Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

Shazzac
post Aug 12 2011, 01:28 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Aug 12 2011, 12:36 PM)
if thru travel agent, you have to pay RM50 like that.
Really?

I had mine done via Mayflower and they only charge me RM15 per passport for service fee.
Shazzac
post Aug 25 2011, 08:02 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Aug 25 2011, 05:29 PM)
juz to share with u, there's a Disney Store in Shibuya where u can get the Disneyland / DisneySea ticket. If u happen to come across it might as well grab ur ticket there, so u can save up precious time of go lining up at the ticket booth there.
Yup! And also can go to Lawson's to get the tickets as well since Lawson's are practically everywhere. biggrin.gif
Shazzac
post Sep 2 2011, 07:36 AM

427 posts

Ok, here's the review for AA flight to Haneda from KL.

Seat was comfortable, just that the arm rest abit smaller than full commercial flight. Leg room was also comfortable. Since I am only 160cm tall.

Flight reached at 10.45pm instead of 10.30pm coz of the windy situation.

Immigration check was fast as there was absolutely no queue when we got into the terminal.

However, I had to wait for about 20mins for my bag to turn up. Maybe because i checked in early and the bag was at the BACK of the plane?

Managed to reached the inn at 1am via monorail & JR train. Phew!!

It's humid, warm and it rained halfway walking to the inn.

Verdict: I think best to visit tokyo during winter, early spring and late autumn.

Heard that the typhoon's coming today!!
Shazzac
post Sep 5 2011, 05:15 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(kookaaq @ Sep 5 2011, 12:44 PM)
hi Shazzac,
I will be visiting Tokyo on Febraury next year. Glad that i see your post here because i am also worry about late arrival at Haneda Airport and i also read elsewhere that flgith from US and other places are also arriving at the same time so will take a bit longer to clear immigration. seems like now that everything went smoothly.

just a question here, is it convenient to purchase the train ticket at the airport to tokyo? i am planning to get suica card but not sure if the counter open at that hour.
When I arrived, there was absolutely no other flight passengers arriving at the immigration counter as it was EMPTY.

Yes, like Chrisky said, cards are available for puchase at the machines. The machine will give you change, don't worry bout it!
Shazzac
post Oct 21 2011, 03:54 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(pickyien @ Oct 21 2011, 03:34 PM)
I am going next April 2012. I just wondering i have to purchase JR pass or not if the places i planned to go are Tokyo, Kyoto, Kobe and Osaka. Worth to have it if i am going to those places?

By the way, 1 day is sufficient to go Disneyland & Disneysea or not?

Thank you very much!! notworthy.gif
How many days will you be there?

For Disney, you'd need to allocate 1 full day for each park.
Shazzac
post Oct 24 2011, 12:51 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(pickyien @ Oct 24 2011, 11:54 AM)
8D7N. means 2 days for Disneyland & DisneySea?
Yes. As mentioned, 1 day each for each park.
Shazzac
post Nov 1 2011, 05:00 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(lanvht @ Nov 1 2011, 04:54 PM)
we are planning to travel to Japan for New Year celebration, do you have any suggestion for Japan Itinerary for 2 week as Japan has many things to see
Please refer to Google or Wikitravel.

This has been discussed over and over and over again in this particular thread maybe more than 10 times already.
Shazzac
post Nov 9 2011, 03:22 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 9 2011, 02:54 PM)
Guys, just to ask. When u first step your foot in Japan, and u're lost, u will be attempting to speak basic/broken japanese or/and sign/body language?
If you know that particular place's name, you can just say it and then do some sign language if the person doesn't speak English. If you know even basic Japanese, it would be better than none at all.

One time, I was at a train station and was supposed to meet a friend at the 7-11 nearby, I couldn't even see 7-11 within the row of shops on the left or right or opposite building.

I went into a shop and ask a japanese guy and he kindly walked with me to the 7-11 shop, it's about 200 meters away FYI.

I think if I was in KL, they'd just say ' go straight that way and turn left' then sour face!
Shazzac
post Nov 9 2011, 04:40 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 9 2011, 04:16 PM)
Wow, u're lucky one to get that treatment from a stranger in Japan! And yeah, i have to agree about asking directions in KL sweat.gif
Not just one. All the Japanese ppl that I've asked for directions and stuff were utterly nice and very helpful indeed.

Another incident was, I was trying to find the Hakone Bus Counter and I asked this girl from the departmental store and we had to walk for 5 mins to the Counter!

Shazzac
post Nov 9 2011, 05:09 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Nov 9 2011, 05:02 PM)
For my story, i sesat in Asakusa, 1st day in Nippon, failed to locate Kaminarimon after walking blindly for 3 hours. Stopped a young salaryman (gomen i know you're rushing to work  sweat.gif ) and asked for direction.

After finishing my query for direction, he just ran. Luckily i've read on their culture, so i just followed. Both of us ran for few minutes to a T-junction, and he pointed at the straight road and sheepishly said "go....there"  laugh.gif
So funny right, luckily the ppl that i ask didn't run, they just speed walk but failed to mention 'follow me'. LOL
Shazzac
post Nov 15 2011, 01:47 PM

427 posts

For late Jan - it will still be cold. I guess would be around 10-5c. I've seen the wind situation in osaka and quite windy also. Why not wait till Dec and check out Yahoo Weather forecast and see if it'll be this temp or not. If yes and windy, confirm u need winter jacket. If you are just wearing normal jacket, confirm u will freeze.

If it's of this temp, i don't think u would want to walk around osaka in freezing mode searching for winter jacket lor......

Gloves & scarves can buy there.....
Shazzac
post Dec 1 2011, 10:31 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(AudreyBaby @ Dec 1 2011, 10:26 AM)
Do we need to apply for VISA to enter Japan for tour purpose? Plan to stay for a week?
Yes, please refer to the 2 japan threads.
Shazzac
post Dec 1 2011, 03:13 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(deqna @ Dec 1 2011, 02:17 PM)
I'm wondering, is it easy to travel with trolley luggage within kansai? I normally use backpack during my travel, but thinking of using luggage because need to bring winter clothes..
Is it cheaper to buy winter clothes in osaka?
Sorry but never been to Kansai before but I guess going anywhere with a trolley luggage will be harder somehow as you need to use 2 hands to carry when you unboard or boarding bus/train/metro/taxi and even worse if staying at a staircase ONLY hostel/hotel/inn/B&B.

Unless if you have already a winter jacket, not recommended to wait till you reach there to buy unless you can tahan the cold-ness la (from airport to hotel then hotel to shopping mall.

You could head to Rinku Premium Outlets to shop if you don't mind (http://www.premiumoutlets.co.jp/rinku/index.html). The stuff sold there are really heavily discounted.

Back in 2008 in Feb, I was at the Gotemba Premium Outlet near Tokyo, a Tommy Hilfiger winter jacket costs only RM100!

But the availability of the season clothes depending on the current season they are having though. Not really just last season clothings/items.
Shazzac
post Dec 2 2011, 10:04 AM

427 posts

Anyway subway is easy if you already know where you want to go to.
Shazzac
post Jan 6 2012, 11:48 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 6 2012, 10:10 AM)
Will be going to Haneda during Mar School Holiday 6D5N

Still early to start planning but well why not haha..Itineraries probably incl Tokyo & Kyoto (Palace & Mt Fuji)

Abit of question..pardon at this stage bcos I hv really start doing any research yet haha..

1) How much is the bullet train fare to Kyoto from Tokyo?
2) Can the capsule hotel bed accomodate 2 person? - Trying to be kiampsiap abit haha
3) Should I make a day trip to Kyoto/Mt Fuji or stay 1 or 2 nite there?

I'm only super duper budget backpacking style and probably only bringing RM4000K max for my trip there...Hopefully can survive within a week haha.. Hotel & ticket -prebooked..So RM4K is just for transportation, food & abit of soorvenirs
4k for how many pax?

1) The last i've checked. Single journey tickets for shinkansen goes as low as RM700+. Always get the pass which is more affordable.
2) Capsule Hotel have 'coffin-like' sleeping area which is only for 1 pax. Usually they do not allow women to stay there (as far as I know but I might be wrong).
3) Not sure.
Shazzac
post Jan 6 2012, 02:40 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 6 2012, 02:22 PM)
Wah RM700/pax on bullet train...that goes my Kyoto plan  cry.gif ..I was thinking it will be as affordable as Seoul.. sad.gif
RM4K is just for transport (MRT) & food for 3 pax.. as Hotel will be prepaid as usual haha. Limiting to only taking breakfast & Dinner and junk lunch of cup noodle in any 7-11  blush.gif .

If capsule kenot fit 2 pax, no choice taking a semi-double bed one room liao..The cheapest I can find ~ US$70/room after adding tax in agoda.. hmm.gif
Hrm, cup noodle for lunch ah? Actually their 7-11 got the rice pack which is quite affordable as well and imo delicious LOL. Much more filling than cup noodle la. Breakfast, you should buy their rice balls (dunno call what dy) from 7-11, quite tasty and filling but for myself I need 2 to be full! For drinks, best you buy the biggest bottle, much bigger value than the small ones. If can go to supermarkets, from what i can see, it's cheaper abit than 7-11.

Maybe you can try renting rooms/apartments from www.airbnb.com? I started booking my accomodations from this website this year onwards for all my trips. Sometimes some of their property are located very central. Cheaper than renting hotel rooms. Much more homey.

I feel that agoda's prices are not cheap plus the 'special charges' are not revealed until you want to finalized your booking.

Hrm, I think Rm4k will be enough for transportation, food, some attractions.

You'll be taking your kid INTO disneyland this time right? LOL
Shazzac
post May 2 2012, 05:26 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 2 2012, 04:53 PM)
Want to ask about Disneyland.
Can i finish both Disneyland and Sea in a day or i should do 2 days?
1 day each.

The queue for rides are like really long plus the whole theme pack is really really big......
Shazzac
post Jun 7 2012, 08:55 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(mmyy @ Jun 6 2012, 06:57 PM)
I agree it's not for everyone. But my bf and I were okay since we planned a chillax itinerary for day 1 - slept during the flight and also managed to sleep 3 hours at airport then went straight to Tsukiji for sushi. Totally rejuvenated after that meal haha. Then strolled thru Ginza to Imperial Palace and chill there since the weather very nice - saw a bunch of schoolgirls fangirling over a Western dude (damn funny!) - until time to check-in at 3pm. Took an hour nap and went dinner at Shinjuku. Then back for a full night rest - fully recharged next day. biggrin.gif
@stimix: I also experienced earthquake! 5.3M in the middle of the night. haha
Hrm, for myself. I'm the type of person who needs exactly 9hrs of sleep to not feel tired at all (some more must be from 9pm till 6am) but then again that's for when i'm at home.

When I travel, surprisingly, less sleep also ok. HAha. I overnight at Incheon airport before coz the next day flight was at 8am something - fear that won't have time to travel from city to airport coz need 2hrs to check in and the earliest train maybe around 5.30am.

When i landed at haneda (back in sept 2011), there was still time to go from the airplane to the monorail. But i only got to the hostel past midnight..... luckily still got train, if not, sure stuck at the train station!

QUOTE(mofo @ Jun 7 2012, 05:15 AM)
It was once of my concern, late night flight to haneda airport. Take no chance and booked airport transfer at ¥ 9,500 to hotel.
It shld b ok since their last monorail is about 12.15am and some of the JR train runs till 12.45am.
Shazzac
post Jun 7 2012, 02:48 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 7 2012, 11:24 AM)
Please do note:...If you going at Summer ...due to not enough electricity....Last train might end at 10pm only then Cut the power .
Thanks for the info. Didn't know about that.

QUOTE(ah_fui @ Jun 7 2012, 12:19 PM)
bro, wanna ask will AAX damage my backpack if compare to luggage.

since backpack is soft and dont have a fix shape.

thx.
As per below. I use my osprey backpack (those 60l) one to travel. I believe that they don't really dare to throw around the bag or put heavier bags on top. This is coz everytime I get back my bag, it still looks ok to me. No scratches, nothing.

I believe they prefer to throw around those hardcases more since you will see lots of deep scratches etc on it.

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 7 2012, 02:31 PM)
You dun put items that are breakeable inside lah... If you see how they handle your backpack & luggages.. you alos shake your head liao... pakai throw sahaja..
Shazzac
post Jun 7 2012, 04:47 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(ah_fui @ Jun 7 2012, 04:05 PM)
@Shazzac, how much for your osprey backpack - 60L ???

can last longer a?

any nice shop to recommend for backpack ??
This is my bag.

http://www.ospreypacks.com/en/product/gear.../transporter_60

Got it from Tearproof at the Curve around Nov 2011. Got harness in one of the side pockets then can clip to the other side pocket to use as a backpack but i only use it for short time (from airport to hostel etc).

It's RM250. They also have another outlet in Times Square.

I've used it for 2 trips so far. One to Europe and one to Seoul. Still looks new! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Shazzac: Jun 7 2012, 04:48 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0453sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:09 PM