20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Malaysian millennials give up on home ownership

scorgio
post Jan 19 2024, 11:33 AM

4,694 posts

Just say Millenials are aiming for something above what they could afford.

Affordable housing around KV masih plenty. But these nak condo with lavish facilities, or nak landed with G&G.

soul78
post Jan 19 2024, 11:33 AM

935 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Jan 19 2024, 11:23 AM)
Boomers - I am not greedy I just want to pass down my 20 properties to next generation
Next generation aka millennials - Daddy akan kasi I rather spend my $$$ on Starbuck or Iphone or travel.
Boomers - Millennials are strawberry just want YOLO and tongkat  ranting.gif
Daddy kasi syndrome alrdy hitting Gen Y group liao lo...

ppl in their mid 30s also seeking daddikasi now for housing ...
james.6831
post Jan 19 2024, 11:34 AM

937 posts

ukur baju di badan sendiri... plenty of subsales out there, owners throwing price if you know where to look lol
zhou.xingxing
post Jan 19 2024, 11:38 AM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 19 2024, 11:32 AM)
so if i use the 800 to buy thing thing (800 is AFTER INCOME TAX),
then buy thing kena SST (tax again).

pass the thing to my son (kena inheritance tax) AGAIN..

so total 3 tax kena  laugh.gif
not so correct calculation in terms of impact....

is u pay tax and pay house for 35 years.. for 1m... after you ko.. the house is worth 2m...

your son, to inherit that house... needs to pay 5% inheritance tax... in cash.... 5% of 2m.. fuh..
TSHikayatSalju
post Jan 19 2024, 11:39 AM

773 posts

Capital gains tax.
SUSM4A1
post Jan 19 2024, 11:40 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Jan 19 2024, 11:38 AM)

is u pay tax and pay house for 35 years.. for 1m... after you ko.. the house is worth 2m...

your son, to inherit that house... needs to pay 5% inheritance tax... in cash.... 5% of 2m.. fuh..
u mention house kena inheritance tax

i cakap CASH la bro
cash inherit not kena for inheritance tax?
marfccy
post Jan 19 2024, 11:43 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Jan 19 2024, 11:25 AM)
people don't understand you're not meant to be able to buy a house right after starting work

and to afford a house you need to sacrifice
i think youre missing the point

its more on how even they with decades of work also can barely afford a house

house price goes up faster than salary can be

gamehype
post Jan 19 2024, 11:45 AM

The other solution is a hard limit on residential property owner.
McDullDull
post Jan 19 2024, 11:45 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 19 2024, 11:18 AM)
ur hardwork sudah kena INCOME TAX

so ur saving from ur hardwork kena tax lagi?  laugh.gif
Takpe la... can pay tax means can make living... syukur dah...
Most of the 1st world country also got Inheritance Tax and GST kan.
Yg mampu... buat je lah
wertty
post Jan 19 2024, 11:46 AM

154 posts

no need do so much research and tok kok nonsense

10 years back mcd salary 1.2-1.5k

today you go and see the same position also 1.2-1.5k salary

wages stagnated and income gap widening
TSHikayatSalju
post Jan 19 2024, 11:49 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 19 2024, 11:43 AM)

Problem is not house price increase but salary stagnant. House price inflation is reasonable compared to overall price inflation of other goods.
SUSM4A1
post Jan 19 2024, 11:49 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(gamehype @ Jan 19 2024, 11:45 AM)
The other solution is a hard limit on residential property owner.
if u limit = property will crash , meaning existing will not sell

new property will not launch cause they know price is cheap. no ppl want build
and demand is low. cause now got limit. meaning rich dont buy , poor cant buy also

so how??
SUSM4A1
post Jan 19 2024, 11:50 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(McDullDull @ Jan 19 2024, 11:45 AM)
Takpe la... can pay tax means can make living... syukur dah...
Most of the 1st world country also got Inheritance Tax and GST kan.
Yg mampu... buat je lah
dunno????
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 11:54 AM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 19 2024, 11:43 AM)

Isn’t entry home ownership is now at 250k-350k range ie the like of RUMAWIP, SAMM series?

I don't see why, if one have their priorities and expectation set right can be detered from their purchase

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 19 2024, 12:10 PM
marfccy
post Jan 19 2024, 11:55 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(HikayatSalju @ Jan 19 2024, 11:49 AM)
Problem is not house price increase but salary stagnant. House price inflation is reasonable compared to overall price inflation of other goods.
i dont think so le, nowadays most modern condos are already like at least 700k if mau those 1k sf kind + decent location

studio still workable but you need at least 400-500k even unless rumahwip kind

for an avg joe assuming earn 4-5k its too damn tight ed unless sacri lifestyle
lopo90
post Jan 19 2024, 11:55 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 19 2024, 10:07 AM)
You limit how many properties a person can have, will automatically fix the problem.

Baby boomers owning too much properties.
Unlikely because it'll affect the ruling government's vote count in the upcoming GE

Boldnut
post Jan 19 2024, 11:56 AM

2,209 posts

correct people who suggest this probably never own a house b4, they are just some poor kid jealous people got house from FAMA.

imaging this

you got 3 kids, you buy 3 landed houses at cheap cheap 200K per unit 35yrs ago. Finally you die early now 6 feet under, you somehow manage to work your ass hard enough to fully paid all 3 houses. At least you thought your kids dont have to worry about house, thats was the plan.... but...if got new inheritance tax.

Your kids fresh grat baru keluar kerja, house is 2m. 5% means need to come up RM100k cash to inherit the house they are currently staying. fuuh

all 3 of them have to sell the house they are staying, then downgrade to smaller house. rclxub.gif

annoymous1234

7,617 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jan 19 2024, 11:33 AM)
Daddy kasi syndrome alrdy hitting Gen Y group liao lo...

ppl in their mid 30s also seeking daddikasi now for housing ...
Sad case. But don't be surprise we have to help our kids also for downpayment in the future.
McDullDull

30 posts

by that time... u dah mampos so cannot feel anything dah...
your kids... gets free money... getting free 2mil or free 1.9mil... still free what... better teach them be thanful and syukur dah la.
marfccy
post Jan 19 2024, 11:57 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jan 19 2024, 11:54 AM)
Isn’t entry home ownership is now at 250k-350k range ie the like of RUMAWIP, SAMM series?
yes correct, however those are now beginning to become studio units <500sf kind

so its a good makeshift home for 2 but one will def need more space when starting up family. the inescapable cycle

20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:27 AM