7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Please recommend daily motorcycle for work

TSEdward566
post Apr 27 2024, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 27 2024, 02:22 AM)
70KM daily suggest
- new bike if intend to keep longer
- kapchai for better ride quality , handling, maintenance running  cost vs scooters
- japanese for reliability vs austrian, taiwanese,
- upright sitting positions vs aggressive eg duke

Reminder - safety attire a MUST. Full face, gloves, jacket, boots
agree with you i prefer upright position, used to owned a kawasaki z250 before which i use it for 100km travel every weekend, i can say the back hurts LOL
but jap not much options the closest i can think of is nmax, which i think yamaha should give more on the bike...
TSEdward566
post Apr 27 2024, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(eddievh @ Apr 27 2024, 04:55 AM)
Ninja 250
if travel that far wont it hurts our back? I have friends who owned sports bike like that, they told me that
TSEdward566
post Apr 27 2024, 11:58 PM

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 27 2024, 05:09 AM)

since you already using a scooter .....

husky not bad since have everything you want. sym brand should have no major issue.
say no to ktm duke 200. just, don't. no one in the right mind will go for this. dont ask me how i know , i won't go into detail, just to avoid KTM purist come whack me.
stay away from dominar 400 as well . for the price it is ok, you get what you paid, but this bike is fxxking heavy, engine is under power due to power to weight ratio, and this impact the top speed as well. current market have so many better option to choose for. really no reason to get a d400 nowadays (im currently using this d400 v1 + fz150, so this is a honest opinion from a current owner).

personally i will go for something 250cc , maybe a wmoto es250i , not a perfect bike but highly rate by many, and will definitely click with you in a much better way since you now also using scooter.
or the new wmoto rt2, that looks like a good buy as well , with all good feature in one package.
i actually done some research recently, found out some owners of wmoto said their bikes is good in terms of spec and pricing, but due to local QC issue their bikes have many defect and engine not that tahan lasak, which is a concern to me bcz i use it daily so minimal chances of breakdown is definitely prioritized.

btw the front+rear dash cam is wow
TSEdward566
post Apr 28 2024, 12:01 AM

QUOTE(lagenda110 @ Apr 27 2024, 05:18 AM)
R25...

or

nvx
nvx oil tank can upgrade to 7L right? saw them selling on shopee.
but the price of the bike is so high omg, everyone mark up rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

used R25 is below 10k, but seating position is more on leaning forward...enm...
TSEdward566
post Apr 28 2024, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(Acoen @ Apr 27 2024, 07:39 AM)
Ni semua after sales support ok ke?

Ada consider Honda adv 160?
one thing i super like bout honda adv160, the headlamp is sooooooo bright, satisfying! maybe i came from avantiz with stock led which is so dim that i cant even see the road ahead during night time...
if i wanna choose honda adv, maybe will consider used adv150 as well bcz price is within budget around 8-9k, otherwise new adv160 also can. sifu's advice? rolleyes.gif

TSEdward566
post Apr 28 2024, 12:08 AM

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Apr 27 2024, 06:47 AM)
Is underpowered is your concern
Then don't ever thing to take that husky 150
Go above 150.
Unless u want duke 200, maybe y15 y16, rs150, vf185.
Want fast and with all that safety function xmax 250, xdv 250, rt2, rt3. Or maybe forza 300.
went to a dealership today, was told 150 scooter is more than enough because can cruise 120 on highway shocking.gif

maybe will skip kapchai bcz fuel tank similar to my current bike (avantiz), need to refuel every two days bangwall.gif
derthvadar
post Apr 28 2024, 12:30 AM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,794 posts

Please be careful on the highways

Later got people walks out of nowhere

Some retarded ktards will still blame you if crashes
dogbert_chew
post Apr 28 2024, 12:57 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Edward566 @ Apr 27 2024, 11:54 PM)
agree with you i prefer upright position, used to owned a kawasaki z250 before which i use it for 100km travel every weekend, i can say the back hurts LOL
but jap not much options the closest i can think of is nmax, which i think yamaha should give more on the bike...
Scooters have higher maintenance, more power loss via cvt etc. Advantage is underseat storage.

How about cubs like
RS150R
Y16ZR fuel tank 5.4L

Plus Givi box within budget ? And safety wear too.

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Apr 28 2024, 01:00 AM
TSEdward566
post Apr 28 2024, 01:20 AM

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Apr 28 2024, 12:57 AM)
Scooters have higher maintenance, more power loss via cvt etc. Advantage is underseat storage.

How about cubs like
RS150R
Y16ZR fuel tank 5.4L

Plus Givi box within budget ?  And safety wear too.
did the math abit +1 days before next refuel compare to my avantiz sweat.gif it would be great to have larger fuel tank that can last me for a week (5 days * 70km+)
i have existing givi box already, safety accessories like gloves and jacket also got, basically the budget can all in for the bike. i dont mind if the price goes up to like 16k if it gets me a very suitable bike for my purpose of use.

btw is MT-15 a good option? ticks most of the boxes too hmm.gif

SUSrtk74
post Apr 28 2024, 02:07 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Edward566 @ Apr 27 2024, 11:58 PM)
i actually done some research recently, found out some owners of wmoto said their bikes is good in terms of spec and pricing, but due to local QC issue their bikes have many defect and engine not that tahan lasak, which is a concern to me bcz i use it daily so minimal chances of breakdown is definitely prioritized.

btw the front+rear dash cam is wow
no china bikes...
sammm33
post Apr 28 2024, 03:15 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(Edward566 @ Apr 28 2024, 01:20 AM)
did the math abit +1 days before next refuel compare to my avantiz  sweat.gif  it would be great to have larger fuel tank that can last me for a week (5 days * 70km+)
i have existing givi box already, safety accessories like gloves and jacket also got, basically the budget can all in for the bike. i dont mind if the price goes up to like 16k if it gets me a very suitable bike for my purpose of use.

btw is MT-15 a good option? ticks most of the boxes too hmm.gif
Mt-15 if no mistake, no abs thou.....
Xploit Machine
post Apr 28 2024, 03:18 AM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,264 posts

EX5 thumbup.gif

but very rare to get the Boon Siew make ..
lagenda110
post Apr 28 2024, 03:32 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Apr 28 2024, 03:18 AM)
EX5  thumbup.gif

Under rated but this actually a good choice...simply go for standard modi and feel the power...
nazrul90
post Apr 28 2024, 03:50 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Apr 28 2024, 03:18 AM)
EX5  thumbup.gif

Small fuel tank. Need to refuel often.
Also dunno why for 3 decades they still refused to update the EX5 front drum brake to brake disc. Even 100cc Honda Wave nowadays came with brake disc.
Notoriez
post Apr 28 2024, 03:59 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

Owner of D400 UG and ADV160 and some few other old kapchais here.

Both motor is fine, but if you want power D400 UG is the one to go. Although FC is high since its a 400cc bike. At least 25km/l or at best 30km/l. Full tank can go 25km/l x 13l = 325km per full tank. Reliability wise quite good just need to make sure dont skip maintenance schedule.

Downside of this bike is you need to spend abit more on maintenance since its a big cc bike. Also abit heavy hence feel abit sluggish especially when you so used to scooter agility. But once u on highway, all of it are forgotten. 150km/h easily achievable.

As for ADV160, its much more comfy but power wise is seemly restricted due to the weight and size of the bike hence top speed only like 110-120km/h. 90-100km/h is the sweet spot for this ADC bike. Also the pickup is quite good. FC is around 38-45km per liter. Full tank means 38km/l x 8l = 304km/l.

Maintenance is also abit more than kapchai since u need to perform oil change every 3k km plus service the CVT belt every 8-12k km. Some fellas claim the belt can last very long (up to 22k km) stated in the manual book which is true if you drive like an ahpek. Better keep some tools to replace the belt + spare belt if you decided to buy this bike for long commute.

Since you didnt provide any budget, best bike for long distance ride is Honda RS150. Not flashy as other bikes in its category but it is a bike for long distance and no need to mod as much to get power. Stock standard is good enough

This post has been edited by Notoriez: Apr 28 2024, 04:01 AM
poco loco
post Apr 28 2024, 04:19 AM

611 posts

so decided aready or not?
arcadicus
post Apr 28 2024, 05:38 AM

213 posts

Honda EX5
latipbogiba
post Apr 28 2024, 07:05 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Edward566 @ Apr 28 2024, 12:08 AM)
went to a dealership today, was told 150 scooter is more than enough because can cruise 120 on highway shocking.gif

maybe will skip kapchai bcz fuel tank similar to my current bike (avantiz), need to refuel every two days  bangwall.gif
120km/h is top speed
I mean cruising is between 80-90 or 100.
150 or 155 scooter ride at 120 is screaming.
Engine, belt, cvt will scream for mercy.
But ofcoz if compare bigger tank, husky is the winner right now.

This post has been edited by latipbogiba: Apr 28 2024, 07:05 AM
WH4CockcooBird
post Apr 28 2024, 08:43 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Edward566 @ Apr 27 2024, 12:07 AM)
I'm planning to buy a motorcycle (used/new also can) for my daily commute to work around 70km +/- round trip.
Currently riding an avantiz 125cc, usually cruise around 80-90kmh (too underpowered, sometimes want potong lorry also susah abit), refuel every 2 days which is very troublesome.
Will use for tapao at nearby sometimes.
90% highway + 10% city
Budget below 12k

ABS is a must  nod.gif

please rekomen...

Did some research and have few bikes came into consideration...
sym husky 150
ktm duke 200 abs
modenas Dominar 400
A lot of good advise been given already, ie. riding position etc.

You are currently riding Avantiz 125cc, so let's use this as your baseline. I saw some comment with rather different baseline. My comments below is based on Avantiz as baseline

If you want to stick to a scooter, ADV160 is no brainer.

Simple run about, pickup is great and cruise speed sweet spot of 90-100km also vastly improved from Avantiz sweet spot of cruising. Best take away, large underseat storage makes grocery and tapao run easy. Large fuel tank, with 70km round trip a day, will take you 4 days per refuel. I own one.

If you want to switch to manual bikes, got tapao basket to kiap between your legs, RS150 highly recommended. No worry unlike LC135 / Y15Z hot on kidnappers list.

If you can go without basket to kiap, the lighter the better so do consider Pulsar NS200 that's been around and many shops can service with easy availability of parts. Another is a used CB500X that's heavy on spec but light between legs, but might be way over your budget.

I won't consider KTM (ahem) or D400 (heeeavy as a daily runabout bike)

Lastly, avoid anything sold / distributed by MForce. Product might be "ok" until you need support.

Less worry of ownership with Honda, Yamaha and some Kawasaki big bikes.
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Apr 28 2024, 08:49 AM

325 posts

The husky is dog shit la. Why would anyone buy that when adv160 is avai9?

Have you seen the built quality? Cut corners everywhere.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:29 AM