Banking GXBank - First Malaysian Digital Bank (by Grab), UNLIMITED 1% cashback+3% p.a. interest!

guy3288
post Apr 11 2024, 09:19 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Apr 11 2024, 01:57 AM)
it seems GX calculation messed up somewhere, cause it doesnt make sense. 4941 x 2% /366 = 0.27 exactly.

- those who have clean 4941.00 in pocket only get 0.67 cents (0.41 + 0.26)
- those have some leftovers 4941.xx in pocket get 0.68 cents (0.41 + 0.27)

mine was a clean pocket, so i also got 0.67 x 10 pockets shakehead.gif
10 cents missing basically

im guessing for tmr i should start getting 0.68 based on my finding above.. we'll see.
so for RM4941 interest RM0.67 memang correct lah.

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 11 2024, 05:00 PM)
Thank you boss. You're absolutely correct. Using 11 decimal places as per GXBank Interest Calc FAQ.

New magic number is 4941.01

*All 2 decimal points except where otherwise specified. Rounding as per GXBank's doc ie: round on 3rd decimal point. Not round up or round down, just round.
you cannot just round it
you have to either round it up or round it down.

when you round a long numbers you either cut some or add some.

GXbank made a mistake on which decimal to round up/down

5% on RM4941 = RM0.674999,
GXbank take 3rd decimal to round down = RM0.67

3%of 4941 = RM0.404999,
This 3% is meant to deduct
GXbank take the 4th decimal to round up =RM0.41
by right should be RM0.40

But final return is same , you takda rugi lah.

Mistake with RM0.41, you get
RM0.41 +(RM0.67 - RM0.41)
RM0.41 + RM0.26
RM0.67

No mistake RM0.40, you get same also
RM0.40 + (RM0.67 - RM0.40)
RM0.40 + RM0.27
RM0.67

guy3288
post Apr 11 2024, 10:49 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Apr 11 2024, 10:04 PM)
can suka hati choose whichever decimal point to take as reference for round up/down one meh?

Cannot of course. GXbank should not try to cheat us

anyway as per their own statement given, they round to 2 decimal places and doing so by looking at the 3rd decimal place whether it is 5 and above to round up.
so we know it is definitely looking at 3rd decimal place.
yes you are right there,
so GXbank made a mistake on that 3% it should be RM0.40 and not RM0.41 which is the source of your headache.

whichever way you look at it, for the 2% the return of 4941 is most definitely 0.27. No buts or ifs regarding this.
The only way you could get 0.26 was if one part of the calculation used inconsistently with the rest of the calculation, i.e. the amount of decimals being counted when multiplying the interest with amount. Basically the one soonwai was showing above regarding the 15 decimals vs 11 decimals usage.
this i agree and i did say this:
that RM0.27 is not from multiplying capital with rate
like how 5% and 3% is calculated

It is from simple deduction ,
5%-3% = 2%

RM0.67 - RM0-41, so you cannot get RM0.27 no matter what

The wrong RM0.41 is the source of your headache

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 11 2024, 10:14 PM)
Programmer 1 did the base 3% calculation
Intern Programmer 2 did the Raya 2% calculation.
This could explains the inconsistency of "round down, round up, round"

In the T&C,
I never understand why the need to minus to get the 2% Raya bonus
Can they just add 2% instead ?

Really bodoh person buat kerja....

I agree with you there
why make it so complicated till people all confused..
guy3288
post Apr 11 2024, 11:15 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 11 2024, 10:55 PM)
Important to note that this is not a rounding mistake then it becomes clear.
what mistake then?
calculation mistake?

it should be rounded down to RM0.40
but GXbank made a rounding mistake
went rounded it up to RM0.41
guy3288
post Apr 11 2024, 11:32 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 11 2024, 11:18 PM)
The Base 3% is rounded up all this while.

RM61 in Main Account get 0.01 sen daily. brows.gif

It's the new Raya 2% which is done "incorrectly"  bangwall.gif  :confused:
How to round it up if next decimal is less than 5?

I give few numbers below awaiting for round up from whoever can confirm it

any one can confirm all would be rounded up to 0.05, 0.13, 0.35 and 0.46?

i think only 0.46 can happen, the rests would be rounded down.

The Raya 2% was incorrectly done because GXbank has rounded up wrongly
something that should be rounded down..

guy3288
post Apr 12 2024, 11:27 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Apr 12 2024, 03:41 PM)
but for Rize... the rates offered is way lower
yeah 5% vs 3.8% only 30days

me still using Rize.
waiting for sspni to produce something better 4.8% or more

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 11 2024, 11:49 PM)

As far as GXB is concerned, I've tested that 0.005 rounds to 0.01.
RM61 @ 3% gives 1 sen interest. (0.005000000000015) This is with at least a precision of 15 decimal points.

14 decimal points will get 0 sen. (0.00499999981)

Then you're back to 1 sen at 8 decimal points precision. (0.00500017)

bro
are you sure there?
with 8 decimal precision you can get 0.00500017?

if at 14 you are down to 0.00499999981
at 8 decimal i expect you to be down ever further.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 12 2024, 08:47 AM)
Huh??
Calculator can make mistake? If that they trying to say??
Lolz
YES!

calculator is wrong because it has truncated many numbers behind for ease of daily use.

And if multiplied many times, eg by RM61 or RM4941...
the number can be different
slight difference

guy3288
post Apr 13 2024, 08:52 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Apr 13 2024, 02:02 AM)
firstly 3% / 366 = has unlimited amount of decimals.
if you allow your calculator to go up to 1000 decimals, it will show you 1000 decimals.

most programming languages have pre-defined amount of decimals to take. precision 15 in this case.
and to take up to 15 decimal points only, means the rest got truncated and rounded up/down.

the first 16 decimals of 3%/366 = 0.0000819672131147
to make it 15 decimals, the 16th decimal gets rounded (up in this case)

15 decimals = 0.000081967213115
11 decimals = 0.00008196721

in deciding to use 11 or 15 decimals for the calculation, will yield different results, and in our case, it has consequences that affects the final outcome for us.

if we take 15 decimals:
0.000081967213115 * 61 = 0.005000000000014999

we can leave behind the rest of the decimals as only the first 3 decimals are important in deciding whether GX pays out that interest.
and in this case, by using 15 decimals, the end output would be 0.005
When you round it according to GX's conditions. You get 0.01 and thus eligible for the minimum payout of at least 1 cent.

if we follow GX documentation, they take 11 decimals in their calculation examples:
0.00008196721 * 61 = 0.00499999981
leave behind the rest of decimals as we only look at first 3 decimals when determining the payout.
and in this case, by using 11 decimals, the end output would be 0.004
Again, round it according to GX's conditions. You get 0.00 and thus the minimum threshold is not achieved and hence no payout.

for your reference 8 decimals gets you: 0.00008197 * 61 = 0.00500017, 0.005 and this would be eligible for the payout after rounding

and finally, all this ties up to the kerfuffle the other day regarding the payout which GX gave.
The way they pay it out implies heavily that their math is funny.

Firstly take a look at this for 4941.00 deposit:

If you follow the 11 decimals which GX used in their documentation, there is no way 3%/366 * 4941 will get you 0.41.
11 decimals gets you: 0.40499998461 = 0.40 payout

So how did it show up as 0.41?
Because 15 decimals was used (just like in their main 3% calculation which enables RM61 to get 1 cent payout. and since this 3% is directly paid out like normal, so it makes sense here 15 decimals was used too)
15 decimals gets you: 0.405000000001215 = 0.41 payout

Now the tricky part comes in with their 2% bonus. and because their bonus is calculated as such 5% - 3% = 2%
If the decimals were consistent throughout when calculating the 5% portion and the 3% portion, the 2% portion will always get you 0.27 for 4941.00
It doesn't matter you used 11 or 15 decimals. So long as you stick with the same amount of decimals each time!

So how then did it show up as 0.26?
The answer: quite simply, GX cocked it up by not being consistent in decimal usage for their calculations.
We already know from above that their 3% main portion was calculated using 15 decimals, despite their documentation examples showing them calculate using 11 decimals only.
Since this raya bonus is a new thing, what if then the 5% portion was calculated using 11 decimals just like in their documentation, while the 3% portion remains with the 15 decimals as it has always been the case?
You get:
Mystery solved.

Now if GX hadn't cocked it up like this and they used the same 15 decimals to calculate the 5% portion just like they do with the 3% portion, then 4941.00 will absolutely be able to get you 0.68 payout.
Because of this cock up, you need 4941.01 in order to get 0.68 payout.

good job

Accuracy increases with bigger decimal numbers included

but something still asking in me.

since use only 2 or 3 decimals we could be 'wrong'
or 'quite off' from the real answer

use higher 15 decimals or higher
we would be closer to the real answer

say the real answer is X , with as many decimals as you can use

as we use more and more decimals,
shouldnt we be moving in 1 direction
in getting nearer and nearer to that real answer?

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 13 2024, 03:42 AM)
Yeah, I'm sure. Less (or more) precision just affects accuracy, it doesn't make a number larger or smaller.
this is not as i have envisioned above
it is not moving in 1 direction

it can move forward getting nearer to X
but can also move backward ie
away from the real answer with higher decimals.

accuracy can drop also with higher decimals in use?
due to the rounding up effect
and amplified by multiplication x 61?

guy3288
post Apr 22 2024, 10:59 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Nemozai @ Apr 22 2024, 05:21 PM)
The quota is base on date 23rd April end or 1 000 000 000 max savings pockets actually ?

What if someone withdraw some money after 23rd April ? Then the 1 billion quota will be available again right ?

And they announce one day early. What if suddenly all people deposit last minutes before tomorrow ? Will exceed their 1 billion quota right ?

🤔
Whoa betul kah ini??

20000 accounts with each RM50,000 so fast maxed out already?

some more those with max RM50k will withdraw for sure even before end of promo..

i put whatever money i have into GXbank. I believe most of you also same.
put all in lah, later can take out mah.. anytime

so GXbank takkan nak say oh i withdrew my Rm50k out half way in campaign
it will let another 'new' RM50k in to mati mati must have full 1 billion ,
suka to pay 5%?

how to save money that way?
to save money, kira masuk saja,
keluar tak payah kira.
number sudah hit kah
belum hit kah
who knows.

kasi tutup on 23.4.24 is a sure way can save money
intention sudah achieved,
maybe number of new accounts required pun sudah dapat

guy3288
post Apr 23 2024, 12:08 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Apr 22 2024, 11:34 PM)
to answer my ques:

i guess based on this, seems like will be the case la.. so for those of you who still have quota for savings pocket better hurry and just create it first.. utilize or dont utilize that one later only talk

if that is the case, after 23.4.24 i would still be able to get 5%
i have created all the pockets but have withdrawn some pockets also.

depending on GXbank system clever enough or not
if clever all new money in from 23.4.24 would not get 5%

on 24.4.24 we can see, interest paid to new deposits

guy3288
post Apr 24 2024, 12:23 AM

5,871 posts

i tested add money into a partial pocket
confirmed still can get 5%
from new money added to old pocket
guy3288
post Apr 26 2024, 10:18 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 26 2024, 09:22 PM)
Has anyone else got this email from GXBank asking for further details on income and supporting documents. Looks legit. Why so mah fan one? With deadline to answer some more.
just random check lah..

i got 5 accounts , 1 account on my son not started work yet..
no email pun.
guy3288
post Apr 27 2024, 12:29 AM

5,871 posts

GXbank withdrawal perday max only RM5000?

if after 9.5.24 , interest drop down to 3% rate those with RM50,000 will be caught.

every day can WD RM5k need 10days only can come
out all.

so GX bank untung , your balance RM45k stuck 9 days

PS
my mistake - can remove out RM50k 1 shot

This post has been edited by guy3288: Apr 27 2024, 01:33 AM
guy3288
post Apr 27 2024, 01:32 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 27 2024, 12:42 AM)
You can change limit.
thanks , suddenly i remembered
i had asked in here before

good thing can transfer RM50k out 1 shot.

guy3288
post Apr 27 2024, 08:48 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 27 2024, 05:49 AM)
That was the first option I search first when I install gxbank app cause I heard about rize with their 5k issue. Didn't want that to happen to me.
Rize can WD RM 50k also

QUOTE(Thasmita @ Apr 27 2024, 08:27 AM)
Why will GX bank Untung?
People went in for promotion rate 5%
If 3% they dont want

guy3288
post Apr 28 2024, 09:05 PM

5,871 posts

i notice Transfer money out from GXbank is less strict compared to Rize

GXbank Duitnow out RM50k, no second layer check, just key in PIN, money gone
even if 1st time transfer out 3rd party IC

In Rize 1st time transfer out, sure kena block
must wait for verification

guy3288
post Apr 29 2024, 08:47 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 29 2024, 08:24 AM)
too easy to transfer we complain,
too difficult to transfer we complain.

Customers are king
i noticed banks are overdoing it on the other hand
instant transfer to OWN name also kena hold if done first time

Ini GXbank is underdoing it...
instant transfer big amount RM50k to a total stranger unrelated to owner
pun tak payah second layer check?

you lose sight of your phone
i know your pin, your money is gone in few seconds!
guy3288
post Apr 30 2024, 10:17 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 29 2024, 09:35 AM)
agree
recipient name not equal to bank account name = raise red flag for checking
GXbank has improved overnight.. today duitnow to new number first time, all need selfie.

that is better.
guy3288
post May 2 2024, 02:46 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 2 2024, 01:54 PM)
April is my 6th month. I didn't get the cash back for GU. I contacted support and they say promo ended on 15th April. So everyone should not get cash back starting from 15th April regardless when you sign up.
is your date RM4.90 charged to Grab after 15.4.24?

mine 5th GU, RM4.90 charged in my Grab 3.4.24, I got CR RM4.90 in GXBank same date

my 6th GU would be RM4.90 charged on 4.5.24, shall i cancel it now??
guy3288
post May 2 2024, 05:48 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 2 2024, 02:55 PM)
Yes mine charged 23.04.2024

I'm trying to argue now with GX bank because during signup TNC says 6 months rite? Doesn't make sense they terminate early.
yes GXbank should give cashback RM4.90 till full 6th month

live chat her
tell her if not for the promise of rebate, we wont subscribe

if GX bank not give cashback rebate before end of 6 month,
then why debit us ?

fire her, you know how to stop cashback?
dont know how to stop debit?

guy3288
post May 3 2024, 02:39 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ May 3 2024, 01:24 PM)
rm61 for 6% effective interest. 😁
QUOTE(Optizorb @ May 3 2024, 01:35 PM)
RM61 x 11 pockets = 11 cents/day for RM671 capital

RM671 x 5% /366 = 9 cents/day for RM671 capital
whoa very keng lah you guys... thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
kasi squeeze sama gx cukup cukup..
can be like 1 sen thief
semua buat mati lor gx...
guy3288
post May 3 2024, 07:45 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ May 3 2024, 03:01 PM)
wont mati la.

good to contribute some back to malaysia(ns) lo
ooi dont play play bro...

we take 5 sen a day you know,
500k kakis can wallop
RM4.1 million in less than 6 months!!

the amount stolen by that 1 sen thief in 1990s.

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 3 2024, 03:21 PM)
we are 11 cents thief
main wallet + 10 pockets!!

11 cents x 30 days
RM3.30 per month not bad ma
if 11 sen lagi teruk lah.. can wallop double the amount stollen by 1 sen thief man..

This post has been edited by guy3288: May 3 2024, 08:00 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0237sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:08 PM