ECRL is useful? , money well spent project?

Tell us reason of your vote

Yes [ 95 ] ** [62.91%]
No [ 56 ] ** [37.09%]
Total Votes: 151
Guests cannot vote 

TSyehlai
post Dec 12 2023, 12:29 AM, updated a long time ago

tree lover
4,539 posts

AbbyCom
post Dec 12 2023, 12:43 AM

456 posts

We're way too late to decide on this, it's past the point of no return. Live with it.
g5sim
post Dec 12 2023, 12:47 AM

5,752 posts

Obviously! Will reduce jam as people can balik kelate pakai train not menyemak atas jalan Raya.
Nanti Sekejap
post Dec 12 2023, 01:15 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 12 2023, 12:47 AM)
Obviously! Will reduce jam as people can balik kelate pakai train not menyemak atas jalan Raya.
Malaysian mia time is worthless so they dun mind jam on the road, janji boleh show off kreta besar 2nd hand kat kampung

This post has been edited by Nanti Sekejap: Dec 12 2023, 01:15 AM
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 01:16 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 12 2023, 12:29 AM)
Kuantan to KL in 40 minutes

from my home in Kuantan to My home in Melawati
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 03:07 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 12 2023, 01:16 AM)

Butoh kepalahotak ko 40 mins. ECRL top speed only 160km/h, KL to Kuantan 250km how to be 40 mins? Plus stops and stations how also need 1.5 hours at least.
SUSjoe_star
post Dec 12 2023, 03:49 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Ecrl main purpose is not passenger Transport but as land bridge so that PRC can bypass choke point of SG

For us it's a benefit because we gain trade and commerce by usage of land bridge between Kuantan port and port klang
SUSjoe_star
post Dec 12 2023, 03:53 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Impossible, not even if they run non stop service from kl to Kuantan
DarkNite
post Dec 12 2023, 06:32 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Dec 12 2023, 01:15 AM)
Malaysian mia time is worthless so they dun mind jam on the road, janji boleh show off kreta besar 2nd hand RENTAL terbaru Alphard/Vellfire kat kampung
FIXED!

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Dec 12 2023, 06:33 AM
Taikor.Taikun
post Dec 12 2023, 06:47 AM

1,019 posts

Already in progress. Gomen will have to “support” the line like MAS, Felda… etc
p4n6
post Dec 12 2023, 06:48 AM

5,974 posts

Infrastructure and Transportation development are never waste of money.

Having kenduri and party are waste of money…
robotking123
post Dec 12 2023, 06:52 AM

No, without HSR it is half cooked
9m2w
post Dec 12 2023, 06:56 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

Yes cos east coast folks need an alternative. ECRL and Central Spine highway is important to boost connectivity to them

Olgakureylenko cannot jam one day on the current highway every every raya haji la
andyng38
post Dec 12 2023, 07:44 AM

2,402 posts

I love train journeys and will ride it sometime between after the grand opening and before it starts falling apart due to jungle bunny maintenance standards.
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 07:45 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 03:07 AM)
Butoh kepalahotak ko 40 mins. ECRL top speed only 160km/h, KL to Kuantan 250km how to be 40 mins? Plus stops and stations how also need 1.5 hours at least.
QUOTE(joe_star @ Dec 12 2023, 03:53 AM)
Impossible, not even if they run non stop service from kl to Kuantan
Awat tengik ngat pepagi ni
In 2017 during the ECRL exhibition it was stated that express KL-Kuantan is 40 mins to 60mins

Sapa suh korang undi kerajaan "review semula projek MEGA" whistling.gif

Btw 2nd phase ECRL Kuantan-JB is around 300+km pun Sejam jugak sehala

This post has been edited by atreyuangel: Dec 12 2023, 07:50 AM
MGM
post Dec 12 2023, 07:53 AM

18,455 posts

Waste of money on white elephant.
andrekua2
post Dec 12 2023, 08:08 AM

13,478 posts

Define money well spent then.

If your analogy of doing this is to generate more money, then this is definitely a white elephant. I dont think they would earn enough to sustain itself, dont even talk about construction cost.

If you analogy of doing this is to ease the travel pain from west to east coast then it is going to help a lot. Good for single or couple with a kid or two. Maybe can even add an additional coach to transport things faster to east coast. Also need a bunch of employees to upkeep and run the system, more people employed.

It is hard to win win. The cost itself it too high to begin with for what appeared to be a week long traffic jam during those raya, election time which only happened once a year (or few years for election). Government need to think hard how to maintain it which is why I kinda support that they lowered the train speed for lesser maintenance in the long run.
MegaCanonF
post Dec 12 2023, 08:10 AM

864 posts

yes . u guys can go genting without jam at karak anymore. every long weekend will hailat at tol gombak to at least bentong exit.
g5sim
post Dec 12 2023, 08:10 AM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Dec 12 2023, 03:49 AM)
Ecrl main purpose is not passenger Transport but as land bridge so that PRC can bypass choke point of SG

For us it's a benefit because we gain trade and commerce by usage of land bridge between Kuantan port and port klang
It's ought to be seen how frequently cargos n contenna are being transportted from klang to kelate n the shipping journey continue from Kelate deep sea ports. Does kelate even have any deep sea port??
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Dec 12 2023, 08:11 AM

3,703 posts

I would prefer this way if want a less stressful holiday. Driving alone while exciting is..... tiring.
GOPI56
post Dec 12 2023, 08:12 AM

1,495 posts

Too late to reverse now, they already started laying the rail tracks. A lot of money has been poured into it too.
fadzly
post Dec 12 2023, 08:13 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 03:07 AM)
y so angry..
post Dec 12 2023, 08:17 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 12 2023, 09:10 AM)
It's ought to be seen how frequently cargos n contenna are being transportted from klang to kelate n the shipping journey continue from Kelate deep sea ports. Does kelate even have any deep sea port??
It’s to Kuantan port in Pahang and not Kelantan.

The story being sold is people will be willing to stop at Port Klang, unload into train and when reach Kuantan port reload back to ship just to bypass Singapore and vice versa.

If you are exporters, will you really choose this option as it might save some time but the risk of goods getting damaged is higher causing insurance cost to be higher
jaycee1
post Dec 12 2023, 08:18 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

You would think so. But no.

Every weekend ETS also sold out. NSH still jam. Now fastest way to travel from south to north and back is with big bike.
delphine.88
post Dec 12 2023, 08:19 AM

143 posts

Anything from China is great nowadays
ayamxxx
post Dec 12 2023, 08:24 AM

4,061 posts

I bet long time ago, citizens also hard to accept for PLUS North - South highway. In long run, it bring positive effects. ROI, transportation, don't look at tickets collection etc only, need to look at bigger picture. Area improvement after this
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 08:40 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Dec 12 2023, 08:11 AM)
I would prefer this way if want a less stressful holiday. Driving alone while exciting is..... tiring.
Lpt is boring

QUOTE(30624770 @ Dec 12 2023, 08:17 AM)

The story being sold is people will be willing to stop at Port Klang, unload into train and when reach Kuantan port reload back to ship just to bypass Singapore and vice versa.

If you are exporters, will you really choose this option as it might save some time but the risk of goods getting damaged is higher causing insurance cost to be higher
Kemaman port and Kerteh as well
SUSNihonmaru
post Dec 12 2023, 08:43 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Dec 12 2023, 01:15 AM)
Malaysian mia time is worthless so they dun mind jam on the road, janji boleh show off kreta besar 2nd hand kat kampung
Njoy the jam

andrekua2
post Dec 12 2023, 09:02 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 12 2023, 08:10 AM)
Hard to see how it will be used to transport containers on a consistent basis when the passenger train will run at 160kmh or so. Midnight run? Maintenance apa maciam? At the very least, poslaju and other couriers will benefit from this if they could attach an extra coach for lightweight postages. Every cents counts.
mroys@lyn
post Dec 12 2023, 09:11 AM

1,037 posts

it will definitely spur the east coast states economy.
treblecase
post Dec 12 2023, 09:15 AM

IHI
779 posts

People who think ECRL would solve the traffic jam to/fro east coast states are the same who thought MRTs in would solve jams in KL?
Mavik
post Dec 12 2023, 09:20 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I would like to think that the ECRL would essentially increase development at the east coast, in particular in Kuantan.
sam378
post Dec 12 2023, 09:20 AM

308 posts

buleh gi sek kito
patienceGNR
post Dec 12 2023, 09:35 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

Useful for someone who drink 1 can of beer then mabuk like ts.
Drian
post Dec 12 2023, 09:38 AM

4,999 posts

time will tell if it is a right decision.

If continuously need bailout , subsidy , and if malaysia still rely on borrowed money to generate GDP then you know it's the wrong decision.

danielmckey
post Dec 12 2023, 09:40 AM

1,053 posts

Ecrl just for balik kampung once a while. Ticket is expansive no one will take it daily to work.
ozak
post Dec 12 2023, 09:45 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Dec 12 2023, 09:15 AM)
People who think ECRL would solve the traffic jam to/fro east coast states are the same who thought MRTs in would solve jams in KL?
Can reduce the holiday traffic. But no effect on daily city traffic.
linkinstreet
post Dec 12 2023, 10:24 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 12 2023, 08:08 AM)
Define money well spent then.

If your analogy of doing this is to generate more money, then this is definitely a white elephant. I dont think they would earn enough to sustain itself, dont even talk about construction cost.
It's not to generate money to the ECRL itself, but to the surrounding area that the ECRL will stop/connect.
SUS*lightbringer*
post Dec 12 2023, 10:37 AM

259 posts

Honestly based on the states it travel to and from, I can see it will degrade faster than rotten apple. And I dont really care because I dont go to those states ruled by zealot, where I cant even wear shorts or drink a nice glass of beer by the beach.
All I know is I get millions for being one of the contractor for this project, so thatsgood enough for me.
g5sim
post Dec 12 2023, 12:57 PM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Dec 12 2023, 08:17 AM)

Astagha. Sumpah tak tahu pahang ada laut. Semua salah guru geography sekolah menengah. Ingat kelate n ganu je ada laut.
pobox
post Dec 12 2023, 01:00 PM

551 posts

Is ECRL to be used for cargo transportation too?
K555
post Dec 12 2023, 01:04 PM

155 posts

how is that possible?
post Dec 12 2023, 01:33 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Dec 12 2023, 11:24 AM)
It's not to generate money to the ECRL itself, but to the surrounding area that the ECRL will stop/connect.
Other than port towns, do you really think people will invest in the other stop/connect areas? LOL!
post Dec 12 2023, 01:34 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(K555 @ Dec 12 2023, 02:04 PM)
how is that possible?
He’s dreaming because he thinks ECRL is HSR 😝
Xith
post Dec 12 2023, 01:34 PM

133 posts

Biar papa asal bergaya. Must drive at least City when balik kampung
AyamBannedTwice
post Dec 12 2023, 01:39 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 12 2023, 08:10 AM)
i think the main target is to transport cargo from port kuantan to port klang
not from kelate
bijan being nice to extend the route to kelate to solve connectivity issue

trojandude
post Dec 12 2023, 01:39 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 12 2023, 07:45 AM)
In 2017 during the ECRL exhibition it was stated that express KL-Kuantan is 40 mins to 60mins

Please use mathematics and think. Either your numbers are wrong or something else.

300km in one hour? That means the train travelling in 300Kmh you know right? Since when we have bullet train?
WebDpot
post Dec 12 2023, 01:44 PM

1,026 posts

Definitely, take MRT as example
freakingringo
post Dec 12 2023, 01:49 PM

41 posts

Even China don't dare to reveal their cost analysis of their high speed railways network..its all about connectivity to all the cities..
akatsuki_91
post Dec 12 2023, 02:02 PM

89 posts

ECRL & HSR haven't been completed, I think these 2 shouldn't be compared, who knows maybe both can be connected someday after their completion? Close there ohh....although ECRL is much slower than than HSR. But still a kind of transportation.

Besides, ECRL can reach up to Kota Bharu or Tumpat in the North near Thailand, while HSR can reach the South to SG. The connections are not bad la.

Dislike the government? Then, u may voice your kritik on the government.

But don't dislike the good projects that can bring positive results for the future of the country.

Which u guys dream to improve? The government or the projects? The government can be changed. Started projects probably can be changed as well, but to cancel a big project, then the country sure RUGI a lot.
Ivan113
post Dec 12 2023, 02:04 PM

925 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Dec 12 2023, 03:49 AM)

wow, I wish this is true
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 02:04 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Dec 12 2023, 01:39 PM)
Please use mathematics and think. Either your numbers are wrong or something else.

300km in one hour? That means the train travelling in 300Kmh you know right? Since when we have bullet train?
Well we won't know until the real thing came out

But try to see the Rancangan Fizikal Negara 4

Estimated time for 2nd Phase Kuantan and JB is 1 Hour for 310km, Kuantan to Gombak is even less then 300km

And in 2017 it was tout that Kuantan to Gombak is approx 40mins

Nevertheless, still a convenience for me.
tomato people
post Dec 12 2023, 02:05 PM

Tomato fan
1,732 posts

I can go kuantan to visit relatives...no need driving

Now waiting for HSR pulak

This post has been edited by tomato people: Dec 12 2023, 02:08 PM
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 02:08 PM

526 posts

ETS never solve NS highway jam also. Malaysian mau muka, mau balik kampung with new car.
zerorating
post Dec 12 2023, 02:10 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

lel, the train probably can cover less than 2000 passengers per day. nothing significant.
gogocan
post Dec 12 2023, 02:12 PM

486 posts

ECRL maybe Yes
HSR definite No
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 02:13 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 12 2023, 02:04 PM)

Estimated time for 2nd Phase Kuantan and JB is 1 Hour for 310km, Kuantan to Gombak is even less then 300km

It literally is already announced 160km/h top speed. All the while announce 160km/h. You are the one ignorant.
kangkayu
post Dec 12 2023, 02:13 PM

128 posts

tahun mel_wat panta_ timur 2025
Chisinlouz
post Dec 12 2023, 02:14 PM

848 posts

Ease congestion to east coast during raya..... brows.gif
keyser soze
post Dec 12 2023, 02:24 PM

569 posts

whole family go back train ticket expensive wei.
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 02:42 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 02:13 PM)
It literally is already announced 160km/h top speed. All the while announce 160km/h. You are the one ignorant.
So, my ignorance live in your head rent free

Win for me.
mroys@lyn
post Dec 12 2023, 02:46 PM

1,037 posts

the main purpose of ecrl is to serve as freight line.

QUOTE(pobox @ Dec 12 2023, 01:00 PM)
Is ECRL to be used for cargo transportation too?
akatsuki_91
post Dec 12 2023, 02:54 PM

89 posts

If drivers think 160 KM/h isn't good enough, then try and go drive consistently at approx. 160 KM/h when u are using PLUS without any jam & at the lowest risk such as an accident.

bangwall.gif innocent.gif shocking.gif
trojandude
post Dec 12 2023, 03:14 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 12 2023, 02:04 PM)

It was tout, but perhaps the train then is not the same as what we're building now. The current train planned is 160KM/h.

Anyway, I know for a fact if 1 hour ride for 310km, that means the train must be traveling at an average speed of 310KM/h. This is not up to debate, this is actual mathematics lol. I'm sure you can acknowledge this. Either you got the distance wrong, or the train speed has changed from original plan.

As far as I know, ECRL isn't using high-speed railway (bullet train).

Even here you can see the entire ECRL track (600KM) will take 4 hours - https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2022/01/...u-kl-four-hours. So I genuinely have no idea where you get the number 300km (half the track) will take only one hour. You might have remembered wrongly sorry.

This post has been edited by trojandude: Dec 12 2023, 03:20 PM
loki
post Dec 12 2023, 03:18 PM

2,109 posts

Kuantan - KL - 253km.

ECRL max 160km/h . how to 40 minutes?
pobox
post Dec 12 2023, 03:31 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(mroys@lyn @ Dec 12 2023, 02:46 PM)
the main purpose of ecrl is to serve as freight line.
Then yes. This is useful
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 03:35 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(pobox @ Dec 12 2023, 03:31 PM)
Then yes. This is useful
More expensive to go through Kuantan than Singapore. Sea shipping is all about cost per container, those time sensitive will use flights anyway. Plus Singapore got multiple benefits like tax and infrastructure. Time also there's not much difference since you are unloading, load onto train, unload from train, load onto ship.
pobox
post Dec 12 2023, 03:44 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 03:35 PM)
More expensive to go through Kuantan than Singapore. Sea shipping is all about cost per container, those time sensitive will use flights anyway. Plus Singapore got multiple benefits like tax and infrastructure. Time also there's not much difference since you are unloading, load onto train, unload from train, load onto ship.
When our East Coast and West Coast are linked effectively, there are lots of things can be done internally. It need not be bound by just thinking of import/export.
g5sim
post Dec 12 2023, 03:47 PM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Dec 12 2023, 02:24 PM)
whole family go back train ticket expensive wei.
Some use plan some use train lor. If accident not whole family perish
Very kesian lah. Train ticket 10RM sprang mahal ke? Boleh tengok permandangan. Mungkin ada canteen lagi. Kete minyak, maintenance toll dah berapa tu? The only advantage I can see is Kete tu kat kpg boleh jalan jalan. Kalau balik dgn tren kat kpg nak berjaya takde Kete. Raya takde grab. Semua sibuk nak Raya. Yg bukan malay pun nak Raya

This post has been edited by g5sim: Dec 12 2023, 03:47 PM
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 03:55 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(pobox @ Dec 12 2023, 03:44 PM)
When our East Coast and West Coast are linked effectively, there are lots of things can be done internally. It need not be bound by just thinking of import/export.
Why people talking as if east and west coast not linked at all? You do know that the east coast highway is proper highway right? Internal freight transport is always going to be lorries because it is much cheaper. West coast has trains for decades, and yet most of the freight still uses lorries. Ask KTM Freight how much they earn only every year, and total cargo weight actually declined a lot, not only no growth.
SUSOlgakureylenko
post Dec 12 2023, 03:56 PM

13 posts

yes
longest time take to reach kota bharu from gombak...22 hours in 2012

pobox
post Dec 12 2023, 03:59 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 03:55 PM)
Why people talking as if east and west coast not linked at all? You do know that the east coast highway is proper highway right? Internal freight transport is always going to be lorries because it is much cheaper. West coast has trains for decades, and yet most of the freight still uses lorries. Ask KTM Freight how much they earn only every year, and total cargo weight actually declined a lot, not only no growth.
Open a bit lah bro.
mroys@lyn
post Dec 12 2023, 04:06 PM

1,037 posts

Transshipment is not so much depend on the time or distance between ports, logistic software will handle this. You need a huge wharf, manpower and equipment. It's not like you unloaded from Vessel A and immediately Vessel B is there awaiting for loading and leaving for destination. I doubt storage in SG is cheaper than Kuantan or Pulau Indah.

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 03:35 PM)
SUSjoe_star

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/opinion/columnists/2...g-east-and-west

From 2017, even here it's mentioned travel time is cut to 4 hours.

Now assume the full line is 665km, divide by 4 is average speed of 160km/h.

So your 40 min from KL to Kuantan is definitely sembang kencang, only possible if the line is dedicated for passenger and fully upgraded to 300kmh which was not even in original scope and doesn't work with the main intention which is freight ops. Goods trains don't run on hsr tracks.

Anyway I fully support ECRL and believe it should not have been cut down in scope, again not for passenger travel but for supporting high density freight ops so that we can take away business from SG port
andrekua2

13,478 posts

To be honest, it was too cheap back then (2005 or so). It has been inflated a lot nowadays. Back then, I was a hose and fittings salesman. A roll of hydraulic hose roughly 30KG only needed RM8-10 or so transport fee. For those box packaging containing fittings (roughly 1ft x 6inch x 6inch or 1ft x 1ft x 4inch) only need to pay RM3-5 depending on weight (when the delivery guy hold it).

I think there is a lot of potential that can be done to utilize the ECRL to transport packages to East Coast.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 12 2023, 04:10 PM
mroys@lyn
post Dec 12 2023, 04:09 PM

1,037 posts

It's not about transportation from A to B, it's about Transhipment.

What is Transhipment?
Transhipment, at its core, is the process of offloading a shipment from one carrier and loading it onto another at a designated transhipment hub or port. All modes of transport — sea, air, rail, and road — leverage transhipment to consolidate shipments headed towards similar destinations. This system facilitates the creation of more direct and swifter routes for transporting goods.

Without transhipment, the sheer magnitude of the logistics involved in international shipping would be overwhelming, as a direct route to every destination is impractical and economically unfeasible.

cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Dec 12 2023, 04:11 PM

937 posts

already end of 2023 still this kind of shit.

its good since jibby time, just people used to take down jibby.

and GST also.
SUSjoe_star
post Dec 12 2023, 04:12 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 02:13 PM)
The option to upgrade to 300kmh was available, given it's standard gauge track, again that's in theory only

In practice no one is going to do that on a line that is shared with freight. The tolerances necessary for a HSR will mean enormous costs to maintain the track if freight trains also run on them as well.

Maybe PRC or West can sustain such costs, we definitely can't afford to
vearn29
post Dec 12 2023, 04:14 PM

25 posts

initially is for cargo.
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 04:38 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Dec 12 2023, 04:12 PM)
The option to upgrade to 300kmh was available, given it's standard gauge track, again that's in theory only

In practice no one is going to do that on a line that is shared with freight. The tolerances necessary for a HSR will mean enormous costs to maintain the track if freight trains also run on them as well.

Maybe PRC or West can sustain such costs, we definitely can't afford to
Completely impossible. The curves in the track alone makes it impossible no matter how big you make the tolerances. Requires new track for HSR.
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 04:45 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Dec 12 2023, 03:14 PM)
It was tout, but perhaps the train then is not the same as what we're building now. The current train planned is 160KM/h.

Anyway, I know for a fact if 1 hour ride for 310km, that means the train must be traveling at an average speed of 310KM/h. This is not up to debate, this is actual mathematics lol. I'm sure you can acknowledge this. Either you got the distance wrong, or the train speed has changed from original plan.

As far as I know, ECRL isn't using high-speed railway (bullet train).

Even here you can see the entire ECRL track (600KM) will take 4 hours - https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2022/01/...u-kl-four-hours. So I genuinely have no idea where you get the number 300km (half the track) will take only one hour. You might have remembered wrongly sorry.
Maybe, but what I said is what I heard during the 2017 ECRL exhibition
nevertheless from Kuantan to Melawati with approx of 2 hours is still better then driving 2 hours
plus from my home I can actually see the ECRL pllars and tracks, hopefully the sound will be bearable

QUOTE(joe_star @ Dec 12 2023, 04:06 PM)
https://www.nst.com.my/opinion/columnists/2...g-east-and-west

From 2017, even here it's mentioned travel time is cut to 4 hours.

Now assume the full line is 665km, divide by 4 is average speed of 160km/h.

So your 40 min from KL to Kuantan is definitely sembang kencang, only possible if the line is dedicated for passenger and fully upgraded to 300kmh which was not even in original scope and doesn't work with the main intention which is freight ops. Goods trains don't run on hsr tracks.

Anyway I fully support ECRL and believe it should not have been cut down in scope, again not for passenger travel but for supporting high density freight ops so that we can take away business from SG port
2017 4 hours from Tok Bali kat Gombak no?
640KM with 4 hours 20 min for new line
640 is KB to Klang Port
not sure for ITT Gombak is the same distance

This post has been edited by atreyuangel: Dec 12 2023, 04:50 PM
Ttbatdtptsm
post Dec 12 2023, 04:46 PM

80 posts

Pahang state gov already hopes federal extended Bentong to Raub to lipis …. Those towns by the hill side are so nice … i got land there , hope can build chalet or resort next to the rivers
jmas
post Dec 12 2023, 04:50 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

speaking of jb, i just learnt that there are no direct train from KL to JB
atreyuangel
post Dec 12 2023, 04:51 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Ttbatdtptsm @ Dec 12 2023, 04:46 PM)
Pahang state gov already hopes federal extended Bentong to Raub to lipis …. Those towns by the hill side are so nice … i got land there , hope can build chalet or resort next to the rivers
Hopefully
ni projek aerotrain Kuantan pun senyap je ni
yhtan
post Dec 12 2023, 04:52 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 12 2023, 04:50 PM)
Wait the Gemas-JB double track finish then it will have, apparently it was delay to year 2025.
Gargamel_gibson
post Dec 12 2023, 04:54 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 12 2023, 04:50 PM)
Old track got, now ETS double tracking electrified up to Gemas. From Gemas to JB ETS is ready soon then will be direct ETS.
SUSjoe_star
post Dec 12 2023, 05:01 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 12 2023, 04:54 PM)
Old track got, now ETS double tracking electrified up to Gemas. From Gemas to JB ETS is ready soon then will be direct ETS.
No direct train but can take ETS up to gemas then change to diesel intercity, but not recommended unless you have so much free time and want to experience the trip

Last time I tried catching a train in gemas but the intercity coming from Kelantan was delayed by 6 hours. End up take bus to JB
machomama
post Dec 12 2023, 07:12 PM

63 posts

yup
one only has a year or so more to enjoy riding the diesel locos down south before it's electrified

i find the seats in the older generation coaches much much more comfier & plush (memang class) comparatively to the current ETS line, gold/business class lain cerita.......that one you pay through ur nose
comparing standard (diesel loco) to standard (ETS)

plus it's a DIESEL Loco!
dengar bunyi je stim
u won't get this unless hang pi pantai timur on the other ktm line

SUSjoe_star
post Dec 12 2023, 07:21 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(machomama @ Dec 12 2023, 07:12 PM)
yup
one only has a year or so more to enjoy riding the diesel locos down south before it's electrified

i find the seats in the older generation coaches much much more comfier & plush (memang class) comparatively to the current ETS line, gold/business class lain cerita.......that one you pay through ur nose
comparing standard (diesel loco) to standard (ETS)

plus it's a DIESEL Loco!
dengar bunyi je stim
u won't get this unless hang pi pantai timur on the other ktm line
Pantai Timur also mostly converted to Diesel EMU already, it's like komuter train but on diesel.

They should retain electric loco hauled service with sleeper especially for direct train from Padang besar to JB like express rakyat last time

0.0658sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:33 AM