Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

QuickFire
post Sep 28 2009, 04:54 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 28 2009, 03:50 PM)
Drag me to hell...

I really dunno how it got high ratings for this Hollywood flick...

Soso story but not frightening at all...horror scenes are just to 'light'..

Not for true horror fans...maybe its for the family type of horror movie (like Twilight...which I enjoyed)
lol, I'll probably watch it tonight. I didnt like it when I saw it in the cinema.
QuickFire
post Sep 28 2009, 10:04 PM

2,867 posts

Yeah Road to Perdition is one hell of a movie. My favourite Mendes picture. Some fantastic acting in there.

Drag Me To Hell - Watched it with my little brother and sister. Apparently my 14-year-old brother can appreciate gross-out humour better than my friends. lol. The movie was better than when I last saw it, but I still have the same problems with it. Decent.

Oh yea I thought Christine was sympathetic. I dont understand how so many people can call her evil and cold hearted. It's exactly what anyone of us would do.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Sep 28 2009, 10:05 PM
QuickFire
post Sep 28 2009, 10:59 PM

2,867 posts

It's goofy horror in the veins of Raimi and Peter Jackson's earlier works. It's never meant to be taken as serious horror. And it is funny, has quite a lo of funny bits actually. Unfortunately between said funny bits there are lots of unfunny, unscary, not very interesting bits. For example, the whole scene before the seance, where they explain the house has unknown forces.... gateway to hell.... bla bla bla. Bla bla bla...... Who gives a shit about details like that.

I recommend Evil Dead II. Now thats an awesome schlock-horror movie. It drips cheapness, and it works all the better because of it.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Sep 28 2009, 11:06 PM
QuickFire
post Sep 29 2009, 01:21 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Sep 29 2009, 09:50 AM)
American Beauty didn't get you?
I think that's great too. The four films by him I've seen are all very good. But I think Road to Perdition is his best.
QuickFire
post Oct 1 2009, 07:45 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(fragglerock @ Oct 1 2009, 05:53 PM)
tf2: is it me or is the whole movie shitty?
Dont worry, its not just you.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Oct 1 2009, 07:46 PM
QuickFire
post Oct 3 2009, 08:13 PM

2,867 posts

Dodgeball - An alright comedy. But I have never seen anyone look as bored as vince vaughn is in this movie. Everyone else is having so much fun and he's wallowing in self-pity.

Transformers 2 - Watched this piece of shit halfway before turning it off. Probably will watch the remaining half later with my brother who is watching it right now. Shit story, shit characters, shit bots, shit music, shit dialogue. I'm very hard pressed to find anything that isnt shit in this.
QuickFire
post Oct 4 2009, 10:43 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Oct 4 2009, 10:07 PM)
But blood is a tad bit exaggerated
It's deliberate. Vol. 1 and 2, both damn fine movies.

GI Joe - This was supposed to suck! Everyone I trust who has seen it says its worse than Transformers 2! The trailers looked did the opposite of whetting my appetite! I really wanted this to suck so bad so that I could proclaim to my friends who liked it "how can you call this turd a good movie?!". Oh boy. I enjoyed it. It's not miles better than Transformers 2. It's immeasurably better. It gave me a slight Spy Kids vibe, a good sense of fun and some obviously bad and cheesy CGI (which I think was deliberate). You miss nothing by not watching it, but it's harmless fun.

Plus that Rachel Nichols girl is hot! So that's another reason to see this instead of TF2.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Oct 4 2009, 10:47 PM
QuickFire
post Oct 5 2009, 02:25 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Oct 5 2009, 12:51 PM)
Not everything is deliberate.
I think it's intentional. Like Speed Racer, the cartoonish visuals make it work. Not that I'm implying GI Joe is as good as Speed racer. It's mindless fluff, enjoyable while it lasts and forgettable thereafter.

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 5 2009, 01:55 PM)
I never said that G.I. Joe sucked!! So that would mean, you don't TRUST me!!?! tongue.gif
Unlike you I dont go remembering every single person's reaction to every single movie. laugh.gif

So I take it that... you liked GI Joe?

*Ahem* DVD??????????????
Pirated dvd lah. Aiyo. Are you a malaysian or not? tongue.gif

Superman Returns (2006)

Perplexing!!

I find myself perplexed. I like this movie alot and supposedly, alot of people do not.

Firstly, many people had stated that the movie video transfer is NOT up to par, but it is. I've watched this in the cinema and this BD surpasses that. There are some scenes where Superman looks "fake" but that is because in those scenes he is CGIed (or I perceives him as CGIed, it look like that in the cinema) !!

I think that Bryan Singer actually put a lot of effort into making this movie unique and I'm doubly perplex why lover of comics hate this movie as well, seeing how much homage is paid to the media (eg when Superman gently put down Kitty's car, that is the cover to the first Action Comic Superman appeared in). He also anchored the movie as much as he could into the real world (when Superman first attempted to save the plane Lois was on, he tried to grab on the fuselage of the plane but it broke off because it could not take the stress)

I like this movie and am bump that Bryan Singer would not get to direct Brandon Routh in another Superman movie *Sigh*
I think it's an alright movie. But superman and his lore have never been one of my favourites anyway. Neither is Bryan Singer.
QuickFire
post Oct 5 2009, 04:10 PM

2,867 posts

Well if it isnt intentional, then Sommers has had a good slice of luck that it turned out cartoonish. The movie wouldnt have worked otherwise. I have a hard time believing it wasn't intentional though, especially the underwater scenes. The explosions, the colours all point to it being intentional, at least to me.

QuickFire
post Oct 6 2009, 03:31 PM

2,867 posts

re: 30 Days of Night and Let the Right One In. I agree with makakeke on both counts, and I thought the ending to 30 Days, well, sucked. tongue.gif

I cant remember much about the movie, there are a few bright spots I think, but overall I didnt like it.

P/S: everything is readily available in malaysia... through the interweb. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Oct 6 2009, 03:34 PM
QuickFire
post Oct 9 2009, 05:23 PM

2,867 posts

Hey mov_freak, are you like 80?

Been on a junk movie run, watched Land of the Lost, which isn't very bad but not worth watching, and the first three Final Destination movies. First is bad, second is fun, third is between the first and second. I cant believe they spent so much time in the third movie talking about the same mumbo jumbo about Death And How He Works which was already covered to death in the first movie. I would have skipped it, but I find it hard to tear my eyes off Mary Elizabeth Winstead.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Oct 9 2009, 05:25 PM
QuickFire
post Oct 9 2009, 09:56 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 9 2009, 09:16 PM)
No Quickfire, 80 isn't ancient!! nod.gif
I cannot imagine. I always thought you were like maybe 30 or 40. To think you might be triple that... laugh.gif
QuickFire
post Oct 12 2009, 05:20 PM

2,867 posts

Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs - Largely uninteresting, unfunny and flat. 2.5/5

The Brothers Bloom - Really disappointing. It seems Rian Johnson might have had a few ideas, but took them out of the oven before they were fully baked and just ran with it. Everything feels extremely forced. You can feel they were attempting to inject the movie with some quirkiness. There are so many twists, twists to twists, twists in twists. The final twist should be good, it should carry much emotional weight, but it doesn't, because by that time I didnt care anymore. Not for the characters, not for the plot, not for the twists. Mar Ruffalo gives probably the best performance here, though that isnt saying much. Brody once again shows why he is an overrrated actor. 3/5

Gone Baby Gone - This didn't leave me a very big impression on me the last time, but that has changed. What a tight, smart thriller! The multiple characters and the dynamics between them truly make this an edge of the seat affair. There is this simmering explosiveness lurking underneath every scene. It really excels at building tension and suspense. There are a few morally murky and ambiguous situations, they work well and give the movie some added gravitas. This was also evident in Mystic River (though that movie had an infuriating ending scene and morally plain wrong). I guess Dennis Lehane likes writing stories like these (I've never read his books before).

Casey Affleck is good. He doesn't quite cut an authoritative figure, but I think his character recognizes, which explains his reactions whenever he feels stepped on. Ed Harris has a very showy role, and he pulls it off with aplomb. The weakest element I think is Michelle Monaghan, who has this wide-eyed, blank-faced expression 90% of the time. 4.5/5

Incidentally, I just got Lehane's Shutter Island today, along with Brave New World, which until today I thought was banned here. Couldn't find it anywhere for a long time and today I saw 6 or 7 copies at Borders.
QuickFire
post Oct 17 2009, 10:47 PM

2,867 posts

Michelle Monaghan sans make up has weird eyes. laugh.gif

The supposedly banned book I was referring to is Brave New World, not Shutter Island which has been on the shelves for a long time now. I have under 20 pages of Shutter Island left. Finishing it now.
QuickFire
post Oct 17 2009, 11:35 PM

2,867 posts

lol I didnt even notice laugh.gif
QuickFire
post Oct 21 2009, 09:40 AM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Oct 21 2009, 01:55 AM)
I've not watch Whiteout but I frankly can't wait to see it.

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs - 2.5/5 The most unfunny and unentertaining animated flick I've seen since Shark's Tale.
You mean since Ice Age 3.

tongue.gif
QuickFire
post Oct 21 2009, 10:26 AM

2,867 posts

Oh yeah I saw Orphan yesterday. The ending was spoiled to me by a friend some time ago, so I cant really say how good it is. But even with the knowledge of the final revelation, I found this to be a very well paced, suspenseful flick. I was a bit surprised by the gore actually. Most movies these days either go all-out gore, or shy away from it and opt for suspense-building and atmosphere. This has a nice balance between the two. And I can only imagine being impressed by the twist if I had not known it.
QuickFire
post Oct 21 2009, 11:32 AM

2,867 posts

Never in the history of celluloid has Paul Walker managed to upstage a co-star.
QuickFire
post Oct 21 2009, 05:57 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(fragglerock @ Oct 21 2009, 05:36 PM)
kobeh, u talkin bout the the disney flick which has a bunch of huskies in the poster right. enrich ur movie experience by hunting down the 1983 movie , nankyoku monogatari aka antartica. awesome score by vangelis.

qf, true what u just wrote but don't blame you for shutting off during fNf. in case u have missed other p.walker experience, running scared and Lazarus Project, both pretty pretty good.
Never seen or heard of Lazarus, but I remember enjoying Running Scared. But not because of Paul Walker.
QuickFire
post Oct 23 2009, 09:36 AM

2,867 posts

Public Enemis - Such a cold, emotionally-distant film. You dont get to see what makes Dillinger tick, you dont get how a girl can just fall in love with a bank robber out of the blue, you dont get why exactly Dillinger wants to keep robbing banks. Basically, the film shows you how Dillinger helps break his mates out of prison, rob a few banks, get caught, escapes, hides, tries to run away with his girl, and gets shot in the end. That's it, the film tells you almost nothing else. In the end I didnt care about any of the characters. That said, it is almost never boring (though never fully captures your attention too), and the acting is very good. Surprised to see Bale's performance. I thought his methods have grown stale, but I liked him in this.

Btw, the slow-mo gun shot and CGI blood in the end. How ridiculously out of place was that?

QUOTE(spaceship @ Oct 23 2009, 07:49 AM)
trick r treat
My Webpage

alot of hype claiming this movie is so good
more like a comedy to me instead of horror  tongue.gif
That's because it is a horror-comedy. I dunno, I get the feeling some malaysians cant seem to grasp the idea that horror and comedy can coexist. It's either horror or comedy to them, you cant mix the two or they get confused.

QUOTE(ultimate66 @ Oct 23 2009, 07:58 AM)
watched a nice animation on pps, forget the name, its about little girl who met her 'another' better parents through a small door in her own house, but later turns out to be a bad thing...

anyone know the title? coz pps are all written in chinese...
Coraline

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:23 PM