13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Water heater suddenly no hot water..., Press reset button then ok

TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 12:29 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 29 2024, 11:03 AM)
TS been trying to kill himself for months and haven't succeeded? Lol

I think most people correctly pointed out that these piping are meant to be used with storage water heater. TS pulak installed instant water heater. And do you always turn on the inlet valve before use and turn it OFF after use?

The white big rotating one is inlet valve?
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 12:37 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 29 2024, 10:50 AM)
I think average users don't want to know these.... reality is a bit sad
see the photo, oredi warning there... chrome pipe or faucet should not be used
electric, water, metal should not mix, and the recipe is complete here
just lucky the ELCB is tripped, else later found out "elcb is bypassed because always trip since the plumbing technician say is ok"
The technician last time told me his main job is to install lighting, not to work on water heaters. Maybe he also doesn't understand how water heaters work..

So the homeowner wants to save money...

Last time he told me not to use the maximum water volume; he said this would spoil the water heater.

But the water is still cold, and even after 5 minutes, no hot water comes out.

So I use maximum water volume.
This will cause leaking?

Do you think what he told me is true?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 29 2024, 12:38 PM
alexei
post May 29 2024, 12:53 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

wait... the heater is connected to the hot water supply of the whole unit?
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 01:01 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 29 2024, 12:53 PM)

I am not sure what you are asking.This is instant water heater but not boiler type.

Here is what I know:

The water heater that is leaking is inside the bathroom near the living room area.

There is also a bathroom in the master bedroom.

There should be one more water heater inside, but I am not sure because I have never entered the room before.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask me.

Thanks for your reply.
asphiroth
post May 29 2024, 01:04 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 29 2024, 11:52 AM)
Do your house use 2 metal pipe also?
plastic inlet

outlet terus shower hose
zuozi
post May 29 2024, 01:14 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 29 2024, 12:53 PM)
For my guess the red and blue is exiting piping, homeowners probably remove the existing boiler and install this new instant heater

If you see the diagram probably cold via instant heater and exit old hot piping shower head

ts should save all the hassle only use the incoming blue piping and only use the stock shower head+flexible hose given by the instant water heater

Since the exiting piping is conceal under the wall if the wall is cold and is long also the wall also good at absorb heat i guess by the time reaching at the end the water ia already cold

Selene Yeo
post May 29 2024, 01:32 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 29 2024, 12:37 PM)
The technician last time told me his main job is to install lighting, not to work on water heaters. Maybe he also doesn't understand how water heaters work..

So the homeowner wants to save money...

Last time he told me not to use the maximum water volume; he said this would spoil the water heater.

But the water is still cold, and even after 5 minutes, no hot water comes out.

So I use maximum water volume.
This will cause leaking?
Do you think what he told me is true?
Shower output water temperature is resulted by:

1. Water heater's power rating | The higher the power rating, the hotter the output water temperature. Yours is 3.3kW 230V, possibly one of the lowest power rating in the market, hence output water temperature is only so-so.

2. Water flow rate | The faster the water flow, the lower the output water temperature (less contact time between incoming water and the heating element). So if you increase your water flow, u will get lower output water temperature, not the other way around.

3. Distance between water heater and output | The longer the distance the water heater's output water has to travel before reaching users, the more heat loss, hence the lower the output water temperature. Such low power rating 3.3kW water heater should be using their provided plastic hose and handset, not connect back into the wall (this will cause a lot of heat loss).

4. Hose material from water heater to output | The more heat conductive the material, the more heat loss, the lower the output water temperature. U are using metal, which is highly heat conductive, hence more heat loss, as compared to using the plastic hose provided with the water heater.

5. Incoming water temperature | The lower in the incoming water temperature, the lower the output water temperature.

Conclusion, if you want to use the water heater with this current piping setting, u need to get an instant water heater with higher power rating, and make sure it is using copper tank since (I am guessing) your water pressure is extremely high.

Aurora Boreali
post May 29 2024, 01:38 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 29 2024, 12:29 PM)

Yes. Or you could have turned off BOTH of these in your photo here when not in use
Momo33
post May 29 2024, 01:45 PM

1,448 posts

so where is the water leak from .

from pix i guess the steel pipe /black connect at the outlet ??

maybe need more tape at the joint/

kembayang
post May 29 2024, 01:50 PM

1,441 posts

Surprise TS still alive.
Change to Panasonic, use all non-metal pipes
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 01:54 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ May 29 2024, 01:50 PM)
Surprise TS still alive.
Change to Panasonic, use all non-metal pipes
May I know why metal pipe is not suitable for water heaters?
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 01:55 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ May 29 2024, 01:45 PM)
so where is the water leak from .

from pix  i guess the steel pipe  /black connect  at the outlet ??

maybe need more tape at the joint/
Internal water tank inside water heater is burst.

The cover

Water pressure too high
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 01:56 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 29 2024, 01:38 PM)
Yes. Or you could have turned off BOTH of these in your photo here when not in use
Why must turn off everytime ?
Roadwarrior1337
post May 29 2024, 01:56 PM

979 posts

You got some balls
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 01:58 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ May 29 2024, 01:56 PM)
You got some balls
The plumber technician is quite bold. He just does things haphazardly without following proper SOP. It's not me.

Actually, I'm not sure if he knows how to change or install a water heater 100%.

He doesn't seem like a professional plumber.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 29 2024, 01:59 PM
giftfre
post May 29 2024, 01:59 PM

Control Macho
687 posts

My goodness, ask the expert to get it done. Save your life and also your precious time.
zuozi
post May 29 2024, 01:59 PM

1,267 posts

If ts don't want overdone suggest using this simple method, the setup your have right now are over configuration

Try not to using elbow around inlet can create air lock
On red circle

Use male to male for wall cold water

Then flexible hose all the way to instant water heater inlet how long you need i tak tahu sendiri measure but this nylon hose can sustain 3 to 4 bar without issues make sure you keep the existing oring when tighten this flexible hose if not given remember to bought 4 pcs in case water heater exit stock flexible hose dah hilang

Don't forgot all the male balut white tape in clockwise direction if you do it counter clockwise can tear up the White tap when tighten it

This is more cost effective and budget and very straightforward

If you know what you doing

This post has been edited by zuozi: May 29 2024, 02:04 PM
TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 02:02 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ May 29 2024, 01:59 PM)
My goodness, ask the expert to get it done. Save your life and also your precious time.
Later, he will come to install a new water heater. I'm not sure if he bought a Panasonic brand or still a Joven brand.

I need to sleep now; I have a night shift later.

So, update here by me maybe around 6:15 PM.

I just rent this house. I think the homeowner wants to save money by hiring cheap labor.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 29 2024, 02:03 PM
Aurora Boreali
post May 29 2024, 02:10 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 29 2024, 12:29 PM)

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 29 2024, 01:38 PM)
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 29 2024, 01:56 PM)
Why must turn off everytime ?
Nowonder TS busted 2 heaters in the span of few months

TSplouffle0789
post May 29 2024, 02:15 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ May 29 2024, 02:10 PM)
Nowonder TS busted 2 heaters in the span of few months
My friend never turns off this valve at another house.

They use a Panasonic brand water heater in the bathroom, and there have been no issues for a few years already.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 29 2024, 02:16 PM

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:46 AM