The PADU Thread, Everything related to PADU

nexona88
post Jan 5 2024, 10:38 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ Jan 5 2024, 09:19 AM)
then it means those foreigner works here don't enjoy?
Sorry, I don't have BR1M / STR acc
Actually all those benefits is for Malaysia citizens but somehow as time passes by... Slowly it's benefits foreigner too....

So now government want to cut all these leakages....

Don't have BR1M / STR? Meaning u not really qualify or borderline threshold 😁
ronnie
post Jan 5 2024, 11:00 AM

Not enough stars
21,332 posts

GoKL start to register Malaysian only to get the free bus routes.
cherroy
post Jan 5 2024, 11:04 AM

25,802 posts

Please do not deviate the topic, not GoKL or STR discussion.
Thank you.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 5 2024, 02:50 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 5 2024, 09:08 AM)
Why penalize people who use public transport.

Sjd give them free few mths of my50 pass
Its not penalized if you psych yourself that you are giving away your allocation to others in need...

tongue.gif
jack2
post Jan 5 2024, 09:10 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

i dunno wanna file or not.

can anyone enlighten me? hehe
sleepwalker
post Jan 5 2024, 09:16 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 5 2024, 09:10 PM)
i dunno wanna file or not.

can anyone enlighten me? hehe
You don't have to. It is not compulsory. The ministry will still use the data you have from other agencies like LHDN. PADU is used as the updated data and if you don't update Padu, they'd continue to use data from the other ministry.
jack2
post Jan 5 2024, 09:59 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 5 2024, 09:16 PM)
You don't have to. It is not compulsory. The ministry will still use the data you have from other agencies like LHDN. PADU is used as the updated data and if you don't update Padu, they'd continue to use data from the other ministry.
oh... later no more subsidy for petrol
sleepwalker
post Jan 5 2024, 10:04 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 5 2024, 09:59 PM)
Padu is just a collection of updated database. If you don't qualify for petrol subsidy, registering with Padu won't give you the sub either if other ministries have data that shows you don't qualify.
N9484640
post Jan 6 2024, 08:52 AM

Chasing Electric
1,297 posts

I just registered to see what they have on me only lol. Everything correct except my marital status. I wont be correcting it or filling in the blanks cause I wont be needing fuel subsidy even if they use the info in Padu to determine my eligibility. Did not do eKFC eKYC

This post has been edited by N9484640: Jan 6 2024, 09:04 AM
kitkat21
post Jan 8 2024, 12:10 AM

26 posts

Think of current Padu as version 1 .0 software.

To be honest, i'm wary of signing up for Padu (yeah.....i know its voluntary). The few major leaks in recent years from govt databases and telcos mean many of the key info on you are already out in the wild....

Padu is a system developed entirely by Malaysian civil servants....don;t mean to diss them but i have never heard the IT pros in the civil service at the tech forefront in terms of world-class tech innovations and world-class cybersecurity as acknowledged by independent global outfits. Have you? Because the product has to be of world-class calibre and follow global best practices to be able to resist constant attempts to break into this treasure trove of info from all corners of the world.

I would be partly reassured if the Padu system had been opened to the world's top white hackers to do stress/penetration tests for 6 months to a year prior to rollout and see whether Padu comes out on top. If it remains impenetrable (NO online system is breach-proof but can be made breach-resistant), then the world knows Padu is the Fort Knox and gold standard by which govt databases the world over shld modelled after.

As some IT experts have proposed, it would be better to follow Singapore way to create an API gateway to tap into existing databases in various govt agencies to avoid reinventing the wheel. Or have a hybrid model along that line.

This post has been edited by kitkat21: Jan 8 2024, 12:33 AM
ronnie
post Jan 8 2024, 08:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,332 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 5 2024, 09:59 PM)
just think from your Govt perspective would you be given subsidy based on your current income ?
if you think yes, register.
if you think no, don't register
TSCommodoreAmiga
post Jan 8 2024, 09:30 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(kitkat21 @ Jan 8 2024, 12:10 AM)
Think of current Padu as version 1 .0 software.

To be honest, i'm wary of signing up for Padu (yeah.....i know its voluntary). The few major leaks in recent years from govt databases and telcos mean many of the key info on you are already out in the wild....

Padu is a system developed entirely by Malaysian civil servants....don;t mean to diss them but i have never heard the IT pros in the civil service at the tech forefront in terms of world-class tech innovations and world-class cybersecurity as acknowledged by independent global outfits. Have you? Because the product has to be of world-class calibre and follow global best practices to be able to resist constant attempts to break into this treasure trove of info from all corners of the world.

I would be partly reassured if the Padu system had been opened to the world's top white hackers to do stress/penetration tests for 6 months to a year prior to rollout and see whether Padu comes out on top. If it remains impenetrable (NO online system is breach-proof but can be made breach-resistant), then the world knows Padu is the Fort Knox and gold standard by which govt databases the world over  shld modelled after.

As some IT experts have proposed, it would be better to follow Singapore way to create an API gateway to tap into existing databases in various govt agencies to avoid reinventing the wheel. Or have a hybrid model along that line.
Agreed. There has been so many security breaches even with better managed organization....and this one, all runs by NOOBs. Think very hard before you upload your IC...

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 8 2024, 08:05 AM)
just think from your Govt perspective would you be given subsidy based on your current income ?
if you think yes, register.
if you think no, don't register
i think like this:
If you think you are currently already qualified, don't register.
If you think you are currently not qualified, but the subsidy is insignificant to you, don't register.
If you think you are currently not qualified, but the subsidy is important to you, and by pumping additional data makes you qualified due to your heavy commitments, please wait until last minute before register. Need to see how it plays out the next few months first.

Lastly, i believe the closing of registration is Hogwash. Those information they are capturing needs to be updated frequently at least once a year, else what's the point of PADU if they keep using old data? And there are new young people to register also.

The threat of registration closing is just to trigger FOMO and fool people to register without thinking further.
nexona88
post Jan 8 2024, 01:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

Padu had received a total of 762,992 registrations as noon 7 Jan 2024

Selangor recorded the highest number at 175,865, followed by Johor (82,001), Sarawak (68,941), Perak (68,448), Sabah (57,045), Kuala Lumpur (52,996), Kedah (49,586), Penang (42,015), Negri Sembilan (38,017), Kelantan (35,201), Pahang (34,729), Melaka (24,251), Terengganu (21,275), Perlis (6,645) and Labuan (1,773).

Shanks747
post Jan 8 2024, 02:36 PM

198 posts

Scammers are licking thier lips...getting data from padu....2023 they made lot of money but 2024 will be even more yummy
aurora97
post Jan 8 2024, 02:54 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

As the old adage put it "if you can't measure, you can't manage". the government needs to do this but the recent data leakages/hacks etc... is putting a dent to government's effort.
nexona88
post Jan 8 2024, 03:16 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

Padu security breach: Pikom urges govt to engage ‘crucial’ external expertise

Pikom acknowledged the recent security breach affecting the online platform created by the government.

It applauded the objective of Padu in streamlining public service delivery for citizens, and also commended the move to utilise expertise from within the public sector.

When it comes to complex technological initiatives, particularly those involving sensitive data, striking a balance between leveraging existing resources and engaging external expertise is crucial.

https://www.thevibes.com/articles/news/1005...ernal-expertise
Maknusia
post Jan 8 2024, 04:30 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 8 2024, 03:16 PM)
Padu security breach: Pikom urges govt to engage ‘crucial’ external expertise

Pikom acknowledged the recent security breach affecting the online platform created by the government.

It applauded the objective of Padu in streamlining public service delivery for citizens, and also commended the move to utilise expertise from within the public sector.

When it comes to complex technological initiatives, particularly those involving sensitive data, striking a balance between leveraging existing resources and engaging external expertise is crucial.

https://www.thevibes.com/articles/news/1005...ernal-expertise
Terminology pun salah! Why they want to do stress test, thats for performance. What need to do is vulnerability test as part of their PenTest!
nexona88
post Jan 8 2024, 04:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Jan 8 2024, 04:30 PM)
Terminology pun salah! Why they want to do stress test, thats for performance. What need to do is vulnerability test as part of their PenTest!
Whatever...

PADU security is really questionable.... Minister only says it's good level...

Only time would tell if there's leaks later on....
kitkat21
post Jan 10 2024, 03:43 PM

26 posts

BfM radio podcast today weighed in on Padu, with opinions from two expert observers. Hosted by Richard Bradbury. The experts have affirmed what I have already expressed in this forum.

Coming out with the physical Padu database, the gist of their reaction was: Why, oh why? It's an inelegant solution. Basically, a database that was rushed to completion and designed with cybersecurity as an afterthought rather than from the concept stage. The insinuation is that the Madani Govt had received bad advice. We would like to know who is the adviser who proposed Padu.

The podcast is a great listen.

Check it out at: https://www.bfm.my/podcast/enterprise/enter...digital-product

This post has been edited by kitkat21: Jan 10 2024, 04:03 PM
TSCommodoreAmiga
post Jan 10 2024, 03:58 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(kitkat21 @ Jan 10 2024, 03:43 PM)
BfM radio podcast today weighed in on Padu, with opinions from two expert observers. Hosted by Richard Bradbury. The experts have affirmed what I have already expressed in this forum.

Coming out with the physical Padu database, the gist of their reaction was: Why, oh why? It's an inelegant solution. The insinuation is that the Madani Govt had received bad advice. We would like to know who is the adviser who proposed Padu.

The podcast is a great listen.

Check it out at: https://www.bfm.my/podcast/enterprise/enter...digital-product
Menteri Ekonomi, who else!

48 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:58 AM