Best Alignment Shop

TSHalseyFrangipane
post Mar 30 2024, 02:14 AM, updated 2y ago

503 posts

Hi guys, as mentioned in the title, I'm looking for the best alignment shops regardless of price.

I am pretty sure there is a certain demographic who are just like us, who just want the best alignment even if it costs a bomb, instead of having to return several times to get things done right. And they need to know how to deal with non-econobox cars.

Used to go to a shop in Puchong all the time but their new recent hires just don't share the same passion in alignments like their masters who have already retired/left.

Seen a few suggestions in this forums like Kean Tyre Solution and Kin Alignment.

Gonna try out Kin Alignment tomorrow since it's closer but wouldn't hurt to get a few more suggestions here if it turned out bad.

Suggestions so far:

1. Sunshine Motor, Petaling Jaya - Thrust
2. Husaien Traction, Klang - THE CLASS OF 13
3. T-Align, Bandar Sunway - romuluz777

This post has been edited by HalseyFrangipane: Jul 4 2024, 11:54 PM
Thrust
post Mar 30 2024, 05:36 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Visit Sunshine Motor and Taman Petaling Utama.
TSHalseyFrangipane
post Mar 30 2024, 08:50 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Mar 30 2024, 05:36 AM)
Visit Sunshine Motor and Taman Petaling Utama.
See a lot of good reviews for his manual alignment. Is he familiar with Europeans? How does he know what are the correct alignment setups for these cars?
Thrust
post Mar 30 2024, 09:01 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Mar 30 2024, 08:50 AM)
See a lot of good reviews for his manual alignment. Is he familiar with Europeans? How does he know what are the correct alignment setups for these cars?
He don't need to be familiar with Europeans but most importantly he is familiar with your car. biggrin.gif

I suppose he can do alignment for all cars as this shop has been in business for decades.

FYI, he uses the old school manual alignment method. It is rare these days.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Mar 30 2024, 09:01 AM
Quazacolt
post Mar 30 2024, 11:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Mar 30 2024, 02:14 AM)
Seen a few suggestions in this forums like Kean Tyre Solution and Kin Alignment.
yeah i'm with KTS
been with Kent Toh since 2008/2009 plus minus?

always able to troubleshoot my odd grassroot motorsports problems, and needless to say always spot on alignment wub.gif
at one point when i was active in Motorsports with my Inspira, almost every track day pre and post i'll get alignment checked/adjusted trial and error troubleshooting etc.

almost every few weeks will get alignment done to further understand the car and what not.
these days i'm just sitting with bone stock 0 camber and -1.2 ish in the rear, non adjustable laugh.gif
THE CLASS OF 13
post Mar 31 2024, 06:18 AM

171 posts

hussain traction anytime anyday haha
kevinc
post Apr 30 2024, 12:00 AM

435 posts

syarikat kee hin, old klang road
zeng
post May 1 2024, 10:14 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Apr 30 2024, 12:00 AM)
syarikat kee hin, old klang road
This shop works like a scam.

No test drive before putting car on alignment machine.

Whilst on alignment machine, no display of Rear cambers and rear toes.

And there is also no display of individual Front casters, front cambers and front individual toes.

Only display one number i.e. Front Total Toes and adjustment made base on this one number alone.

After a mere 15 minutes of messing around with my Front Total Toes (without displaying and knowing the front individual left and right toes) AND without a test after, KH considered job done when I questioned the old man how can this kind of workmanship rectify and correct my original problem/complaint of:

a)Steering wheel off centre to the left whislt driving straight ahead, and

b)Vehicle pulls to the left whislt driving straight ahead with both hands temporarily off the steering wheel.

Knowing this is a scam, I ask how long is the warranty with a view of coming back for warranty redo.

The old man has unashamedly said NO WARRANTY!

As I suspected, the problems of steering off centre to the left AND vehicle pulling left is even worst than before driving out from the scam shop.

Edit: No Rolling Compensation was done before commencing wheel alignment. Another no no.

This post has been edited by zeng: May 1 2024, 10:52 AM
kevinc
post May 1 2024, 10:35 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ May 1 2024, 10:14 AM)
Tribunal for Consumer Claims Malaysia
romuluz777
post May 5 2024, 03:31 PM

2,204 posts

Try T-Align at Bdr Sunway
https://m.facebook.com/talign21239890
scouser7
post Jun 20 2024, 01:27 PM

233 posts

Anyone has the mobile contact of the Sifu at Sunshine please share. Thanks in advance.
littlefire
post Jun 26 2024, 09:45 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ May 1 2024, 11:14 AM)

No test drive before  putting car on alignment  machine.

Whilst on alignment machine, no display of  Rear cambers and rear toes. <- Depends on your car suspension setup & also the shop allignment machine software, if your car rear is torsion beam there is no need to do any adjustment. I got cars like Kelisa which is Torsion beam on the rear when doing alignment, some shop alignment software will just off all the unnecessary readings, but when i drive my Subaru Xv to the same shop alignment software show the data out as it can be adjusted. This depends on the shop software and alignment machine.

And there is also  no  display of individual Front casters, front cambers  and  front individual toes.

Only  display one number i.e. Front Total  Toes and adjustment made base  on this  one number  alone.

After a mere 15 minutes of messing around with my Front Total Toes (without displaying and knowing the front  individual left and right toes) AND without a test after,  KH considered job done when I questioned the old man how can this kind of workmanship rectify and correct my original problem/complaint of:

a)Steering wheel off  centre to the left whislt driving  straight ahead, and

b)Vehicle   pulls to the left whislt   driving straight ahead  with  both  hands  temporarily off the steering wheel. <- This is original settings, all new cars will swift to left side as this is one of the safety requirement if anything happen to the driver the car will go to the side of the road and not in-coming traffic on the right. Even if they align all straight, Malaysia road also will not be flat as it will got some angle/concave to allow the rain water out from the side of roads, thos who adjust straight for you just adjust your tires especially the left side toe in (usually after test drive adjust manually) and thus why the front left tires always wear the fastest if you did not rotate it much. Until today i only ask them to adjust as per factory defaults dont pandai pandai adjust the toe in. Every adjustment got pro & con.

Knowing this is a scam,  I ask how  long is  the warranty with a  view  of coming back for  warranty  redo.

The old man has unashamedly said NO WARRANTY!

As I  suspected, the problems  of steering off centre to the  left  AND vehicle pulling left is even worst than before driving  out from the  scam shop.
Edit:  No  Rolling Compensation was done before commencing wheel alignment. Another no no.
This post has been edited by littlefire: Jun 26 2024, 09:49 AM
scoupe
post Jun 26 2024, 10:52 AM

93 posts

my 2 cents on how to spot a good alignment shop. Before the car goes thru the alignment process, they check the tire pressure. Once on the alignment machine they do the compensation process, which involves the car rolling back and forth. Then ask if there is a preferred alignment set up that i use or follow factory spec (in the machine list)

From experience most alignment shops dont understand the relation between caster, toe and camber. they just adjust according to the screen turning green. Most will tell me my alignment set up will cause my tire to wear prematurely on the insides, which is partially true but this highly depends on driving style.

in most modern cars if u change components like the steering rack, after having the alignment done you will need to recalibrate the steering angle sensor. Most alignment shops wont have the tool for this, or even if they have the diagnostic tool that supports this function they wouldnt know how to use it.
scoupe
post Jun 26 2024, 10:56 AM

93 posts

if your sole goal is the that car goes straight then well any experienced alignment person will be able to do it, and they dont bother about the small details of tire pressure and machine compensation. Cause they will normally compensate the toe settings when they road test. the reason for this would to compensate for component wear on the car..
zeng
post Jun 26 2024, 11:13 AM

1,810 posts

Here, we're talking good sense.
Thank you, folk.
littlefire
post Jun 26 2024, 11:21 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(scoupe @ Jun 26 2024, 11:52 AM)
my 2 cents on how to spot a good alignment shop. Before the car goes thru the alignment process, they check the tire pressure. Once on the alignment machine they do the compensation process, which involves the car rolling back and forth. Then ask if there is a preferred alignment set up that i use or follow factory spec (in the machine list)

From experience most alignment shops dont understand the relation between caster, toe and camber. they just adjust according to the screen turning green. Most will tell me my alignment set up will cause my tire to wear prematurely on the insides, which is partially true but this highly depends on driving style.

in most modern cars if u change components like the steering rack, after having the alignment done you will need to recalibrate the steering angle sensor. Most alignment shops wont have the tool for this, or even if they have the diagnostic tool that supports this function they wouldnt know how to use it.
Tire wear really depends on different car, suspension type/settings. Example my dads BMW E90, original settings for RWD the rear tires already negative chamber thus why the rear tires always wear inner side first.
scoupe
post Jun 26 2024, 02:16 PM

93 posts

yes true, however the general consensus of negative camber causes higher wear on the inside is a lil wrong.. tire scrub due toe has alot more effect when compared with scrub due to camber. (quote=littlefire,Jun 26 2024, 11:21 AM]
Tire wear really depends on different car, suspension type/settings. Example my dads BMW E90, original settings for RWD the rear tires already negative chamber thus why the rear tires always wear inner side first.

[/quote]

romuluz777
post Jun 26 2024, 02:18 PM

2,204 posts

T-Align at Jalan PJS 7/17, Bandar Sunway, PJ.
4WD_er
post Jul 2 2024, 09:09 AM

571 posts

Most cars' original alignment specifications are already input to the computer system of Tyreshops, therefore I guess most shop can do a good alignment job.

Especially for newer Toyota / Perodua, their alignment specs are quite straight forward, most can do a good job.

For cars that convert from LHD to RHD, you may find the car pulls to one side, at times. That is due to the weight distribution was disrupted and hence not perfect alignment despite following 100% on specs.

In these cases, the owners response and feedback is very important. I always tell the tyreshop I go to toe out the right front, and toe in the front left for that, in order to achieve a neutral steering feel. Coz my Kia pulls to the left quite obviously. (or maybe not toe out or in, but positive camber on right and negative camber on left)

This post has been edited by 4WD_er: Jul 2 2024, 09:12 AM
babisotong
post Jul 2 2024, 12:26 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(THE CLASS OF 13 @ Mar 31 2024, 06:18 AM)
hussain traction anytime anyday haha
Sadly he doesn't do all car, some car only, for example i asked him alignment for Mazda Lantis and he said he doesn't know/not used to it and won't take the job.

last time i take my Proton Iriz there and the result is darn good. Price kind of cheap, he explained a lot of thingies.

0.0210sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:20 PM