6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

almera turbo or S70?

_Zephyre_
post Jan 10 2024, 02:01 PM

Serial Lurker
331 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jan 10 2024, 12:11 PM)
thanks . how is the service and after sales?

would you recommend this car to others?
A bit too early to tell in terms of service and aftersales stuff. I'd say it's pretty average.

As far as recommending it goes, it really depends on what you're looking for in a car. The Japanese B-segment isn't particularly differentiated, but the Almera definitely stands out from the back by virtue of packing a tiny engine with forced induction instead of the usual normally aspirated 1.5L ones - and it definitely has a lot more character. Of course there are some things the usual competitors do better, e.g., interior space and packaging in the City, the overall value proposition of the S70, etc.
tkyong1
post Jan 10 2024, 02:08 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jan 9 2024, 07:51 AM)
which one would you choose and why ?

almera kuro edition  looks damn nice  brows.gif

but 1.0 turbo vs 1.5 turbo.. hmm..
Hi bro,

This is a very simple question to answer:

NISSAN TC
TC is trying very hard to not to sell Nissan car, as i did not see any effort for them to sell.
To me, TC management is doing all they can to abandoning Nissan lol.

PROTON
Proton new management is trying very hard to sell and upscale their car, pushing more and more model that come with more and more new modern features.
To me, Proton management is doing all they can to reviving Proton lol.

Now, ask yourself, which one will you buy ??
lordgamer3
post Jan 11 2024, 11:54 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jan 10 2024, 12:11 PM)
thanks . how is the service and after sales?

would you recommend this car to others?
I personally used N16 Sentra before ETCM then was good for warranty, then moved to Preve had horrible aftersales then now driving N18 quite happy for most part as ride is comfy , quiet and smooth.

Btw N18 engine boring process is similar to GTR as they use diamond and inject iron mould to sleeve so I feel is nice personally.

This post has been edited by lordgamer3: Jan 11 2024, 11:58 AM
DS51
post Jan 11 2024, 02:10 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jan 9 2024, 07:51 AM)
which one would you choose and why ?

almera kuro edition  looks damn nice  brows.gif

but 1.0 turbo vs 1.5 turbo.. hmm..
100ps vs 150ps yo. no brainer selection liao. anyone with sane mind already know which one to pick.

power got huge difference yo.
babisotong
post Jan 11 2024, 02:15 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Jan 11 2024, 02:10 PM)
100ps vs 150ps yo. no brainer selection liao. anyone with sane mind already know which one to pick.

power got huge difference yo.
not everyone is looking for power yo. some people just wanna comfort and peace of mind.
BL98
post Jan 11 2024, 02:21 PM

743 posts

S70 has ADAS while Almera does not
General_Nic
post Jan 11 2024, 02:41 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

rear drum brakes Vs 4 disc brakes

though it's 1.1 tonnes vs 1.3 tonnes
yhcyber
post Jan 11 2024, 03:03 PM

482 posts

Actually it's depend on the usage priority
> Looks
> Fuel Consumption
> Maintenance for next 10 years (forecast longer, better than sorry)
> Cabin comfort, as you spend over hundred of hours inside over the periods
> Usage, try to propose highway / city drive, the easiest way is take the total travelled mileage, then split into both / total mileage per fuel, average will do
> Capacity, I believe it's not that huge differences between 2

Both cars are not hard to maintain as S70 parts and workshops will be available over the time like X70 case.

Brand experience, me personally not favor ETCM as a ex Grand Livina owner, but its indeed a good car. No complaint on the build except lower arm lembek thus easy to break.

It's better to have a test drive on both in the same day so that you can compare on the spot. Myself even test drive more than 1 unit for the same model to ensure the driving experience is match with each others.
DS51
post Jan 11 2024, 03:46 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Jan 11 2024, 02:15 PM)
not everyone is looking for power yo. some people just wanna comfort and peace of mind.
agree yo, not everyone want power. some will prioritize fuel consumption. almera will definitely more fuel efficient.

and comfort is subjective. while peace of mind, fuh, tan chong, better think twice. really nightmare see them handle old nissan model.
rumahwip
post Jan 11 2024, 05:19 PM

1,102 posts

s70
touristking
post Jan 11 2024, 07:56 PM

5,831 posts

Read there are problem with the 1.0 Viarable Compression turbo engine.

babisotong
post Jan 12 2024, 11:06 AM

654 posts

HR10DET surprisingly got good reputation as a good engine.
littlefire
post Jan 12 2024, 06:20 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 11 2024, 08:56 PM)
Read there are problem with the 1.0 Viarable Compression turbo engine.
That is other type of engine, not the one Almera is using.
This engine usually use on Infinity models, Nissan X-Trail & Qashqai and knew as KR engine.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_KR_engine
littlefire
post Jan 12 2024, 06:28 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Jan 11 2024, 04:03 PM)
Actually it's depend on the usage priority
> Looks
> Fuel Consumption
> Maintenance for next 10 years (forecast longer, better than sorry)
> Cabin comfort, as you spend over hundred of hours inside over the periods
> Usage, try to propose highway / city drive, the easiest way is take the total travelled mileage, then split into both / total mileage per fuel, average will do
> Capacity, I believe it's not that huge differences between 2

Both cars are not hard to maintain as S70 parts and workshops will be available over the time like X70 case.

Brand experience, me personally not favor ETCM as a ex Grand Livina owner, but its indeed a good car. No complaint on the build except lower arm lembek thus easy to break.

It's better to have a test drive on both in the same day so that you can compare on the spot. Myself even test drive more than 1 unit for the same model to ensure the driving experience is match with each others.
No matter how hard Proton sell their car spare parts, it will still come down to 1 - China parts & lack of aftermarket support. (This also apply to other China manufacturer also)

Japanese cars will always an advantage in our market, more aftermarket parts from half-cut, tuner mod shop, new original, OEM & ciplak parts from Thailand/China/Japan.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jan 12 2024, 06:29 PM
littlefire
post Jan 13 2024, 01:43 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Jan 11 2024, 03:21 PM)
S70 has ADAS while Almera does not
laugh.gif BTW, Almera got the most standard (all variants) safety features in same B-Segment.
It is knew as NISSAN INTELLIGENT MOBILITY for equivalent tech.

https://nissan.com.my/allnewnissanalmera/ni...igent-mobility/

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jan 13 2024, 01:44 PM
SportyHandling
post Jan 13 2024, 10:17 PM

623 posts

Usually I won't bother about the Almera because of the ugly looks. However, this evening when driving on the roads going out for dinner with the family, I saw a vehicle from a distance which looked rather elegant but didn't manage to see the badge. As I drove closer I noticed it's an Almera but a different looking one. It looks unique and one of a kind, all grey or black and the rims are also in black. For once I thought this version of the Almera looks nice, elegant and special.

When I went to the Nissan website later, I realised there's now a Kuro version of the Almera with a RM8k add on which will turn everything to black front grille cladding, black 16" alloy rims, black boot lid spoiler and Tomei aero kit.

If I were to pick between the Proton S70 and regular Nissan Almera, it would be the S70 because my main priority has always been the exterior looks, first and foremost. Although a vehicle may have impressive performance on paper, if it looks ugly I won't bother looking at it. With the new Almera black edition, my preference is now this Almera Kuro mainly for looks, apart from the reliability, comfort, quietness (good nvh) and performance. Based on my 5 year experience with Nissan Sylphy I can vouch for the reliability and performance with zero issues throughout the ownership until I sold the car.

Of course if people look at acceleration power, handling and value for money (cheapest 1.5 turbo with close to C segment size) then maybe the S70 will be a better choice but for people who look for other things such as refinement in the drive, nvh or smooth transmission and proven little to zero reliability issues, the Almera is a better choice although it's ugly in my book(there will be others who find it beautiful so to each his own). To me the new improved looks of the Almera Kuro black edition wins it as I don't look at power too much these days. When I owned the Proton Preve Turbo, it's also powerful with good handling but the refinement is poor with some serious rattling sound inside the cabin after 2 years with loud and unrefined engine sound during acceleration with lag. The gearbox broke after 2+ years and luckily was replaced during warranty period. Some other parts broke too and was replaced either under warranty or out of warranty. With the Nissan Sylphy, nothing breaks after more than 5 years, with almost zero rattling sound although the noise got a bit more after 4 years.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jan 13 2024, 10:24 PM
ayamxxx
post Jan 14 2024, 10:19 AM

4,066 posts

After sales warranty under TCM? How was it nowadays?

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 14 2024, 04:31 PM
ryder_78
post Jan 14 2024, 02:20 PM

2,073 posts

I've watched some YouTube videos of the Almera 1.0 Turbo. The stop speed of the vehicle is 190km/h, accelerating up to 170km/h with ease and comments that cruising at 140km/h feels like 110km/h. In this sense I believe it's more than sufficient for highway drive instead of city drive.

The new Kuro all-black surely adds more elegance to the Almera, and to me it looks more beautiful than the S70. In terms of reliability the S70 is yet to be proven but my pick is surely the Nissan being more reliable.

As for the more powerful engine of the Proton, I recall watching a video on YouTube of the reviewer saying "nak laju-laju sangat pergi mana". The Almera also kill 2 birds with one stone having low fuel consumption and also decent power with the 1.0 Turbo engine. I would expect the fuel consumption of the S70 to be higher although it may accelerate quicker and hit a top speed of 200 or 230km/h. Reliability and cost of maintenance also remain a question mark.
yhcyber
post Jan 15 2024, 08:49 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 12 2024, 06:28 PM)
No matter how hard Proton sell their car spare parts, it will still come down to 1 - China parts & lack of aftermarket support. (This also apply to other China manufacturer also)

Japanese cars will always an advantage in our market, more aftermarket parts from half-cut, tuner mod shop, new original, OEM & ciplak parts from Thailand/China/Japan.
The advantages of establishment over few decades vs a relatively new (less than 10yo Proton "China") biggrin.gif

Like I said, parts and aftermarkets stuffs will be available over the time, it is not an overnight story, to me it's good enough that the manufacturer vowed to solve parts issue, regardless what happens to the original country, it's depend on consumer want to bite it or not.

Hope that the TS can made up his mind and get a suitable ride for himself rclxm9.gif
ayamxxx
post Jan 15 2024, 09:35 AM

4,066 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Jan 15 2024, 08:49 AM)
The advantages of establishment over few decades vs a relatively new (less than 10yo Proton "China")  biggrin.gif

Like I said, parts and aftermarkets stuffs will be available over the time, it is not an overnight story, to me it's good enough that the manufacturer vowed to solve parts issue, regardless what happens to the original country, it's depend on consumer want to bite it or not.

Hope that the TS can made up his mind and get a suitable ride for himself  rclxm9.gif
The after sales and parts story will be the headline for them until 2030. The reality only during MCO/Covid time the parts lacking issues. But again its Proton, they emphasize more. All other brand affected during mco

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0275sec    1.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:41 AM