5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Cash or Wise (Digital Card), Travelling to Australia

ye0073
post Oct 6 2023, 03:59 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 02:36 PM)
are u having trouble in boarder asking to prove of cash?
The boarder didnt ask to prove of cash for me as i am using smart gate.

Update: Wise now supports Apple Pay for Malaysia user also.

This post has been edited by ye0073: Oct 6 2023, 04:02 PM
Icehart
post Oct 6 2023, 04:09 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 02:48 PM)
macam singapore, scan ur passport and wait for verification
QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 6 2023, 02:55 PM)
like KLIA e-gate
Oh isn't this better? Less chance of kena social engineered and asked questions.
But I suppose if you look like someone who will abuse visa you can't board the plane anyway.
prophetjul
post Oct 6 2023, 04:10 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 02:31 PM)
1k AUD, sure bo?
when kastam questioned u have to show u got enough in bank/cash to fund your trip, credit card not counted
happened many cases, especially m'sian get targeted, too many illegal working there

anyway, I would store cash in Wise then withdraw from ATM there
1k AUD (cash/in wise/in bank) is probably reasonable provided you already got accommodation
Been to Aus a dozen times, never asked to see cash. Who uses cash nowadays?
zstan
post Oct 6 2023, 04:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 04:09 PM)
Oh isn't this better? Less chance of kena social engineered and asked questions.
But I suppose if you look like someone who will abuse visa you can't board the plane anyway.
yeah. hence if u dont carry cash nobody question u also. cause they already know most people have credit cards
jmas
post Oct 6 2023, 04:25 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2023, 04:10 PM)
not really cash on hand they looking for, just if you got enough money to support your trip, like cash in bank for example
to clear doubt that you are not there to work illegally
prophetjul
post Oct 6 2023, 04:29 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 04:25 PM)
not really cash on hand they looking for, just if you got enough money to support your trip, like cash in bank for example
to clear doubt that you are not there to work illegally
That evidence was given during ETA application. Not at immigration.
adamtayy
post Oct 6 2023, 04:31 PM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:34 AM)
Hey guys, I'm travelling to Australia next month. I plan to bring Cash around 1k AUD for 8 days if I'm short in cash i will be using Wise Digital Card.

Any advice? Should i just Change 1.5k Australia Dollars or just rely on Wise will do but they have small surcharge for converting.
Sekian muaks
Do they have QR pay / e-wallet

8 days?

One day at least must prepare / put aside ~ 200 aussie dollar
jmas
post Oct 6 2023, 04:36 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2023, 04:29 PM)
That evidence was given during ETA application. Not at immigration.
I see, this i not sure la
back in 2019 my group of fren almost kena send back cuz they say "not enough proof" luckily they got local ppl to vouch for them
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 05:32 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 12:50 PM)
thanks for the input sir, i have a few question in mind.

- Do u have any issue at the boarder for carrying less cash?
- If i apply just for Wise Digital Card should be ok right since its connect to apply pay?
With all these comment, i gonna rethink about changing so much cash now haha
they didnt check for cash. not sure if that should be their SOP. but during applying ETA i do submit all my payslip, house title etc.
yes digital card fine. i add digital card to my apple pay the other day. wasn't support yet for Malaysia during my stay.

but i suggest just bring any CC that you have just in case if they ask how are you going to spend there.

dont forget to declare all the things. i heard now is very strict and once caught, they can either cancel your visa or shorten your length of stay cry.gif

This post has been edited by rip_code: Oct 6 2023, 05:50 PM
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 05:51 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 04:36 PM)
I see, this i not sure la
back in 2019 my group of fren almost kena send back cuz they say "not enough proof" luckily they got local ppl to vouch for them
yeah that was before covid. now ETA very slow to get. last time within few hours to 24 hours can get.

ETA nowadays need to submit all your income in this country like salary, car grant etc.
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 09:43 PM

172 posts

Just remember TS, there's a comprehensive thread in finance section about Wise here

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4953197/+1980#entry108262820
Icehart
post Oct 6 2023, 09:58 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Oct 6 2023, 05:51 PM)
yeah that was before covid. now ETA very slow to get. last time within few hours to 24 hours can get.

ETA nowadays need to submit all your income in this country like salary, car grant etc.
Depends on profile I guess.
Mine was approved in 2 minutes.
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 10:34 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 09:58 PM)
wow seriously 2 minutes? fastest i ever heard.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 09:54 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 10:58 PM)
2 minute even including IMMI and ETA app? wow thats fast, the fastest i get is 1 day with full support documents
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 09:56 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2023, 05:10 PM)
agree, i already discussed with my friends. We will put a 300AUD cash aside for emergencies, others we will use WISE and CC .

i already did applied Wise physical card for emergencies if i wanted to draw cash , and digitcal card is support by apple pay which is very convenient
Icehart
post Oct 9 2023, 10:30 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 9 2023, 09:54 AM)
2 minute even including IMMI and ETA app? wow thats fast, the fastest i get is 1 day with full support documents
2 minute after submission and paying the fees. Received the email - Thought it's gonna ask for full set of documents but surprised to see granted.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 10:34 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 9 2023, 11:30 AM)
2 minute after submission and paying the fees. Received the email - Thought it's gonna ask for full set of documents but surprised to see granted.
oh not with IMMI, my parents get instant approve in ETA app they dont have to go thru IMMI.
Icehart
post Oct 9 2023, 10:38 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 9 2023, 10:34 AM)
oh not with IMMI, my parents get instant approve in ETA app they dont have to go thru IMMI.
Let us know how your Australia trip and budget! I'm planning to go there next year.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 10:44 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 9 2023, 11:38 AM)
Let us know how your Australia trip and budget! I'm planning to go there next year.
Flight is around 3k for Scoot, Accommodation 3.5k for 7 nights cause im staying in CBD right beisde Victoria Market. Thats all i can provide from now, thats the spending so far i got.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 9 2023, 10:52 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ Oct 6 2023, 03:59 PM)
The boarder didnt ask to prove of cash for me as i am using smart gate.

Update: Wise now supports Apple Pay for Malaysia user also.
if muka jump aeroplane they will ask to you move aside

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0909sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:16 PM