Anyone with PHEV Cars? Best & better than EV only?

TSmactreouser
post Oct 11 2023, 08:23 PM, updated 3y ago

2,512 posts

I just heard a friend mentioned about Chery will launch its PHEV Car instead of EV only! And be said PHEV is best & better than EV only. True and how best?

Any PHEV users around to share some experiences and its Pros & Cons?

Thanks 😊
SUSMr Mercedes
post Oct 11 2023, 08:36 PM

424 posts

The Chery Ohmaoda 5 EV is coming soon
slaveone
post Oct 11 2023, 09:07 PM

1,228 posts

Cons
PHEV still got engine that need to be maintained
Need to charge the battery every time, else you're carrying extra weight and not getting the mileage benefit.

Pros
Can lessen the visit to fuel station if your daily drive is using the batteries only.
Cheaper charging cost if charge at home compared to public chargers

toughguy
post Oct 11 2023, 09:57 PM

105 posts

More parts, more problems.
kkkw80
post Oct 11 2023, 11:01 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,014 posts

Using 530e PHEV for 5 years now, love it. At least no anxiety over low battery
geforce88
post Oct 11 2023, 11:11 PM

2,841 posts

i got 2 friends with PHEV, newly bought very rajin can charge almost every night even though not convenient (one stay condo, another one stay kampung house).

after few months, none of them bother to charge anymore.

IMHO those older hybrids like Camry, Civic, Prius etc are much better.
Hunakadoo
post Oct 11 2023, 11:20 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

phev - telur setengah masak
Pugbunny
post Oct 12 2023, 08:20 AM

717 posts

Why not just go for hybrid
dev/numb
post Oct 12 2023, 11:55 PM

691 posts

A PHEVs only makes sense if your daily mileage is within its electric range limit and you have the capability to charge it at home every day, preferably with your home at least partially powered by solar energy. If you fail to meet these requirements, regular HEVs will make far more economic sense.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Oct 12 2023, 11:56 PM
TSmactreouser
post Oct 13 2023, 12:39 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Oct 11 2023, 09:07 PM)
Cons
PHEV still got engine that need to be maintained
Need to charge the battery every time, else you're carrying extra weight and not getting the mileage benefit.

Pros
Can lessen the visit to fuel station if your daily drive is using the batteries only.
Cheaper charging cost if charge at home compared to public chargers
Does the PHEV ICE engine exactly the same as ICE's?

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Oct 11 2023, 11:01 PM)
Using 530e PHEV for 5 years now, love it. At least no anxiety over low battery
Wow... thanks for the confident answer!
As everyone concerned, how's the maintenance cost? Other than the battery life span, how about the maintenance cost for ICE Parts? Like a normal ICE Engine to service every 5000km, gear oil, water pump etc?

Your practical experience of sharing is appreciated 🙏🏼

PHEV Really has the range of 800km - 1000km?

Have you travel outstation?

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Oct 11 2023, 11:11 PM)
i got 2 friends with PHEV, newly bought very rajin can charge almost every night even though not convenient (one stay condo, another one stay kampung house).

after few months, none of them bother to charge anymore.

IMHO those older hybrids like Camry, Civic, Prius etc are much better.
Haha... does it mean finally they sold?

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Oct 12 2023, 08:20 AM)
Why not just go for hybrid
Hybrid Petrol 1st and like x90 40km below only kicked in battery. And PHEV Battery 1st, so it's an "EV" like car but got back up Petrol (correct me if I'm wrong 😬)

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Oct 12 2023, 11:55 PM)
A PHEVs only makes sense if your daily mileage is within its electric range limit and you have the capability to charge it at home every day, preferably with your home at least partially powered by solar energy. If you fail to meet these requirements, regular HEVs will make far more economic sense.
A lot of Hybrid users mentioned, Hybrid Car just like a Petrol Car, cause most of the time are running Engine (after 40km or 60km). So,it carries a big battery for back up. True?
dev/numb
post Oct 13 2023, 02:54 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Oct 13 2023, 12:39 AM)
Hybrid Petrol 1st and like x90 40km below only kicked in battery. And PHEV Battery 1st, so it's an "EV" like car but got back up Petrol (correct me if I'm wrong 😬)
A lot of Hybrid users mentioned, Hybrid Car just like a Petrol Car, cause most of the time are running Engine (after 40km or 60km). So,it carries a big battery for back up. True?
Yes, you can treat a PHEV as an EV for short distances and fall back on the ICE on a road trip, but most PHEVs have a range of under 100km in EV mode, afaik. If you do very little mileage daily and have landed housing to charge it at home, then it can make some sense, but in terms of pure economics you’re not really making up for the premium price you’re paying for a PHEV over an ICE car in the same segment if you’re not driving it enough. If you’re doing a lot of driving (eg: 1000km/week) a regular HEV is still a lot more pragmatic than a PHEV even if RON95 prices go up by 30%.

As for the second part, a PHEV has a much bigger battery than a regular HEV. On a HEV, the small battery is meant to augment the ICE unit. ICE will shut off at lower speeds or during stop/start driving. Most HEVs also have an EV mode where you can run purely on battery power up to 70 or 80km/h, but it only lasts a few km at most. On a PHEV, your thinking should be to separate EV and ICE duties (basically 2 cars in 1). For some people it’s the best of both worlds because their daily mileage and charging setup (landed + solar) allows them to truly maximize this in terms of economics, but for others it’s too much of a compromise because the battery range isn’t enough for their daily commute in EV mode and ICE mode gives poorer mileage compared to regular non-hybrid ICE models because the car is carrying more weight thanks to the battery.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Oct 13 2023, 02:57 AM
constant_weight
post Oct 13 2023, 07:37 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Oct 13 2023, 02:54 AM)
it’s too much of a compromise because the battery range isn’t enough for their daily commute in EV mode and ICE mode gives poorer mileage compared to regular non-hybrid ICE models because the car is carrying more weight thanks to the battery.
Nope, my ownership experience say otherwise. ICE mode don't give poorer mileage versus non-hybrid ICE. It is more economical than ICE car that contains 50% horsepower even when PHEV "battery is flat".

At worse case PHEV still perform better than HEV, because the left over 0% battery capacity still higher than HEV full charge capacity.

Experience is a lot better traffic jam, engine remain off longer then HEV at "0%" state. Unless one get stuck at Bukit Bintang friday evening jam, car don't move for 20-30min straight, other normal occation engine never turn on at stop even when battery show 0%.

Even when engine charging the battery at idle, PHEV is a lot quieter than HEV due to much much power engine. HEV tiny engine need to rev high rpm to charge.
HEV noise when charging battery when car is stop is enough to interrupt the conversation people sitting in the car. Kinda pause for few seconds, here come the noise, before continue.

I get below 7L/100km or above 14.3km/l over 760km distance day trip, with no change to charge. This is from actual refuel of 53L, not trip computer. Although my trip computer is accurate and true to refuel amount.

This is 400+ hp PHEV, and not really driven gently on some section of the road (chill good boy legal speed mostly, then when overtaking lorries won't hesitate to go to 200km/h, and overtaking everyone at hill climb near Ipoh). This is better economy that my previous 200hp turbo car, with only 50% horsepower. Can HEV still do 22-25km/l driven at similar manner? Not only speed, but also match the pace change.

Of course if one abuse the floor to metal flat out 100-200km/h, hard brake behind anyone block then full accelerate again when there is opening, fuel economy = worse than 5km/l. Not going to deny that.
Full tank trip computer estimated range drop to 2xx km only.

Can HEV more fuel economy than PHEV? In some case, sure. However HEV has only 25% of horsepower vs PHEV on average, and the result is on average 10-20% better fuel economy versus PHEV that don't charge at all.
Of course price also 30% of PHEV, but being said that if one can afford PHEV, there is no reason to settle for HEV.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Oct 13 2023, 07:38 AM
constant_weight
post Oct 13 2023, 09:16 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Oct 11 2023, 08:23 PM)
I just heard a friend mentioned about Chery will launch its PHEV Car instead of EV only! And be said PHEV is best & better than EV only. True and how best?

Any PHEV users around to share some experiences and its Pros & Cons?

Thanks 😊
I'm looking for overall ownership experience. Not actually it is PHEV, it is merely one of the perks.

Tax incentive is big part of it.

My PHEV if you trying to tick all the optional feature in US to be same spec as Malaysia version. It will cost near USD70,000 with destination tax.
The same USD70,000 price in US can buy a Porsche Macan S.

In Malaysia my PHEV is 300k, and the base tine kosong Porsche Macan cost 400k. Macan S will be 500k+ depends on the optional box ticked.

Overall get a lot better total ownership experience (driving, power, comfort, safety, trim) compared to ICE car at same 300k. Think of what you can get in C200 with 288k.

If wanna save money with PHEV, can forget about it. Sure it save some with better fuel economy, but the $$ save is not meaningful relative to the car price.

Now with the Chery, sorry I'm against anything from Chery, ICE/EV/PHEV anything. Due to Chery don't put lots of effort R&D in the mechanical tuning, handling, braking. The brake bias is bad, meaning the nose dive badly controlled in braking, car nose lifted heavily in acceleration. With the PHEV + turbo, it is something car enthusiasts engine is too strong for weak chassis.

It is ok if you drive mostly in city, just do straight line speed on highway, but not turn corner fast type. Careful on the brake, give same tyre braking distance is not as good as other car with better brake bias tuning.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Oct 13 2023, 10:24 AM
Quazacolt
post Oct 21 2023, 10:49 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Oct 13 2023, 07:37 AM)
Experience is a lot better traffic jam, engine remain off longer then HEV at "0%" state. Unless one get stuck at Bukit Bintang friday evening jam, car don't move for 20-30min straight, other normal occation engine never turn on at stop even when battery show 0%.

Even when engine charging the battery at idle, PHEV is a lot quieter than HEV due to much much power engine. HEV tiny engine need to rev high rpm to charge.
HEV noise when charging battery when car is stop is enough to interrupt the conversation people sitting in the car. Kinda pause for few seconds, here come the noise, before continue.

I get below 7L/100km or above 14.3km/l over 760km distance day trip, with no change to charge. This is from actual refuel of 53L, not trip computer. Although my trip computer is accurate and true to refuel amount.

Can HEV more fuel economy than PHEV? In some case, sure. However HEV has only 25% of horsepower vs PHEV on average, and the result is on average 10-20% better fuel economy versus PHEV that don't charge at all.
Of course price also 30% of PHEV, but being said that if one can afford PHEV, there is no reason to settle for HEV.
I've now co owning a HRV RS hybrid, HEV.
overall experience is not as bad as you said, but yes hybrid car not very fuel saving after all

Especially highways and even more so long distance
I'm getting 15-16 KM/L Melaka to KL then KL to Ipoh. (90-120km/h)

Civic FE on highways can go between 16-20 KM/L, at slightly higher speeds. (110-140km/h)

Yes the engine stays in a ton longer on highways, EV light comes on very less compared to stop go traffic lights /traffic jams. (Generally urban driving)
That's where HEV/ hybrids/EV shines.

The puny 1.5L Atkinson engine screams are there, but not loud enough to interrupt conversations.

But yes, like you said, PHEV comes at a premium, it "should" be a given being better, and whatever you saving will never ROI your money spent on the car.

Similarly to buying HEV vs ICE variants
ZeneticX
post Oct 21 2023, 10:51 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2023, 10:49 PM)
overall experience is not as bad as you said, but yes hybrid car not very fuel saving after all

Especially highways and even more so long distance
I'm getting 15-16 KM/L Melaka to KL then KL to Ipoh. (90-120km/h)

Civic FE on highways can go between 16-20 KM/L, at slightly higher speeds. (110-140km/h)

Yes the engine stays in a ton longer on highways, EV light comes on very less compared to stop go traffic lights /traffic jams. (Generally urban driving)

The puny 1.5L Atkinson engine screams are there, but not loud enough to interrupt conversations.

But yes, like you said, PHEV comes at a premium, it "should" be a given being better, and whatever you saving will never ROI your money spent on the car.

Similarly to buying HEV vs ICE variants
You will only reap the benefits of hybrid if you spend a lot of time in traffic jams or stop n go traffic
constant_weight
post Oct 21 2023, 11:32 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2023, 10:49 PM)

In urban, or even stop-N-still-can-go traffic, hybrid is decent and shines in term of fuel economy.

I just have strong opinion during standstill "stop-No-go" traffic. 1 hour+ still can't get past traffic light 100m away.
Not everyone has that disaster in their car use case, I no longer need to go through that for many years, but that nightmare still got my nerve.

PHEV has 2x - 3x more torque engine to charge the battery at lower RPM during standstill, thus minimal intrusion.
The way hybrid engine charge battery when at complete standstill is my biggest bad experience.

Or maybe Honday HEV manage the charging hell a lot better the Prius tongue.gif I haven't have change to sit in HEV in that kind of traffic.

My philosophy - The ROI from car are the experiences, the time spent, the place visited, the people sat in together, the freedom, non of it is about the money.
RV is nonsense, sooner or later even property RV will down the drain with world aging population, unless the property is in India.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Oct 21 2023, 11:41 PM
Quazacolt
post Oct 22 2023, 12:11 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Oct 21 2023, 11:32 PM)
Or maybe Honday HEV manage the charging hell a lot better the Prius  tongue.gif I haven't have change to sit in HEV in that kind of traffic.

My philosophy - The ROI from car are the experiences, the time spent, the place visited, the people sat in together, the freedom, non of it is about the money.
RV is nonsense, sooner or later even property RV will down the drain with world aging population, unless the property is in India.
Well, Honda's latest HEV is all new and entirely new design philosophy vs Toyota tried and true. Reliability is definitely a question mark only eased by its 8 years and unlimited mileage warranty

Basically, it's an EV, with a Honda petrol power generator to charge it lol.
Someone in Honda took that meme really literally lol
But of course not exactly that as both EV and ICE can run together and Honda used a ton of its peak combined torque figures for marketing.

Not just RV, more towards fuel saving where electrification is harped to reduce usage of Dino juice.
But yes as mentioned, the reality is you've spent so much on the car, it takes damn long usage, mileage and duration (many many years, and even making the assumption that government took away the RON95 subsidies and fuel price doubled) of ownership to get back the fuel savings ROI to the additional premium you've spent for the HEV. (As compared to if you've just bought the regular Dino juice guzzler l.

RV, probably a thing for my wife(since very loyal Honda fans/owner), to me, considering the car i personally own, it's obvious i don't really care about RV at all.

Side tracking to properties, the forever Illusive properties Bubble bursting is still being talked upon
alepfx
post Oct 22 2023, 12:24 AM

34 posts

I just loved how nissan e-power works. Most of the PHEV, hybrid manufacturers focuses on ICE engine while the electric motor as an additional power booster or for short distance, speed limited purpose only. Nissan power-e focuses on 100% electric motor while the ICE acts as battery charger/generator. So no wonder small displacement on the ICE. For more details, refer to https://www.nissan-global.com/EN/INNOVATION...RCHIVE/E_POWER/
constant_weight
post Oct 22 2023, 06:02 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 22 2023, 12:11 AM)

But of course not exactly that as both EV and ICE can run together and Honda used a ton of its peak combined torque figures for marketing.

(many many years, and even making the assumption that government took away the RON95 subsidies and fuel price doubled) 

RV, probably a thing for my wife(since very loyal Honda fans/owner), to me, considering the car i personally own, it's obvious i don't really care about RV at all.

Side tracking to properties, the forever Illusive properties Bubble bursting is still being talked upon
This is similar to advertise engine/motor torque without consider the final drive gear ratio (even EV single gear). When Elon Musk stated 10,000Nm on the wheel, a lot of people call him bull shit.

But isn't what we get on the wheel is all it matters?

For my car the EV + ICE max torque is available up to ICE mid rpm of 4th gear, with EV motor at its half of max rpm. That's around 75km/h.
But to maximize speed reduction = torque amplification at the wheel, I should use 2nd gear at near red line instead.

Then EV + ICE max horsepower is available up to 3rd gear. At 4th gear the ICE max hp 6000rpm speed is 169km/h, while EV max hp available up to 158km/h at 12500rpm, there is slight speed mismatch.
Basically the EV motor reach max hp at 6000rpm, with torque flat from 0 - 6000rpm. After 6000rpm the torque started to tapper of, at max 12500rpm the torque about 50% of 6000rpm. Thus 6000rpm - 12500rpm the horsepower remain largely constant.

It took a lot of efforts to get the geeky information above. I tried to research the same for Honda HEV, but couldn't find the either of the gen/motor specification (basically max RPM, to what RPM it able to maintain max torque)

I'm the big supporter of no blanket fuel subsidies. Want to give target subsidies to B40 or some M40, as long as it is a fixed amount and no more than RM100 per month, I'm fine with it.
Like the recent chicken and meat subsidies after allow them to float per market price, those in needs get constant RM100 per month.

I'm not talking about properties bubble by some "master". I'm referring to the macro population structural transformation + urbanization that happening almost all over the world.
The developed countries are already relying on immigrants to maintain their workforce. If the trend did not reverse, Japan/Korea population will be half around mid 2030's.

Singapore slightly later, Malaysia around 2050's. US depends on immigrants policy, and France >50% of population will be African dependents.
India will be the global workforce, their current median age is only 26yo.

Focus in Malaysia it will not be flat. The large city like Penang, KL, JB will likely continue to grow. However we will see more and more abandoned ghost town.

kernel123
post Nov 9 2025, 06:51 PM

1,746 posts

Hai guys .currently eyeing for cherry tiggo 7 phev.really tempted to get 1 .I'm really worry about long term reliability.im comparing between phev and hev for example haval which would u guys choose

0.0157sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:02 AM