post Dec 23 2023, 08:32 PM

99 posts

Bank forgave the debt. Literally.
hoonanoo
post Dec 23 2023, 08:38 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Dec 21 2023, 01:09 PM)
If the house is in your father's name, you must sell it to pay the debt.

It not about moral, it's the law.
well bank also go after the house
howszat
post Dec 23 2023, 08:44 PM

2,932 posts

Just want to repeat what others have already said. You are not liable for your father's debt.
1. Settle what you are legally obliged to do

2 . Then settle your religious requirements.

Don't mix the two.
LuckyBai
post Dec 23 2023, 08:48 PM

422 posts

That cannot be inherited.. The bank need to absorb it or write it off
loserguy
post Dec 23 2023, 10:55 PM

500 posts

-

This post has been edited by loserguy: Dec 23 2023, 11:01 PM
PerfectZero
post Dec 24 2023, 02:04 AM

35 posts

By law. You don't have to pay. Just forget about it and move on. Or just donate the sums owed periodically to charity.
SUSNoComment222
post Dec 24 2023, 02:13 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(its.jay @ Dec 21 2023, 12:56 PM)
not at all. I'm trying to put religious pov. hutang wajib bayar walaupun legally, i don't have to. don't assume my intention here please.
Legally you have to, regardless of your religion
TSits.jay P
post Dec 27 2023, 12:32 PM

Probation

I've read all the replies and input. I will seek Syariah's lawyer for consultation and advice as soon as I can. I'll try to post the updates later. InsyaAllah. Thank you everyone.
TSits.jay P
post Apr 2 2025, 08:30 PM

Probation

Finally remember to give an update.

I contacted the bank directly. Let them know of my dad's demise, his outstanding debt and my intention to help him settle. I explained my situation and request for leniency and reduction of the total amount.

So, everything is good now. Tak payah pening2 fikir lawyer apa semua. Approach the bank 1st, and dapatkan settlement amount. 😅
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 2 2025, 08:55 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(its.jay @ Apr 2 2025, 08:30 PM)

I contacted the bank directly. Let them know of my dad's demise, his outstanding debt and my intention to help him settle. I explained my situation and request for leniency and reduction of the total amount.

So, everything is good now. Tak payah pening2 fikir lawyer apa semua. Approach the bank 1st, and dapatkan settlement amount. 😅
I thought after didnt pay for more than 7 years, consider GG already?
giorno9
post Apr 2 2025, 09:02 PM

44 posts

hi,

if got harta want to divide like faraid, so hutang also get the faraid member to help!

are you only the child?
do your father have other siblings, if yes ask for their help.
basically just go to the bank, nego elok-elok... maybe bank can waive the interest and only pay the pokok...

GTA5
post Apr 2 2025, 09:57 PM

1,411 posts

How much they reduced?
adamhzm90
post Apr 2 2025, 11:41 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Apr 2 2025, 08:55 PM)
She/he offered to pay. Then of course bank accept lor
youngblood29us
post Apr 3 2025, 03:06 AM

565 posts

just came across this thread..surprised to see many naïve response..Credit card and personal loans, if you die, the debt dies with you..there will be provision to write it off..dont be stupid to get your kids/spouse to settle it off..
car and housing loans are different of course..
gashout
post Apr 3 2025, 08:09 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

glad things worked out.

can share how much did the bank reduce?

gashout
post Apr 3 2025, 08:10 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(youngblood29us @ Apr 3 2025, 03:06 AM)
just came across this thread..surprised to see many naïve response..Credit card and personal loans, if you die, the debt dies with you..there will be provision to write it off..dont be stupid to get your kids/spouse to settle it off..
car and housing loans are different of course..
but ts chose to help her father to clear the debt... bank also happy
TSits.jay P
post Apr 3 2025, 12:10 PM

Probation

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Apr 2 2025, 09:57 PM)
How much they reduced?
A lot. From 45K, to only 9K. At 1st they propose half. But that is still too much, so i ask if it is possible to make it lower. Then they offered 9K as full and final amount.
fuzzy
post Apr 3 2025, 12:19 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Apr 2 2025, 08:55 PM)
The debt memang GG the day the father passed on.

TS wanted to pay it off as part of her moral obligations rather than legal side. Nothing wrong with that.

Banks of course happy, better than zero.
Azran1979
post Apr 3 2025, 12:20 PM

410 posts

hmm good.

but you know you dont have to pay right?

furthermore there is Stature of Limitation Act, which means after 6 years no action the debt will be written off.
TSits.jay P
post Apr 3 2025, 12:26 PM

Probation

QUOTE(giorno9 @ Apr 2 2025, 09:02 PM)
hi,

if got harta want to divide like faraid, so hutang also get the faraid member to help!

are you only the child?
do your father have other siblings, if yes ask for their help.
basically just go to the bank, nego elok-elok... maybe bank can waive the interest and only pay the pokok...
i'm not the only child, but I'm the only one having the capability to pay. He only have one sister left and she already waive her rights for faraid share. But all is good. Thankfully the bank accept paying in installments even after reducing the total amount.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0224sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:16 AM