Condo sale price

woolei
post May 3 2024, 10:38 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(ky118 @ Apr 30 2024, 03:38 PM)
I plan to sell my condo and would like to calculate the breakeven price and the minimum selling price in order not to make a loss.

Condo price: RM405,000
Down payment: RM63,000
Loan amount: RM342,000
Monthly loan installment: RM1650
Monthly loan installment period until today: 12 years
Monthly loan installment payment until today: RM237,600 (RM1650 x 12 x 12)
Misc expenses like legal fees, stamp duty, renovation, maintenance fees, insurance, assessment: RM93,200
Rental income: RM20,000

Is my breakeven price RM373,800?

Appreciate your comments. Thanks!
for property trading, we dont set the minumum selling price according to our breakeven price la.. if you calculate you just feel more sad after notice your opportunity cost is way more higher by just putting in FD/EPF.

By looking at your poor rental income return (20K), i would strongly suggest you to dispose as soon as possible follow market price or even lower market price to prevent further loss.

Condo S&P price: RM405,000
Renovation :20k (estimate) - but this renovation usually dont worth a cent, the renovation is for your own comfort or easier rent out strategy

other cost just absorb by yourself la (loan interest, legal fees, stamp duty, maintennanec fees, insurance and etc), those cost by right should be compensated via your rental collection, but apparently you didnt manage it well.

If your plan is wait more time for "breakeven" , please make the effort to increase your rental now, start today.

ahkit123
post May 4 2024, 09:56 PM

2,559 posts

QUOTE(ahsui @ May 1 2024, 11:19 PM)
For your Reference.

SPA 445k
LOAN 300K

SPA LEGAL = 5,563
MOT = 7.9k
LOAN LEGAL = 2,225
MISC = 3k
SUB TOTAL = 18,688

INT 4.41% x 12 YR = 158,760

SPA = 445K
DOCS = 18,688
INT 12YR = 158,760

RENTAL
1.3k x 12M x 12YR

GROSS COST = 622,448
RENTAL = ( 187.2k )
NETT COST = 435,248

MARKET PRICE 2023
= 550k

PROFIT = 114,752

what if Initial Cost dump into FD

145k + 18.5k = 163.5k x 3.5(12y) FD avg rate
FD Profit = 83.5k

83.5k - 187.2k(Rental)

Loss = -103.7k
550-250=300k. Take n run 😂
Aldo-Kirosu
post May 5 2024, 07:18 AM

662 posts

If ready calculated the opportunity cost put at epf fd, then need to consider the inflation cost as well. 12 year ago xxxk can buy a property =/= xxxk can buy the property now a day.
Value of ringgit keep decreasing.
polarzbearz
post May 5 2024, 11:11 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ May 5 2024, 07:18 AM)
If ready calculated the opportunity cost put at epf fd, then need to consider the inflation cost as well. 12 year ago xxxk can buy a property =/= xxxk can buy the property now a day.
Value of ringgit keep decreasing.
Very good and valid point. Just factored that in as well laugh.gif

My assumptions for the sake of mathematic calculations since I don't have all the details from OP.
- Upfront Legal Fees (SPA Legal Fees & Stamp Duty; Loan Documentation Legal Fees & Stamp Duty; and later MOT Title Legal Fees & Stamp Duty) ~7% of Property Price.
- With this I split OP's 93200 "misc fees" into two parts: 57.2k upfront fees (legal fees, stamp duties, etc.) and 36k subsequent monthly fees (maintenance fees, building fire insurances, etc.). This is so that I can split it into upfront seed capital vs. monthly free cash flow for the later part of calculation.
- I only know OP had 20K income throughout the 12 years, but not sure the 20K income was from how many months, so I assumed 1 year rental, 1 year vacant (renovation, repair, seek tenants, etc. before giving up) and eventually for own stay of 10 years
- For assumptions to invest,
--- I'm taking EPF's last 10 years average @ 5.95%, and I'm also assuming that the 63k downpayment + 57.2k upfront fees will be used as seeding capital.
--- For monthly cash INFLOW, I'm taking OP's monthly: mortgage, estimated maintenance fees, estimated monthly building taxes/insurances
--- For monthly cash OUTFLOW, I'm deducting estimated monthly rent outside (still need a place to live).
--- Once I have this NETT MONTHLY CASHFLOW, I'll start calculating the compound interest throughout the 12 years compounded on a monthly basis (144 total months). For those interested, formula is below laugh.gif

- I'm also taking into account the inflation cost to re-purchase the same said property 12 years later (had OP opted to invest 12 years ago in EPF, and chooses to re-purchase the same property 12 years later). Since I don't have OP's property details and today's market price, I'm taking an arbitrary value of RM500k as a very conservative/safe assumption (I don't believe any property purchased from 12 years ago will drop below this value laugh.gif tho I could still be wrong)

With this the numbers came back down to a more-reasonable "Estimated Breakeven Price Point" @ RM462K

Remember, like many here have said, these are purely mathematic exercises and take it only as a source of reference point for consideration, rather than absolute truth. There are many other benefits to property ownership as well such as the "peace of mind" and "sense of belonging" which can never be quantified in dollars & cents. In any case, when selling a property, we'll have to respect the market anyway and can never list price beyond what the market can swallow, which makes all these calculation exercise purely for fun biggrin.gif

Attached File  RinggitFreedom_Property_Breakeven_Calculator__Draft____Sheet1.pdf ( 397.88k ) Number of downloads: 43

Ikankoring
post May 5 2024, 02:02 PM

82 posts

Condo price: RM328,000
Down payment: RM 98,400
Loan amount: RM 233,000
Monthly loan installment: RM1050
Monthly loan installment 10 years:RM 126,000
Misc expenses like legal fees, stamp duty, renovation, maintenance fees, insurance, assessment: RM 25,000
Rental income 10 years: Rm189,000 (1750x12x10) -10% assuming several months without rental

What is the breakeven price this property in 10 years projection compared to putting the money in FD savings?
ahsui
post May 5 2024, 04:50 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ May 4 2024, 09:56 PM)
550-250=300k. Take n run 😂
y run. already fully settlement. rent out 1k for time cost will do.

market rental rate 1300-1500
polarzbearz
post May 5 2024, 05:33 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(Ikankoring @ May 5 2024, 02:02 PM)
Condo price: RM328,000
Down payment: RM 98,400
Loan amount: RM 233,000
Monthly loan installment: RM1050
Monthly loan installment 10 years:RM 126,000
Misc expenses like legal fees, stamp duty, renovation, maintenance fees, insurance, assessment: RM 25,000
Rental income 10 years: Rm189,000 (1750x12x10) -10% assuming several months without rental

What is the breakeven price this property in 10 years projection compared to putting the money in FD savings?
You can use my calculator if you want - just make a copy of the Google Sheets and input numbers/select options there to see the estimated $. Your post didn't provide all the parameters so I can't do it for you. sweat.gif

Note that I'm using a compounding calculation formula when it comes to investment, rather than a flat multiplication of capital * interest, following the principles of compound interest.

Link: Gracie's Property Breakeven Calculator
Cavatzu
post May 5 2024, 08:53 PM

2,834 posts

Everyone has assumed it’s 20k rental in the entire tenure but 20k per annum rent is quite feasible and would be a break even of his monthly interest repayment. It’s plausible given that it is 12 years old. Run the figures again with this assumption.
polarzbearz
post May 5 2024, 09:13 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ May 5 2024, 08:53 PM)
Everyone has assumed it’s 20k rental in the entire tenure but 20k per annum rent is quite feasible and would be a break even of his monthly interest repayment. It’s plausible given that it is 12 years old. Run the figures again with this assumption.
I already did nod.gif

The numbers I reposted above were so much better after considering 20k/annum rental income (OR avoidance of renting places). Though I took the assumption of 1-year vacancy for unknown reasons; as compared to my initial post.
ahkit123
post May 6 2024, 08:21 AM

2,559 posts

QUOTE(ahsui @ May 5 2024, 05:50 PM)
y run. already fully settlement. rent out 1k for time cost will do.

market rental rate 1300-1500
Yes, play rental. Selling off loss

0.0142sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:24 PM