12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Eyewear shop modus operandi : four-eyes masuk

ah78
post Dec 27 2023, 09:35 AM

35 posts

Previously since I'm working (that I bough spec myself), ayam always bought the fancy feature that total up the cost to be around RM1k per spec.

I thought that is the normal price (that i'm paying for nice2 feature etc). Then I just found out 3 years ago (when company give eyewear coverage for rm200 per year), that there is a normal spec with good enuf feature and frame for less than RM200.

Felt kena scammed for all those 10 years that ayam doing spec for RM1k each. The RM200 spec is great enuf for me that I dont feel any downgrade whatsoever...
Alternate Gabriel
post Dec 27 2023, 09:36 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(krusellblazar @ Dec 27 2023, 08:55 AM)
Just go to Thoneh if you are around KL. I dont trust optometrist already.
Last time I went to one cause got free check, turns out my right eye power is 150 or something that i need glasses.
Next day went to Thoneh cause paranoid and want 2nd opinion. There they say my eyes power on 75 or something, basically its too low to start using glasses.

https://thoneh.my/
This hospital selling specs or can do checking only?

h@ksam
post Dec 27 2023, 09:36 AM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(DatoChin @ Dec 27 2023, 09:07 AM)
Selling blue lens is one of the common upscale tactics to earn more profit.

Despite many push from the indsutry for researcher to produce a benefit report of blue lens. So far still no onclusive study thqt said blue lens help. So u can imagine how useless this upgrade other than give u blue tinted glasses.

As for lens that can relax. This is new to me. New scam? The wallet definitely not relax after hearing the price.
i thought they only promote this to pro esport gamers??

killdavid
post Dec 27 2023, 09:37 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 27 2023, 09:22 AM)
yes i have very bad experience with it.. the blue light + having different focal point for reading purpose is pure scam. Since my exp with Essilor i avoid the brand plus all these gimmick things they want to put into the glass.

My only glass go to Zeiss drive safe period.
Multi focal works, but takes a long time to train your eyes co-ordination to work with it
lawliet88

994 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 27 2023, 09:22 AM)
yes i have very bad experience with it.. the blue light + having different focal point for reading purpose is pure scam. Since my exp with Essilor i avoid the brand plus all these gimmick things they want to put into the glass.

My only glass go to Zeiss drive safe period.
Progressive or anti fatigue? The essilor one
geelim77

181 posts

change color?.....transition lenses ah?
Lenses ready stock in shop depends on the lenses brand, feature n power lor, if they don't have that specific feature or power lenses, they will need to order it from their supplier, which might take few days or a week......2 week too long dy
cytyler
post Dec 27 2023, 09:38 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Dec 27 2023, 09:08 AM)
ayam go cina shop aka pottglasses
probably the worst and the last shop i would go
debonairs91
post Dec 27 2023, 09:40 AM

1,013 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 27 2023, 09:20 AM)
what rubbish 1 - 2 weeks.. like that they can close shop liao.. i went owndays to buy their frames cause i love them.. then i went to focus point / dr specs / a-look.. in less than a week i will get my spec installed with Zeiss lenses already.. same goes to Hoya, Kodak. These are the glasses i have experience with.
Of coz less than a week. But they will still quote you 1-2 weeks just to be safe. Especially end year with lots of holidays like this. Their lead time will be the same coz in the end they all send to the same factory to fit in the lenses
Phoenix_KL
post Dec 27 2023, 09:40 AM

156 posts

Silfer
post Dec 27 2023, 09:43 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(cytyler @ Dec 27 2023, 09:38 AM)
probably the worst and the last shop i would go
yeke? share la setori
wkn
post Dec 27 2023, 09:44 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(blvckskvll @ Dec 27 2023, 08:50 AM)
So last nite i bring my wife to change her spec

At first the salesgirl (cute cheeky amoi) said all spec frame in the cabinet are rm180

With lens that can change colour + protect from blue light will add rm200 so total for the spec will be rm380

Then another lady (mature awek tudung) bring my wife to do eyecheck and do some consultation and suddenly introduce a lense that can relax the eyes and the price shoot up to rm1200!!  doh.gif  bangwall.gif

So i said its ok, no need that lense, just proceed with the rm380

Then suddenly if i like to proceed with that, need to wait for 1-2 weeks for them to order

WTH??  doh.gif  bangwall.gif

Is this a normal practice? Bcoz now i realise like previous eyewear shop kinda do the same shit
tell us the name of this spec shop so we can blacklist & viral them on socmed.
lee_lnh
post Dec 27 2023, 09:47 AM

115 posts

1000+ can get nice titanium frame (after discount) + crizal/essilor/hoya lens alrd...
Lester1987
post Dec 27 2023, 09:48 AM

2,017 posts

Branded lense like Hoya or Zeiss memang near to 1k on cost. My friend open specs shop very transparent with me and how much profit he taking from my order punya. Too bad his shop bankrupt during covid. Now I go MOG do they do mark up 200-300 for the lense. But once you used to the atas lenses. You can’t go back edi. Eye get tired super fast when use cheapo lense.

Yes I can claim from company so my specs memang all near to rm2k 1 pair. No fucuk given.
limeuu
post Dec 27 2023, 09:50 AM

12,291 posts

At first the salesgirl (cute cheeky amoi) said all spec frame in the cabinet are rm180

With lens that can change colour + protect from blue light will add rm200 so total for the spec will be rm380

Then another lady (mature awek tudung) bring my wife to do eyecheck and do some consultation and suddenly introduce a lense that can relax the eyes and the price shoot up to rm1200!!  doh.gif  bangwall.gif

Then suddenly if i like to proceed with that, need to wait for 1-2 weeks for them to order

Is this a normal practice? Bcoz now i realise like previous eyewear shop kinda do the same shit
Just the normal sales up selling practiced everywhere.

Including here. "Top up a bit buy BMW".

Depends on how gullible you are.

limfreelance
post Dec 27 2023, 09:51 AM

343 posts

branded shop ka?
my area rm 88 -200 included glass, but if your eye power above 400, need to pay extra.
raul88
post Dec 27 2023, 09:51 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

my experience with eye glasses shop

one of their tactic is when you check your eyesight a.k.a power
they will always said that your power increased (or rarely decrease)
it will never static one

so power change mean need to change the spec

haturaya
post Dec 27 2023, 09:53 AM

2,554 posts

My multifocal lenses cost RM1.8k. Just the lenses. Frame - another price.

1 week max it's ready.
BuKeYi
post Dec 27 2023, 10:04 AM

Dame Dame
909 posts

Baru pergi focus point on Sunday for a new spec since can claim.

Sales girls say need take few days within 3-4days since add-on the thinnest and anti blue light .
Then next day msg and said is ready for collection icon_rolleyes.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 27 2023, 10:07 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

Then another lady (mature awek tudung) bring my wife to do eyecheck and do some consultation and suddenly introduce a lense that can relax the eyes and the price shoot up to rm1200!!  doh.gif   bangwall.gif

1-2 weeks for them to order is bullshit yo

may I introduce you with our good ktard optometrist Hunakadoo

thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2507956&hl=

Location of seller: OPTOMETRY LOCATION
Shop at Setapak area . Any customer services or warranty claim can come to my shop

p/s: I dont get any free rayban anyway. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Dec 27 2023, 10:08 AM
tahfeikei
post Dec 27 2023, 10:08 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 27 2023, 10:07 AM)
1-2 weeks for them to order is bullshit yo

may I introduce you with our good ktard optometrist Hunakadoo

thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2507956&hl=

Location of seller: OPTOMETRY LOCATION
Shop at Setapak area . Any customer services or warranty claim can come to my shop

what other business got wide margin? brows.gif

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0144sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:28 PM