My Dad's Credit Card Debt

guardioo
post Dec 21 2023, 03:34 PM

360 posts

1. Refer to bank, report to bank by bringing the death cert
2. Talk to bank you would like to pay for settlement and ask for reduce interest.
3. Prepare for the tax and lawyer fees as you inherit the house (if there's a will, share among your siblings.)
4. Speak to bank to refinance which convert credit card debt to home mortgage.

SerioseCat
post Dec 21 2023, 03:39 PM

501 posts

please dont identify yourself to bank as next of kin or divulge your details or pay the debts until you get your Letter of Administration (LA)

Just inform the bank that you need the latest statement of account for the family to get LA.

Repeat this : I am the family of deceased. We need the latest statement of account before courts appoint admisnistrator.

This post has been edited by SerioseCat: Dec 21 2023, 03:41 PM
max_cavalera
post Dec 21 2023, 03:40 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(its.jay @ Dec 21 2023, 01:43 PM)
Bismillahirahmanirrahim.

Question, guys. My dad just passed away early this month. We just got to know about his credit card debt. As a daughter and a Muslim, it is my responsibility to help him settle the debt. But the amount is too big for me to settle it in a lump sum. I seriously don't know how to start. Should I approach akpk for help? it is not my debt, but I'll be the one paying. Can akpk still help? or do I approach the bank directly? which one is scarier? sweat.gif can akpk help us deal with reducing the total debt? the debt has been accumulating for more than 15 years! btw, I know we can use harta pusaka to settle it for him, but the only harta he left is the house that we're currently living in and we've no intention of selling it.
I've been good with my credit management. Always paid in full, on time. Currently, I've 2 credit cards and 2 car loans, and I'll be done with 1 of them in Jan 2024. Would getting help from akpk affect my record? my only goal is to reduce the total amount and help settle his debt. I was wondering which party to approach for this matter. I even consider getting help from a trustee, lawyer, etc. but they're quite costly, aren't they?
Credit card debt is unsecured lending.

There is no guarantor concept

Once the user
Deceased, it is consider written off/hapus kira. It does not effect any other family member credit record.

However, if you decide to slowly pay off the debt as a muslem. Pls consult
Your nearest bank. Maybe they can mego for an instalment plan.
Gonzalesz
post Dec 21 2023, 03:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(its.jay @ Dec 21 2023, 01:47 PM)
No EPF left. and no insurance etc. no car. no other bills except for this. and yes, the house is under his name. The house value is more than enough to pay for his debt. but that would mean we have to sell the house. do we HAVE to sell it? if we choose to pay his debt with our own money, can we keep that house? that is the only property he left. and we've been living here for 30+ years. my mom is not that well either. I'm the only one with just enough income to support the family and I would rather pay it like it is my own than sell the house to pay it off. I need help deciding on this. that is why I'm considering all the options i have. akpk is one of them.

I'm still trying to grasp things. and I'm honestly lost. Thank you everyone, for your input.
just transfer the house name to you..and the let it be..no need to think about debt.
xpole
post Dec 21 2023, 03:45 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

No EPF left. and no insurance etc. no car. no other bills except for this. and yes, the house is under his name. The house value is more than enough to pay for his debt. but that would mean we have to sell the house. do we HAVE to sell it? if we choose to pay his debt with our own money, can we keep that house? that is the only property he left. and we've been living here for 30+ years. my mom is not that well either. I'm the only one with just enough income to support the family and I would rather pay it like it is my own than sell the house to pay it off. I need help deciding on this. that is why I'm considering all the options i have. akpk is one of them.

I'm still trying to grasp things. and I'm honestly lost. Thank you everyone, for your input.
Fuhh.

What did you late DAD do with the money until no longer available inside EPF?

This post has been edited by xpole: Dec 21 2023, 03:46 PM
LaiN87
post Dec 21 2023, 03:50 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,319 posts

No EPF left. and no insurance etc. no car. no other bills except for this. and yes, the house is under his name. The house value is more than enough to pay for his debt. but that would mean we have to sell the house. do we HAVE to sell it? if we choose to pay his debt with our own money, can we keep that house?
Then the direction is clear.

Summary:
- debt is a lot and hard to clear under your name in order to keep the house.
- house is under late father’s name and fully paid off.
- house value sufficient to cover for debt
- insist on keeping the house and not selling.

Best Direction I believe:
- Complete the house name transfer as per procedure. Shouldn’t need much legal fees for this.
- Mortgage the house, then use the amount to lump sum to clear the loan.
- it’s better to use house loan rather than any personal loan or akpk. Use flexi or semi flexi loan to reduce interest rate after using and ensuring all debt is cleared. Extra cash loaned dump in back to the loan account.

Query:
- how Muslim divide the property. After dividing, is there issues trying to get house loan mortgage with so many parties involved.
- will the official process allow for property to be transferred with debt still active. (Is it allowed religion wise)
- will TS have enough credit to allow property mortgage to cover the full debt amount. (Or will even TS be part of the name of the owner of the property to have a mortgage under her name)

This post has been edited by LaiN87: Dec 21 2023, 03:51 PM
forgotoldlogin
post Dec 21 2023, 04:00 PM

198 posts

House will be faraid to your mom, your father’s children and your father’ parents (your grandma / grandpa) if they are still alive.

If you father have no son (meaning you & your siblings all girls), mean there is no waris lelaki, your father’s siblings have share of fariad

https://solusikini.com/pembahagian-harta-pu...secara%20faraid.

This post has been edited by forgotoldlogin: Dec 21 2023, 04:00 PM
party
post Dec 21 2023, 04:23 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 21 2023, 03:50 PM)
Then the direction is clear.

Summary:
- debt is a lot and hard to clear under your name in order to keep the house.
- house is under late father’s name and fully paid off.
- house value sufficient to cover for debt
- insist on keeping the house and not selling.

Best Direction I believe:
- Complete the house name transfer as per procedure. Shouldn’t need much legal fees for this.
- Mortgage the house, then use the amount to lump sum to clear the loan.
- it’s better to use house loan rather than any personal loan or akpk. Use flexi or semi flexi loan to reduce interest rate after using and ensuring all debt is cleared. Extra cash loaned dump in back to the loan account.

Query:
- how Muslim divide the property. After dividing, is there issues trying to get house loan mortgage with so many parties involved.
- will the official process allow for property to be transferred with debt still active. (Is it allowed religion wise)
- will TS have enough credit to allow property mortgage to cover the full debt amount. (Or will even TS be part of the name of the owner of the property to have a mortgage under her name)
U cant complete hse transfer without settling the debt. Bank will not allow it.

Biggest problem u stated d..property division amongst the family.
eaglehelang
post Dec 21 2023, 04:59 PM

1,075 posts

In the first place TS, have you checked whether this credit card debt is still active?
Since you said you found some old bills/statements while cleaning up. Maybe your father paid it off after he withdrew his EPF?

Cos 15 years is a long time for the bank to still be keeping the debt. Usually it's written off after 7 years.
And why hasn't Debt Collector come to house to chase your father to pay when he was alive?

I know cos many years ago when I was retrenched, I
couldnt pay my credit card debts. It was during economic downturn.
When I finally got a new job, I paid back a little. Then, when I could afford to pay back lump sum, the bank told me the account no longer available( means they had written it off.)

So, better check the credit card number if still active 1st

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 21 2023, 08:25 PM
vhs1
post Dec 21 2023, 06:05 PM

2,829 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Dec 21 2023, 04:59 PM)
In the first place TS, have you checked whether this credit card debt is still active?
Since you said you found some old bills/statements while cleaning up. Maybe your father paid it off after he withdrew his EPF?

Cos 15 years is a long time for the bank to still be keeping the debt. Usually it's written off after 7 years.
And why hasn't Debt Collector come to house to chase your father to pay when he was alive?

couldnt pay my credit card debts. It was during economic
downturn.
When I finally got a new job, I paid back a little. Then, when I could afford to pay back lump sum, the bank told me the account no longer available( means they had written it off.)

Can you apply credit cards thereafter?
car loans, housing loans?
eaglehelang
post Dec 21 2023, 06:47 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Dec 21 2023, 06:05 PM)
Can you apply credit cards thereafter?
car loans, housing loans?
Yes, no problem to apply credit card & loans
But take note this is like 20 years ago. It was my 1st credit card
zenix
post Dec 21 2023, 07:01 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

just do it like P&L

credit:
he got any fully paid off cars or house, money in bank, investment and EPF?

debt:
put that against the debt.

credit more then dun worry let it sort out unless u worry bank lelong the house?
burn22
post Dec 21 2023, 07:14 PM

398 posts

best to discuss with bank, not akpk. they can give discount provided you can settle the full amount. can oso request for installments. not sure if bank can extend long term, when term end, need to settle it in full, but you will save a lot. as example, owe 50k, but actual principal 20k. bank may offer full settlement of 30-35k. save 15-20k!! can temporary sell off one car, provided ada resale value. can always buy another when all settled...

MegaCanonF
post Dec 21 2023, 08:17 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Dec 21 2023, 12:52 PM)
what does it have to do with being a muslim?
trying to be holy here?

dont think you have to pay off your deceased dad's debt, unless you are inheriting something bigger.

going to AKPK will difinitely harm your credit rating, no more credit cards and in future no more loan for you.
Sebab in islam, hutang wajib dibayar. Even u hutang RM1. Sebelum solat jenazah muslim, imam akan tanya, siapa ada hutang dengan si mati, boleh jumpa waris untuk tuntut. Kalau the penghutang halalkan, its fine.

To TS, maybe go see a proper channel instead of asking here. Go ask syariah lawyer /ustaz versed with faraid / debt issue.

All the best.

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Dec 21 2023, 08:18 PM
MegaCanonF
post Dec 21 2023, 08:18 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Dec 21 2023, 04:59 PM)

couldnt pay my credit card debts. It was during economic
downturn.

This also. Better go check with the bank. Mana tau actually sudah paid. Go ask what is the status. Then can plan from there.
ticke
post Dec 22 2023, 12:30 AM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

juz call akpk and see what they have to say.
trix
post Dec 22 2023, 07:26 AM

848 posts

is your mom still alive?
if yes, then the house is not 100% pusaka since she can claim harta sepencarian on it. after minus her part only can the rest be considered for faraid so you have to consider this part as well in coming up with a solution to clear the arwah's debt

better go see a shariah lawyer
Angry Clerk
post Dec 22 2023, 07:30 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Dec 21 2023, 12:52 PM)
what does it have to do with being a muslim?
trying to be holy here?

dont think you have to pay off your deceased dad's debt, unless you are inheriting something bigger.

going to AKPK will difinitely harm your credit rating, no more credit cards and in future no more loan for you.
Muslim got a saying if don't settle debt after death, he will be suffering in afterlife.
MGM
post Dec 22 2023, 03:07 PM

18,408 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Dec 22 2023, 07:30 AM)
Muslim got a saying if don't settle debt after death, he will be suffering in afterlife.
So those bankrupts who died will go to hell cos u don't suffer in heaven?
xtreme_paranoid
post Dec 23 2023, 08:18 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

Please update us once you check with bank for the loan/hutang status

I believe it is just old bank hutang statement. Ur father done paid all of it

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:13 AM