14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

I am leaving Bold engine oil, Help me pick good local oil

ayamxxx
post Jan 5 2025, 10:42 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 4 2025, 11:22 PM)
bro

somehow I think gonna do this experiment soon on my old 130Y

RM13.50 x 6 = RM 81

TOYOTA ENGINE FLUSH 200ML RM13.50

Flushing engine/ services are top like 15-20 years ago, u send car service, 100% they will offer Oil Flushing. But nowadays not much. That's explain all.
ayamxxx
post Jan 5 2025, 10:45 AM

4,037 posts

Btw why Shell stop produce the 4L bottle oil flushing. That one is better than those 300ml-500ml bottle. For shell one, first drop the old oil, put new oil filter then put the 4L Shell oil flushing for 10-20 minutes without rev.

The engine will look cleaner on inside from oil cover view.
rcracer
post Jan 5 2025, 11:05 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 4 2025, 04:38 PM)
Dunno whats wrong with that ry8128. Every time got bold oil he sure come critize it, disregarding the legit certs and the experiences of actual users. He just think his assumption correct even without using it.
He terpaling betul in his head even without experiencing the product nor with any proof otherwise.
Bold also never prove same legitimacy so both sides got fair arguments

and the universal rule remains, if it's too good to be true it always is, nothing is for free. good thing no cheap, cheap thing no good. unless proven otherwise

This post has been edited by rcracer: Jan 5 2025, 11:06 AM
alexei
post Jan 5 2025, 11:35 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

I dunno, but crude oil went from 100 per barrel to ~30-40 for a while
maybe that dropped the cost of raw materials, and then so on

good FS through proper channels like Petronas are like 250~330 per 4L and that never changed

later on, start to see US there have rebadged branded oil that sells cheap, I guess the trend came here and start seeing FS oils at half that price, sometimes as low as 90 per 4L

now, 40~50L from a local oil blender/bottler/manufacturer, maybe is not impossible also
ayamxxx
post Jan 5 2025, 11:50 AM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jan 5 2025, 11:05 AM)

and the universal rule remains, if it's too good to be true it always is, nothing is for free. good thing no cheap, cheap thing no good. unless proven otherwise
I have no proof for company sales calculation etc. But in the US, the engine oil are at affordable price, sure 2 digit prices, and most can get it at Walmart or supermarket. And some seller even import it here for a profit. Here must sell at premium price for fully synthetic oil 4L and most only use semi synthetic at most due to price.

This I thanks Tesco/Jusco/ Giant for selling the Shell Helix Ultra at affordable price. Back then purchased it at rm80 then it getting up to 89, 99, now at about 109-119. I remember when take this Oil, sure got customer take up to 4 bottles cz it just affordable vs paid rm250 at workshop per bottles.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 5 2025, 11:50 AM
TSBalanced
post Jan 5 2025, 02:57 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jan 5 2025, 11:05 AM)

Bold proven, got legit cert registered in api registry. And he doesnt have any prove, so how is it his argument is fair?

How is it too cheap when u know what kind of profit margin they are getting. Its definitely doable, even shell with all the ads can get rm89 for their fs oil.
SUSceo684
post Jan 5 2025, 03:22 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(realmcord80 @ Jan 4 2025, 12:46 PM)
Just use a reputable engine oil like Petronas, Shell. Use the right spec for your car and just maintain regular change interval and stick to same engine oil....

That would be sufficient to maintain your engine.

No need to change many brands as it will affect the performance of the engine due different specs and viscosity every time.
Correct.. brows.gif cheap and good HDEO the best rclxm9.gif 7L change baru 80 bucks

Delo® 400 MGX SAE 15W-40 is an API CJ-4 heavy duty diesel engine oil specifically formulated for on-highway and off-highway applications using either High Sulfur or Low Sulfur Diesel and can also provide protection for newer compliant low emission diesel engines with Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR), Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) and Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR). It is fully compatible with previous diesel engine models and previous API Oil Service Categories including API CI-4 PLUS, API CI-4 and API CH-4.

Benefit
1. Minimized operating costs
Exceptional soot dispersancy and wear control. Cylinders, pistons, rings, and injectors are well protected against wear and corrosion, providing optimum service life and minimal maintenance. Contributes to maximum vehicle utilization and minimal downtime.
2. Excellent emission control system life
Provides optimum Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) life for minimal downtime and cleaning, thus managing your maintenance costs.
3. Managed inventory costs
Backward compatible with previous API Oil Service Categories and engine models. Suitable for use in four-stroke gasoline and naturally aspirated, turbocharged and modern electronically controlled / low emission diesel engines calling for an SAE 15W-40 heavy duty motor

Application
• Commercial road transport, including the latest engines fitted with exhaust cleanup devices of all types.
• Vehicles meeting the most recent exhaust emissions standards, including US EPA 2002, 2007 and 2010, 2017 greenhouse gas (GHG 17) Euro IV, V and VI, and Australian ADR 80/02 and ADR 80/03 (for heavy duty).
Mixed fleets of both diesel and gasoline engines, and both old and new equipment.
• Stop-and-go vehicles in high soot loading service such as buses and waste collection trucks.
• Most modern off-highway engines including those adapted for current and future emissions standards in construction, agriculture, marine ad mining applications.
• High speed diesel engines using high (up to 2000 ppm) or low sulfur diesel fuels.
Diesel engines utilizing diesel fuels with up to 20% biodiesel (B20)

This shit is good shit, have been using Delo 400 & Delo Gold previously at 10-15k km interval never have issues.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 5 2025, 03:24 PM

JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 7 2025, 04:18 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 5 2025, 02:57 PM)
Bold proven, got legit cert registered in api registry. And he doesnt have any prove, so how is it his argument is fair?

How is it too cheap when u know what kind of profit margin they are getting. Its definitely doable, even shell with all the ads can get rm89 for their fs oil.
this

cool2.gif

ayamxxx
post Jan 7 2025, 06:42 PM

4,037 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 7 2025, 04:18 PM)
this

cool2.gif

Good job sales back. Been stuck to rm119 or rm129 far too long
ry8128
post Nov 23 2025, 01:34 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,637 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Aug 31 2024, 01:33 AM)
I still have 1L Bold 15w50. I guess I should give it another try since the dirty carburetor might have affected the performance. But the 10w40 really only smooth until 1000km and then starts feeling rough. I tried that one long before the carburetor needed cleaning.

Sprinta F900 and Shell Power seems to be OOS in their respective Shopee Official Stores. Go petrol station buy I guess.

Ratings:

Yamalube - Shiiiiieeeet... Sometimes smooth sometimes rough. Only reason I'm willing to use this oil until 2500km is because of the Yamaha brand. Used this oil for like my bike's first 40,000km then I realized Grab gave discount for Shell EO.

Bold - First 100km gear change from 2nd to 3rd felt rough after that ok. Engine feel smooth up to 1,000km then it starts to feel rough. I don't dare use past 1,500km. Quickly change it when hit 1,500km.

Shell Long Ride - Really smooth all the way to 3,000km like the back of the bottle promises. But acceleration is lacking. When I pull the throttle the bike doesn't respond immediately. I can feel the engine spinning up but it's not translating to acceleration.

Shell Power - the first EO that convinced me EO can make acceleration better. It's been a while since I used this because it got expensive so I decided to try other brands like Petronas and Motul.

Sprinta F900 - Smooth up to 2,000km then it starts feeling less smooth. Acceleration better than Shell Long Ride I guess.

Motul H-Tech - Smooth all the way to 3,000km and acceleration better than Shell Long Ride.

Motul 7100 - Currently testing. Already more than 1,000km. Smoothness started to feel inconsistent after 1,000km but I feel the acceleration is the best out of all the EO I've used.
What is ur change interval for shell long ride? Bottle mentioned can go up to 6k, possible?

Been ushing shell advance ultra for my kapcai, changing every 4k. Thinking to use long ride to push it to 6k.
JohnL77
post Nov 25 2025, 02:25 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 23 2025, 01:34 PM)
What is ur change interval for shell long ride? Bottle mentioned can go up to 6k, possible?

Been ushing shell advance ultra for my kapcai, changing every 4k. Thinking to use long ride to push it to 6k.
Wow. I don't dare push until 4k even. I changed every 3k. The bottle said 6k but with a star saying under specific conditions but they never clarify what are the conditions. Makes me feel Shell doesn't guarantee you can push until 6k. Anyway if you wanna push until 6k, make sure you do it with a new oil filter la. 135LC manual says oil filter only last 2 oil changes or 6k.

Now not using Long Ride anymore. Been testing out various brands sold by VR Global Trading. Mapetrol Premium Power Ester was damn smooth. I will buy it again next round.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Nov 25 2025, 02:28 AM
Chosen one
post Nov 25 2025, 02:28 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 7 2025, 05:18 PM)
this

cool2.gif

where?
lotus ?
TSBalanced
post Nov 25 2025, 02:31 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Nov 25 2025, 02:25 AM)
Wow. I don't dare push until 4k even. I changed every 3k. The bottle said 6k but with a star saying under specific conditions but they never clarify what are the conditions. Makes me feel Shell doesn't guarantee you can push until 6k. Anyway if you wanna push until 6k, make sure you do it with a new oil filter la. 135LC manual says oil filter only last 2 oil changes or 6k.

Now not using Long Ride anymore. Been testing out various brands sold by VR Global Trading. Mapetrol Premium Power Ester was damn smooth. I will buy it again next round.
Mapetrol so far the best in terms of smoothness?
JohnL77
post Nov 25 2025, 02:35 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Nov 25 2025, 02:31 AM)
Mapetrol so far the best in terms of smoothness?
Ya.
TSBalanced
post Nov 25 2025, 02:40 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Nov 25 2025, 02:35 AM)
Ya.
I trust u ni. Gonna buy 2L for my kawasaki ninja 250
JohnL77
post Nov 25 2025, 02:42 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Nov 25 2025, 02:40 AM)
I trust u ni. Gonna buy 2L for my kawasaki ninja 250
thumbsup.gif let me know later what's your review.
ry8128
post Nov 25 2025, 02:44 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,637 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Nov 25 2025, 02:25 AM)

My oil filter memang change every oil change. So far I tested shell advance ultra and casltrol ultimate power 1, both can reach 4k without issue. Looking for other oil to change now to try.
JohnL77
post Nov 25 2025, 02:53 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 25 2025, 02:44 AM)
My oil filter memang change every oil change. So far I tested shell advance ultra and casltrol ultimate power 1, both can reach 4k without issue. Looking for other oil to change now to try.
Castrol good? Saw it on VR Global Trading, thinking about trying.

Also my 135LC joined the 100k club already, so I really really don't dare to push EO past 3k anymore.
JohnL77
post Nov 25 2025, 02:54 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 7 2025, 04:18 PM)
this

cool2.gif

Yo yo yo! Uncle Jim not SUS anymore! But I guess you malas with this forum already because kena SUS so often?
TSBalanced
post Nov 25 2025, 03:18 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Nov 25 2025, 02:53 AM)
Castrol good? Saw it on VR Global Trading, thinking about trying.
Also my 135LC joined the 100k club already, so I really really don't dare to push EO past 3k anymore.
Wah.. my 15 years old ninja now only at 35k km.
Engine oil inside still using bold only at 2000km pass abit i think. Almost 1 year already, so i thinking of just changing the oil even though low mileage. The bold engine oil still feels smooth though, although i only ride it like 2-3 times a month.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0203sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:15 PM