How to deal with medical insurance repricing?

TScontestchris
post Jan 10 2024, 04:09 PM, updated 2y ago

5,559 posts

For the second time in 3 years, I’ve received a letter on the increase in cost of insurance for my ILP’s medical plan. The quantum of increase is rather steep at 35%! This has resulted in increases to my monthly premium.

From what I gather, this will likely continue happening every 3 years or so. The future quantum of increase might well be higher than 35% as the good risks depart the medical plan and the bad risks (with substandard health resulting in high claims) remain.

What’s the best way to deal with this issue? It seems like the sustainability projections at the start of the policy are a joke and wholly useless as in just a few short years, there have been multiple repricing exercises and the premiums have been increasing.

1. Launch insurance charges for SmartMedic Xtra in 2014:

2. After 1st repricing in June 2020:

3. After 2nd repricing in July 2023:

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 15 2024, 06:42 PM
TScontestchris
post Jan 10 2024, 08:34 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Jan 10 2024, 07:59 PM)
interesting...touch wood my ilp havent kena increase yet under aia lol if kena, i'll prob just cancel...enough of the ilp rubbish...
How many years? I got this in 2016, then repricing in 2021, another in 2024.
TScontestchris
post Jan 10 2024, 10:35 PM

5,559 posts

This succinctly captures the vicious cycle! It's a death spiral I'm sure!
TScontestchris
post Jan 11 2024, 10:40 AM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Jan 11 2024, 10:34 AM)
Out of curiosity on all these cost of insurance increase, do you all check your annual statement to compare the cost of insurance increase?... Not refering the premium paid but actual cost of insurance deducted after your paid premium is converted to funds unit.

My overall cost have creep up slowly over years but did not recall a dramatic jump but expecting a big one when hit 60...
Cost of insurance deducted will increase every year simply due to age. That's different from medical repricing where there's a one off bump across the board for everyone.
TScontestchris
post Jan 13 2024, 04:14 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jan 13 2024, 03:55 PM)
You are one of the few alert insurance policy buyers. Some ktards insist on buying standalone 'because' they assumed it has lower commissions and ILP are scams, they have not seen the commission rates in the proposal/quotation.
If you look at the insurance charge rates for life, CI, medical card for ILPs....they are all SIGNIFICANTLY lower than the equivalent standalone traditional plans.

The catch is:

1. Frontloaded commissions and expenses in the form of lowered allocation rate (used to be first 6 years, now its the first 9 years but at a lower quantum). If you cancel early on, the company and agents make bank.
2. Your bear the investment risk
3. You pay around 1% to 1.5% of your gross investment returns as management fees to the company
4. In the event the policy is not sustainable, your top up premiums will only get 95% allocation
5. In the event you upgrade your riders, the differential increase in premiums will be resubjected to the Y1 allocation rates
6. RM6 policy fees to insurance company every month

Others can chip in.

For proof, you can compare the insurance charges for SmartMedic Shield (ILP) with GreatMedic Shield (standalone).

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 13 2024, 04:17 PM
TScontestchris
post Jan 13 2024, 04:41 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 13 2024, 04:29 PM)
Commission more or less the same (based off the commission table). Both commission table didn't break down how much goes to company and how much goes to themselves.
Long run probably ILP is less, short run obviously standalone is less
TScontestchris
post Jan 15 2024, 06:41 PM

5,559 posts

Guys, I'm including the insurance charge tables for SmartMedic Extra so you can see for yourself the quantum of increases.

1. Launch in 2014

2. 1st repricing in June 2020

3. 2nd repricing in July 2023

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 15 2024, 06:42 PM
TScontestchris
post Jan 15 2024, 11:56 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jan 15 2024, 11:49 PM)
Everything want to increase.
Please share more details. What's your medical card? How much is the quantum of increase?
TScontestchris
post Jan 19 2024, 11:27 AM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(qhw @ Jan 19 2024, 11:21 AM)
May i know if there are avenues to voice out my anger on this steep premium increase of 56% from GE !!!????
any specific BNM email ?

It seems to me that this business is a sure win, any mispricing then they pass on via premium increase, and if over-price they sit happy with the bumper profit, this makes no sense....
First question, what is your medical card? You can check in the attachment on that page.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 19 2024, 11:27 AM
TScontestchris
post Jan 19 2024, 12:00 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(qhw @ Jan 19 2024, 11:41 AM)
Hi, i see my plan has Smart Medic, Smart Medic 99, Smart early payout critical care, Critical illness benefit rider, IL Waiver of premium plus rider.

Based on the breakdown of my premium paid statement, about 80% of the premium is related to medical.

I am just wondering how come the increase can be so ridiculous, 56% is no joke at all....
From what I know, the quantum of increase for SmartMedic is 50% this time. In comparison, the quantum of increase for SmartMedic Xtra (which was launched after SmartMedic) is around 30%.

As to why the discrepancy, refer to the diagram in my first post. Your plan is older, hence it has more "bad risk". The average age would also be higher since it had closed to business earlier, and the healthier ones would've moved on to the newer (i.e. cheaper) plans.

Generally, if you are healthy and have nothing wrong with your health, you should move to the newest plan, SmartMedic Shield. The medical plan's cost of insurance will be significantly lower and the benefits will be significantly better. Plus, with a deductible of RM300, the expectation is medical claims experience will be somewhat better contained.

Can you share the quantum of increase from the PDF? At the bottom, they also share the % value in increase.

TScontestchris
post Jan 19 2024, 12:03 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 19 2024, 11:46 AM)
Could be just could due to coinside or combination of medical inflation rise PLUS your age moved your premium to pay bracket to a more costlier rate.
( check you policy for the table to see if your age had "upgraded" to a next age grouping?)
Age moving to costlier bracket is completely priced into the cost of insurance at inception.

Medical inflation is also somewhat priced in.

What is not priced in adequately at the point of purchase, is the loss of good risks and a higher proportion of bad risks within the pool.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 19 2024, 12:04 PM
TScontestchris
post Jan 19 2024, 03:25 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(qhw @ Jan 19 2024, 03:08 PM)
i see 50% increase at the bottom of the appendix table.

Unfortunately, i have gastric problem and GE declined to cover that if i purchase a new plan, so i have to stick to this old and bad plan. I can only use company insurance for the time being to save personal medical plan for future.
How many repricing have you experienced? Any chance you can share the latest repriced rates table?

In any case, if you have pre-existing, you have 2 options:

1) Play it safe and maintain existing cover. Will be more expensive (and exponentially so as you get older as more and more repricings are done), but you will have certainty of cover.
2) Upgrade the medical plan with clearly disclosing your pre-existing. At this point, pre-existing illnesses will not be covered but at least your premiums will be lower.

Under no circumstance should you upgrade your plan or buy a new plan without disclosing your pre-existing conditions, that's going to be a tough lesson to learn when they terminate your policy due to non-disclosure.
TScontestchris
post Jan 19 2024, 04:11 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(qhw @ Jan 19 2024, 03:47 PM)
Hi Chris, thanks so much for the suggestion. Any ballpark figure like how much lower the premium will be for like-for-like medical coverage?

please find below the revised table from the GE document
I believe these are the launch rates for SmartMedic:

Basically, for age band 36-40 for a Male for SM200 plan, the charges have increased from RM574 at inception to RM1,292 (after 2 repricing exercises). A 2.25x increase! Each repricing exercise has seen an increase of 50%.

Meanwhile, SmartMedic Xtra (SMX) has also seen 2 repricings. However, the quantum in % terms has been lower, increasing at 20% in 2020 and 30% in 2023.

Currently, for M36-40 on SM200, the insurance charge is RM1,292 while for M36-40 on SMX200 the insurance charge is RM1,139.

On the surface level, this doesn't make much sense as SMX is a superior product to SM. But when you consider the "health" of the insurance pool, then you start understanding why SM is more expensive than SMX despite offering inferior benefits.

TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2024, 04:37 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Jan 25 2024, 04:27 PM)
They need to introduction NCD like cars.  Too many abuse the plan.
Manulife already have a NCD based medical plan.
TScontestchris
post Jan 29 2024, 12:40 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jan 29 2024, 09:18 AM)
This should be the case. Why people who didn't make any claim get slapped with higher premium? The re-pricing should be levied on those who frequently claim and slightly adjust for medical inflation, where required. At the moment, medical insurance looks and feels more like collective punishment, you get hit with someone's bill and than you get slapped with medical inflation.
Hmmm, but that's how insurance works!

I believe one avenue that can be improved is doing more stringent medical underwriting. Too many frauds are getting medical cover without appropriate loadings and exclusion. Agents collude with customers to obfuscate this information.
TScontestchris
post Jan 30 2024, 08:39 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(Midoriyaki @ Jan 30 2024, 08:24 PM)
these were the actual insurance charges extracted from the AIA's portal, extracted since the inception of the policy, around end Nov 2018.. not sure if the information is available for other insurance providers though. the increase some time in November 2023 shown in the chart, is when the provider called, send letter, and notifications in app to request for an increase in premium payment (these was discussed briefly in the forum if i remember correctly! tongue.gif)

Could not comment further on the applicability of the chart for age group/ profession etc sorry! because i only have one data points here smile.gif
Look, all those increases due to age...those have been fully factored in at the point of purchase. The insurance company has to suggest a premium that is sustainable till the end of your coverage period.

The increase in insurance charge due to medical repricing, sadly this is not factored into the premium. There might be some buffer priced in, but not enough to withstand a significant repricing.
TScontestchris
post Feb 1 2024, 01:05 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 1 2024, 12:25 PM)
what will happen if you continue with old premium?

the coverage will reduce?
All other things equal, coverage will lapse before the contractual term.
TScontestchris
post Feb 1 2024, 02:26 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 1 2024, 02:25 PM)
will the insurance co update you on the matter?
Yes they send a Sustainability letter to you every year.
TScontestchris
post Feb 1 2024, 02:31 PM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 1 2024, 02:30 PM)
can I later pay the difference then insurance co will restore back the coverage term?
Of course, you can do single premium top up in the future, just make sure your policy doesn't lapse in the mean time
TScontestchris
post Feb 2 2024, 06:43 AM

5,559 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Feb 2 2024, 02:27 AM)
I am about to buy Aia ILP medical insurance since after surveying, it looks like it has the least premium increase among the big insurance company in M'sia though our sampling is rather small.
Also, GE has offered us double the insure amount albeit a little higher premium compare to Aia, but I heard bad things about Ge claims
Please don't buy because of that. AIAs repricing might just behind the corner

0.0334sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:35 PM