cars and see which feels better in your hand smile.gif
hksgmy
post Jun 19 2024, 09:22 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Dugong is still Godcar to me…
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 20 2024, 08:51 AM

4,138 posts

https://weirdkaya.com/msian-womans-rm51k-to...k-of-buying-it/

No such thing as god car
ktek
post Jun 20 2024, 09:08 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 19 2024, 10:56 AM)
I'm not sure what the new Vios can brag about.

Like its Reliable but Dinosaur 1.5L engine that shared with Perodua lineup?
Or the DNGA that also shared by the Perodua lineup which have bad safety outcome outside of the test?

The appearance is awkward as well like they try to be classy but fail to look like one.

Maybe the only selling point is u get a Toyota reliability sedan that is better than Bezza
daihatsu 1.5 are gem
JoeK
post Jun 20 2024, 09:27 AM

1,099 posts

new vios is the most complete b segment car right now.

no need compare with almera, compare only with City

Vios has 360 camera, EPB autohold, BSM, wireless AA/AC and wireless charging - which City dont have. from this also can see, Vios is more complete
hksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 10:00 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jun 20 2024, 08:51 AM)
This is the fake pretender … only Dugong Vios is the Godcar
iammasivers
post Jun 20 2024, 10:03 AM

361 posts

i really like vios.. but no spare tyre is really a huge turn off for me.. they say it's to improve fuel economy.. but i dont think it affect that much
JoeK
post Jun 20 2024, 10:16 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jun 20 2024, 08:51 AM)
this is used vios, not the new model

summore from used car shop, probably kena tipu
Redundant
post Jun 20 2024, 10:42 AM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jun 20 2024, 09:27 AM)
new vios is the most complete b segment car right now.

no need compare with almera, compare only with City

Vios has 360 camera, EPB autohold, BSM, wireless AA/AC and wireless charging - which City dont have. from this also can see, Vios is more complete
Left out the above in my sharing above... the EPB and autohold feature is a must have for city driving! The city you will need to get the hybrid variant for these feature. Also, the EPB feature will come with rear disc brakes too!

QUOTE(iammasivers @ Jun 20 2024, 10:03 AM)
i really like vios.. but no spare tyre is really a huge turn off for me.. they say it's to improve fuel economy.. but i dont think it affect that much
Spare tyre can be subjective as well. I bought the vios for my wife for city drive. She would not change the tyre herself and would likely resort to calling a tow truck instead.

During weekend or outstation, we will take my Civic out anyway.

Also, saw many selling their vios tyre and rims at RM400 in vios fb group if its really needed. Even during my 10k service, the service agent tried to sell me a spare tyre which he say they have in stock! sweat.gif
JoeK
post Jun 20 2024, 10:45 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Jun 20 2024, 10:42 AM)
Left out the above in my sharing above... the EPB and autohold feature is a must have for city driving! The city you will need to get the hybrid variant for these feature. Also, the EPB feature will come with rear disc brakes too!
Spare tyre can be subjective as well. I bought the vios for my wife for city drive. She would not change the tyre herself and would likely resort to calling a tow truck instead.

During weekend or outstation, we will take my Civic out anyway.

Also, saw many selling their vios tyre and rims at RM400 in vios fb group if its really needed. Even during my 10k service, the service agent tried to sell me a spare tyre which he say they have in stock!  sweat.gif
if buy the spare tyre outside, then where can we put it? hmm.gif
jlim2004
post Jun 20 2024, 10:51 AM

282 posts

Go for the Vios. Personally I think it is more refined these days (its subjective). Some say its the 'new' Corolla. And the Corolla is the 'new' Camry etc. You won't go wrong with the Vios. It's almost like driving a C segment now.

This post has been edited by jlim2004: Jun 20 2024, 10:52 AM

0.0183sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:36 PM