4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Chat Roof solar design, installation and guidance, Help me design and install my roof solar

Avangelice
post Apr 13 2024, 11:31 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Apr 13 2024, 11:27 AM)
Lots of non inverter appliances you have. So many fridge, water pump - over provision.
2hp for a bedroom is overkill. He should do the btu calculation base on Sq ftage of each room. 1hp enough for the small bedroom and master bedroom maybe 1.5hp.

I have a 2hp non inverter that's causing my bill to shoot up and I'm looking to replace it
haturaya
post Apr 13 2024, 11:32 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Apr 13 2024, 11:28 AM)
This one need TNB go check for suspicious theft .... unless you ada pakai solar system....
What theft? My bill reduce a bit after TNB change to smart meter 3 years ago. My old meter bill is way more expensive. cool2.gif No solar. Small house only and my house roof orientation is bad for solar panel. sweat.gif It will take ages to recoup the investment. sweat.gif

Keyword is thermal efficiency.

Use inverter AC, calculate right hp for the room (btu & room size). Never ever over cool the space. For example, setting the AC temp to 18C. No way in Malaysia you can cool down (efficiently) any living space more than 6-7C from ambient temperature. Check ambient temperature as guidance for AC desired temp.
Seal all air gap in the room (door sills, windows, ceiling, proper roof insulation etc).
Thermal barrier for wall that radiate so much thermal energy (radiant heat) into living space. Especially for wall that facing evening hot sun.
Switch off / schedule high energy appliances when nobody not at home (water chiller & hot water).
Use ceiling ventilator to suck out hot air from top floor.

Many things can be done to make your home use way less energy. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by haturaya: Apr 13 2024, 11:42 AM
lj0000
post Apr 13 2024, 11:32 AM

2,202 posts

Check with tnb first if your area allow feed in.
If cannot don't bother starting calculation
smallcrab
post Apr 13 2024, 11:34 AM

140 posts

First convert to 3 phase wiring for charging EV, will be much faster charge (x3 faster)

Later if electric bill is high enough, only consider solar.
accordvtec
post Apr 13 2024, 11:41 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Apr 13 2024, 11:27 AM)
Lots of non inverter appliances you have. So many fridge, water pump - over provision.
but fridge all inverter. only chest freezer is not. waterpump must oh coz 4 rooms with attached toilet and 1 common toilet downstair if off waterpump then pressure like kencing.
Avangelice
post Apr 13 2024, 11:43 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(accordvtec @ Apr 13 2024, 11:41 AM)
but fridge all inverter. only chest freezer is not. waterpump must oh coz 4 rooms with attached toilet and 1 common toilet downstair if off waterpump then pressure like kencing.
2hp x 2. There's ur problem
haturaya
post Apr 13 2024, 11:45 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(accordvtec @ Apr 13 2024, 11:41 AM)
The non inverter AC is the killer... sweat.gif

Water pump - for 4 bathroom... 200W is more than enough. It's highly unlikely you'll be using all taps in all bathrooms at the same time. sweat.gif That's why I wrote it's over provision.

My house water pump - only 150W, for 2 bathroom with a shower, toilet, wall pipe and a sink each. All good thumbsup.gif
adamw
post Apr 13 2024, 12:01 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,353 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 13 2024, 08:15 AM)
Good morning and selamat hari raya all mighty and knowledgeable /k
i bow down to /k knowledge and wisdom and humbly request for tips & guidance for solar installation on my roof.

i'm thinking of a 3kW or 4kW system and get RM3k or RM4k rebate.
there's a high chance that i'll be getting an EV before the december 2025 expiry on EV tax break.
a 500bhp high performance AWD car for RM200k is a very interesting proposition. expecting another RM100-ish electricity cost the EV?

so any guidance and tips from /k expertise in very much appreciated.
any good solar installer that covers northern area that /k can suggest? i'll try to get site visit and quotation after this raya holiday.
Any real picture of the rooftop?
dickybird
post Apr 13 2024, 12:05 PM

2,093 posts

Rainwater collection system and more trees is a better bet I think. As well as spraying your roof white.
I think you’ve designed and built your home intelligently hence the low power bill. Even if you do nothing, it would be very good as it is.
accordvtec
post Apr 13 2024, 12:34 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 13 2024, 11:43 AM)
2hp x 2. There's ur problem
really? we use around 26-28°C only coz too cold lol

QUOTE(haturaya @ Apr 13 2024, 11:45 AM)
The non inverter AC is the killer...  sweat.gif

Water pump - for 4 bathroom... 200W is more than enough. It's highly unlikely you'll be using all taps in all bathrooms at the same time.  sweat.gif  That's why I wrote it's over provision.

My house water pump - only 150W, for 2 bathroom with a shower, toilet, wall pipe and a sink each. All good  :thumbsup:
duno how to see watt co bought that time just mention how many hp. i checked again, it was 1.05hp not 1.5hp lol.
keyibukeyi
post Apr 13 2024, 12:49 PM

150 posts

all looks good, add in intake fan and exhaust fan for better air circulation. TS forgot add in wind direction.
dickybird
post Apr 13 2024, 01:25 PM

2,093 posts

i bow down to /k knowledge and wisdom and humbly request for tips & guidance for solar installation on my roof.

there's a high chance that i'll be getting an EV before the december 2025 expiry on EV tax break.
a 500bhp high performance AWD car for RM200k is a very interesting proposition. expecting another RM100-ish electricity cost the EV?

any good solar installer that covers northern area that /k can suggest? i'll try to get site visit and quotation after this raya holiday.
Ev total cost of ownership
No oil change still need servicing”
Tyres need to change every 30k or less
Suspension also will take a beating up north and that’s why northern people buy car and use PG plates to lessens the depreciation from the perception of Northern plate cars being driven on bad roads.
ozak
post Apr 13 2024, 01:29 PM

17,021 posts

the house orientation is 320 degrees northwest. with large portion of the roof facing the west and east side.
since the location is really good for solar installation, the house was designed and built with solar in mind.

If not mistaken, roof facing west and east is not optimum for solar panel.

If the whole roof install panel, morning east panel get sunlight and afternoon west panel get sunlight.

Optimum for panel is roof facing south with 15º deg slope. Sun pass left to right and whole yrs max.
Boy96
post Apr 13 2024, 01:34 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Apr 13 2024, 11:34 AM)
First convert to 3 phase wiring for charging EV, will be much faster charge (x3 faster)

Later if electric bill is high enough, only consider solar.
Ts planning to get byd seal which only supports single phase charging
smallcrab
post Apr 13 2024, 01:50 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 13 2024, 01:34 PM)
Ts planning to get byd seal which only supports single phase charging
single phase at home, charging time must be very long?
commonsense
post Apr 13 2024, 01:58 PM

79 posts

wow your tnb bill so low without solar
terradrive
post Apr 13 2024, 02:05 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

depends if you wanna get battery or not too

if you wanna take need to consider how many cycles the batteries can be used for, solar gel 400-1600 cycles, LFP ~4000 cycles

layzieboy
post Apr 13 2024, 03:23 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Apr 13 2024, 01:50 PM)
Actually better for the battery. You gonna charge overnight anyway.
netmatrix
post Apr 13 2024, 03:27 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Kampung house got cheaper electricity rate ke?
Boy96
post Apr 13 2024, 07:21 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Apr 13 2024, 01:50 PM)
Battery size is 83kWh. Car can receive 6.7kWh per hour. So sendiri count how many hours to fill up from empty

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0151sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:37 PM