Surge in number of overweight & obese M'sians, over past decade

TS30624770
post May 16 2024, 04:52 PM, updated 2y ago

269 posts

PUTRAJAYA: There has been a surge in the number of overweight and obese Malaysians in the past decade, according to the National Health and Morbidity Survey (NHMS) 2023.

"A persistent rise in the prevalence of overweight and obese individuals was observed. The number has surged by nearly 10% over a decade from 44.5% in 2011 to 54.4% in 2023," the report stated.

Based on the report, the trend of being overweight and obese is measured by a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 25 or more.

Also noted in the report was that abdominal obesity among adults Malaysians also saw a surge of nearly 10%, from 45.4% in 2011 to 54.5% in 2023.

Abdominal obesity is measured based on a waist circumference of 90cm or more for men and 80cm or more for women.

Meanwhile, the NHMS noted that 95.1% of adult Malaysians do not consume adequate fruits and vegetables.

"On average, adults consume only two servings of fruits or vegetables instead of the recommended five servings," the report stated.

One serving of vegetables is equivalent to a 250ml cup of raw vegetables or a half-cup of cooked vegetables.

One serving of fruit is equivalent to one medium apple or banana, half a guava or a slice of papaya.

Based on the report, 13.5% of Malaysians above 60 have adequate fruit intake while it was at 13.9% for those between 50 and 59 years old.

The lowest intake was from those age between 18 and 19 years old (7.1%) followed by the 20 to 29 band (9%), 30 to 39 (11.4%) and 40 to 49 (12.7%)
The NHMS 2023 also noted that one in five Malaysians do not drink enough plain water every day, with the proper daily intake set at between six to eight 250ml glasses of water daily.

The NHMS 2023 Report is based on data collection sessions conducted between July and September last year.

A total of 13,616 respondents participated in the survey, representing an overall response rate of 83.2%.

The NHMS report was launched by Health Minister Datuk Seri Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad.

Also launched during the event was the Global Adult Tobacco Survey (GATS) Malaysia 2023.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/health/other/surg...e8de5bd91&ei=29
killdavid
post May 16 2024, 04:53 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

Wait for KBT to come in and mock fat people.
Chrono-Trigger
post May 16 2024, 04:55 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

you know, despite all the oil and fried things the chinese eat in China , I am surprised they are not fat.

is it because of our weather? hot weather with sweet food = becomes fat fast?
SUSMilfuntastic
post May 16 2024, 04:56 PM

Real man help each other not SUS one another
559 posts

Fatty eat alot is good news for F&B biz
zhou.xingxing
post May 16 2024, 04:57 PM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ May 16 2024, 04:55 PM)
you know, despite all the oil and fried things the chinese eat in China , I am surprised they are not fat.

they walk a lot... just see how many steps u register a day. they can walk for easily 10-5k per day,
keyibukeyi
post May 16 2024, 04:57 PM

150 posts

1 serving is ekcelli a size of a fist
killdavid
post May 16 2024, 04:58 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(Milfuntastic @ May 16 2024, 04:56 PM)
Fatty eat alot is good news for F&B biz
Big pharma also loves them that's why the sponsor fat acceptance campaign
Phoenix_KL
post May 16 2024, 04:58 PM

156 posts

supsupsui
post May 16 2024, 04:59 PM

76 posts

Kkm singgit
Chrono-Trigger
post May 16 2024, 04:59 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ May 16 2024, 04:57 PM)
they walk a lot... just see how many steps u register a day. they can walk for easily 10-5k per day,
which makes me suspect warm weather has something to do with it.

We don't walk because of our impossible weather.

There, at least for 9 months in 1 year, you walk you don't sweat. and cold weather makes you want to move to generate heat.

SUSMilfuntastic
post May 16 2024, 05:00 PM

Real man help each other not SUS one another
559 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ May 16 2024, 04:58 PM)
Big pharma also loves them that's why the sponsor fat acceptance campaign
One stone fatty, two birds
ray123
post May 16 2024, 05:01 PM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ May 16 2024, 04:59 PM)

There, at least for 9 months in 1 year, you walk you don't sweat. and cold weather makes you want to move to generate heat.
Our urban development is not cycle-friendly, let alone pedestrian-friendly.
KevProp
post May 16 2024, 05:04 PM

81 posts

u do notice that their food is oily but not that salty and sweet as ours
SUSClowninja
post May 16 2024, 05:05 PM

86 posts

cant stop the overfilling sweetness into our drinks and cheese meleleh on most dishes tho

rclxm9.gif
Coldf3ar
post May 16 2024, 05:05 PM

520 posts

bcoz healthy food not cheap..

ppl getting poorer everyday. nasi lemak with ayam rm8 everyday can tahan skip lunch.
ticke
post May 16 2024, 05:08 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

pergi ofis kerajaan pun sudah majority yg...
fist_Aileron

309 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 16 2024, 04:52 PM)
PUTRAJAYA: There has been a surge in the number of overweight and obese Malaysians in the past decade, according to the National Health and Morbidity Survey (NHMS) 2023.

"A persistent rise in the prevalence of overweight and obese individuals was observed. The number has surged by nearly 10% over a decade from 44.5% in 2011 to 54.4% in 2023," the report stated.

Based on the report, the trend of being overweight and obese is measured by a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 25 or more.

Also noted in the report was that abdominal obesity among adults Malaysians also saw a surge of nearly 10%, from 45.4% in 2011 to 54.5% in 2023.

Abdominal obesity is measured based on a waist circumference of 90cm or more for men and 80cm or more for women.

Meanwhile, the NHMS noted that 95.1% of adult Malaysians do not consume adequate fruits and vegetables.

"On average, adults consume only two servings of fruits or vegetables instead of the recommended five servings," the report stated.

One serving of vegetables is equivalent to a 250ml cup of raw vegetables or a half-cup of cooked vegetables.

One serving of fruit is equivalent to one medium apple or banana, half a guava or a slice of papaya.

Based on the report, 13.5% of Malaysians above 60 have adequate fruit intake while it was at 13.9% for those between 50 and 59 years old.

The lowest intake was from those age between 18 and 19 years old (7.1%) followed by the 20 to 29 band (9%), 30 to 39 (11.4%) and 40 to 49 (12.7%)
The NHMS 2023 also noted that one in five Malaysians do not drink enough plain water every day, with the proper daily intake set at between six to eight 250ml glasses of water daily.

The NHMS 2023 Report is based on data collection sessions conducted between July and September last year.

A total of 13,616 respondents participated in the survey, representing an overall response rate of 83.2%.

Also launched during the event was the Global Adult Tobacco Survey (GATS) Malaysia 2023.

Yeah...KKM every other year publish this but the priority seems to go to vaccine deployment.

Priority kelaut

sohailayhun

132 posts

user posted image.. thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
Chrono-Trigger
post May 16 2024, 05:09 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ May 16 2024, 05:04 PM)
salty yes some parts of china.

But agree, their sweetness comes from natural sources , not from added sugar.

I don't see syrup, chocolate there. Even their tea, they don't add sugar. the sweetness comes from the quality tea leaves.
TS30624770
post May 16 2024, 05:11 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ May 16 2024, 05:55 PM)

Actually, their food is not that oily. Only certain cuisines are oily.

Most food are also not deep fried like fast food. Deep fried food are the biggest culprit.

They eat a lot of vegetables.

They use less salt and sugar.

Most importantly, they walk a lot.

This post has been edited by 30624770: May 16 2024, 05:11 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post May 16 2024, 05:12 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 16 2024, 05:11 PM)

Most food are also not deep fried like fast food.

they got lots of cured / fermented products , yum yum
TS30624770
post May 16 2024, 05:12 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(fist_Aileron @ May 16 2024, 06:08 PM)
Yeah...KKM every other year publish this but the priority seems to go to vaccine deployment.

Priority kelaut
Of course the priority was vaccine deployment during the height of pandemic.
mousqy
post May 16 2024, 05:21 PM

758 posts

vaccine side effect hehh hhehh
TS30624770
post May 16 2024, 05:23 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ May 16 2024, 06:21 PM)
vaccine side effect hehh hhehh
More like cheese meleleh side effects
Avangelice
post May 16 2024, 05:24 PM

5,272 posts

If it was weather thais and viets would be fatty bom boms
JohnL77
post May 16 2024, 05:28 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ May 16 2024, 04:53 PM)
Me first me first.

Sohai fat people. Because they pandan against COVID, whole world need to lockdown to protect them.

QUOTE(fist_Aileron @ May 16 2024, 05:08 PM)

Priority kelaut
I go klinik kesihatan yesterday. The cafeteria full of sweet and oily food.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: May 16 2024, 05:28 PM
fist_Aileron
post May 16 2024, 05:33 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 16 2024, 05:12 PM)
Of course the priority was vaccine deployment during the height of pandemic.
Now also they focus on deploying Qdenga, influenza for elderly lah bla bla bla.

Does this vaccine even work as claimed?

U all still belip and refuse to admit kena scam ke time PKP wakakaka. Many times they change the narrative of vaccine efficacy. Eventually, same same saja lah cucuke or not. Bummer.
Efalex
post May 16 2024, 05:36 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ May 16 2024, 05:04 PM)
They don't have cheese meleleleleh...
potatoespotate
post May 16 2024, 05:38 PM

29 posts

Ozempic seinggit bila?!?!!!
nearlee
post May 16 2024, 05:40 PM

105 posts

Biasa la majority kito
Either kfc or dfc
Topkek
MR_alien
post May 16 2024, 05:52 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

i'm not against what u ate
but i'm against the fact that you refuse to do basic workout aka WALK
koja6049
post May 16 2024, 05:54 PM

614 posts

again with this lame-ass excuse. Singaporeans also walk alot, they have the same weather whistling.gif
Leto
post May 16 2024, 05:57 PM

214 posts

sugar is the number 1 killer ....

we dont drink oil.. food maybe oily but we eat in moderation and fried stuff are drained from oils before consumption
compared to milo dinosaur, teh ais potong kaki, cheese meleleh - what are those?
LamboSama
post May 16 2024, 06:02 PM

769 posts

Double triple parking block road so no need to walk hak kito.

Inb4 walking is strenuous exercise

This post has been edited by LamboSama: May 16 2024, 06:03 PM
TS30624770
post May 16 2024, 06:08 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(fist_Aileron @ May 16 2024, 06:33 PM)
Now also they focus on deploying Qdenga, influenza for elderly lah bla bla bla.

Does this vaccine even work as claimed?

U all still belip and refuse to admit kena scam ke time PKP wakakaka. Many times they change the narrative of  vaccine efficacy. Eventually, same same saja lah cucuke or not. Bummer.
Qdenga is a vaccine against dengue. It has been in development for 60 years.

Influenza shots are also important especially for the elderly and children.

Let me guess you antivax? Even babies vaccines also you anti?
TS30624770
post May 16 2024, 06:11 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ May 16 2024, 06:54 PM)
again with this lame-ass excuse. Singaporeans also walk alot, they have the same weather  whistling.gif
To be fair, Singaporeans are forced to walk because they use public transportation. I lost weight too after taking public transport because I purposely go climb stairs
Pain4UrsinZ
post May 16 2024, 06:14 PM

1,860 posts

Restaurant punya pasal , their vegetables dish profit margin few times more than meat
knumskul
post May 16 2024, 06:15 PM

784 posts

Not about what you eat.

More about how much/often you eat and your lifestyle outside of eating habits. They burn off the calories they consume. Do we?
knumskul
post May 16 2024, 06:16 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 16 2024, 05:24 PM)
If it was weather thais and viets would be fatty bom boms
Only lazy asses keep blaming the weather. We aren't the only country with hot & humid weather all year round.
Brotherjoe
post May 16 2024, 06:18 PM

2,215 posts

i believe during PN covid lockdown. many gain wait due to WFH and cannot go out hiking or exercise..
During the 2.5 years i had gained 15kg.. the last two years trying to go back to my before covid time.. Feel like very hard to loose just 5kg.. gained back after CNY.. sad.gif
river.sand
post May 16 2024, 06:21 PM

3,816 posts

Weather is one factor. Lack of pavements and pedestrian crossing is another.

I walk from my home in KL to nearby shop and back - 2000+ steps
In Singapore, I walk from my sister's home to nearby shop and back - 3000+ steps
=> turns out I am less tired in Singapore.

This post has been edited by river.sand: May 16 2024, 06:23 PM
JohnL77
post May 16 2024, 06:25 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ May 16 2024, 06:15 PM)
Not about what you eat.

More about how much/often you eat and your lifestyle outside of eating habits. They burn off the calories they consume. Do we?
https://youtu.be/-RYDVCYApvQ

knumskul
post May 16 2024, 06:31 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 16 2024, 06:25 PM)
Should rename the city stairs city. All I see is stairs.
h@ksam
post May 16 2024, 06:33 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

partially to blame.

hot + humid = no outdoor walking, everyone drives or sit grab

too little body motion everyday

JohnL77
post May 16 2024, 06:34 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ May 16 2024, 06:31 PM)
Should rename the city stairs city. All I see is stairs.
Didn't skyblu3 kena banned for keep repeating this city name?
knumskul
post May 16 2024, 06:44 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 16 2024, 06:34 PM)
Didn't skyblu3 kena banned for keep repeating this city name?
Think so. Thought bannable comments will be deleted but all still there.
khelben
post May 16 2024, 08:53 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 16 2024, 06:18 PM)
i believe during PN covid lockdown. many gain wait due to WFH and cannot go out hiking or exercise..
During the 2.5 years i had gained 15kg.. the last two years trying to go back to my before covid time.. Feel like very hard to loose just 5kg.. gained back after CNY.. sad.gif
It's all about willpower smile.gif
empyreal
post May 16 2024, 08:58 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ May 16 2024, 05:05 PM)

ppl getting poorer everyday. nasi lemak with ayam rm8 everyday can tahan skip lunch.
When i eat economy rice, i pay half what my buddies pay since i eat twice their vege and half their proteins.
Atrocious
post May 16 2024, 09:13 PM

97 posts

Even though there's a surge in the number of overweight and obese Malaysians in the past decade, we should still need to decide what's for supper tonight..
MADReaLJL
post May 16 2024, 09:15 PM

4,050 posts

Sugar is main enemy to human body, vegetable oil is 2nd
Our so called local food and cuisine, most of them are sugary rich

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: May 16 2024, 09:17 PM
JohnL77
post May 16 2024, 09:50 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(knumskul @ May 16 2024, 06:44 PM)
Think so. Thought bannable comments will be deleted but all still there.
Such a long ban. Meanwhile, 18 Jan still here.
kamfoo
post May 17 2024, 03:22 AM

847 posts

petrol too cheap
brkli
post May 17 2024, 05:25 AM

592 posts

china population so big and the diet varies a lot from region to region, which u referring too..
achong09
post May 17 2024, 06:29 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ May 16 2024, 05:05 PM)

Unker eat healthy everyday..
Niamah want to eat healthhy also have to pay so much idiot lo😥😥
SUSSuperGampang
post May 17 2024, 06:38 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ May 16 2024, 04:57 PM)
This. U just need to walk more. My weight increase a lot since i moved and work in office. During my site days where i walk more than 10k a day my Weight maintain no matter what i eat. Of course i do uses stairs a lot too at that time.
vivakarna
post May 17 2024, 07:03 AM

1,360 posts

Its time for sugar tax
Phoenix_KL
post May 17 2024, 07:12 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ May 17 2024, 06:29 AM)
Unker eat healthy everyday..
Niamah want to eat healthhy also have to pay so much idiot lo😥😥
not true.

Blofeld
post May 17 2024, 07:55 AM

4,703 posts

bcos eating good fat is not the major culprit for obesity

it is sugar
IamBlind
post May 17 2024, 07:59 AM

20 posts

jgn buat survery during cny and raya time lah. musim makan and be fatty
Chobits
post May 17 2024, 08:04 AM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

Why so many orang gila think if there are good paved roads, people will opt to walk?

Can anyone tell why? Because Malaysia is hot as hell which causes sweat.
Chii doubt anyone would want to go a place all sweaty
Blofeld
post May 17 2024, 08:37 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ May 17 2024, 08:04 AM)
Why so many orang gila think if there are good paved roads, people will opt to walk?

no need to talk about hot places

in covered car parks already can see Malaysians refused to drive further up to park their cars, instead purposely hog the entire car park waiting for a car to come out just bcos that spot is next to the mall entrance

must park veryyyyy near to the mall entrance
zhou.xingxing
post May 17 2024, 08:49 AM

:3
1,863 posts

2 years 15kg.. fuh.... good luck on the weight control.. was 80 buff... after working for 10+ years becomes close to 100 dy... thats like 30 kg fats haha now paying the calories debt. hope to get back to 80kg buff in half year biggrin.gif
ry8128
post May 17 2024, 08:51 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Lmao, can see so many fat tards giving excuses on why not walking and exercising. Just admit the bloody fact la: you are lazy and zero will power, lmao. It will do you good so you can fix this issue instead of being in denial.
barista
post May 17 2024, 08:57 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

Better make it mandatory for flexible working hours so people can have time to cook and exercise. Everyday stuck in jam is stupid.
whydoikeep doingthis
post May 17 2024, 08:58 AM

40 posts

tengok la makan apa....all processed food/air viral la croffle viral la/palabutoh
pinamorita
post May 17 2024, 09:04 AM

They walk more while we rather double park than walk further
zstan
post May 17 2024, 09:20 AM

15,856 posts

most of our food are deep fried and high sugar content how not to be obese?
MR_alien
post May 17 2024, 09:23 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ May 17 2024, 08:04 AM)

put RON95 at RM4/L, i wanna see u walk or not laugh.gif
xpole
post May 17 2024, 09:39 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Access to doing exercise is not widely available in Malaysia

There are so many places are not walkable and pedestrian friendly.

That's not included with our hot weather.

Another thing is Gym Membership cost as low as $20 in US.

While in our country, if you want to sign up for gym, the cheapest that I saw is around RM90.

Gym in Malaysia cost mostly RM150 and above. Last time I asked for membership cost in Anytime Fitness Setia Alam, the cost of monthly membership is RM170++ and the size of the gym is small.

How do u expect people want to stay healthy when access to this places are so freaking expensive.

People that live in condo can benefit with gym facilities the condo provided.

This post has been edited by xpole: May 17 2024, 09:40 AM
xpole
post May 17 2024, 09:43 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(Atrocious @ May 16 2024, 09:13 PM)
Even though there's a surge in the number of overweight and obese Malaysians in the past decade, we should still need to decide what's for supper tonight..
Supper culture mostly I saw Chinese people keep doing this.

Most of the Malay people having dinner late because they perfom Maghrib prayer first than have dinner. Most of the time, they will have dinner around 7.45-9pm.

While chinese people that I saw, they have dinner as early as 5.30pm-6pm.
9m2w
post May 17 2024, 09:45 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ May 17 2024, 09:39 AM)

Walking in public parks is free. Running in public parks or around the neighbourhood is free less cost of gear. Public pools cost as low as 3 ringgit. Nothing stopping you from using the gear in parks to do pullups. The mats there perfect cushion for a good push up session

9m2w
post May 17 2024, 09:46 AM

1,035 posts

Them good old days

Support stay at home on /k

Curi2 jogging at 6 AM kek
xpole
post May 17 2024, 09:48 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ May 17 2024, 09:45 AM)
Walking in public parks is free. Running in public parks or around the neighbourhood is free less cost of gear. Public pools cost as low as 3 ringgit. Nothing stopping you from using the gear in parks to do pullups. The mats there perfect cushion for a good push up session
How many public pools are available in Malaysia? laugh.gif

Public pool near my area is so freaking far. Let's not talk about public pool in other states. U expect people that live in Rembau and they travel all the way to Seremban to access public pool? laugh.gif
9m2w
post May 17 2024, 09:50 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ May 17 2024, 09:48 AM)
How many public pools are available in Malaysia? laugh.gif

Public pool near my area is so freaking far. Let's not talk about public pool in other states. U expect people that live in Rembau and they travel all the way to Seremban to access public pool? laugh.gif
Run walk hike

Pushup pullup

That should be enuf for casuals. If serious fellas a gym membership won't be a deterrent

This isn't an excuse
Chobits
post May 17 2024, 09:54 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 17 2024, 08:37 AM)
no need to talk about hot places

in covered car parks already can see Malaysians refused to drive further up to park their cars, instead purposely hog the entire car park waiting for a car to come out just bcos that spot is next to the mall entrance

must park veryyyyy near to the mall entrance
U sure like to smell the car park smell, noisy exhaust fans, also dark car park and also chance of getting robbed

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 17 2024, 09:23 AM)
put RON95 at RM4/L, i wanna see u walk or not laugh.gif
100% still don’t walk because RM4/L means rioting on the street already

Walking and becoming all sweaty is totally bonkers if u were somewhere u want to enjoy and spend time.
Unless u don’t sweat alot. So congrats on winning the genetics lottery

dman
post May 17 2024, 09:57 AM

540 posts

While in our country, if you want to sign up for gym, the cheapest that I saw is around RM90.

Gym in Malaysia cost mostly RM150 and above. Last time I asked for membership cost in Anytime Fitness Setia Alam, the cost of monthly membership is RM170++ and the size of the gym is small.

How do u expect people want to stay healthy when access to this places are so freaking expensive.

If those fatty got willpower to lose weight they can watch youtube or any video sources to teaches them exercise which can do at home and how to eat healthy or the way to do intermittent fasting.

Just need to buy a dumbbell can do some weight training.

If no weight thingy, they can use their own body weight as the weight for their training/ exercise.

But yea, gym membership is like a luxury thing here in msia.

MR_alien
post May 17 2024, 10:02 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ May 17 2024, 09:54 AM)
100% still don’t walk because RM4/L means rioting on the street already

Walking and becoming all sweaty is totally bonkers if u were somewhere u want to enjoy and spend time.
Unless u don’t sweat alot. So congrats on winning the genetics lottery
but how?
riot on the street means walking for miles and miles woh
so still riot or not? laugh.gif
Chobits
post May 17 2024, 10:19 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 17 2024, 10:02 AM)
but how?
riot on the street means walking for miles and miles woh
so still riot or not? laugh.gif
Not me go riot. If riot darurat, stay home and doto
KevProp
post May 17 2024, 10:22 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Efalex @ May 16 2024, 05:36 PM)
They don't have cheese meleleleleh...
and lets not forget all the condensed milk with milo dinosaur mixed with ice-cream..fuuuhh best

Mike3
post May 17 2024, 10:37 AM

1,404 posts

Most food are also not deep fried like fast food. Deep fried food are the biggest culprit.

agree with veg

their veg quite salty/oily. If not then means alot msg hahaha from my experience.

and their food not like ours KUAH BANJIRRRRRRRR
Atrocious
post May 17 2024, 10:52 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ May 17 2024, 09:43 AM)
Supper culture mostly I saw Chinese people keep doing this.

Most of the Malay people having dinner late because they perfom Maghrib prayer first than have dinner. Most of the time, they will have dinner around 7.45-9pm.

While chinese people that I saw, they have dinner as early as 5.30pm-6pm.
Yes. We don't eat supper will die.
nonexno
post May 17 2024, 11:05 AM

570 posts

how does intake of fruit prevents obesity? malaysia still so primative.

J2001k2
post May 17 2024, 11:18 AM

22 posts

Walking isn't the only form of exercise.
Rope skip, swimming, hit the gym, use the stairs more.

Stop saying weather too hot! can't walk!
We are lucky, can buy cars and drive everywhere!

Eat wisely. Drink water.
Avoid sugar, carbs like rice/noodles, salt when possible.
Or at least ask for less sugar when you buy drinks and eat less rice every meal.

Our diet is full of sugar, salt, and all kinds of condiments.
Original taste of food totally disappear under sauces, spices, thick gravy.
And we keep telling ourselves- Malaysia food sedap! delicious! yummy!
Our food is the best! Other people's food taste like sh*t!

Comparing with SG is pointless.
It's an urbanised city with good public transport with good network with trains and buses. Cars are not necessary.
They have underpasses, pedestrian-friendly pavements and sheltered walkways everywhere.
Plus their government and people are exercise crazy. They have apps which reward you for exercising/walking. Their parks and gyms are well-utilised. Their hawker stalls have sticker reminders: less salt, less sugar, more vegetables.
Take a walk in the evenings there and you will realise tons of their people are jogging and strolling.

Our overweight/obesity rates are at 53.5%. No. 1 in Southeast Asia.
Obesity is linked to cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, musculoskeletal disorders and cancers.
Our diabetic patients are shooting through the roof.
Hypertension is prevalent in 49.93% of adult Malaysians.

All these combined to become a very serious problem in Malaysia.

fist_Aileron
post May 17 2024, 05:51 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ May 16 2024, 06:08 PM)
Qdenga is a vaccine against dengue. It has been in development for 60 years.

Influenza shots are also important especially for the elderly and children.

Let me guess you antivax? Even babies vaccines also you anti?
Dengvaxia also long time edi developed lah. Takkan u taktau apa jadi. Its a massacre in pursuit of moneh.

Tiber antivax. Im only antikebodohan like sheep and cows give head to slaughter during PKP. Now TELL ME THAT IT WORKS AND IT ACTUALLY REDUCE TRANSMISSION.

Minimal side effect konon. U tell that to thousands who get AEFI but turn down on their report.

fist_Aileron
post May 17 2024, 05:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ May 17 2024, 11:05 AM)
how does intake of fruit prevents obesity? malaysia still so primative.
They say fiber is so nutritious. The so called expert.
Wtf do they really understand what fiber is?

Technically fiber is ANTINUTRIENT

Insoluble fiber especially is actuall "HAMPAS" in malay. They market hampas more as nutrion not the antioxidants, vitamins and minerals inside.

Now u know why majority of the so called expert are obese.

This post has been edited by fist_Aileron: May 17 2024, 05:57 PM
Atrocious
post May 17 2024, 05:57 PM

97 posts

Like that is how? Can eat or cannot eat? It's 6pm. Dinner time again.
nonexno
post May 17 2024, 08:14 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(fist_Aileron @ May 17 2024, 05:54 PM)
They say fiber is so nutritious. The so called expert.
Wtf do they really understand what fiber is?

Technically fiber is ANTINUTRIENT

Insoluble fiber especially is actuall "HAMPAS" in malay. They market hampas more as nutrion not the antioxidants,  vitamins and minerals inside.

Now u know why majority of the so called expert are obese.
on top of that fruitose goes directly to the liver. real bodoh on these experts. wasting taxpayers money supporting these waste.
FappyBird
post May 17 2024, 08:25 PM

70 posts

Saw a trending china food where they put lots of oil in a pot then eggs then tofu, chilli oil then loads of assorted meat and veggies on it

Dunno healthy or not but looks damn delicious
WhatMan
post May 17 2024, 08:38 PM

1,623 posts

Not too hard to figure it out.

SUSKaya Butter Toast
post May 17 2024, 09:31 PM

325 posts

bla bla bla

all i hear are excuses from fatties.

blame gym expensive, blame no pathway to walk, blame malaysian food oily.

never blame self cannot stop shoving food down your fucking gullet and never exercise?

whats next? sarahan DAP malaysians are fat? fark off lmao
dogbert_chew
post May 17 2024, 09:37 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ May 17 2024, 09:31 PM)
bla bla bla

never blame self cannot stop shoving food down your fucking gullet and never exercise?

Finally made an appearance, why so late?

Don't wanna hear excuses..😉
dogbert_chew
post May 17 2024, 09:43 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ May 16 2024, 09:15 PM)
Sugar is main enemy to human body,
QUOTE(vivakarna @ May 17 2024, 07:03 AM)
Its time for sugar tax
Propose these 3 items cannot be sold or served in public to those under 18

1. Sugarly drinks
2. Alcoholic drinks
3. Nicotine products

Kids and teenagers thirsty in public?
Drink water.
pgsiemkia
post May 17 2024, 09:43 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ May 17 2024, 08:38 PM)

I have never eaten in my life that much white rice on one plate. Prob a quarter of what that foodie took, usually will tell the 'curry jockey' to potong setengah, kurang lagi. Kuah banjir is also another fattie excuse that will make the rice taste better, yah rite! That much oil, salt, sugar, msg is enuff to start killing you, dunno why fatties all types keep saying, kuah banjir, semua taruh. I keep my kuah separate, TQ!

Wonder if the foodie is living beyond 40 without HBP, Diabetes, heart problems, walking and peeing problems? Te green chilly and okra is just 1% vege among the prawn, sotong, fried chicken and egg, curried cow lung...for the sake of content, badan binase.

SUSKaya Butter Toast
post May 17 2024, 10:44 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 17 2024, 09:37 PM)
Finally made an appearance, why so late?

Don't wanna hear excuses..😉
Busy working out at the gym lor. It's Friday night, just finished dinner

Unpacked groceries for tomorrow meal prep.

knumskul
post May 17 2024, 11:02 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ May 17 2024, 09:45 AM)
QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ May 17 2024, 09:31 PM)
bla bla bla

Can see so many nitpicking on specific things even after various suggestions been given

Go park = hot, far, no path
Walk/jog outside your house = hot
Go swim = facilities tak cukup, far
Cycle = mahal
Piap = forever alone

So hardworking to come up with excuses instead of getting off their fatasses and move. Rm 5 skipping rope and pushups still no excuse yet laugh.gif
Pushup and mountain climbers can literally do naked at 0 cost and extremely limited space.

Waiting for shoe expensive excuse.
fist_Aileron
post May 17 2024, 11:07 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ May 17 2024, 08:14 PM)
on top of that fruitose goes directly to the liver. real bodoh on these experts. wasting taxpayers money supporting these waste.
And there are "expert" who said "bagus lah gula buah" haha. You know there are fructose crustalline sugar.. can you believe pure fructose sugar marketed as good for diabetics because of its lower Glycaemic index than sucrose.

Hahha..macam tu baik jual air HFCS saja biar bom sama itu liver. Malaysian health experts is good at sending people to hospitals to increase revenue bik farma
WhatMan
post May 18 2024, 01:24 AM

1,623 posts

What a load of bull. You complain about US gym being cheapest, yet they have the most fattest people in the world.

You can drive to expensive gyms but cannot drive to parks to do normal excercise?

Excuses excuses.
drug5
post May 18 2024, 01:36 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ May 17 2024, 08:38 PM)

How u eat that much of gravy on the rice?? 😯😯
JohnL77
post May 18 2024, 01:44 AM

1,887 posts

I exercise at my local taman using gym rings and jump rope. I don't even need shoes. I exercise barefoot.
differ
post May 18 2024, 01:52 AM

404 posts

Nubbad

Even beat USA in obesity
kamfoo
post May 18 2024, 02:02 AM

847 posts

only girls care about slim body
king99
post May 18 2024, 05:58 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 18 2024, 01:44 AM)
I exercise at my local taman using gym rings and jump rope. I don't even need shoes. I exercise barefoot.
I exercise using VR playing beat saber, lose alot of weight haha. One time investment =)
gashout
post May 18 2024, 07:02 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(J2001k2 @ May 17 2024, 11:18 AM)
Walking isn't the only form of exercise.
Rope skip, swimming, hit the gym, use the stairs more.

Stop saying weather too hot! can't walk!
We are lucky, can buy cars and drive everywhere!

Eat wisely. Drink water.
Avoid sugar, carbs like rice/noodles, salt when possible.
Or at least ask for less sugar when you buy drinks and eat less rice every meal.

Our diet is full of sugar, salt, and all kinds of condiments.
Original taste of food totally disappear under sauces, spices, thick gravy.
And we keep telling ourselves- Malaysia food sedap! delicious! yummy!
Our food is the best! Other people's food taste like sh*t!

Comparing with SG is pointless.
It's an urbanised city with good public transport with good network with trains and buses. Cars are not necessary.
They have underpasses, pedestrian-friendly pavements and sheltered walkways everywhere.
Plus their government and people are exercise crazy. They have apps which reward you for exercising/walking. Their parks and gyms are well-utilised. Their hawker stalls have sticker reminders: less salt, less sugar, more vegetables.
Take a walk in the evenings there and you will realise tons of their people are jogging and strolling.

Our overweight/obesity rates are at 53.5%. No. 1 in Southeast Asia.
Obesity is linked to cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, musculoskeletal disorders and cancers.
Our diabetic patients are shooting through the roof.
Hypertension is prevalent in 49.93% of adult Malaysians.

All these combined to become a very serious problem in Malaysia.
Well said. Most important isn't gym time but make your daily life active.

I know we cannot discount genetic factor in this obesity issue but you can manage it. Don't use genetic as an excuse to eat unhealthily.

MADReaLJL
post May 18 2024, 10:56 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 17 2024, 09:43 PM)

1. Sugarly drinks
2. Alcoholic drinks
3. Nicotine products

Drink water.
I sure hope we do it
The generation in the next 30 - 50 years would be thankful of that
king99
post May 18 2024, 10:58 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 17 2024, 09:43 PM)

1. Sugarly drinks
2. Alcoholic drinks
3. Nicotine products

Drink water.
Those food court with "No-outside drink" will riot.
JohnL77
post May 18 2024, 12:01 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ May 18 2024, 05:58 AM)
I exercise using VR playing beat saber, lose alot of weight haha. One time investment =)
Fattie boom boom will say VR headset too expensive, how do you expect the average person to buy VR headset for exercise?

So many excuses.

My gym rings and jump rope cost less than RM100 total. Gym rings are optional if your taman have pull up bars. I use gym rings for extra difficulty.
king99
post May 18 2024, 01:08 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 18 2024, 12:01 PM)
Fattie boom boom will say VR headset too expensive, how do you expect the average person to buy VR headset for exercise?

So many excuses.

My gym rings and jump rope cost less than RM100 total. Gym rings are optional if your taman have pull up bars. I use gym rings for extra difficulty.
True, if you have the will, money is not an issue.

You can go take books and lift as weights also can.
Dr Jan Itor
post May 18 2024, 01:13 PM

82 posts

Need to send them to KayaButterToast boot camp
Phoenix_KL
post May 19 2024, 10:46 PM

156 posts

Research shows that a sugar tax would be very effective and lucrative

In addition, hundreds of millions of euros will be saved on healthcare costs related to sugar consumption. The tax would also mean that people would live longer on average, which would result in more money being spent on elderly care. On the other hand, productivity gains would result from fewer sick calls and medically unfit work declarations due to a healthier lifestyle.

The researchers added that the tax would provide around a billion euros to government coffers. They believe that supermarkets will earn less due to the tax as people choose other options. According to calculations, they would lose around 26 to 29 million euros.
https://nltimes.nl/2024/05/19/research-show...ctive-lucrative
nonexno
post May 19 2024, 11:10 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ May 18 2024, 01:24 AM)
What a load of bull. You complain about US gym being cheapest, yet they have the most fattest people in the world.

You can drive to expensive gyms but cannot drive to parks to do normal excercise?

Excuses excuses.
lol what about those in jail got no access to gym membership?

construction worker also no gym membership but some got 6 pack. fatties always got excuses but when you call them out it's body shaming. can be arrested in the US
Mattrock
post May 19 2024, 11:33 PM

395 posts

Obesity got nothing to do with exercise. All about food. Don’t taichi the problem.
aleluya
post May 19 2024, 11:46 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

It's the food, we are more favoring processed foods. Look at Americans.

China/Japan, even street stalls, are using fresh products to cook. Seldom you see them running on processed foods. It's not a thing.

Here we have Ramly (Processed), Fast Foods, and a lot more. If you cook yourself and eat less outside, you notice yourself different significantly, less tired and less weight.
Treepex
post May 20 2024, 08:32 AM

-
1,704 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 18 2024, 01:44 AM)
ppl nowadays

want exercise but:
i no money go gym la,
no place for me to run,
i want jogging but no money buy running shoe,
i want go bicycle but no money buy that 10-20k bicycle
i want badminton but no money buy LCW version of racquet
i want play basketball but no money buy nike shoe

without all above, how imma show to my socmed that i go exercise ?

buffa
post May 20 2024, 08:44 AM

459 posts

Drive car + bobo tea sad.gif
DenshaOtoko
post Jul 13 2024, 10:01 AM

130 posts

I swim 3-4 times every week. Every session is about 1 to 1.5 km distance. Not much but enough to keep me fit and healthy. Also, I stop eating before 8 pm until the next day. Never get overweight with this lifestyle.
andyng38
post Jul 13 2024, 10:06 AM

2,402 posts

BolehLand...endless possibilities which include becoming a waddling barrel of excess protoplasm.
DenshaOtoko
post Jul 13 2024, 10:08 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Treepex @ May 20 2024, 08:32 AM)
ppl nowadays

want exercise but:
i no money go gym la,
no place for me to run,
i want jogging but no money buy running shoe,
i want go bicycle but no money buy that 10-20k bicycle
i want badminton but no money buy LCW version of racquet
i want play basketball but no money buy nike shoe
without all above, how imma show to my socmed that i go exercise ?
Go swimming.
pgsiemkia
post Jul 13 2024, 10:10 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ May 16 2024, 04:53 PM)
Not mock, encourage to live healthier. Happy to be fat and obese? Still in denial?

BL98
post Jul 13 2024, 10:43 AM

743 posts

It is because of Pu'er tea.
SUSNihonmaru
post Jul 13 2024, 10:44 AM

206 posts

Should tarik the sugar subsidee.
BL98
post Jul 13 2024, 10:46 AM

743 posts

Actually chuby chuby quite cute
Einjahr
post Jul 13 2024, 10:50 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Jul 13 2024, 10:46 AM)
Heart attack is cute ?
Einjahr
post Jul 13 2024, 10:50 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 18 2024, 02:02 AM)
only girls care about slim body
Lose weight if you dun wanna die early
spursfan
post Jul 13 2024, 11:12 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(Einjahr @ Jul 13 2024, 10:50 AM)
Lose weight if you dun wanna die early
No mani to live that long anyway
Einjahr
post Jul 13 2024, 11:19 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Jul 13 2024, 11:12 AM)
No mani to live that long anyway
But got money to eat mcm babi? Lol
ericcheng2021
post Jul 13 2024, 11:21 AM

184 posts

When I went to China, it was stairs stairs everywhere ohmy.gif
teehk_tee
post Jul 13 2024, 11:22 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

Ron95 so cheap. Cheaper than water
g5sim
post Jul 13 2024, 11:27 AM

5,752 posts

Based on the report, the trend of being overweight and obese is measured by a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 25 or more
Need to redefine obesity. WHO needs to change the BMI for people to be considered as obese. Sure the obesity figure will go down.
new in IT
post Jul 13 2024, 11:54 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Jul 13 2024, 11:46 AM)
Quite true, pretty amoi approves this.

Tons of pretty amoi BF or hubby are chubby one.

Rarely see pretty amoi with muscular or skinny male.
BL98
post Jul 13 2024, 03:38 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(new in IT @ Jul 13 2024, 11:54 AM)
Quite true, pretty amoi approves this.

Tons of pretty amoi BF or hubby are chubby one.

Rarely see pretty amoi with muscular or skinny male.
6 pack is only for magazine

true husband material is all chubby one
Einjahr
post Jul 13 2024, 03:40 PM

121 posts

Lol level of copium in here
focusrite
post Jul 13 2024, 03:52 PM

409 posts

Singapore same weather but no issue pun
focusrite
post Jul 13 2024, 03:54 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(Einjahr @ Jul 13 2024, 03:40 PM)
Lol level of copium in here
It's easier to blame external factors then it is to make effort.

Nowadays losing weight not that hard as well. Many youtubers have free scientifically backed advice that can make dieting quite easy. Just learn some healthy and delicious recipes already enough to lose a lot of weight. Don't even need to exercise
TS30624770
post Jul 13 2024, 03:54 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Jul 13 2024, 04:52 PM)
Singapore same weather but no issue pun
If you look at the things the people eat in China, they don’t really eat a lot of fried and oily stuff. They actually eat a lot of soup, vegetables and fruits too.
Einjahr
post Jul 13 2024, 03:55 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Jul 13 2024, 03:54 PM)
It's easier to blame external factors then it is to make effort.

Nowadays losing weight not that hard as well. Many youtubers have free scientifically backed advice that can make dieting quite easy. Just learn some healthy and delicious recipes already enough to lose a lot of weight. Don't even need to exercise
Nah.. ktards here trying to normalise being obese
spursfan
post Jul 13 2024, 05:44 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Einjahr @ Jul 13 2024, 11:19 AM)
But got money to eat mcm babi? Lol
carbs are cheap. try comparing the price of roti canai banjir vs a nutritious meal.

the government should subsidize fruit and vegetables. make them so cheap that it makes no sense not to eat them.
Einjahr
post Jul 13 2024, 05:49 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Jul 13 2024, 05:44 PM)
carbs are cheap. try comparing the price of roti canai banjir vs a nutritious meal.

the government should subsidize fruit and vegetables. make them so cheap that it makes no sense not to eat them.
While that might be true that the system is rigged making unhealthy food more affordable than healthy food, but have you seen the food portions Malaysians gorge themselves in?

0.0428sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:16 PM