Malaysian millennials give up on home ownership

jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 10:51 AM

1,922 posts

In short, that's the lifestyle. No wrong.

1)car
2)credit card
3)rent, why buy
4)travel
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 11:22 AM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Mixo Mania @ Jan 19 2024, 11:19 AM)
When boomers hog all the properties in hope of making a profit, what they’re essentially doing is taking money from the future generations. They believe future generation will die die need a property.

Now millennials don’t want to subject their children to the same fate as them, thus refuse to raise a family and the next generations which suppose to support the boomer property price.
Kecian
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 11:54 AM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 19 2024, 11:43 AM)
i think youre missing the point

its more on how even they with decades of work also can barely afford a house

house price goes up faster than salary can be
Isn’t entry home ownership is now at 250k-350k range ie the like of RUMAWIP, SAMM series?

I don't see why, if one have their priorities and expectation set right can be detered from their purchase

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 19 2024, 12:10 PM
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 12:00 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 19 2024, 11:57 AM)
yes correct, however those are now beginning to become studio units <500sf kind

so its a good makeshift home for 2 but one will def need more space when starting up family. the inescapable cycle
No leh, i see most rumahwip/ samm are 700-800 sqft, definately not <500.

<500 are mostly private (free market) studio units. These are purpose build studio living and not the affordable series.

As i said in my edited post, priority and expectation must be right, to begin with.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 19 2024, 12:02 PM
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 12:07 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 19 2024, 11:55 AM)
i dont think so le, nowadays most modern condos are already like at least 700k if mau those 1k sf kind + decent location

studio still workable but you need at least 400-500k even unless rumahwip kind

for an avg joe assuming earn 4-5k its too damn tight ed unless sacri lifestyle
I think you are skirting around the issue. Rumahwip and Samm with comfortable 700-800 ft2 are there but you die die say free market studio <500 ft2 too small too expensive, those larger enough for you beyond reach.

Why not rumahwip and Samm?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 19 2024, 12:09 PM
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 12:17 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Jan 19 2024, 12:00 PM)
That's why now a lot of developers are making cheap condo/apartments

My side here in PJ, suddenly got so many new condos.

Government : Too many houses that are overpriced?? No problem! We'll just approve permit for more affordable condos!

In the end, those landed houses will remain stagnant or drop in value because all the millenials will go for high rise instead
Your last para. In contrary, this will in turn make existing landed houses a gem.
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 12:41 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Jan 19 2024, 10:14 AM)
Gaji 4k car 800. Genius.

Meanwhile aku my motor 4k sekali bayar and my house 800+ je monthly.
This. Exactly what i meant by setting the priority right.
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 08:28 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jan 19 2024, 10:19 AM)
Should impose heavy tax for people that own multiple properties.
Isn't the current national affordable housing policy good enough?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 19 2024, 11:02 PM
jojolicia
post Jan 19 2024, 11:11 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 19 2024, 09:25 PM)
I said, "limit how many properties a person", it is PLURAL, and A person, means if spouse, each can have properties under their own name or under children name.

Ofc it will not be done spontaneous, it will be done gradually, by few decades if need to, but need to stop them from acquiring any future development project that cost under 1 million, perhaps?
I don't really understand. Why is there a need to restrict those who can afford for others inadequacy?

There are so many segments (price range) of property class. Isn't the national affordable housing policy (already with restriction) in place not good enough?

Or you want something better than that ie now 700k prop but you cannot afford it and you blame those who can for propping the price high. To you, because these ppl are buying thus making the price not coming down to your affordability? To the extend you call hoarding

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 19 2024, 11:40 PM
jojolicia
post Jan 20 2024, 10:24 AM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Jan 20 2024, 08:00 AM)
I lol at this statement. I move to KL at 19. I never own a car until marriage at 34. Heck lesen kereta pun xde. Even today I don’t have a car, guna kereta bini at times. But for my day to day I guna either motor or public transport.

I only get lesen because I don’t feel safe with my wife driving as she has intense fear of insect.

In fact I would argue duduk KL la the best way to survive without a car as the public transport is significantly better than the other states in the country.
👍
Again (i have read a few of your posts here), this is priority settings and sacrifices made to fruition.

Realisations, sendiri and own family jugak yang dapat, not anyone else.

You are the man

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 20 2024, 10:27 AM
jojolicia
post Jan 20 2024, 10:31 AM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Jan 20 2024, 08:51 AM)
Not cannot.

Cina budak want ride motor but cina parents not allow.
Because bilangan kita sudah kekurangan. Tiada gantian barisan simpanan 😅😅

Cina only play ping pong and not football

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 20 2024, 10:32 AM
jojolicia
post Jan 20 2024, 11:17 AM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 20 2024, 11:05 AM)
Cina only buy new cars. 2nd hand cars no face
I think more towards mind-fcuk -free dealing with pomen, workshop parang etc.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 20 2024, 08:15 PM
jojolicia
post Jan 20 2024, 09:21 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jan 20 2024, 08:13 PM)
Yup

I bought for my 2 kids already, they are 2 & 4 yrs old
👍

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 20 2024, 09:54 PM

0.0158sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:36 AM