Home solar 4 months in.
yeapsc73
Aug 20 2025, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 20 2025, 02:08 PM) U worry too much. Pg close shop lah, hoymiles close shop lar, inverter rosak lah Maybe you should worry also the 1 in a trillion chance a big meteor hit earth? Btw the inverter will still work even hoymiles close shop, just no live monitoring
yeapsc73
Aug 20 2025, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 20 2025, 02:56 PM) is all about risk management and what is the option if that happen. some like to plan ahead and do risk management, so just tak apa, when time come only care about it. the discussion is to for risk management and what to expected if shit hit the fan. so your suggestion? must buy huawei since huawei bigger company than hoymiles and wont close shop?
yeapsc73
Sep 2 2025, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Sep 2 2025, 09:38 AM) lmao TNB and their system.... NEM + TOU doesnt seem to work my latest bill is 100% import... bill out already so fast? ususally fastetst is on the 3rd
yeapsc73
Sep 3 2025, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(bee88 @ Sep 2 2025, 10:37 PM) I think for solar users no point going tou. It seems like they now even have peak and off peak generation record for export. And of course this could indicate something fishy going on soon. maybe for those having import>>export worth doing TOU as for myself import=export, saving thru TOU is merely 40sen a month the disappointing part is that we are still be charged for kwtbb
yeapsc73
Sep 12 2025, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 12 2025, 01:30 PM) i think can opt to ATAP for NEM after 10 years period if ATAP is still available
yeapsc73
Sep 12 2025, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(noien @ Sep 12 2025, 02:28 PM) NEM much better than ATAP no more NEM, so what choice do you have?
yeapsc73
Sep 12 2025, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(bee88 @ Sep 12 2025, 03:19 PM) Based on smp I thjnk. Not the fixed energy charge that we see in the bill. Every month might change smp. gosh that's like NOVA then, SMP around 21sen only
yeapsc73
Oct 3 2025, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(virtualgay @ Oct 2 2025, 09:30 PM) that is the problem - their focus is really more on factory big project and solar farm instead of roof top solar anyway this is just my personal experience, maybe others has better experience than me to add on - they use the cheapest material to get the maximum profit < - why i say so? because i get to compare my neighbor installation from other provider and their workmanship and their material is so much better and price is cheaper by 2k with same configuration anyone who install with solarvest pls feel free to comment? which provider your neighbor use with cheaper price and better material? sourcing for one for my sis house. thanks
yeapsc73
Oct 3 2025, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(jeckyl @ Oct 3 2025, 01:10 PM) Do we know what is the range for the "System Marginal Price"? Is it in use under NEM already or it will be new tariff under Solar ATAP?
yeapsc73
Oct 17 2025, 09:46 AM
 System nowadays is much cheaper, 12.4kwp system around 45k EPP with 32kwh battery. If cash term can negotiate for a few k more discount. This is enough for 1200kwh usage per month.
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 02:16 PM) . Most households use most of their electricity at night. The Solar company needs to provide a bigger BESS/battery, eg 48kWh (usable = 40kWh) instead of 32kWh, bc a 12.4kWp system produces about 40kWh-50kWh during daytime or 1,300kWh per month. . The elders are at home during daytime and do cooking and use AC so about 80% of battery backup is perfectly fine. You need to consider pipul punya usage pattern before commenting as if u know it all and are the smartest in /k Even if nobody at home during daytime during weekday, they will be in during weekend so it is not totally wasted
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 03:41 PM) . Do most households have elders at home.? Do most households use AC during the day.? . AFAIK, a 32kWh BESS/battery only has a normal usable 26kWh for night-time use = similar to charging our smartphones and your EV car from 10%-90% during normal use. 26kWh out of 43kWh is 60% of battery backup/storage during day-time, not 80%, ie 43kWh produced per day by a 12.4kWp Solar system = 1,300kWh produced per month during day-time. ....... https://www.tls-containers.com/tls-blog/max...timal-soc-range - MAXIMIZING BESS PERFORMANCE: THE IMPORTANCE OF AN OPTIMAL SOC RANGE 2/28/2025 .... Although a battery can theoretically cycle from 0% to 100% SOC, best practices dictate operating within a narrower range—such as 10%–90% or 20%–80% to minimize stress and extend system life. This operational strategy pays dividends in enhanced reliability, improved safety, and long-term cost savings. By understanding and adhering to these guidelines, BESS operators can maximize the performance and longevity of their energy storage systems, ensuring stable power delivery and reduced maintenance costs over time. ... Pipul need to know-it-all and be smartest as much as possible before spending about RM50k to pay Solar companies to install a Roof Solar system under ATAP with BESS. Correct.? . Nowadays ppl using lfp battery so charging to 100% and discharging ro 0% is fine just that life cycle is reduced to around 3 to 4000 which is still enough for 10 years of usage Also after that 3 to 4000 cycle the battery is not dead, just the capacity reduce to 7 to 80% which will still give substantial saving after 10 years
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 04:16 PM) . You are recommending pipul to not follow best practice wrt BESS that use LFP batteries. ....... https://www.batterytechonline.com/ev-batter...charging-habits - New Study Raises Questions About LFP Battery Charging Habits Charging LFP batteries to 100% might not be as harmless as once thought, according to a new study that challenges conventional EV wisdom. - 26 Aug 2024https://www.bstess.com/news/should-you-char...onsumers-guide/ - Should You Charge LFP Battery to 100% Daily? A Consumer’s Guide Lithium iron phosphate (LFP) batteries, often used in electric vehicles (EVs), solar energy storage systems, and other high-capacity applications, have garnered significant attention due to their safety, durability, and environmentally friendly properties. But when it comes to charging these batteries, one common question arises: Should you charge your LFP battery to 100% every day? ...
.... LFP batteries, like all rechargeable batteries, degrade over time. However, the rate of degradation can be influenced by several factors, including how you charge and discharge the battery. The following factors will help you understand how to extend the lifespan of your LFP battery.
1. Frequency of Full Charges
Charging your LFP battery to 100% occasionally is fine, but doing so regularly can result in a higher rate of degradation. By limiting full charges to only when necessary (e.g., for long trips in an EV), you can slow down this process. In general, the fewer times you charge a battery to 100%, the better for its long-term health.
2. Avoid Deep Discharges
While it may seem intuitive to let your battery drain to 0% to “get more use out of it,” deep discharges can also harm the battery. For optimal lifespan, try to keep the charge level above 20%. Charging between 20% and 80% (or 90%) is often considered the sweet spot for most battery chemistries, including LFP. ... . Read my post, I am not saying is harmless.
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 04:47 PM) . So, why you recommend pipul follow harmful or not best practices.? Eg your recommendation will result in pipul spending more money to pay Solar companies to replace their BESS/LFP batteries sooner. . U can spend another 20k to get 55kwh battery to follow 80/20 charging. Which will also be overkill during weekend. Your choice .
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 05:23 PM) In that case, ROI will be >10 years under ATAP with BESS. . So, I recommend pipul to follow best practices and wait until prices of solar PV panels and BESS batteries drop by at least 30% before adopting it for their homes if under ATAP with BESS. .  Battery 10 years warranty can just abuse gao gao. If needed add new module after 10 years Btw your house already install NEM? This post has been edited by yeapsc73: Oct 19 2025, 05:30 PM
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 06:21 PM) . Fyi, ....... From Hoymile BESS/battery Warranty pdf, ....... Hoymiles https://www.hoymiles.com › downloads › hoymi... PDF The effective warranty period starts from the earlier of: (1) 4 months from the date the products are shipped from Hoymiles;. (2) the installation date of the ... 1.2 Standard Performance Warranty
Hoymiles warrants that the battery system retains either Seventy Percent (70%) of Designed Energy for Ten (10) years, or for a Minimum Through Output Energy which is calculated from the Warranty Effective Date The Minimum Through Output Energy means the total output energy of the product recorded in the control module of the product. The Usable Energy and Minimum Through output Energy for each product model are set out in the table below: | Model No. | Designed Energy (kWh) | Usable Energy (kWh) | Minimum Through Output Energy (MWh) | | HB-(10-23)S-G2 | 11.52/15.36/19.2/23.04 | 10.05/13.4/16.76/20.11 | 33.21/44.28/55.35/66.42 | 1: 90% DoD with 97% Round Trip Efficiency. Usable Energy (kWh) is measured using the testing conditions and methods in Appendix A 2: In ten years, the total yield energy calculated based on Usable Energy. This number is calculated based on condition @ T=25 deg C, 0.5C/0.5C charging and discharging at roughly 1 cycle per day. = the Hoymiles BESS/battery's BMS auto-regulates the battery to 90% DoD or Depth of Discharge = usable energy is 90% of rated battery, eg a 32kWh BESS battery has a usable energy of 28.8kWh. . I appreciate your dedication. That a few kwh just let tnb earn lah. Btw sudah install NEM?
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 19 2025, 05:52 PM) How much is the 12.4kwp system without battery?  Before discount and cash rebate. Depends on your nego skill This post has been edited by yeapsc73: Oct 19 2025, 07:03 PM
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 19 2025, 07:13 PM) So a difference of 51-32=19k for the 32kwh BESS. I dunno lah buy more in a package got discount mah. Some more is micro vs hybrid inverter cannot compare also Also the description of the system also a bit puzzling saying got micro and hybrid This post has been edited by yeapsc73: Oct 19 2025, 07:16 PM
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 19 2025, 07:25 PM) . "Sikit sikit, lama lama jadi bukit." = that can be how TNB earned a net profit of RM4.69 billion in 2024. Anyway, ....... https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5543400 - CATL salt battery 19usd per kilo(watthour) threaten others - today = better specs, similar energy density as LFP battery but 50% cheaper = commercial production by CATL will start in Dec 2025. = better for consumers/solar adopters to wait for prices to drop before applying for ATAP with BESS/battery. . Already installed NEM?
yeapsc73
Oct 19 2025, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 19 2025, 07:35 PM) Trina solar 620 will end their production this november. Your solar supplier need to find another brand lulz Not my quote. My sis ask me to check. By the way, she said will free upgrade to 645w panel