5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

BMW F20 B38 118i, common problem

TSshyan90's
post Feb 8 2024, 11:00 AM, updated 2y ago

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,200 posts

Gonna pull trigger for 2016 118i.. upgrade from Myvi Gen 3.
118i Millage around 70k price around 70k
Any common issue beside B series engine common oil filter housing leaking and etc?

Please dont give comment like take 320 better and etc. I not demand so much power and this is my daily gear.

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Feb 8 2024, 11:00 AM
ktek
post Feb 8 2024, 11:43 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

leak waters here n there.
my house got b38 set
ktek
post Feb 8 2024, 11:46 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

B series不漏油, 可是漏水
friend punya conclusion
salad said
post Feb 8 2024, 11:52 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 8 2024, 11:43 AM)
leak waters here n there.
my house got b38 set
leak waters from air cond radiator?
ktek
post Feb 8 2024, 11:58 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(salad said @ Feb 8 2024, 11:52 AM)
leak waters from air cond radiator?
b38 aircond uses gas one. maybe urs support water
TSshyan90's
post Feb 8 2024, 12:05 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 8 2024, 11:46 AM)
B series不漏油, 可是漏水
friend punya conclusion
ya.. expected.. I will change to aloy filter housing if it leaks..Yours Mini or 318 or 118?

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Feb 8 2024, 12:06 PM
Mavik
post Feb 8 2024, 12:13 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 8 2024, 11:00 AM)
Gonna pull trigger for 2016 118i.. upgrade from Myvi Gen 3.
118i Millage around 70k price around 70k
Any common issue beside B series engine common oil filter housing leaking and etc?

Please dont give comment like take 320 better and etc. I not demand so much power and this is my daily gear.
If it is your daily driver, also be prepared to have backup transportation to get to work, etc..etc.. You can potentially get a number of sensor errors and a few other that pops up on your dash. Not too serious issues but just the sensor. Also make sure that you are able to budget enough money for major repairs and major service (100k km coming up soon).
ktek
post Feb 8 2024, 12:13 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

the 318 lci. fc jimat petrol
blindmutedeaf
post Feb 8 2024, 12:18 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 8 2024, 11:46 AM)
B series不漏油, 可是漏水
friend punya conclusion
i think this is all plastic issue.... toyota also kena
ktek
post Feb 8 2024, 12:24 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ Feb 8 2024, 12:18 PM)
i think this is all plastic issue.... toyota also kena
turbo is cast metal. forget steel or alu
leak pun
TSshyan90's
post Feb 8 2024, 06:46 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 8 2024, 12:13 PM)
If it is your daily driver, also be prepared to have backup transportation to get to work, etc..etc.. You can potentially get a number of sensor errors and a few other that pops up on your dash. Not too serious issues but just the sensor. Also make sure that you are able to budget enough money for major repairs and major service (100k km coming up soon).
yea. plan ahead d. Sensor wise still easy solve compare engine problem..

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Feb 8 2024, 06:47 PM
acbc
post Feb 8 2024, 06:58 PM

9,050 posts

Invest in a good OBD reader like Launch which can reveal more tech details.
TSshyan90's
post Feb 8 2024, 07:14 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Feb 8 2024, 06:58 PM)
Invest in a good OBD reader like Launch which can reveal more tech details.
Will do..now using bluetooth 1 so far still ok..but i doubt once i bought the car i need invest proper 1
acbc
post Feb 8 2024, 07:49 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 8 2024, 07:14 PM)
Will do..now using bluetooth 1 so far still ok..but i doubt once i bought the car i need invest proper 1
I bought one for my 3008. Always kept in the car. Whenever I come across another Peugeot, will try to help if needed.
Mavik
post Feb 8 2024, 10:47 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 8 2024, 07:14 PM)
Actually, you should also bring the car for a pre-purchase inspection first with your own trusted mechanic.
Jason
post Feb 8 2024, 11:58 PM

6,356 posts

Buying from car dealer? Bring the key to Auto Bavaria they can read the real mileage from the key.

Most cases the mileage been tampered if buying from car dealers. You want worry free change all the radiator hoses, those are known the crap out and leave you stranded.

If the ZF “lifetime” gearbox fluids has never been changed before. Then make sure you test the shifting kao kao before buying. And immediately change it and the ATF pan. Get original part from BMW stockist, get the bolts too. ATF fluid is cheap, gearbox not cheap. Change every 5 years regardless of mileage.

Good car. Only problem IMO not enough power, but for daily driving, highway cruising, the gearbox masks it quite well. My lady friend bought the F20, I got the F30. Nothing to complain about (except power).

Oh M Sport worth the money. Must have. Way better seats.
TSshyan90's
post Feb 9 2024, 12:42 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 8 2024, 10:47 PM)
Actually, you should also bring the car for a pre-purchase inspection first with your own trusted mechanic.
Yea..for sure..

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 8 2024, 11:58 PM)
Buying from car dealer? Bring the key to Auto Bavaria they can read the real mileage from the key.

Most cases the mileage been tampered if buying from car dealers. You want worry free change all the radiator hoses, those are known the crap out and leave you stranded.

If the ZF “lifetime” gearbox fluids has never been changed before. Then make sure you test the shifting kao kao before buying. And immediately change it and the ATF pan. Get original part from BMW stockist, get the bolts too. ATF fluid is cheap, gearbox not cheap. Change every 5 years regardless of mileage.

Good car. Only problem IMO not enough power, but for daily driving, highway cruising, the gearbox masks it quite well. My lady friend bought the F20, I got the F30. Nothing to complain about (except power).

Oh M Sport worth the money. Must have. Way better seats.
I might bought from Sime Darby...
I dunno how ZF comes out "lifetime" but i will do every 40k....as I done around 9k per year...40k / 4 years to change gearbox fluid should be decent enough..
How about differential oil? I never heard them change.. same with gearbox?

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Feb 9 2024, 12:45 AM
littlefire
post Feb 9 2024, 09:25 AM

2,736 posts

B38 most serious issue my mechanic encounter, turbo leak water coolant in it. Yes, they are water leak from the inner turbo and luckily during pressure leak test the exhaust downpipe were taken out and noticed the water dripping from it.

You got 3 options, either buy new turbo, service/fix turbo with China parts or buy half-cut.

The previous owner in the end choose half-cut
ktek
post Feb 9 2024, 09:57 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 9 2024, 09:25 AM)
B38 most serious issue my mechanic encounter, turbo leak water coolant in it. Yes, they are water leak from the inner turbo and luckily during pressure leak test the exhaust downpipe were taken out and noticed the water dripping from it.

You got 3 options, either buy new turbo, service/fix turbo with China parts or buy half-cut.

The previous owner in the end choose half-cut
#metoo luckily idrive appear notice warning coolant finish
half cut so it might happens again
Mavik
post Feb 9 2024, 04:14 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 9 2024, 12:42 AM)
Yea..for sure..
I might bought from Sime Darby...
I dunno how ZF comes out "lifetime" but i will do every 40k....as I done around 9k per year...40k / 4 years to change gearbox fluid should be decent enough..
How about differential oil? I never heard them change.. same with gearbox?
Differential oil uses a different oil compared to your gearbox. The viscosity for differential oil is thicker

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:56 AM